US expels Russian diplomats over cyber attack allegations

chitradev

US expels Russian diplomats over cyber attack allegations

Postby chitradev » December 29th, 2016, 4:05 pm

The US has expelled 35 Russian diplomats as punishment for alleged interference into the presidential election.

It will also close two Russian compounds used for intelligence-gathering, in Maryland and New York, as part of a raft of retaliatory measures.

President Barack Obama had vowed action against Russia amid US accusations it directed hacks against the Democratic party and Hillary Clinton's campaign.

Russia has denied any involvement.

The US State Department declared the 35 Russian diplomats from the Washington DC embassy and the consulate in San Francisco "persona non grata", giving them and their families 72 hours to leave the US.

The Russian government is expected to respond in turn by expelling US diplomats.

Sanctions have also been announced against nine entities and individuals including the GRU and FSB Russian intelligence agencies.

The US Department of Treasury said that the move targets those responsible for "undermining election processes or institutions".

In a statement President Barack Obama said "all Americans should be alarmed by Russia's actions".

He called them a "necessary and appropriate response to efforts to harm US interests", adding it would not be "the sum total of our response to Russia's aggressive activities".

Mr Obama also announced the US will declassify technical information related to Russian cyber activity to "help network defenders in the United States and abroad identify, detect, and disrupt Russia's global campaign of malicious cyber activities".

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-38463025

This look like it be leading up to some major global stress.

Miktay

Re: US expels Russian diplomats over cyber attack allegations

Postby Miktay » December 29th, 2016, 4:12 pm

barry clutches at straws....this nonsense will end on Jan 20

Postby Morpheus » December 29th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Steups.....

Postby meccalli » December 29th, 2016, 4:58 pm

Russia did it! Russia does everything!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 29th, 2016, 6:38 pm

Obama suddenly starts to look busy

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: US expels Russian diplomats over cyber attack allegations

Postby racedriverpro » December 29th, 2016, 7:00 pm

megadoc1 wrote:Obama suddenly starts to look busy

U never do that when ur contract coming to an end?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2016, 8:59 pm

megadoc1 wrote:Obama suddenly starts to look busy

It is pretty clear what he is doing, its essentially a scorched earth policy and it is a very dishonest thing to do. What is even more troubling is the resolution he and his team pushed at the UN that condemns Israel. The PM of Israel calls it a stab in the back which is pretty much what it is. Never in history has relations between Israel and the USA been this bad but I am sure Russia is to blame for that aswell? Fact is Israel is a diamond in a sea of mud, they outnumber every country on earth for Nobel prize in Physics and they contribute more to science and technology than the entire planet combined. They are the cornerstone of innovation in microchips for tech giants like Intel and Qualcomm. And they live next door to people who want them dead for the sole purpose of being a Jew. Palestine rewards suicide bombers with things like naming streets after them if they kill a Jew.

Obama is clearly doing as much damage as he could before he leaves office, like an angry tenant who has just been given an eviction notice, he knows that the citizens voted Trump because they rejected his policies and legacy. So he isn't going to stop here he will cause as much destruction as he can before he leaves to make it hard for Trump, Bush did the very same thing to Obama but Obama is taking it a step further.

Postby desifemlove » December 29th, 2016, 11:07 pm

nothing wrong with that. why is Putin tapping the USA up anyhow?

people saying "Obama, yuh causing new Cold War...Cold War II!!" no. understand how international relations works.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2016, 11:59 pm

desifemlove wrote:nothing wrong with that. why is Putin tapping the USA up anyhow?

people saying "Obama, yuh causing new Cold War...Cold War II!!" no. understand how international relations works.

I could care less about Russia. But Russian hacking into the US was a thing since 2012, Bill O Reilly told Obama to do something about it, he refused.
Suddenly Hillary lost, his legacy is down the sewers now because of that so suddenly he wants to take action. Had Hillary won and Russia hacked the RNC instead, he would be taking no sanctions just like he did nothing about it for 4 years. This is no coincidence he is obviously doing scorched earth the same thing Bush did to him before leaving office. Grown men behaving like this is shameful if you ask me everybody is aware of his BS.

