Generator too loud!!!!

nissubaru

Generator too loud!!!!

Postby nissubaru » June 30th, 2017, 7:20 am

How to make a generator quieter???? Ipower brand from pricesmart. 12000 watts! How to baffle the engine noise?? Any help will be gladly appreciated

pjfred

Re: Generator to loud!!!!

Postby pjfred » June 30th, 2017, 7:26 am

Better silencer and mount generator in a room with sound proofing

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 30th, 2017, 7:28 am

Via Elimination, Substitution, Engineering, Administrative & Personal Protection

Postby Ben_spanna » June 30th, 2017, 7:32 am

You can build a Noise Box for it, but take into consideration you have to leave adequate ventilation, or you will fry your Genny!

HSA

Postby HSA » June 30th, 2017, 7:34 am

put ah catalyst and 2 barrels on the exhaust

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 30th, 2017, 8:54 am

did this already took a exhaust from a y11 wingroad looped it around the generator using the resonator and the back barrel it suppressed the noise a lot ......

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 30th, 2017, 9:37 am

10-01 wrote:did this already took a exhaust from a y11 wingroad looped it around the generator using the resonator and the back barrel it suppressed the noise a lot ......

i hooked up a hose from my exhaust into my car and sat it in the garage whilst engine running. wa u think about that plan?

nissubaru

Postby nissubaru » June 30th, 2017, 12:25 pm

Making a noise proof room?

nissubaru

Postby nissubaru » June 30th, 2017, 12:25 pm

Advise on materials and where to get it please..

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 30th, 2017, 2:08 pm

A loose fitting MDF enclosure would do wonders.

Do not waste time or money on interferring with the muffler, most of the noise does not come from that area.

Or build a sound proof box, leave room for ventilation.

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2017, 2:15 pm

put a pillow on it and squeeze.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 30th, 2017, 2:36 pm

maj. tom wrote:put a pillow on it and squeeze.

Works like a charm with..wait, what? We're talking about a generator..right, right...

Postby RedVEVO » June 30th, 2017, 5:51 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
10-01 wrote:did this already took a exhaust from a y11 wingroad looped it around the generator using the resonator and the back barrel it suppressed the noise a lot ......

i hooked up a hose from my exhaust into my car and sat it in the garage whilst engine running. wa u think about that plan?

“I think, therefore I am”

Moves your 22/7 hole 1 step up the evolution chart ..

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 30th, 2017, 6:08 pm

With all noise problems, these are the solutions. See which one you can implement

-Distance yourself from it
-absorb the sound ( soft materials, dense foliage or old mattress)
-direct the sound away from you (a curved panel perhaps)
-diffuse the sound (this one tricky, doh even bother)
-isolate the sound (soundproof chamber/room with adequate cooling/intake/exhaust)

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2017, 7:33 pm

Try putting on some kind of rubber cushion mat
Much of the noise is from the engine itself as mentioned and poor shaft balancing

Inverter units much quieter lower rpm

nissubaru

Postby nissubaru » July 3rd, 2017, 2:51 pm

Uhhh??

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 8:37 am

Monkey Man wrote:

plan didnt work i assume ?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 5th, 2017, 8:54 am

garage is open air.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 5th, 2017, 10:02 am

Monkey Man wrote:garage is open air.

close the door .. and re try .... u mite not be able to tell us how it went ... :lol:

Re: Generator too loud!!!!

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2017, 10:53 am

Hook the exhaust up to the intake to recycle the gas. The conservation of sound principle will make a toroid generating enough power to create our first hyperdrive, allowing mankind to open the door to stars. We have assembled a team of unique individuals to protect Earth and our allies. Courageous pioneers committed to the highest ideals of justice. And dedicated to preserving law and order throughout the New Frontier, these are the Adventures of the Galaxy Rangers!

Monkey Man

Re: Generator too loud!!!!

Postby Monkey Man » July 6th, 2017, 11:40 am

RBphoto wrote:Hook the exhaust up to the intake to recycle the gas. The conservation of sound principle will make a toroid generating enough power to create our first hyperdrive, allowing mankind to open the door to stars. We have assembled a team of unique individuals to protect Earth and our allies. Courageous pioneers committed to the highest ideals of justice. And dedicated to preserving law and order throughout the New Frontier, these are the Adventures of the Galaxy Rangers!

you forget out the part with Zordan boi