T&TEC bill rebate begins for bills $300 or less

Postby redmanjp » December 23rd, 2016, 1:38 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161214/news/ttec-bill-rebate-begins

T&TEC bill rebate begins
Published on Dec 14, 2016, 8:59 pm AST

The rebate on electricity bills $300 and lower started yesterday.
Minister of Public Utilities Fitzgerald Hinds announced that the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) has started the process to implement a 25 per cent rebate to persons whose regular electricity bill is $300 or lower.
The rebate was first announced by the Minister of Finance in his budget presentation for 2016-2017, to provide relief on electricity bills for low income households
According to a release from the Ministry, the rebate, which relates only to T&TEC’s residential (domestic) Rate A customers, will be applied to bi-monthly billing periods starting from December 1, 2016 and onwards.
Customers will therefore see the rebate from February 2017.
Additionally, the rebate applies to the value of the bill only. Therefore, if the bill was $280, then the rebate would be 0.25 x 280 = $70, which will be reflected in the charges.
The following bill components will be considered:
a) The total kWh consumption charge for the bi-monthly period;
b) The bi-monthly customer charge of $6;
c) The Value Added Tax of 12.5 per cent.
Once the sum of these three components is $300 or less, the customer qualifies for the rebate.

Re: T&TEC bill rebate begins for bills $300 or less

Postby redmanjp » December 23rd, 2016, 1:41 pm

not sure how much Christmas lights might carry up mih bill doh

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 23rd, 2016, 6:09 pm

Nobody does burn less than $300

One 12K BTU AC alone does pull that amount. Much less refrigerators, fans, lights and everything else.

Postby redmanjp » December 23rd, 2016, 6:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Nobody does burn less than $300

One 12K BTU AC alone does pull that amount. Much less refrigerators, fans, lights and everything else.

sometimes i have managed to go below despite having an AC in the kitchen/dining area - though we don't use it every day and mostly have it on 25-26C

so i could still qualify if i try to conserve

and apparently 120000 customers fall into teh same category

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-10-05/recipients-ttec-rebate-still-mystery
Yvonne Baboolal
Published:
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Until the Ministry of Public Utilities finalises the mechanisms for giving 25 per cent electricity rebates, the 120,000 beneficiaries announced by Finance Minister Colm Imbert during the budget presentation remains unclear.

Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission's (TTEC) communications manager, Annabelle Brasnell, asked by the T&T Guardian how the 120,000 will be identified, among other questions, said: “The mechanisms for the programme are still being finalised with the ministry at this time, therefore we would like to defer further response.”

Efforts to reach TTEC general manager, Kelvin Ramsook, have not been successful since he has been reportedly locked in meetings.

A TTEC source said they were “still calculating” the figures.

Former minister of the now downgraded ministry of the people and social development, Christine Newallo Hosein, said the Utilities Assistance Programme (UAP) was conceptualised in December 2010 under the former People’s Partnership administration and by October 2013 they had identified 11,722 people who were eligible for rebates.

Most of them were beneficiaries of $200 grants for the purpose of paying their Water and Sewerage Authority bills, she said.

“It worked out that only 1,286 only identified to receive electricity rebates.” She said these were citizens who were consuming 500 or less kilowatts of electricity or paying rates up to $870 a year.

Newallo-Hosein said at the time 11,000 were receiving disability grants and another 11,000 public assistance but added that being recipients of these did not necessarily mean they were entitled to utility rebates.

She said they had to go through a rigorous process to determine if they were eligible.

Other low income earners, pensioners and those receiving food cards were added as possible beneficiaries.

A TTEC source, requesting anonymity disputing Newallo-Hosein’s claim, said the number of citizens entitled to rebates was actually underestimated.

“It’s closer to 215,000,” he said. This would work out to cost the State around $100 million if paid.

Several average income people interviewed by CNC 3 television said they fell within the $300 electricity bill limit entitling them to rebates.

Imbert, in last Friday’s budget, announced the 25 per cent rebate on electricity bills would be given to 120,000 households utilising power amounting to $300 and under a cycle.

He promised that once instituted consumers would benefit.

Ramsook, in an interview in Monday’s T&T Guardian, said T&TEC would hold discussions with its line ministry this week to work out a mechanism on how the new initiative would be applied.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 23rd, 2016, 6:36 pm

I tried hard to lower my bill but the lowest I ever went to was $400

Just can't stand the nasty humidity and heat in this country. Not gonna lie but Humidity is ridiculous in this place, if its low and wind blowing hard then yeah it eh matter how hot, place feels nice without a AC.

