OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby De Dragon » January 10th, 2017, 6:25 am

eitech wrote:Lol. It having strike, ppl complain. No strike, still complain. Lmao

I don't quite understand this point being made by you and other posters. Was it expected that everyone would be in agreement about the course of action, re the strike? Unless you are referring to a single person being upset at the two outcomes of course.

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2017, 7:28 am

And you know just yesterday i saying that with this increaee i wanna see an increase in productivity.
I swear they just copying what i saying yes lol

eitech

Postby eitech » January 10th, 2017, 8:21 am

eitech wrote:Lol. It having strike, ppl complain. No strike, still complain. Lmao

I don't quite understand this point being made by you and other posters. Was it expected that everyone would be in agreement about the course of action, re the strike? Unless you are referring to a single person being upset at the two outcomes of course.

LOL. you answered the question already in you last sentence

Postby toyolink » January 10th, 2017, 9:37 am

Wasn't 5% the benchmark the previous administration indicated ?
Watson Duke I seem to recall settled at this number (he looking like a rocket scientist now).
........Oh well!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 10th, 2017, 9:44 am

Fuh real wasn't duke called a sell out for this?

Postby Redman » January 10th, 2017, 9:49 am

rebound wrote:And the 15 million dollar show reaches the intermission.. :popcorn: stay tuned...

plus supporting roles
Go to the head of the class....optics,braggin rights and incentives...

..As elite auto said theater.

wavehunter

Postby wavehunter » January 10th, 2017, 1:51 pm

In 2012 OWTU settled for a 9% increase when PP was in power. Today they settled for 5% when PNM in power.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pet ... 19043.html

Postby SR » January 10th, 2017, 5:56 pm

So petrotrin workers going to actually work harder to make sure the company makes money?? What have they been doing all these years?? Sabotage the company to buss??

Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby gastly369 » January 10th, 2017, 6:02 pm

SR wrote:So petrotrin workers going to actually work harder to make sure the company makes money?? What have they been doing all these years?? Sabotage the company to buss??

Well I was trying to figure out dah same ting dey with that statement

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2017, 6:25 pm

SR wrote:So petrotrin workers going to actually work harder to make sure the company makes money?? What have they been doing all these years?? Sabotage the company to buss??

only 5% harder i believe :roll:

niso

Postby niso » January 10th, 2017, 7:22 pm

5% for 2011-2013

2013-2014 in Industrial Court

Postby hydroep » January 11th, 2017, 1:12 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01-11/pm-address-nation-tonight

PM to address nation tonight

Rosemarie Sant
Published:
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is due to address the nation tonight at eight o’clock, and sources close to the Government confirm that the main focus of the address will be on the industrial relations climate with specific reference to the agreement arrived at with the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union to avert a strike at the State-owned oil and gas company Petrotrin...

...Government, a spokesman said, virtually had its back against the wall to settle the negotiation in the face of the proposed strike which would have crippled the country. For two reasons: one is that the International rating agency Moody’s will be in the country in the next few weeks and it would have been bad to have the country’s major state enterprise on a strike. “It could have meant another downgrade for Petrotrin,” we were told. In May this year Moody’s downgraded Petrotrin’s rating from Ba1- to Ba3.

The other reason is that Government had little room to bargain since the OWTU led by Ancel Roget was playing hard ball, insisting that the company settle or face a strike...

...The Prime Minister is also expected to address the economic situation in the country...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 11th, 2017, 1:30 pm

hydroep wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01-11/pm-address-nation-tonight

PM to address nation tonight

Rosemarie Sant
Published:
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley is due to address the nation tonight at eight o’clock, and sources close to the Government confirm that the main focus of the address will be on the industrial relations climate with specific reference to the agreement arrived at with the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union to avert a strike at the State-owned oil and gas company Petrotrin...

...Government, a spokesman said, virtually had its back against the wall to settle the negotiation in the face of the proposed strike which would have crippled the country. For two reasons: one is that the International rating agency Moody’s will be in the country in the next few weeks and it would have been bad to have the country’s major state enterprise on a strike. “It could have meant another downgrade for Petrotrin,” we were told. In May this year Moody’s downgraded Petrotrin’s rating from Ba1- to Ba3.

The other reason is that Government had little room to bargain since the OWTU led by Ancel Roget was playing hard ball, insisting that the company settle or face a strike...

...The Prime Minister is also expected to address the economic situation in the country...

#case_dismissed

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 11th, 2017, 2:52 pm

U does depend on your employees to make sure your business place profitable? Or the onus is on the owner/management to ensure such?

Neways, they were rhetorical questions bcuz I tryna understand what shiit you talking

Postby The_Honourable » January 11th, 2017, 3:05 pm

More calls for privatization...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 11th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Will never happen.

Postby Redman » January 11th, 2017, 3:10 pm

Sentiment change...when a well paid group of workers in a loss making entity put the entire country into uncertainty in order to force the country to further subsidize already better than average compensation ....people will react.

Roget and Co better get in front of this.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby SR » January 11th, 2017, 3:10 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:

U does depend on your employees to make sure your business place profitable? Or the onus is on the owner/management to ensure such?