But what is deeply troubling is how he stabbed Israel in the back, nobody cares about Russia they do not provide anything of significance we need, what is important is Obama stabbing the Jews in the back and siding with terrorists like Hamas. The guy is behaving like an angry tenant who just got an eviction notice all because he couldn't run for a third term something he has expressed numerous times

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 30th, 2016, 6:40 am

I am just counting down the days to the decline of the us dollar. Things look ripe for a slide to begin in 2017.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 30th, 2016, 7:37 am

But first study the decline of the TT dollar

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 30th, 2016, 7:59 am

Dizzy28 wrote:But first study the decline of the TT dollar

If u wasnt studying that since the 80s then i can see why that is something new to you. Our dollar always declining because neither government know what is economic progress or how to achieve it. At least the usd losing value will help make stuff more affordable. Its due. Its so due its going to happen.

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2016, 11:59 am

While Obama's timing is suspect, I think that he simply got fed-up of Israel's blatant continuation of the ILLEGAL acts of establishments into occupied (read as NOT Israel's) territories. The US has propped up Israel to the tune of billions of dollars, but the politics of pleasing hard-line Israelis pushing for the settlements trumps anything it seems. There has for a long time not been an Israeli government that wasn't cobbled together from parties holding seats in a loose coalition. This coalition includes these Palestinian hating, land grabbing parties as well, and so Netanyahu is simply keeping himself in power by pandering to them. How else does someone justify actively not upholding a law in spite of universal condemnation.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 30th, 2016, 1:28 pm

De Dragon wrote:While Obama's timing is suspect, I think that he simply got fed-up of Israel's blatant continuation of the ILLEGAL acts of establishments into occupied (read as NOT Israel's) territories. The US has propped up Israel to the tune of billions of dollars, but the politics of pleasing hard-line Israelis pushing for the settlements trumps anything it seems. There has for a long time not been an Israeli government that wasn't cobbled together from parties holding seats in a loose coalition. This coalition includes these Palestinian hating, land grabbing parties as well, and so Netanyahu is simply keeping himself in power by pandering to them. How else does someone justify actively not upholding a law in spite of universal condemnation.

Sometime back in the 90's Israel was willing to give up I believe something like 95% of their land in return for peace. First it started out as 80% then 95% and Palestine rejected it and instead launched more rockets at Israel.

It was by then everybody understood this has nothing to do with peace, its all about killing Jews even to this day Palestine rewards children for killing a Jew not an Israeli but a Jew. This isn't anything new to that religion either, the Catholic church supported Hitler in exterminating Jews. It even provided documents that helped many Nazis escape to South America or certain Arab countries who wanted to exploit their expertise in killing Jews.

I agree with you in a perfect world if we were dealing with sane people Israel would be in the wrong but we are not dealing with sane people here we are dealing with real terrorists who wants Jews dead. I have read a lot about Israel and Palestine and I can say without a doubt I rather live under a Democratic Technological Scientific Israel anyday over a country of barbarians that breaks the legs of their own Palestine people with wooden sticks for buying an Israeli product. Backward lunatics who still stone people to death in this day and age.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 30th, 2016, 2:30 pm

Russia takes the high ground.

Barry must feel silly.

Russia will not expel anyone in response to U.S. sanctions, Putin says

President Vladimir Putin said Moscow would not expel anyone in response to Washington's decision to throw out 35 suspected Russian spies and sanction intelligence agencies it believes were involved in computer hacking in the 2016 presidential election.

Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov earlier proposed expelling 35 U.S. diplomats after outgoing U.S. President Barack Obama ordered the expulsions and sanctions on Thursday.

But Putin said he would wait for the actions of President-elect Donald Trump, who will take office on Jan. 20, before deciding on any further steps in relations with the United States.

"We will not expel anyone," Putin said in a statement on Friday. "While keeping the right for retaliatory measures, we will not descend to the level of 'kitchen', irresponsible diplomacy."

He even invited the children of U.S. diplomats to a party in the Kremlin.

It was not clear whether Trump, who has repeatedly praised Putin and nominated people seen as friendly toward Moscow to senior administration posts, would seek to roll back the measures which mark a new post-Cold War low in U.S.-Russian ties.

