Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2016, 9:35 pm

"Deal with it" and understanding and heeding laws are somewhat strange concepts for many.

Yes it is hard to do when one sees the people at the top getting away with murder
but continuous complaints and excuses against the rules won't change them.
try and accept that life is not fair

I drive a pickup and gotten used to driving around 65-70 and on occasion 80-85 when taking a chance

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 21st, 2016, 10:09 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
drchaos wrote:Every advanced/civilized country has a 10% rule. The police won't stop you driving 10% over the limit because that makes sense. . .

Perhaps you would be kind enough to direct us to your source of this information.

What makes sense is to not charge people for going at a speed that is within the error of the apparatus. Somewhere in one of these speed limit related threads, someone posted up the error of the measuring device currently being used as +/- 2km/h. If that is information is correct, then the TTPS should not charge anyone who the radar gun had indicated is going 82km/h and below.

I still can't understand what all the beat up is over the speed limit. The politicians are not going to change it anytime soon. Deal with it.

Personal experience of both in the US and UK and doing a google search leads to lots of sources that back up my claims.
eg.
http://mentalfloss.com/uk/society/28119 ... ing-ticket
http://www.trafficviolationlawfirms.com ... -limit.htm

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 21st, 2016, 11:37 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:1)well murder, illegal guns, robbery ,are also decade old laws but it seems like they not putting the same resources forward towards it .
2)I have no problem with the speed limit being 80 but the men doing the radar set up as u coming down the incline by claxton bay and want to give people ticket for 83 kms/hr
65 km for pickup is unreasonable

3)pick up men / truck men need to get together and drive 40 km /hr up the highway everyday for a while to protest this crap.
they are quick to change the laws in one direction but nothing in the other.

1) You see this is the kind of illiteracy I can't handle..yes, we understand your point about not as much effort being put into other areas, but do you understand delegation..?? Do you understand there are SPECIFIC DEPARTMENTS in the TTPS?? Let me see you report a vehicular accident to Fraud Squad nah.. :? which brings me to;

2) It's called a LIMIT..not a target..yes I would also like to see an increase in the limit, but some of us drive sooo absent-minded, it's better if it stays there. It's also very ironic that in the sentence before, you criticized the TTPS for not carrying out their duties effectively, yet you complain when a ticket is given out for 83 km/h. I want to hear you ask the officer why they're charging you like it's a whole magazine they found, when it was really only two bullets (hope that doesn't go over your head)..and finally;

3) When I saw the call on Facebook for pickups to clog up the highway to 'protest' a law that was always around, but only recently heavily enforced, I said it's only a matter of time for a 2NR to identify himself..found one. How does this make any sense??? I could imagine you illegally sitting in the overtaking lane at 40 km/h like
giphy.gif
giphy.gif (495.8 KiB) Viewed 3191 times
when we have to now illegally overtake you in the left lane, where your chestburnt self should be.

I ain't ashamed to admit I break the limit, I cruise at 100 km/h, but I'm always looking out for the lights - both the blue and great folks on the other side warning us. If I happen to get caught, hard luck for me. No one else is paying my ticket. I agree it can be raised to a comfortable 100 km/h but I have no statistical evidence to support it. Rory said somewhere higher up that the roads can't handle the a higher speed in theory and while we prove otherwise everyday, I still do it within reason. Do your do like the rest of us and hush..but if you must complain on the interwebs, at least make some sense prior to and while doing so nah..

/end.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 22nd, 2016, 1:26 am

Joshie23 wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:1)well murder, illegal guns, robbery ,are also decade old laws but it seems like they not putting the same resources forward towards it .
2)I have no problem with the speed limit being 80 but the men doing the radar set up as u coming down the incline by claxton bay and want to give people ticket for 83 kms/hr
65 km for pickup is unreasonable

3)pick up men / truck men need to get together and drive 40 km /hr up the highway everyday for a while to protest this crap.
they are quick to change the laws in one direction but nothing in the other.

