T&T On Show - CNN - Anthony Bourdain - 18/6/2017

Re: T&T On Show - CNN - Anthony Bourdain - 18/6/2017

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 23rd, 2017, 9:05 am

It was pretty decent.
good dive into the culture. Not quite sure how I feel about the Sabga segment, but I poor so my opinion eh really worth sheit.
I wonder if he really liked carib and stag or if he was just being gracious.
After sampling brewskis from all over the world, Carib and Stag are like fartjuice.

Postby meccalli » June 23rd, 2017, 9:20 am

Laza eating too much roti lol. At least bourdain didn't have to ask, from the horse's mouth came the confession of who runs things lol, no coaxing needed.

Postby Gladiator » June 23rd, 2017, 9:36 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:It was pretty decent.
good dive into the culture. Not quite sure how I feel about the Sabga segment, but I poor so my opinion eh really worth sheit.
After sampling brewskis from all over the world, Carib and Stag are like fartjuice.

Nah bro... Stag is a world class beer. One of the best in the world, not everybody favorite because it is a strong taste..... no pu33y ting like coors lite

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2017, 10:03 pm

I find they totally omit the Chinese foods

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2017, 9:25 am

Muwakils explanation for crime was weak as fcuk. Just another one who feels the system oppresses the small man. And his grandmother had no chill cooking the pigtail with him there.

Postby De Dragon » June 24th, 2017, 11:34 am

Gladiator wrote:

Nah bro... Stag is a world class beer. One of the best in the world, not everybody favorite because it is a strong taste..... no pu33y ting like coors lite

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 24th, 2017, 11:39 am

Gladiator wrote:

I find the Coors light does taste like stag.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2017, 6:33 pm

LOL, I could drink strong beer, hell I could drink liquor neat but every time I try to drink stag a gag reflex kicks in.
I grew up and swore by Carib for years but it now has a sour aftertaste for me.
Maybe craft beers have spoiled me.

Postby De Dragon » June 24th, 2017, 6:46 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:LOL, I could drink strong beer, hell I could drink liquor neat but every time I try to drink stag a gag reflex kicks in.

Craft beers rule

Daran

Postby Daran » June 24th, 2017, 7:51 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:LOL, I could drink strong beer, hell I could drink liquor neat but every time I try to drink stag a gag reflex kicks in.

Craft beers rule

And Carib is actually a much better beer than stag - which is one of the worst tasting beers I have ever tried.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 25th, 2017, 1:12 am

Parts Unknown: Trinidad - Field Notes

https://explorepartsunknown.com/destination/trinidad/

Postby hydroep » June 27th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Postby K74T » June 27th, 2017, 6:03 pm

Sabga-Aboud apologises for "careless words" on CNN's 'Parts Unknown' episode

Chairman of the Global Brands Group of Companies, Mario Sabga-Aboud has issued a statement apologising for comments made on the recent CNN production, 'Parts Unknown' that featured Trinidad and Tobago.

Sabga-Aboud has been receiving criticism after he said that while people of Syrian descent represented 1 percent of the population, they were the 'most powerful'.

In the conversation that followed during a family dinner with 'Parts Unknown' host Anthony Bourdain, another family member made reference to the diminishing middle-class and expressed fear that it might no longer serve as a buffer between the "haves" and the "have nots", leading to possible civil commotion.

But today Sabga-Aboud is admitting that his words were "careless" and misrepresented himself and his values.

The following is Sabga-Aboud's statement issued today:

"On the recently broadcast CNN show 'Parts Unknown' I used careless words in referring to the standing of citizens of Middle Eastern descent in our society, and ended up misrepresenting myself and my values. I have never taken for granted the blessing to be a born and bred Trinbagonian.

I am, and have always been humbled by the opportunities and support I have received in my over 30 years in business in T&T. Over these many years, I have met with many people across the wider society who in one way or another have positively impacted and enriched my life.

This is testament to the amazing people of this country and as a Trinbagonian, I cherish that and I off­er my deepest apologies to anyone whom I o­ffended. I always treat with appreciation, love and respect the members of my sta­ff, many of whom are like my family because they have been with me for over 25 and 30 years, and are fundamentally the reason for my accomplishments.

