*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 16 cycles » December 16th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Good DACs are a definite + to a system....

Postby Gladiator » December 16th, 2016, 8:04 pm

dredman1 wrote:Any of you guys have a curved HDTV? I see there are pros and cons, but from what I see it seems mainly to be a matter of preference.

Any of you who bought curved regret it after and wished you bought flat instead? Or are you now converted into someone who would never buy a flat TV .

Looking at a 55" btw.

My boss bought two... returned them after a couple days because he said the screen is highly reflective and suffered severe reflections of the windows and lights in the house making it difficult to watch the picture on the screen.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 16th, 2016, 8:07 pm

Hi
Where can I get good OFC wires for my home theater, 10 gauge preferably
I was told I can't use car audio wires

Postby rollingstock » December 16th, 2016, 9:01 pm

Why can't you use car audio wire? Ofc is ofc.

Postby Gladiator » December 16th, 2016, 9:35 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Hi

Come nah man Paul you know better than that!!!

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 16th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Trust me ,
My Uncle is an audiophile and he explained, I will ask him again so I can post here.
He's not into the high end audio wires also with magic fairy dust lol

Postby Gladiator » December 16th, 2016, 10:05 pm

Ok man... let me know what he says.... the only thing I can think of is that in the home is you running wires in ceiling etc you may get emf interference from ballasts, power lines etc. Some audiophiles use shielded or twisted pair speaker wires... I did two installs with car audio speaker cables with no problems.

Postby Morpheus » December 16th, 2016, 10:31 pm

My Christmas gift to myself.

Optoma HX142 1080p 3D projector
Elitescreens 100" screen (manual)

Screen came more than a week later. Mounting it tomorrow.

Projecting on a dark blue wall with a light green wrinkly-ass sheet right now. Could imagine my smiles tomorrow evening

Last edited by Morpheus on December 16th, 2016, 10:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 16th, 2016, 10:49 pm

Gladiator wrote:My boss bought two... returned them after a couple days because he said the screen is highly reflective and suffered severe reflections of the windows and lights in the house making it difficult to watch the picture on the screen.

That will be a major issue for me where the tv is going in the living room.

Thanks.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 17th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Gladiator wrote:Ok man... let me know what he says.... the only thing I can think of is that in the home is you running wires in ceiling etc you may get emf interference from ballasts, power lines etc. Some audiophiles use shielded or twisted pair speaker wires... I did two installs with car audio speaker cables with no problems.

I will definitely post up once I meet him

What brand do you use for, do you get good ofc at 10 gauge?
Thanks

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » December 18th, 2016, 12:43 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Hi

We have OFC 16/2 & 14/2 CL3 Rated speaker wire for In-wall and In-Ceiling use.

Available in 500ft rolls or by the foot if needed.

Please call me at 362-2814 if you would like to get more info or make arrangements for purchasing.

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » December 18th, 2016, 12:44 pm

Morpheus wrote:My Christmas gift to myself.

Optoma HX142 1080p 3D projector
Elitescreens 100" screen (manual)

Screen came more than a week later. Mounting it tomorrow.

Projecting on a dark blue wall with a light green wrinkly-ass sheet right now. Could imagine my smiles tomorrow evening

Nice !!!

What speakers do you plan on using with the setup ?

Postby Morpheus » December 18th, 2016, 1:09 pm

^^Thanks. Some old Altec Lansing PC speakers. Working well enough for now.

HDMI switch came last week along with a 30ft HDMI cable.

So projector alone on the shelf now. All other devices would be under the screen feeding into the 4 input HDMI switch.

Test fit/run...

Screen installed.

Postby gastly369 » December 18th, 2016, 2:16 pm

Diz wah we saying dey

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » December 18th, 2016, 3:03 pm

Morpheus wrote:^^Thanks. Some old Altec Lansing PC speakers. Working well enough for now.

HDMI switch came last week along with a 30ft HDMI cable.

So projector alone on the shelf now. All other devices would be under the screen feeding into the 4 input HDMI switch.

Test fit/run...

Screen installed.

how much was thw screen with shipping

Postby Morpheus » December 18th, 2016, 3:31 pm

Hmmm...

Screen on Amazon US$80
Skybox US$62 (24lbs)
Vat/Duty/OPT TT$260

560+420+260

Approx TT$1240.......roughly

Postby Morpheus » December 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm

Ok I'm done for now...

Collected from Skybox just now. 5 pairs rechargeable 3D glasses.

Postby gastly369 » December 19th, 2016, 9:05 pm

Ohgouudd imagine 3d nrop @ hunjed inch

Postby gastly369 » December 19th, 2016, 10:29 pm

this as far i reach with mines waiting on recliner set atm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2016, 11:21 pm

which screen is that?

Re: RE: Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby gastly369 » December 20th, 2016, 8:50 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:which screen is that?

Standard Klip Xtreme 120" screen got it by wizz for $700

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 20th, 2016, 9:03 am

Just awesome ghastly.....nice man cave.....

I will be in the market for a projector soon...Will be seeking some advice here ...

Postby Morpheus » December 20th, 2016, 9:27 am

Sweet stuff there Ghastly369...

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » December 20th, 2016, 10:05 am

anyone know's where locally i can get universal mounts like these?

https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Satell ... B004S8EF9W

Re: RE: Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby gastly369 » December 20th, 2016, 1:39 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Just awesome ghastly.....nice man cave.....

I will be in the market for a projector soon...Will be seeking some advice here ...

Upstairs is de (hopefully allowable) man cave pool table bar etc

But the projector setup was a budget system nun fancy and pro
Sound system is a small Bose 2.1 which does enough for the area it's in for me
Player is a 4k Android box

HesusAVG

Postby HesusAVG » December 21st, 2016, 9:01 am

Wow guys so high prices:whatthe: 3k, 4k damn. I really love quality of music and video, low bass till my ears start to bleeds, bit I still live with my parents so I Surfed chip kind of receivers. In particular " Yamaha RX-V379BL " got:
- Bluetooth wireless music playback
- 4K Ultra HD pass-through with HDCP 2.2
- YPAO microphone audio calibration
- Virtual Cinema Front
- Extra Bass setting for smaller satellite speakers

Eventually, I get it just for 229$ and about 20$ for FedEx shipping.
Last edited by HesusAVG on December 21st, 2016, 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » December 21st, 2016, 10:08 am

To anyone who may be interested.... i have a Yamaha RXV-659 for sale. Its an older 7ch receiver with no HDMi but a great SQ amplifier and DAC.

See review here:
http://www.audioholics.com/av-receiver- ... ha-rx-v659

Also I have some projector screen material (16ft x 20ft) if anyone is looking to do a custom screen.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » December 22nd, 2016, 5:43 pm

Pair that Yahama with the new oppo n u on

Anton

Postby Anton » December 22nd, 2016, 6:15 pm

Nice to see more projector guys on the thread!

Postby Gladiator » December 22nd, 2016, 8:56 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Pair that Yahama with the new oppo n u on

OPPO as in the phone?