Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2017, 7:18 am

The trunk had this on it, is it scale ?

Image-1.jpg

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 4th, 2017, 12:15 pm

Difficult to say. It looks like a fungal or bacterial problem. Usually if is soft bodied and spongy it may not be scales. Also a few years ago a lot of citrus got licked up with the citrus tristeza virus. A dying tree then becomes host to a lot of opportunistic pest and diseases. Check the guys on Harris Street in Curepe from extension. They can give an expert opinion on the issue with the death of the Lime tree. Google same and do some reading for an expanded appreciation of the problem and solutions ............

The ministry of Agri had to bring in new planting materials, so ask them where you can get disease free planting materials.

snatman

Postby snatman » April 4th, 2017, 3:12 pm

A vendor at 'puna market sell almost fist-sized hot peppers, what do they use to get them that big?
My scrawny plant produces very small peppers, what am I doing wrong?

Postby X_Factor » April 5th, 2017, 9:40 am

the variery used as well as the types and amt of fertilizer used during the stages of growth
stressed plants have poor yield

nick639v2

***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby nick639v2 » April 6th, 2017, 12:52 am

Lil bird pepper plant living in pro mix... Doing well in just an ice cream container..

Can't remember who was asking about bird pepper but they have like this by the plant shop off the highway aranguez

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 6th, 2017, 1:23 pm

The fist size hot pepper comes from the mountainous areas to the north. Also due to the limestone and cooler temperatures can cause this.

Love the bird pepper, will go and get a plant. It sure beats buying pepper that rots and pepper sauce with preversatives. Was getting an itch de other day. It was the pepper sauce. Can eat the raw pepper, no problem .........

ONE CAVEAT THOUGH: WHAT SWEET IN GOAT MOUTH, DOES BUN IN DE ..........

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 6th, 2017, 1:36 pm

pugboy wrote:The trunk had this on it, is it scale ?

Image-1.jpg

well done. that eddoes looks huge.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 6th, 2017, 5:00 pm

Quick question is it worth spraying roundup on 5 feet bamboo grass that is extremely hard?

I have a somewhat small area 40 feet x 9 feet. Problem with cutting it is there are big stones and steel inside it so the wacker won't be able to do it unless I use a hoe to bring down its size a bit.

Also bamboo grass that is only 1 feet high how much herbicide to 5 gallon spray can should I mix? would 250ml do it or more?

I have about 10 lots to spray out. I using the cheap "Swiper" poison I think its the same as roundup. I want to completely kill out this bamboo grass because it becomes a HUGE issue when it gets too big.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 6th, 2017, 11:39 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Quick question is it worth spraying roundup on 5 feet bamboo grass that is extremely hard?

I have a somewhat small area 40 feet x 9 feet. Problem with cutting it is there are big stones and steel inside it so the wacker won't be able to do it unless I use a hoe to bring down its size a bit.

Also bamboo grass that is only 1 feet high how much herbicide to 5 gallon spray can should I mix? would 250ml do it or more?

I have about 10 lots to spray out. I using the cheap "Swiper" poison I think its the same as roundup. I want to completely kill out this bamboo grass because it becomes a HUGE issue when it gets too big.

yeah spraying is your best option .
i just recently sprayed down a piece of bamboo grass i had growing to enrich the land .
once you spray and it dies out give it another spray as you see any little shoots coming up

250 ml to a gallon is a very high concentration .

squirrel

Postby squirrel » April 7th, 2017, 2:00 am

Last edited by squirrel on December 17th, 2018, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 7th, 2017, 4:09 am

squirrel wrote:Is it feasible for someone to make a living from 2.5 acres of land that can only be used for agriculture? Access to water is definitely NOT problem. If so, please give an example of a plan. I'm not sure if this has been discussed here already.

2.5 acres is plenty . one of the biggest concern is water and you have a readily available supply .
another concern is upfront capital you are looking at say 6 months before you get your first earning . You have to put out for cleaning the land , plowing , running water lines chemicals and salt and another big cost is sticks .
Never plant your entire crop of the same, 2 and 1/2 acre break it up into 1/2 acre parcels or even 1/4 acre parcels
Cabbage , cauliflower, bodi , pepper(sweet and hot) ,string beans, same and eddoes, dasheen bush always have good prices at wholesale . Tomatoes ochros , pumpkin, cassava , yam and cucumber prices fluctuate depending on the weather.

Cabbage, cauliflower , tomatoes is much more labor intensive. Shadow beni is another crop if you have some shade .
I know Trinidad is small but certain crops tend to thrive better in certain areas. so u need to research there.

Duck prices also holds year round but food cost, building a pen and theft is a big deterrent. We actually stopped rearing ducks because of the theft and the market was there and it was profitable .

russian123

Postby russian123 » April 7th, 2017, 11:54 am

Started cleaning the land to plant dasheen bush. However i need to clean two ponds also. Any one knows of escavator located in Debe area for easier mobilization. Ponds have lots of grass in the center so require excavator with long arm.

squirrel

Postby squirrel » April 10th, 2017, 8:31 am

Last edited by squirrel on December 17th, 2018, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2017, 8:53 am

^squat, pay taxes, cyar move yuh...

squirrel

Postby squirrel » April 10th, 2017, 8:56 am

Last edited by squirrel on December 17th, 2018, 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2017, 4:37 pm

So Hong I buy 1 gallon of swiper poison and I put 250ml to 1 spray can a spray can holds 4 gallons I assume this is an alright mixture.

But here is the thing I used up like half gallon just to less than quarter acre. So by my estimate it will cost me 3 gallons which comes up to $300 to spray the acre and a quarter. (I decided to spray the entire land 1.25 acres to get rid of all the bamboo grass) the grass are all about 1 foot high

So I am wondering if the problem is I am not spraying fast enough, I spending too much time soaking the grass too much?