Russian officials have portrayed the sanctions as a last act of a lame-duck president and suggested that Trump could reverse them when he takes over the White House.

"Further steps towards the restoration of Russian-American relations will be built on the basis of the policy which the administration of President D. Trump will carry out," said Putin.

In a separate message of New Year congratulations to Trump, he said Russia-U.S. relations were an important factor for maintaining global safety and stability.

The U.S. sanctions also closed two Russian compounds in New York and Maryland that the administration said were used by Russian personnel for "intelligence-related purposes".

However, a former Russian Foreign Ministry employee told Reuters that the facility in Maryland was a dacha used by diplomatic staff and their children.

Lavrov also proposed banning U.S. diplomats from using a dacha in Moscow's prestigious waterfront park area, Serebryany Bor.

But Putin said Russia would not prohibit U.S. diplomats and their families from their usual vacation spots. "Moreover, I invite all children of American diplomats accredited in Russia to the New Year and Christmas party in the Kremlin," he said.

http://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-r ... SKBN14I1TY

Postby desifemlove » December 30th, 2016, 5:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
desifemlove wrote:nothing wrong with that. why is Putin tapping the USA up anyhow?

I could care less about Russia. But Russian hacking into the US was a thing since 2012, Bill O Reilly told Obama to do something about it, he refused.
Suddenly Hillary lost, his legacy is down the sewers now because of that so suddenly he wants to take action. Had Hillary won and Russia hacked the RNC instead, he would be taking no sanctions just like he did nothing about it for 4 years. This is no coincidence he is obviously doing scorched earth the same thing Bush did to him before leaving office. Grown men behaving like this is shameful if you ask me everybody is aware of his BS.

But what is deeply troubling is how he stabbed Israel in the back, nobody cares about Russia they do not provide anything of significance we need, what is important is Obama stabbing the Jews in the back and siding with terrorists like Hamas. The guy is behaving like an angry tenant who just got an eviction notice all because he couldn't run for a third term something he has expressed numerous times

Like Russia has a large nuclear arsenal, has invaded part of Ukraine, sends air sorties over European and US airspace, and sends ships in NATO territorial waters....nothing to worry about? i'm not really bothered about the GOP/Dems, firetruck them,i'm not American. But then it's within his rights, to do this.

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2016, 6:30 pm

Miktay wrote:Russia takes the high ground.

Barry must feel silly.

President Vladimir Putin said Moscow would not expel anyone in response to Washington's decision to throw out 35 suspected Russian spies and sanction intelligence agencies it believes were involved in computer hacking in the 2016 presidential election.

Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov earlier proposed expelling 35 U.S. diplomats after outgoing U.S. President Barack Obama ordered the expulsions and sanctions on Thursday.

But Putin said he would wait for the actions of President-elect Donald Trump, who will take office on Jan. 20, before deciding on any further steps in relations with the United States.

"We will not expel anyone," Putin said in a statement on Friday. "While keeping the right for retaliatory measures, we will not descend to the level of 'kitchen', irresponsible diplomacy."

It was not clear whether Trump, who has repeatedly praised Putin and nominated people seen as friendly toward Moscow to senior administration posts, would seek to roll back the measures which mark a new post-Cold War low in U.S.-Russian ties.

Russian officials have portrayed the sanctions as a last act of a lame-duck president and suggested that Trump could reverse them when he takes over the White House.

"Further steps towards the restoration of Russian-American relations will be built on the basis of the policy which the administration of President D. Trump will carry out," said Putin.

In a separate message of New Year congratulations to Trump, he said Russia-U.S. relations were an important factor for maintaining global safety and stability.

The U.S. sanctions also closed two Russian compounds in New York and Maryland that the administration said were used by Russian personnel for "intelligence-related purposes".

However, a former Russian Foreign Ministry employee told Reuters that the facility in Maryland was a dacha used by diplomatic staff and their children.

Lavrov also proposed banning U.S. diplomats from using a dacha in Moscow's prestigious waterfront park area, Serebryany Bor.

But Putin said Russia would not prohibit U.S. diplomats and their families from their usual vacation spots. "Moreover, I invite all children of American diplomats accredited in Russia to the New Year and Christmas party in the Kremlin," he said.

