4pt seatbelt and trinidad laws

4a70

4pt seatbelt and trinidad laws

Postby 4a70 » June 9th, 2017, 7:26 am

Question guys.....

In sweet Trinidad and Tobago is it legal to use a four point harness which is properly installed instead of the standard three point seatbelt which comes with the vehicle?

Monkey Man

Re: 4pt seatbelt and trinidad laws

Postby Monkey Man » June 9th, 2017, 7:30 am

ME EH KNWO BUH U MAY GET A 4POINTS ON YUH DP

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 9th, 2017, 7:59 am

you can't move as freely

4a70

Postby 4a70 » June 9th, 2017, 9:08 am

Im asking because iv been hearing ppl say the law dosent recognise it as a seatbelt... just wanted to know for sure.....

AnarkIII

Postby AnarkIII » June 9th, 2017, 9:13 am

So if it ain't a seatbelt, what is it? Lmao. Bag strap?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 9th, 2017, 12:18 pm

i sure if u meet up a stupid officer and explain d purpose of the 4 pt u mite still get a ticket

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 2:13 pm

I believe it's legal. i don't recall seeing anything about how many contact points a seatbelt must have or the placement of the securing contact points in any of the RTA legislation. just that vehicles operating on the road must be fitted with a safety belt. more than a few cars on the local race circuit use 4 point harnesses, I don't think so many would opt to use them if they weren't legal.

to be safe, go to LO & ask an officer, better if you could get it in writing

Postby wagonrunner » June 9th, 2017, 2:27 pm

point to consider: in the event of an emergency, when an occupant has to be "cut out" of a vehicle, responders on the government road eh looking to cut more than one belt before applying force to remove occupant.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 10th, 2017, 8:37 am

my friend got a ticket for one already, his was custom made and attached to a stock seat on a sr20 powered b1600.

Postby Morpheus » June 10th, 2017, 9:04 am

I think it's usually illegal for "safety" reasons.
Freeing yourself in case of an emergency is difficult.
Regular seatbelts only lock in certain conditions whereas 4 point you're locked in tight.
That's just off the top of my head. Someone more into circuit racing would have a better idea of why it's not appropriate for regular use and may be illegal.

Postby maj. tom » June 10th, 2017, 10:14 am

https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /48.50.pdf

Seatbelts are defined on page 354 of the above document. Anything other than what is defined in the document has to be certified by the TT Bureau of Standards.

But it also has to conform to this:
“seat belt assembly” means an assembly of straps with quick release
coupling devices, adjusting devices and an attachment and
deployment system which deploys automatically, requires no
action by the occupant, is anchored to a power-driven vehicle
and is intended to be worn by an occupant of a motor vehicle.

LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
354 Chap. 48:50 Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic
MOTOR VEHICLES (SEAT BELT ASSEMBLIES)
REGULATIONS

The law also defines the wearing of the seat belt, when and by whom.

What's wrong with the Volvo 3-point seat belt though? Why would you want a 4 point seat belt for regular road use?

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2017, 10:23 am

So basically once you can get it approved by the ttbs it legal.
Good to know.

4a70

Postby 4a70 » June 10th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Well according to that exerpt a 4pt is legal as its buckle is quick release. Has adjustment and deployment is being strapped in. But what was the charge given to d dude that got it?