Digicel Internet Thread

xamsesh

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby xamsesh » March 9th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Playing SFV and twitch watching at full resolution np!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2017, 9:40 pm

^ OMG thanks dude.

That is unbelievable!!!

Vinnny

Postby Vinnny » March 9th, 2017, 10:19 pm

Got this earlier to Miami. Pretty impressive.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2017, 11:28 pm

^ Thats not a glitch? How is that possible? given the distance and speed of light in a fiber optic line etc?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 9th, 2017, 11:50 pm

xamsesh wrote:
Playing SFV and twitch watching at full resolution np!

yeah I have SFV on Steam aswell.

The thing is SFV works fine even on crappy connections, because its modern Roll Back Netcode.

I think ultimately I will have to wait for Marvel vs Capcom Infinite for the modern Roll Back Netcode.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 11th, 2017, 8:51 am

Check powerful internet here

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 11th, 2017, 1:04 pm

I wonder how come TSTT never bothered to roll out FTTH?

Yes some will say they have, but I am not talking about a gimmick and lies I mean a real FTTH like Digicel did around the whole country where everybody can have access.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » March 11th, 2017, 6:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I wonder how come TSTT never bothered to roll out FTTH?

Yes some will say they have, but I am not talking about a gimmick and lies I mean a real FTTH like Digicel did around the whole country where everybody can have access.

I've seen one installation of tstt Ftth it looks to be fiber to a box outside the house and a battery backup inside but like internet through phone line like dsl.
I'm in Tobago now, stayed at to different Apartments and both have Digicel. I still have flow home. Digicel play Internet works well,but the TV audio goes up and down. But picture is perfect.

Sarcasm

Postby Sarcasm » March 21st, 2017, 2:15 pm

Hey, can someone do a speed test on Digicel Play to a server in Chicago, Illinois please & thanks. Also does anyone know when Digicel Play will be available in Penal?

pj15

Postby pj15 » March 21st, 2017, 2:48 pm

Sarcasm wrote:Hey, can someone do a speed test on Digicel Play to a server in Chicago, Illinois please & thanks. Also does anyone know when Digicel Play will be available in Penal?

Digicel's 25/15 package

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » March 22nd, 2017, 10:16 am

You seem to be describing FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) commonly used by telcos with a lot of copper in the ground especially in the "last mile".

That is totally different from FTTH where the fibre runs all the way into the home. I believe TSTT concentrated on Lange Park and Signature Park for FTTH service originally.

lchan485 wrote:

I've seen one installation of tstt Ftth it looks to be fiber to a box outside the house and a battery backup inside but like internet through phone line like dsl.
I'm in Tobago now, stayed at to different Apartments and both have Digicel. I still have flow home. Digicel play Internet works well,but the TV audio goes up and down. But picture is perfect.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » March 25th, 2017, 6:08 am

Caribnomad wrote:You seem to be describing FTTC (Fibre to the Cabinet) commonly used by telcos with a lot of copper in the ground especially in the "last mile".

That is totally different from FTTH where the fibre runs all the way into the home. I believe TSTT concentrated on Lange Park and Signature Park for FTTH service originally.

lchan485 wrote:

Nah is more like FiOS installation. Tstt has first gig bite neighborhood in the Caribbean and its in Bon Accord Tobago

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2017, 6:56 am

1. Digicel did not complete the roll-out of Play Nationwide. They have a Phase 2 and Phase 3 that have TBD completion dates.

2. TSTT would have to scrap existing copper lines. Unless the end user is consuming data above 200Mbps, ADSL2 works fine. There is a new standard that is being developed called G.fast that replaces ADSL2 and offers speeds of up to 1 Gbps over a telephone line. That makes the need for FTTH a costly mistake if you already have copper.

Most of TSTT's backbone is and has been fiber-optic for some time.

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » April 1st, 2017, 7:32 am

Only have Digicel play 25/15 two weeks and it already worse than Flow.