1) You see this is the kind of illiteracy I can't handle..yes, we understand your point about not as much effort being put into other areas, but do you understand delegation..?? Do you understand there are SPECIFIC DEPARTMENTS in the TTPS?? Let me see you report a vehicular accident to Fraud Squad nah.. :? which brings me to;

2) It's called a LIMIT..not a target..yes I would also like to see an increase in the limit, but some of us drive sooo absent-minded, it's better if it stays there. It's also very ironic that in the sentence before, you criticized the TTPS for not carrying out their duties effectively, yet you complain when a ticket is given out for 83 km/h. I want to hear you ask the officer why they're charging you like it's a whole magazine they found, when it was really only two bullets (hope that doesn't go over your head)..and finally;

3) When I saw the call on Facebook for pickups to clog up the highway to 'protest' a law that was always around, but only recently heavily enforced, I said it's only a matter of time for a 2NR to identify himself..found one. How does this make any sense??? I could imagine you illegally sitting in the overtaking lane at 40 km/h like giphy.gif when we have to now illegally overtake you in the left lane, where your chestburnt self should be.

I ain't ashamed to admit I break the limit, I cruise at 100 km/h, but I'm always looking out for the lights - both the blue and great folks on the other side warning us. If I happen to get caught, hard luck for me. No one else is paying my ticket. I agree it can be raised to a comfortable 100 km/h but I have no statistical evidence to support it. Rory said somewhere higher up that the roads can't handle the a higher speed in theory and while we prove otherwise everyday, I still do it within reason. Do your do like the rest of us and hush..but if you must complain on the interwebs, at least make some sense prior to and while doing so nah..

/end.

lol you calling my rant illiterate but it look like you are the one who cannot read
The first point you answer yourself , Yes there is other departments within the police service, but is it the police who can spend the money or is it the Ministry(ministry) of national security. We have loads of issues with police bieng accused of doing something wrong, this money they spending on speed cameras can be better utilized on body cameras and vehicle monitoring. devices. Each one of these speed traps have over 10 police officers and at least 4 police vehicles, yet you coming here and speaking ill of the 2 hard working officers in the charge room who have take your report when it seems you cannot even read correctly.

I never said i wanted an increase in the speed limit for normal cars . I said the speed limit should be increased for pickups. these pickups have the same safety features as most cars. Pickup trucks normally are more roadworthy you have to actually pass through licencing office every year and they check your vehicle.
If you are driving on the highway on a flat road it is easy to maintain an 80 km without issue when you driving on inclines you cannot maintain 80 km an hour you will go over. even if you put on the cruise control it will ramp over 80 km/ hr on the hills and coming down. I mentioned Claxton bay were they catch you just as you start the descend on the slope. I said that was unethical.
you should read up the law on illegal guns and then comment.

No I did not just identify my self I have been saying this all along. from day one. I probably need to join facebook to get with this group. Even the government, saying the people are happy with the changes that is why no protest are taking place .
If no action is taken then no change will be made.
I was the one who also said i have a pot to save for my speeding tickets . I also said i always flash my lights to warn others.
Yes you have the jackass who is driving reckless on the highway but most of the people not overdoing it. I feel sorry for those guys who have to drive daily on the highway.
please note if you want to pass you will have to pass on the shoulder because there will be loads of pickups overtaking each other at 30 km/hr to 40 km/hr . So when you imagine get the illegal part out of your head since the law is keep left unless if overtaking. one pickup will be overtaking the other. Just in case you are worried i do not have chest burn. i know where the police are on the highway before i get there . I'm not doing this for me .

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2016, 6:12 am

I want the limit increased to 120...
It makes mores sense to obey it then.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 22nd, 2016, 12:34 pm

Hong kong ....Modern Pickups are not as safe as modern cars.
They may have newer safety features just like the newer cars and SUV's on paper but they have 3 critical flaws.

Higher centre of gravity, rear wheel drive and a suspension that is designed to carry load ( and almost all of these vehicles on the road have no load).

Thus they are inherently less stable.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 22nd, 2016, 12:45 pm

drchaos wrote:Personal experience of both in the US and UK and doing a google search leads to lots of sources that back up my claims.
eg.

This is the problem. You are trying to apply practices in a developed nation to our third world country. No matter how much LNG or methanol we produce, we are a third world country because of our mentality. The driving culture in those developed countries is vastly different to the driving culture in T&T and, just like with crime, one cannot wholesale import practices from those countries and apply them here and expect them to be effective. In our culture, we need to be beaten over the head with a stick to comply with anything.