I will try 25c and see what happens I normally run it between 22 to 23c

buckredan

Postby buckredan » December 23rd, 2016, 8:02 pm

I have 3 meters 1 read $50 - $70 dollars
1 $250-$320 the last $350-$450 only goes high when using air-condition

Average

Postby Average » December 24th, 2016, 2:37 pm

3 occupants in household.
No A/C but 3 fans are utilized, two tvs, computer, PS4, fridge, microwave, water heater.

$166.00

HSA

Postby HSA » December 24th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Fat ppl tend to feel humidity and heat more than skinny ones..

Think of it as being wrapped up in several blankets as opposed to being naked....

In addition....certain parts of the country tend to be hotter than the rest such as penal and piarco

To fall below $300 there must be a household with essentials...1 fridge...gas stove..a few bulbs... not the filament ones....no a/c and bout 2 fan....

Postby meccalli » December 24th, 2016, 3:17 pm

We use Ac only at night for 2-3 hours to cool the room and then standard fans will circulate that. Bill is usually 270-290. my pc ramains on 24/7, 365 except for maintenance.

Postby desifemlove » December 25th, 2016, 12:47 am

I dunno how much this will increase disposable income and thus economic growth as the government say, but we will see.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 26th, 2016, 1:25 am

Just be careful just now the govt mite wanna take off the subsidy..remember tnt has the lowest in electricity rates in the Caribbean

Pablo660

T&TEC bill rebate begins for bills $300 or less

Postby Pablo660 » December 26th, 2016, 4:19 am

So if you use alternative energy e.g. Solar or wind, to bring your bill down, will this still stand?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 26th, 2016, 5:23 pm

Don't think so ...

Postby desifemlove » December 28th, 2016, 12:51 am

i use plenty more than 400 dollars a month....but then this is a good move in principle. That said, plenty "poor" people may not look like they does have jobs, but the black economy in T&T is very large. and we're a drug economy too, plus people may do a lot of PH taxi or maxi, and other non-registered/non-government noted wuk.

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2016, 8:08 am

Does one have to apply for the rebate or does it automatically calculate with the light bill?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 28th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Pablo660 wrote:So if you use alternative energy e.g. Solar or wind, to bring your bill down, will this still stand?

oxymoron...

Postby redmanjp » December 28th, 2016, 12:51 pm

https://ttec.co.tt/default/bill-rebate-faqs

Twenty Five Percent (25%) Bill Rebate
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. What is the 25% bill rebate?

This rebate is in fulfilment of a Government policy that seeks to offer further economic relief to persons with low incomes, by helping to manage their electricity bills.

2. How will the rebate be implemented?

The rebate is applicable to electricity bills that are $300 or less. The following charges will be used to calculate the $300:

a) The total kWh consumption charge for the bi-monthly period;

b) The bi-monthly customer charge of $6.00;

c) The Value Added Tax of 12.5%

If there are other charges on the bill such as reconnection/ disconnection fees, adjustments etc., these will not be counted towards the $300 limit.

3. Once I get the rebate will I always receive it?

The rebate is only applicable on bills or $300 or less. Therefore, if your bill exceeds $300 in any billing period, you will not receive the rebate for that period.

4. When will I receive the rebate?

The rebate is applicable for bi-monthly billing periods starting December 1st 2016. Rebates will be applied to bills from February 2017

5. I have more than one T&TEC account, would I still qualify for the rebate?

Yes, each bill is eligible for the rebate, once they are $300 or less.

6. Can I use the rebate to clear off arrears on my bill?

No. The rate cannot be applied to any other charges on your bill other than those listed in question 2 above. It is also not transferrable to any other account.

Postby redmanjp » December 28th, 2016, 12:55 pm

i doh know but think Govt. might seek to recover some of this lost revenue by increasing rates for the higher end customers (e.g.- those who might be using more than 1000 or 1500 kwhrs). Sometime this year i believe i read an article that said rates could increase- if so it should only affect you as if u go past 1000kwh the rate is like 45c/kwh, then past 1500 55c/kwh.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2016, 3:48 pm

My bill typically runs 250-260
windows / doors open and fans so no a/c
House designed so once front and back doors open, constant airflow
no dryer
one fridge
tankless water heater
water pump

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 29th, 2016, 12:42 pm

So causes of increased electricity is the air condition units....dryer...and water heaters....

Don't think I could live comfortably without those ......