This video shows what happens on both wifi mobile devices and wired pc
https://goo.gl/photos/wKekZATJ72JKF3b98

Digicel said they are "forwarding it to technical" but I have little confidence. I even gave up using my ddwrt router for their ipv6 sheit. Every port I want opened I have to call and request.. and then it seems like a bunch of customers share the same public v4 ip. Sad thing is my coworker explained this exact browsing problem he also has and I didnt listen.

Torrents and other downloads seems to be ok. I feel that digicel has some iffy caching server on their end that is causing problems since it doesnt seem like it is a speed issue.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 4th, 2017, 2:23 pm

adnj wrote:1. Digicel did not complete the roll-out of Play Nationwide. They have a Phase 2 and Phase 3 that have TBD completion dates.

2. TSTT would have to scrap existing copper lines. Unless the end user is consuming data above 200Mbps, ADSL2 works fine. There is a new standard that is being developed called G.fast that replaces ADSL2 and offers speeds of up to 1 Gbps over a telephone line. That makes the need for FTTH a costly mistake if you already have copper.

Most of TSTT's backbone is and has been fiber-optic for some time.

I don't think anybody uses 200MB internet or even has a need for more than 60mb

The big benefit of Fiber for me is latency, I have Guilty Gear Xrd Revelator which uses Delay Based Netcode. This means there is 5 frames of lag when playing with someone from say New York. This is GOOD but not Great, there is very slight delay when you press a button. Now my ping from here to NY is 100ms so this means 100ms = 5F lag

With Digicel Fiber the ping would be like 80ms so that means with Digicel there will be no delay and it will work like if the game is offline and the player is in the same room as you. Imagine with Digicel the frame delay would be 3F instead of 5 its like connecting to Florida with FLow.

Now west coast USA the frame delay is 7F delay. This starts to become annoying and you can actually see the delay and feel it aswell just think with Digicel Fiber you would get 5F delay across West Coast and only very slight delay almost like offline.

I really cannot understand how the last mile copper with Flow can introduce a whopping 25ms latency.

Soon as this Flow 60mb deal finishes I will switch to Digicel hopefully it works out. Right now I pay $195 for 60mb with Flow was some deal they had on GATT last year

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 4th, 2017, 3:52 pm

Can you guys with Digicel tell me what ping you get to California? it can be LA or anywhere preferably comcast server

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » April 7th, 2017, 11:38 pm

No Comcast server in the lineup.

50 down, 25 up in Arima...

FLOW to same server for comparison...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 8th, 2017, 4:45 pm

is digicel down?

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 9th, 2017, 2:16 am

daring dragoon wrote:is digicel down?

Not seeing any problems here in Westmoorings. Where are you?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 9th, 2017, 5:10 am

how long b4 the cut the service? Is about a week overdue? everthing on the modem saying disconnected

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 9th, 2017, 7:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:how long b4 the cut the service? Is about a week overdue? everthing on the modem saying disconnected

40 days.

Have you actually called '500' to see if there is an outage in your area?

And again,.... where are you?

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » May 11th, 2017, 9:56 am

I was told by a reliable source that Digi Play should reach South areas like Penal and Princes Town etc. by September.

All one can do is hope eh!

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 11th, 2017, 12:11 pm

Well this week the came into California, and a few months ago they only reached like endeavour in Chaguanas, so they coming down south in a few months

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 11th, 2017, 7:48 pm

ah pay meh bill and it still down like 2 days now. i sure i aint go get 2 days rebate. I going to drop this service if them moving stink like flow. It have massy rite on the pole.

m3gatron

Postby m3gatron » May 11th, 2017, 8:24 pm

Digicel becoming a pin in the butt

wordword

Postby wordword » May 12th, 2017, 8:01 pm

Internet down in South?

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » May 12th, 2017, 8:03 pm

Internet down in Diego it would seem.

SRASC

Digicel Internet Thread

Postby SRASC » May 12th, 2017, 8:07 pm

Yup. Internet's down. As far as Tobago too.

death365

Postby death365 » May 12th, 2017, 8:21 pm

San Juan too

assassin

Postby assassin » May 12th, 2017, 8:24 pm

Chaguanas down