What about Carmex if I mix that with the swiper poison? will it cause a problem with my small coconut trees? many of them are less than a year old so they are small. I hear Carmex is dangerous well I need danger for this nasty bamboo grass. I am hoping to start spraying very fast, moving very fast as I spray, rather than soaking the grass completely. Wondering if Carmex and Swiper mixed would be ideal for such a situation.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2017, 4:40 pm

My other issue could be I am using a traditional spray can, I am contemplating buying a Mist Blower and selling the wacker. Because soon I won't have time to cut grass anyways and I eh want to bother with any pipe dream.

The only solution as far as I can see is a mist blower and poison to control this much land cause I will be working 6 days a week soon. So cutting 1.25 acres won't be feasible.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 11th, 2017, 2:46 am

Ed
I spray at a lower concentration but you can spray at that concentration . You can even spray at higher concentration
the thing with bamboo grass is once there is open sun it will grow rapidly.
if you want to get rid of it you got to spray and when it dead you need to spray again if you see any shoots .
i spray when it is dead i wack it and if i see any shoots i actually dig it out or spot spray .
the problem with a mist blower is if you have any thing else growing in the land you risk getting the spray on your plants.
i am planning to buy a mist blower but thats just for herbicide, to take care of those crazy ants on my trees .
i have nothing in my garden now. but i going to start again
to get workers is the hardest thing.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 17th, 2017, 4:00 am

Yeah I used 250ml on 5 gallon and it seems to be killing the bamboo grass.

BTW

http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/nem ... matode.htm

This article says 35% of coconut trees in Trinidad is killed by Red Ring Disease. People claim they have never heard of Lethal Yellowing disease killing out trees but I am almost certain I read somewhere that this country has lethal yellowing disease.

Any idea on how many trees die from Lethal Yellowing in this country? I know the LY disease bug loves small grass like turf grass so I am thinking its possible spraying might be a good thing. But it seems like coconuts are risky business lots of diseases killing palm plants now.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 17th, 2017, 4:14 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Yeah I used 250ml on 5 gallon and it seems to be killing the bamboo grass.

BTW

http://entnemdept.ufl.edu/creatures/nem ... matode.htm

This article says 35% of coconut trees in Trinidad is killed by Red Ring Disease. People claim they have never heard of Lethal Yellowing disease killing out trees but I am almost certain I read somewhere that this country has lethal yellowing disease.

Any idea on how many trees die from Lethal Yellowing in this country? I know the LY disease bug loves small grass like turf grass so I am thinking its possible spraying might be a good thing. But it seems like coconuts are risky business lots of diseases killing palm plants now.

that is why it is a good idea to sterilize your tools if you cut down an infected tree. if you suspect you have Red ring on a tree . first you cut it down spray it with malatine (sp) spray the surroundings even with kero or diesel if you have nothing else . and burn that tree and any insects you see around that tree. dont wait.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » April 17th, 2017, 4:08 pm

Guys is it legal to import plant cuttings?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 17th, 2017, 11:38 pm

The Paleontologist wrote:Guys is it legal to import plant cuttings?

Short answer is no, it is illegal
but you can apply for a permit and it depends on the country etc

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » April 18th, 2017, 12:23 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

Ok. Thanks man. Can someone with a farmer's badge import? Or a company like mafas etc? How does one go about getting the permit?
Its from florida.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 18th, 2017, 2:52 am

The Paleontologist wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:

Ok. Thanks man. Can someone with a farmer's badge import? Or a company like mafas etc? How does one go about getting the permit?
Its from florida.

yes you can apply for a import licence i dont konw the exact procedure you can give these people a call

Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries
Plant Quarantine Services
Centeno Tel/Fax: (868) 642-0718 • Piarco Tel: (868) 669-4860
Port of Spain Tel: (868) 625-3266 • Point Lisas Tel: (868) 636-0883
Scarborough Tel: (868) 639-5582
ANR Robinson Airport Tel: (868) 639-0634
E-mail: plantquarantine.centeno@gmail.com

Or if i remember correctly you from Mohess road /Boodoo trace or environs .
You can go down to the Ministry of agriculture in Ramjattan Street. (where you got you farmers licence ) and talk to them .

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » April 18th, 2017, 10:01 am

Thank alot bro. Appreciate it. Btw dont have a farmer's license yet. Just want to try a lil experiment

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 21st, 2017, 8:38 am

Guys I need some used promix from hydroponic system to incorporate in soil for my plants.
Number or location much appreciated ...............

HSA

Postby HSA » April 21st, 2017, 8:50 am

need a place that sells good top soil with transport... looking at abt 4 yards for now.

the plant shop on aranguez have top clay dirt not soil....it gets extremely sticky when wet and solidifies harder than concrete when dry...i eh want that sheit

any help is much appreciated...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 29th, 2017, 12:26 am

Anyone knows the biggest blade a FS 120 Stihl will carry?

Looking to cut a large area as fast as possible. I know nylon might be the best bet for biggest coverage but on a 120 it doesn't work well for hard grass.

I notice the 305mm blades say FS 160 and up, however a 160 and 120 are nearly identical in terms of engine power. Wondering if I can use it?

If I could put a 12 inch blade on this thing would be good, also considering a Polycut attachment?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 29th, 2017, 1:07 am

Considering buying this 12 inch blade, looks great and price is right aswell.

https://www.amazon.com/Maxpower-14286-A ... inch+blade

they claim to be used on 25cc engine and up, the FS 120 is a 31cc engine. I see them fellas on Amazon say they are using it on FS 90 and thing so I assume it will work without straining the Engine?

But for some odd reason Stihl website says no larger than 250mm to be used so not sure what to think here.