This was a regrettable moment where my excitement led me to misrepresent myself as boastful instead of proud. Though I cannot retract my words, I hope that you all recognise my remorse and accept my sincere apology."

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/sabga-aboud-apologises-careless-words-cnns-parts-unknown-episode

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 27th, 2017, 6:31 pm

syrian supremacist

C.Brown

Postby C.Brown » June 27th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Well dey kick up a storm today and tomorrow dey goh be lining up...allyuh remember the IAM boycott??

Wuh he say he believe in he heart and the apology is just to keep dah money coming...

But we the majority hadda reflect on how and why we give away our power

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2017, 6:38 pm

anybody ever tally how much they does spend on a personal monthly basis to the pockets of the 5000 most powerful ?

Postby K74T » June 27th, 2017, 7:24 pm

Postby hydroep » June 27th, 2017, 8:06 pm

Fatman could keep he apology yunno.

Free coffee and doughnuts for a day...now that would smooth things over... :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2017, 9:07 pm

I doh see why all the panties in a bunch...the man eh lie

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 27th, 2017, 9:19 pm

by next week things back to normal idk wat all d beat up is about .....

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » June 27th, 2017, 9:37 pm

As much as it pains me to say this..mario ent lie.

Mr Smart's intentions are noble, but his 'protest' is already a lost cause. The only thing that Trinis will boycott with any real consistency is hard work.

Don't know why people so 'shocked' to hear what the '1%' think of the rest of us. Mario's use of the word 'powerful' and not 'successful' has a particular connotation that went over many people's heads. I suppose when you have Scrooge McDuck caverns of money you feel entitled to a certain level of 'status'

Whatever... Syrians gomna syrian.

mars

Postby mars » June 27th, 2017, 10:56 pm

Some of the other people featured on the show should take a cue from Sabga-Aboud:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_____An_apology_makes_no_sense_-132974273.html

I'm waiting for someone to ask the nice little Granny and her grandson how they feel about that!
Last edited by mars on June 28th, 2017, 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2017, 12:56 am

I'm worried about my tablecloth. Them Arabs less of a threat to me that the boys who decide I have had my table coth for too long.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2017, 1:49 am

There is nothing careless about his words. It's a reflection of how these ppl think. I hope ppl really open their eyes and think how they spend their money next time.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2017, 3:31 am

hydroep wrote:Fatman could keep he apology yunno.

Free coffee and doughnuts for a day...now that would smooth things over... :lol:

Yes - I agree - Fatman put your money in an apology . Sad and lame apology .

After the Bret Storm "Subway" was asked to donate food.

But decided to sell 6" vegetarian sandwiches for $10 :roll:

How uncharitable can you be Mr Prestige Holding ?

Shame - Shame - Shame .

mars

Postby mars » June 28th, 2017, 6:52 am

RedVEVO wrote:
hydroep wrote:Fatman could keep he apology yunno.

Yes - I agree - Fatman put your money in an apology . Sad and lame apology .

After the Bret Storm "Subway" was asked to donate food.

But decided to sell 6" vegetarian sandwiches for $10 :roll:

How uncharitable can you be Mr Prestige Holding ?

Shame - Shame - Shame .

Prestige Holdings is the other minority ethnic group. You know - the one that wasn't featured in the program, but made all the arrangements for it. The ones with "old money" that laugh whenever an upstart Syrian says "we are the most powerful"...

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2017, 7:00 am

we are real late with realizing the reality of their power though

jews in america have gone through this decades ago, they control almost everything in america
just like how the majority of pos is owned by arabs, jews own all of new york

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2017, 7:03 am

allyuh missing the point...zr did not relate his post to the pnm

Postby Redman » June 28th, 2017, 7:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:allyuh missing the point...zr did not relate his post to the pnm

and this is the true miracle

A poorly thought out statement....but splitting whether it was RIGHT to say and whether it is accurate....

Wrong to say on a show to be shown globally-it shows a certain insecurity.

But he eh lie....

is this different to ostentatious displays of wealth the chosen few contractors???

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » June 28th, 2017, 7:51 am

^^ Folks just upset on the placement. How dare he to say that on an internationally broadcasted documentary. Trinis talk this amongst themselves on a daily basis.

His apology isn't necessary for me but to each his own.