How to import a dog into Trinidad and cost.

stephon290689

How to import a dog into Trinidad and cost.

Postby stephon290689 » August 13th, 2009, 12:00 pm

This is just for people who have pets from abroad and may need to know the cost of bringing their beloved pets into Trinidad.

Taken right from agriculture.gov.tt
-Have your animal microchipped with a universal microchip.
-Have the animal vaccinated against Rabies at least six (6) months but not more than 1 year before planned travel.
-Have a Rabies blood test done at least one (1) month after vaccination i.e. five (5) months before travel.
-Apply for the import permit at least five (5) months before planned travel.
-Ensure that you have a permit before traveling.
-Ensure that you have all the necessary documents, as indicated on the import permit, before traveling.
Notify the Veterinary services of your scheduled time of arrival. 868 662 5986.

On this same website you can order you're microchip which meets ISO standards which costs $49.50 plus shipping and also keep in mind you have to pay the vet to put on this microchip which costs about $30.00 dollars initially, but you MUST pay a fee for just having the doctor look at you're dog. So add on another $30.00
According to the size of you're dog you can purchase you're pet carrier here on this website as well.
SIZE
Extra Large
IATA TYPE
Dimensions
40"Lx28"Wx30"H 33 lbs
Pounds?
cost?
$100.00
You're dog plus the crate weight must not exceed 100.
This is the biggest crate that is allowed on aircrafts. IATA type 700 is not allowed on ANY Aircraft.
It costs $150 dollars to check in the crate as cargo depending on which airline you travel with. Don't forget you have to reserve you're pets place in the cargo because it fills up and you may not be able to travel with you're pet.
For more info you on air travel can go here
http://www.aa.com/aa/i18nForward.do?p=/ ... ts.jsp#top
The rabies test and other basic injections like distemper plus a checkup added up to $200.00 plus some heartworm tablets (2 mo. supply).
Almost any veterinary hospital will issue the actual rabies test.
There are only two centers in the U.S. that actually conduct the rabies titre. This specific vaccination is the most important according to the quarantine office and the agriculture ministry. This test cost $250.00 and is issued by the veterinary hospital only after you query about the titre test at the vet they should schedule an appointment for you. After 10 days you will get you're result. Only after you've completed these steps you should apply for you're permit with the agriculture ministry on their website via email. The permit is only 10 dollars so its not that bad.

Before booking you're ticket you MUST check with quarantine and see if they're is a spot reserved for you if they're is no place they will ship you're dog back to the U.S. at you're convenience.

This adds up to a little of $800.00 U.S. And contains only the cost of getting you're dog into Trinidad it does not include costs in quarantine.

Postby SR » August 13th, 2009, 12:42 pm

quarantine facilites in trinidad suck

Postby SR » August 13th, 2009, 12:48 pm

does anyone have a list of the countries that require no quarantine??

aR&D

Postby aR&D » August 13th, 2009, 12:58 pm

or just fly the Dog to Grenada and pay ah "boatman" to brin een de dog fer yuh.....

Good info BTW

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » August 13th, 2009, 2:49 pm

only reason i aint bring my dog here while i @ uwi is cause of that stupid micro chip sheit. too much study show that that does cause cancer cells in animals.

and i must add to the no quarantine list that also yuh cant ship a dog to a no quarantine island and then jus forward it to trini it must be there for atleast 6mnths i believe.

francis1979

Re: How much it cost to import a dog into trinidad

Postby francis1979 » November 10th, 2013, 1:10 pm

Has anyone imported a dog?
What is your feedback?

Re: How much it cost to import a dog into trinidad

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 10th, 2013, 3:28 pm

francis1979 wrote:Has anyone imported a dog?
What is your feedback?

The dog reach.

:| nun else to say

TrinbagoMan

Re: How to import a dog into Trinidad and cost.

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 26th, 2017, 11:37 am

Anyone do this recently. Interested in importing a cane corso puppy.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » March 26th, 2017, 12:10 pm

take a bump for that bump.. :bump:

Baazingaa

Postby Baazingaa » March 26th, 2017, 2:27 pm

I import dogs from the US as well jamaica
What info u need

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 26th, 2017, 4:04 pm

How much does the process cost approx?

Is it possible to bring in a puppy, as opposed to a full sized dog?

What dogs do you import?

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 27th, 2017, 7:44 am

How bout adopting a dog??