Postby francis1979 » March 25th, 2017, 7:06 am

Any feedback on quality of TechAGRI Expo 2017 at UWI

Is it worth visiting

https://www.facebook.com/ffatechagriexpo/

Re: TechAGRI Expo 2017 at UWI

Postby meccalli » March 25th, 2017, 7:16 am

I guess if it's up your alley, it'll be interesting. There were alot of primary school groups there yesterday, has a bouncy castle and everything.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » March 25th, 2017, 10:07 pm

It was bland and somewhat tasteless for me ....................

What was interesting for me was the company that was doing vermiculture. They produce a compost that ought to be comparable to or superior to some that are out there. Best of all, it is local. They also have a tea from the compost, which ought to have soluble organic carbon, humic/fulvic acids.These can prevent the 'locking up of nutrients' resulting in valuable nutrients being released to the plants, leading to healthier plants

The minister passed by this booth and pass this booth straight. He does not seem to have realise that is innovation we so desperately need to sustain and diversify our Agriculture ......... $5 BILLION WORTH and which every citizen can share in.

Caribbean Chemicals was also interesting as they are a premier supplier of Products for agriculture. I was impressed with the size of the Tomatoes. Cannot remember the variety. Got one of their product calendar which is a must for you Green Thumbers.

Lots of good ideas, though you sometimes only need one to become a millionaire .............

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 25th, 2017, 10:10 pm

I went on friday. it was extremely good. Lots of booths. lots of products. And a lot of agricultural experts were on hand. highly recommended.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 25th, 2017, 11:14 pm

Twigs Naturals has a booth and some awesome tea and dried seasoning there
Definitely recommend them

I know Christmas done but their Christmas Blend natural tea is great.
They were showing me it won some international tea awards. Good stuff.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 26th, 2017, 6:49 am

I went yesterday and it was a little less displays than I expected.
I would say a good effort by UWI and hope they get better next year with additional displays.

The demonstrations which dominated the Expo were hydroponics and aquaponics.

Items mentioned above were also very good:
Caribbean Chemicals ( received some good advice as a new back-yard farmer)
Trinidad Earthworm Farm
Twigs Naturals

Soiler5

Postby Soiler5 » March 27th, 2017, 11:58 pm

really need some pics or videos for this event..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2017, 5:18 pm

francis1979 wrote:I went yesterday and it was a little less displays than I expected.
I would say a good effort by UWI and hope they get better next year with additional displays.

The demonstrations which dominated the Expo were hydroponics and aquaponics.

Items mentioned above were also very good:
Caribbean Chemicals ( received some good advice as a new back-yard farmer)
Trinidad Earthworm Farm
Twigs Naturals

Twigs Naturals won an international award for their local tea

twigs+prize.png

CARIBBEAN BRAND TWIGS NATURALS NAMED WINNERS AT THE 2017 GLOBAL TEA CHAMPIONSHIP
PORT OF SPAIN, MARCH 23, 2017

Natural Caribbean tea brand, Twigs Naturals, is the first Caribbean tea brand to be recognized internationally by winning not just one, but two awards at the 2017 Global Tea Championship for their natural, Caribbean-grown Mint & Caribbean Christmas tea. The winning Twigs Naturals Mint Tea placed third and was the only awardee in the SINGLE SERVED BAGGED HERBAL TEA Category while their Caribbean Christmas Tea, an artisanal blend of Wild Hibiscus (Sorrel & Aniseed/Fennel Seed) placed second in the SINGLE SERVE HERBAL BLENDED BAGGED TEA Category.

The Global Tea Championship is an annual independent competition, judged by tea professionals, to distinguish the highest quality & best-tasting teas commercially available globally.

https://www.twigsnaturals.com/champion-tea

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 25th, 2017, 9:49 pm

I didnt even know it had a thread on this, lol

I had a Booth there on Aquaponics and Hydroponics: , Ariaponics ltd. Thousands of people came...it was huge. The link is a video where they interviewed me.

https://www.facebook.com/ffatechagriexp ... ref=SEARCH

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2017, 11:40 pm

^ like the man didn't expect you to talk so much! lol

great stuff though!!!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 26th, 2017, 7:28 pm

A guy walked up and was, aye ent u is Nos from Trinituner?... LMAO...cudda dead

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2017, 7:36 pm

Good stuff

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2017, 8:36 pm

nos_specialist wrote:A guy walked up and was, aye ent u is Nos from Trinituner?... LMAO...cudda dead

LOL