It escapes you that he is holding his hand until Trump is sworn in? Then he will impose his retaliatory sanctions, Trump will cancel his, Putin will then cancel his, and he and Putin can have a celebratory bull, all while looking like they have averted a crisis.

Postby desifemlove » December 30th, 2016, 6:32 pm

isreal shouldn't exist. so cos some holy book says it's their land, this makes it so?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 30th, 2016, 6:45 pm

desifemlove wrote:isreal shouldn't exist. so cos some holy book says it's their land, this makes it so?

A Jewish state exists because Humanity cannot be trusted especially when your holy book says to kill Jews and you actually believe in your holy book 100%

If there was any justice in this world the Jews would occupy half of Germany, they couldn't possibly be in any worse place than where they are right now Israel right next door to people who believe that god is commanding them to kill Jews. But obviously its a little too late for that now, it is what it is and they are stuck there.

Jews are generally too educated to believe in god so any talk about fulfilling prophecy which is why they want the land is hog wash everybody knows Israel is the scientific capital of the world

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 31st, 2016, 3:47 pm

Barry must feel silly.

It escapes you that he is holding his hand until Trump is sworn in? Then he will impose his retaliatory sanctions, Trump will cancel his, Putin will then cancel his, and he and Putin can have a celebratory bull, all while looking like they have averted a crisis.

That iza possibility. But it's far from certain.

Don't get ur panties inna twist over speculations and innuendo.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 31st, 2016, 9:21 pm

The Obama administration/Democrats are just upset that they have to leave the party so they are going to make as much mess as they can before they leave.

You know, the funny thing is, is that the Democratic party isn't saying the hacked emails are fake and the Russians are trying to undermine them with lies. They are up in arms because "The Russians" released the emails into the public domain. Basically, "How dare you try and sway the election by exposing voters to what's actually real as opposed to what we want to make people believe."

Postby De Dragon » December 31st, 2016, 9:44 pm

Miktay wrote:

Barry must feel silly.

That iza possibility. But it's far from certain.

Don't get ur panties inna twist over speculations and innuendo.

You got that from my post? :? Ok carry on then...........

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2016, 9:54 pm

desifemlove wrote:isreal shouldn't exist. so cos some holy book says it's their land, this makes it so?

Isreal doesn't exist......Israel does!!!!

Postby shogun » December 31st, 2016, 10:04 pm

Lmao. Just look at all the Putin cucks. Men running in to defend a murderous, electoral authoritarian, dictator -like, bad actor on the world stage, because their heads so far up Trump's arse. You're really left wondering just how chupid these Trumpbots really are?

President Barack Obama launched a wide ranging set of retaliatory measures against Vladimir Putin and Russia today for having meddled in the presidential election. Those measures include everything from economic sanctions aimed at crushing the Russian economy, to unceremoniously kicking dozens of Russian diplomats out of the United States. In a remarkable display of bipartisanship, Republican Senators John McCain and Lindsey Graham released a joint statement strongly endorsing Obama’s anti-Russia moves. And this may be just the beginning of that cooperation.

http://www.palmerreport.com/news/john-m ... tions/606/

http://www.rollcall.com/news/politics/o ... ion-course

Yeah, "Barry" and the Dems... they just want to "leave a mess." They're just grasping at straws. Even Paul Ryan endorsed the President's move and is distancing himself from Trumps stance. Unprecedented as far as I know. Some Republicans even calling for Obama to go further. Lmao @ tuners that don't understand that Trump didn't win any mandate. He's an extremely unpopular President-elect that lost the popular vote by the widest margin in history and who's own party is divided in support for him. Fun watching you all pretend though.

When Russia went into Crimea, Obama put the brakes on a $500 Billion deal that Russia had with Exxon Mobil. Guess who's Trumps pick for Secretary of State? Exxon CEO Rex Tillerson. The same Rex Tillerson that was awarded Russia's Order of Friendship medal in 2013. Quite a coincidence. Word is the Russians also have dirt on the GOP/RNC as well, but hasn't released it..... yet
http://www.businessinsider.com/trump-re ... on-2016-12

Carry on...