Neways, they were rhetorical questions bcuz I tryna understand what shiit you talking

Sorry my comments went way over your head ..... but i cant stoop to your intelect and lack of common sense

Postby toyolink » January 11th, 2017, 3:42 pm

Really would like the PM to deliver some hopefulness and not continue pronouncements of 'gloom and doom'.
Efforts to create opportunities to change our negative trajectory will require news to encourage some level of investment in the future.
.........then again if wishes were horses beggars would ride!

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 11th, 2017, 6:26 pm

dude2014 wrote:By the way for the bright persons who quoting salary, quote the engineer/cleaner salary in US dollars and maybe you can decide if you want to wuk for chewing gum change. Petrotrin is overstaffed. Cut out the fat and persons can actually get decent raises.

Also get rid of the board who dropped the case against a former Biggie in the company. Imagine if we had to pay World GTL the money they were demanding for a failed project.

There are big name companies that raking more money than Petrotrin and have 1/10 the employees or less.
You all know them. Repsol, etc downsized. In Trinidad an Tobago State enterprises are bona fide URP's and the revenues gained is simply used to pay people to create a vote bank.

Privately owned or managed and you will see a profitable enterprise. Just check the ISCOTT to ISPAT story.
When they were not making money they flew out.

Not all sections overtaffed, some severely understaffed.
When oil prices didnt go back up a lot of temporary staff was cut. Some home for weeks and months without getting a lil two weeks.

Cleaners does keep the place clean though. I seen inside admin building santa flora already and its spick and span. They not permanent.
In the public service you see the cleaner early in the morning and never again till next day. I remember a hole was drilled in a wall to put up a picture and the red brick dust fell on an electrical outlet below. 10 years later the dust still there. You get what you pay for I guess

Contribute on the rest of my contribution. Name one section that overstaffed and one that understaffed and by how much. This might be harsh but my advise is fro all workers in Petrotrin is to do a course of study that they could feed themselves when restructuring comes ........

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 11th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Petrotrin's staff numbered 5500 in 2015. It's 5000 in 2016...to those talking without knowing why do you beat up so much?

The numbers will continue to trend downward in a fashion that does not impair the operations of the company. Not a mass firing like you guys are looking for.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 11th, 2017, 6:44 pm

Well done OWTU! Wait ten years for Petrotrin to make a profit and then you may get some of your five percent. Restructuring, downsizing and privatisation. Period.

Oh if the above come before profit, kiss your 5% goodbye

Postby gastly369 » January 11th, 2017, 6:52 pm

Lolwhut

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 11th, 2017, 7:22 pm

Anybody know how to get a job in petrotrin???
I trying for years an never even get a call. But some people I know get through a few weeks after finishing school. Petrotrin never even advertised any vacancies but them get through...

Postby gastly369 » January 11th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Lolwhut

Postby The_Honourable » January 11th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Dr Rowley's address to the nation on Petrotrin's financial situation

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby nervewrecker » January 11th, 2017, 10:09 pm

dude2014 wrote:
dude2014 wrote:By the way for the bright persons who quoting salary, quote the engineer/cleaner salary in US dollars and maybe you can decide if you want to wuk for chewing gum change. Petrotrin is overstaffed. Cut out the fat and persons can actually get decent raises.

Also get rid of the board who dropped the case against a former Biggie in the company. Imagine if we had to pay World GTL the money they were demanding for a failed project.

There are big name companies that raking more money than Petrotrin and have 1/10 the employees or less.
You all know them. Repsol, etc downsized. In Trinidad an Tobago State enterprises are bona fide URP's and the revenues gained is simply used to pay people to create a vote bank.

Privately owned or managed and you will see a profitable enterprise. Just check the ISCOTT to ISPAT story.
When they were not making money they flew out.

Not all sections overtaffed, some severely understaffed.
When oil prices didnt go back up a lot of temporary staff was cut. Some home for weeks and months without getting a lil two weeks.

Cleaners does keep the place clean though. I seen inside admin building santa flora already and its spick and span. They not permanent.
In the public service you see the cleaner early in the morning and never again till next day. I remember a hole was drilled in a wall to put up a picture and the red brick dust fell on an electrical outlet below. 10 years later the dust still there. You get what you pay for I guess

Contribute on the rest of my contribution. Name one section that overstaffed and one that understaffed and by how much. This might be harsh but my advise is fro all workers in Petrotrin is to do a course of study that they could feed themselves when restructuring comes ........

If you look back you will see that I was not for an increase right now. If oil price drop men might start to get sent home. Oil production has steadily declined over the years. They can pull themselves together and increase output a bit but I dont like how things look.
And just for the record, wrt the last part, consider it done. Actually looking to hire right now. Can use another guy on the team. Not sure how i playing it this year yet

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2017, 11:03 pm

vaiostation wrote:Anybody know how to get a job in petrotrin???
I trying for years an never even get a call. But some people I know get through a few weeks after finishing school. Petrotrin never even advertised any vacancies but them get through...

Your last name need to be Singh

Postby nervewrecker » January 11th, 2017, 11:08 pm

I been applying close to ten years before I got through. So keep trying.

Postby The_Honourable » January 12th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Excellent interview by Mariano Browne. Here is an interesting perspective he shared:

"The government has been very proactive. The PNM signed an agreement with the JTUM prior to the elections and all of this is payback. What we have here is a veneer and a cover and an attempt to justify the stupidness."