I always thought these are standard equipment in a house....?...

Are theese considered luxury item?

Postby De Dragon » December 29th, 2016, 1:22 pm

no dryer
one fridge
tankless water heater
water pump

Only cuz yuh slow dong de meetah............... :lol:

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2016, 1:24 pm

lol I doh touch de people fancy digital gizmo

Postby MG Man » December 29th, 2016, 1:26 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:So causes of increased electricity is the air condition units....dryer...and water heaters....

Don't think I could live comfortably without those ......

I always thought these are standard equipment in a house....?...

Are theese considered luxury item?

I don't really care for a/c. The house is wired for it but thus far, I good with breeze blowing thru
Until mih washing machine go bang, not gonna be buying a dryer
I should mention I on't own a flat screen tele either. My CRT works fine so I see no reason to replace it...for some reason, people have this need to replace perfectly good tvs...never quite understood that

Postby desifemlove » December 29th, 2016, 4:40 pm

they say 140,000 households will qualify for this. Really? to run even a small house, just use a fan and no AC, have a fridge on 24/7, use Internet, TV, computers, cookers/microwaves, driers, internal and external lighting, I doubt it's many that would qualify.

Plus heated water, water pumps, some people (not many) own septic tanks. these all require near constant power.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2016, 4:48 pm

Personally I find my bill like it gone up since they introduce this rebate

Postby Monk BANzai » December 29th, 2016, 7:58 pm

no dryer
one fridge
tankless water heater
water pump

Funny what people consider vital to survival. My bill lies in the same arena. Wash your clothes and manage your laundry accordingly.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » December 30th, 2016, 11:22 am

My bill is usually below $300 but some times a little bit over. For others like me in that bill amount range, it encourages us to make a conscious effort to make small changes in our daily life to ensure your bill stays below the $300 threshold.

Some practices in my household (apartment) to keep electric bill down:

- Only use ACs on weekends
- ACs set to 23c.
- Cold showers. I'm not a big fan of hot water showers, I grew up without a heater and even now that I have hot water I very rarely take a hot shower. Cant say the same for the wife though hahaha.
- Keep lights turned off as much as possible
- Use florescent lights
- Keep the fridge closed as much as possible. When the fridge/freezer is kept open for long periods or opened often it heats up quickly and takes more power to cool it down again.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 30th, 2016, 11:39 am

My household bill averages $800 per cycle.
2 fridges, 1 freezer, 1 washing machine (no dryer), 2 12,000BTU A/C, 2 TVs, one shower head water heater and the usual lights most of which are compact fluorescent.

I am convinced though that there may be some error but haven't gotten the time to check with TTEC as my father in law has more electricity intensive devices than I do (water pump, one extra shower head water heater, three more A/Cs than me including a window unit and a 36,000BTU one, dryer) and his bill is less than mine.

Postby redmanjp » December 30th, 2016, 1:36 pm

Wolla wrote:My bill is usually below $300 but some times a little bit over. For others like me in that bill amount range, it encourages us to make a conscious effort to make small changes in our daily life to ensure your bill stays below the $300 threshold.

Some practices in my household (apartment) to keep electric bill down:

- Only use ACs on weekends
- ACs set to 23c.
- Cold showers. I'm not a big fan of hot water showers, I grew up without a heater and even now that I have hot water I very rarely take a hot shower. Cant say the same for the wife though hahaha.
- Keep lights turned off as much as possible
- Use florescent lights
- Keep the fridge closed as much as possible. When the fridge/freezer is kept open for long periods or opened often it heats up quickly and takes more power to cool it down again.

set AC to 25 and use a fan to move the still cool air around to create a wind chill effect- the air will cool u the same as 23C with no fan- u will save more- also make sure the rom is air tight and block out sun (curtains and film).

Re: RE: Re: T&TEC bill rebate begins for bills $300 or less

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2016, 3:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:My household bill averages $800 per cycle.
2 fridges, 1 freezer, 1 washing machine (no dryer), 2 12,000BTU A/C, 2 TVs, one shower head water heater and the usual lights most of which are compact fluorescent.

I am convinced though that there may be some error but haven't gotten the time to check with TTEC as my father in law has more electricity intensive devices than I do (water pump, one extra shower head water heater, three more A/Cs than me including a window unit and a 36,000BTU one, dryer) and his bill is less than mine.

Check ur grounding. Some of ur consumption may be due to hear generation stemming from poor wiring.
Just double check wires and the breakers to make sure none overly hot