Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 22nd, 2016, 4:00 pm

Average about 50-55k labor n material...labor price could vary as well as material..

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 23rd, 2016, 6:30 pm

Anyone has experience in maintaining a teak outdoor gate. ..

Looking to sand and re do surface

best buy

Postby best buy » November 23rd, 2016, 8:52 pm

Hey guys where would you'll recommend to get a House Plan reasonable ???

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 24th, 2016, 5:23 am

last plan I drew the guy charged me $7500 which was a best deal.I spoke to about 5 other men before him and they were telling me they charging 1-1.5% of the estimated value of the house(big steupse)...With that $7500,the guy ensured everything was delivered to T&C etc etc

Talibansound

Postby Talibansound » November 28th, 2016, 8:47 pm

Anyone looking for a good small contractor give this guy a call ..randy #737-6593.. he can come see jobs and give great estimates ...

matthewb

Postby matthewb » November 29th, 2016, 12:40 pm

Any1 knows someone who have material they use to make roads......my road is in a poor state.......i need to repair it........

Postby *KRONIK* » November 29th, 2016, 12:46 pm

There is a road building company on the forums here
Roadink
They may be able to help you

allstarzcrew

Postby allstarzcrew » November 29th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Anyone knows what's the average price to do a foundation 60ft x40ft? Labour

Postby rspann » November 29th, 2016, 5:47 pm

matthewb wrote:Any1 knows someone who have material they use to make roads......my road is in a poor state.......i need to repair it........

Call Rohan.

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Road near Kay Donna ?

rspann wrote:
matthewb wrote:Any1 knows someone who have material they use to make roads......my road is in a poor state.......i need to repair it........

Call Rohan.

Postby rspann » November 29th, 2016, 7:20 pm

pugboy wrote:Road near Kay Donna ?

rspann wrote:

Call Rohan.

Nah, they say any road you have problems with, just call, they sending a crew in no time.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 7th, 2016, 12:46 pm

Tell me more about this road repair pls.
Who is Rohan?

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2016, 4:51 pm

Rohan is the owner of Kay Donna drive in, Rohan is a Bollywood star, Rohan is the PM, Rohan is the minister of works, tell me when to stop..

Postby K74T » December 7th, 2016, 5:06 pm

Rohan is the ohan before Sohan.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2016, 5:21 pm

they need to build the interchange by kay donna, them lights is real bottle neck

Postby adnj » December 8th, 2016, 4:16 am

Does anyone know of a good place to get chain link fencing hardware locally? I need tension bands, tension bars and gate hinge fittings.

MH-Buying-Parts.png

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 8th, 2016, 11:13 am

May be check varma I think they make chain link fences

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » December 8th, 2016, 10:53 pm

Good night fellas. I am about to do a floor 30X45X4. I was advised that it would take 12.7 meters of ready mix concrete. If I decided to hand mix what amount of gravel(1/2 & 1/2) and cement would I need.
Would it be cheaper to use ready mix or hand mix. I know hand mixing will not guarantee a even mix.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » December 8th, 2016, 11:21 pm

For ground floor, they use a bobcat and just a few guys. By half day you are done. About two loads of gravel and 48 cement. About $7500 material + labour. Ready mix $13000+ line pump+ labour.

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby adnj » December 9th, 2016, 10:01 am

urbandilema wrote:May be check varma I think they make chain link fences

I called Varma today. They only carry the chain link and that's it. I'm still looking for tension bands, tension bars and gate hinge fittings.

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » December 9th, 2016, 7:00 pm

simplicity16 wrote:Good night fellas. I am about to do a floor 30X45X4. I was advised that it would take 12.7 meters of ready mix concrete. If I decided to hand mix what amount of gravel(1/2 & 1/2) and cement would I need.
Would it be cheaper to use ready mix or hand mix. I know hand mixing will not guarantee a even mix.

Any one have a good idea.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 9th, 2016, 8:19 pm

For a floor slab, TTS 599: 2006 (Small Building Code) recommends the following proportions for a batch of hand mixed concrete:

1 bag (42.5kg sack) cement
1 Wheelbarrow sand (Sharp Sand)
1.5 Wheelbarrows gravel (3/4 inch Guanapo Gravel)
2 construction buckets (24 litres) of water

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 9th, 2016, 8:41 pm

adnj wrote:

I called Varma today. They only carry the chain link and that's it. I'm still looking for tension bands, tension bars and gate hinge fittings.

Check Bhagwansingh. Call 692 2900 or you can go in to Chaguanas or Trincity

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » December 9th, 2016, 8:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'd try and give you a break down of the house...essentially its a 4 BDRM..downstairs we have a kitchen, living room, dining room, washroom, guest room, entertainment area and well garage more or less built inside the house
..id try and throw up some pics of the draft

Good investment

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby adnj » December 9th, 2016, 9:06 pm

About 90 bags of cement and 17 yards of 50/50 gravel for a floor slab of that size and thickness.
You'll also be moving almost 35 tons of mixed concrete.
simplicity16 wrote:
simplicity16 wrote:Good night fellas. I am about to do a floor 30X45X4. I was advised that it would take 12.7 meters of ready mix concrete. If I decided to hand mix what amount of gravel(1/2 & 1/2) and cement would I need.

Postby rspann » December 9th, 2016, 9:08 pm

adnj wrote:About 90 bags of cement and 17 yards of 50/50 gravel for a floor slab of that size and thickness.
You'll also be moving almost 35 tons of mixed concrete.
simplicity16 wrote:

Wey sah!

Postby adnj » December 9th, 2016, 9:11 pm

dude2014 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Check Bhagwansingh. Call 692 2900 or you can go in to Chaguanas or Trincity

It was hit or miss at Trincity. I'll have to go to Chaguanas to see what they have left.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 9th, 2016, 9:11 pm

simplicity16 wrote:

To convert cubic metre to cubic yards divide by 0.765. 12. 7/0.765=16.6 cubic yards.
You will have to buy a little more as there is shrinkage, wastage etc, so say 20 cubic yards
Quantity of cement multiply by 5.5. ie 5.5x16.6=92 sacks.
With regards to a hand mix, Trinis dont like to measure, they "break the load, leh go cement and start to mix.
Cement acts as a dye so you dont know how much you have in there as the mix appears "OK".

With proper supervision, measurement the mix can be comparative to a 21N/mm2 mix or even higher crushing strength. For added uniformity and strength
a). A Ransom, concrete mixer sometimes referred to as a cement mixer can be used.
b). Specialist chemicals can advise on additives to increase strength, workability, durability, longevity, impermeability (or watertight/waterproofed) depending on the location and intended use of the floor.

With regards the labour cost for mixing and pouring/placement check around.
Ground floor will cost less than an upstairs ...........

FLEX

Postby FLEX » December 14th, 2016, 11:51 pm

Bought the wrong lights was supposed to buy 3"
i have WESTINGHOUSE 4" RECESSED LIGHTS
If anyone is interested
all brand new in boxes of 20 = $1300 each box of 20 slightly negotiable
led light bulbs $120 per box of 4 slightly negotiable
believe i have 120 light bulbs. and 100 recessed lights
EVERYTHING NEW IN BOX
whatsapp for pics
774-7425

matthewb

Postby matthewb » December 16th, 2016, 9:15 pm

Anybody cud give me a estimated cost to do a foundation for a flats.....20x50....it is a apartment i want to build.....i want to do it cash however....