How to deal with an Inconsiderate neighbor ?

BIG BLUE

Postby BIG BLUE » June 6th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Good day fellow tuners can any one tell me how to LEGALLY deal with an Inconsiderate neighbor, here's my ordeal my good neighbor has a business which involve vehicle sales rentals and inspections but lately their trade has become a nuisance and a safety hazard to the residents of my street for they are parking vehicles for sale on the government pavement which blocks the view of on coming traffic when exiting the street where I live , I have spoken to they numerous occasions but they would move it for that day and continue parking it there the following day. I've taken a picture and edited as not to reveal their identity for their business is a popular one in my area but if it becomes necessary I will reveal these devious inconsiderate people,so if there is any one who help please do thanks
20170606_161439.jpg

nismoid

Re: How to deal with an Inconsiderate neighbor ?

Postby nismoid » June 6th, 2017, 5:13 pm

Based on this pic, it seems that the area has become more of a "Commercial" area than the residential neighborhood it used to be, and as a result these are the trial and tribulations you'll have to face going forward. You can make a complaint to the Borough Corp or relevant authority but nothing will be done about it because you have become a minority in the now commercially approved area.
Best bet is to sell your property and move to a new location.

Drea

Postby Drea » June 6th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Because you asked about the legal route:
a) You can report it to the police, last time I checked parking on the pavement is against regulations.
b) Report to Borough corporation or other relevant body.

Now with that said I am not sure how much help either will be but those are the legal avenues.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 6th, 2017, 5:30 pm

Boy crush some ceramic from sparkplugs...and pelt some at dem glass eh...

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » June 6th, 2017, 6:02 pm

You should of blocked out the other store signs as well . Jus walk down to the police station man and show them...

Postby gastly369 » June 6th, 2017, 6:53 pm

Hire one ah Junior Sammy truck to run thru de front...

Postby toyolink » June 6th, 2017, 6:54 pm

These things/practices are really the norm in our good country and the police patrols would pass without as much as a glance.
I know of bars located mere feet from main roads where patrons part on both sides of the road and the vehicles occupy the area where pedestrians may pass and the other side of the vehicle is in the road. The police patrols pass and do absolutely nothing and bar license is renewed at the appropriate anniversary date.
When will this all change?.............maybe we just have to wait on evolution.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » June 6th, 2017, 7:43 pm

nothing a little paint stripper won't fix!

Gazacoco

Postby Gazacoco » June 6th, 2017, 8:05 pm

The pavement looks clear, the vehicle is not obstructing the pavement ???

Postby tr1ad » June 6th, 2017, 8:16 pm

Buh buh that eh ah certain power seller place?

Where the van is parked doesn't look like it blocking the pavement ... More like the light pole blocking the view... Call T&TEC to move the pole.

Postby tr1ad » June 6th, 2017, 8:19 pm

I'd ask him to move the bin though... Van looking like it parked on his property

Postby K74T » June 6th, 2017, 8:56 pm

Aye look qwkwhip

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 6th, 2017, 9:10 pm

Throw raw shrimp all over his property. It'll smell nice after a day or three

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 6th, 2017, 9:49 pm

The pavement / sidewalk looks clear. The vehicle is parked on the verge along with the signs. Similar to the businesses across the street in the photo.

Postby Les Bain » June 6th, 2017, 9:55 pm

Unity is strength. Get the neighbors to join in for regular complaints to the authorities.

If that fails, buy out the stock of cars. That would teach that FMC a lesson.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » June 6th, 2017, 10:22 pm

once the $20.00 bbq on the hill after him unaffected

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 6th, 2017, 11:57 pm

I pass there all the time he does not seem to be causing any traffic and I haven't seen him blocking the pavement . Even in the picture you posted he is not blocking the pavement
That road is busy . It might be easier for you to install a blind spot mirror on a pole than trying to fight this legally.
Best bet is speak to a lawyer, police cannot really do anything
but if you go that way expect to waste days in a magistrate court sitting around waiting for your case to be postponed and postponed

Postby Chimera » June 7th, 2017, 12:27 am

but that's not the pavement lol

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 7th, 2017, 12:42 am

That is not the pavement that is his property.....the pavement is clear...if you came to my office with this pic and told me what you just posted, ..lol

Postby maj. tom » June 7th, 2017, 1:02 am

OP shudda be living next to a bar, then he would know the meaning of blocked pavement.
You should install some convex traffic mirrors to help you see the traffic.

Also get Tyrone to handle the neighbour wife.

Postby RedVEVO » June 7th, 2017, 2:04 am

Maybe you can move the pavement further down the road .. away from your property.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 7th, 2017, 7:27 am

hondablood wrote:once the $20.00 bbq on the hill after him unaffected

boiiiii A&A addi realist!!! rel jossstissss!

buh big blues, i feel you should migrate pal.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 7th, 2017, 8:12 am

Monkey town don't have them problems

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2017, 8:25 am

K74T wrote:Aye look qwkwhip

12.jpg
12.jpg (8.86 KiB) Viewed 6744 times

i wonder if he will respond to this post ... :?:

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » June 7th, 2017, 9:53 am

Hmmm ...

https://www.facebook.com/qwkwhip

Got some reaso stuff in there ... OP I hope you disregarding the post about grinding up ceramic from spark plug and throwing on people glass when I reach down there eh?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2017, 12:44 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Hmmm ...

https://www.facebook.com/qwkwhip

Got some reaso stuff in there ... OP I hope you disregarding the post about grinding up ceramic from spark plug and throwing on people glass when I reach down there eh?

man has a big car park , far from op street

Postby The_Honourable » June 7th, 2017, 1:08 pm

OP that is not the pavement. Pavement is the concrete between the road and the utility pole in your pic. A lot of properties back in the day use to have 10+ ft of reserve between the road and the fence, where normally you build a fence on the boundary line and then have a reserve between the fence and the house/building (which we usually say, meh yard).

That reserve in the pic where the van is parked on probably once had plants to bring up the aesthetics of the property and even the area if that was the norm with other properties.

If the business owner decides to make that same reserve as a car park for his customers, you can't do anything OP. Also, if he decides to break down his current fence and build on the boundary line which the utility pole is on, you can't do anything either. Worse if he decide to go up with a dread concrete block fence.

The only way to know the status of that reserve is to get his deed which hopefully have the boundary measurements. As hong kong phooey said, let the residents with the approval of regional corporation install a blind spot mirror. Check also if the entrance of the road have some leeway to widen a bit so your vehicle can turn into the main road with ease versus coming all the way out and then turning.

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2017, 1:31 pm

Reserve is the space that is allocated but not necessarily used for an easement such as a road, sidewalk or pipeline. What you are referring to is setback: the minimum space between a property boundary and a permanent structural feature such as a house or enclosing wall. Setback in Trinidad is dictated by rules governed by Town and Country Planning. The setback differs because of region, use and even specific roadway.

You can contact T&C planning to get the proper setback distance, which should be the same as yours. If the setback was not observed that's encroachment which is a violation. T&C and your Borough/Regional Corporation can help you with the next steps.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 7th, 2017, 1:36 pm

this ched have me flickin feeling for some A&A whole mc day

BIG BLUE

Postby BIG BLUE » June 7th, 2017, 3:05 pm

This ched was started so as to get some objective opinions and maybe a way forward so thanks for all the various responses but I will try appealing to the owner once more before taking any stronger measures