No one is physically stopping anyone from driving at whatever speed they want to on the road. Just be prepared to deal with the consequences that everyone knows beforehand.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 22nd, 2016, 12:51 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
drchaos wrote:Personal experience of both in the US and UK and doing a google search leads to lots of sources that back up my claims.
eg.

This is the problem. You are trying to apply practices in a developed nation to our third world country. No matter how much LNG or methanol we produce, we are a third world country because of our mentality. The driving culture in those developed countries is vastly different to the driving culture in T&T and, just like with crime, one cannot wholesale import practices from those countries and apply them here and expect them to be effective. In our culture, we need to be beaten over the head with a stick to comply with anything.

No one is physically stopping anyone from driving at whatever speed they want to on the road. Just be prepared to deal with the consequences that everyone knows beforehand.

The speeding mentality in the UK and US/Canada is the same as here ... Studies in Canada show over 50% of drivers break the speed limit on the highways. In the UK the figure is probably higher with almost every man going jack breaking the speed limit and then slowing down when they see warning signs for speed cameras.

So the culture is the same and the rules can be carbon copied to Trinidad with regards to speeding.

The difference is in the discipline of drivers in doing crazy sheit on the road.

Postby Redman » November 22nd, 2016, 12:55 pm

I think it's enforcement of a systematic group of rules that creates the driving culture.

We don't enforce consistently and continuously...so we don't change.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » November 22nd, 2016, 6:43 pm

Redman wrote:I think it's enforcement of a systematic group of rules that creates the driving culture.

We don't enforce consistently and continuously...so we don't change.

And as I've mentioned many times before, I'm more concerned with dangerous driving than with speeding itself. Sudden lane changes without indicating, 90kph on the shoulder, darting across 3 lanes, driving with headlights off in the night, etc. I could go on and on. Those things are a concern to me also.

They should not enforce just speeding...
Last edited by Morpheus on November 22nd, 2016, 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 22nd, 2016, 7:27 pm

drchaos wrote:Hong kong ....Modern Pickups are not as safe as modern cars.
They may have newer safety features just like the newer cars and SUV's on paper but they have 3 critical flaws.

Higher centre of gravity, rear wheel drive and a suspension that is designed to carry load ( and almost all of these vehicles on the road have no load).

Thus they are inherently less stable.

Yes but not 65km.....That's just ridiculous.....I am comfortable at 80km with my pick up......100 km....Would be ideal....but can work with the 80km

Postby Gem_in_i » November 22nd, 2016, 8:53 pm

I drive 60 and everybody pass me by, it real hard to maintain under 65. Its so easy to cross 65.

Postby Morpheus » November 22nd, 2016, 10:33 pm

I drove to Price Plaza and back up North in the night for the first time since the enforcement. And I mean between 7 and 8pm eh.

Big maxi (at least 3), 4x4, delivery truck, everything passing me yes. WTF lol. I just laugh and smh. I drove at 80kph BTW.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 22nd, 2016, 10:39 pm

Morpheus wrote:I drove to Price Plaza and back up North in the night for the first time since the enforcement. And I mean between 7 and 8pm eh.

Big maxi (at least 3), 4x4, delivery truck, everything passing me yes. WTF lol. I just laugh and smh. I drove at 80kph BTW.

U giving lessons?

Postby Morpheus » November 22nd, 2016, 10:41 pm

LoL boy. It not easy nah. But definitely have no money to give away for no darn ticket for 82kph. I would be angry for a month

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2016, 10:50 pm

How come our mentality does suddenly change to obey the laws when we step off a plane and start driving a car in yankeeland ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

[quote="Rory Phoulorie"

No one is physically stopping anyone from driving at whatever speed they want to on the road. Just be prepared to deal with the consequences that everyone knows beforehand.[/quote]

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » November 22nd, 2016, 10:58 pm

Hey all .. Just looking for a some opinions .. I got picked up coming off a filter lane. I was heading east on the CRH ... And took the left exit going mount hope side, I got picked up on the last bit of the filter lane as I was speeding up to filter across. The ticket shows me doing 87k, speed limit as 60k. Maybe I am grasping here .. But isn't it obvious ppl will be speeding up to filter? Daz a real low move I think I not going to argue it cause they will say I still 7 over the 80 .. And well court fee high .. Just wondering what ppl take on this is ..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 22nd, 2016, 11:06 pm

Yea rel ppl getting catch there

Postby rollingstock » November 22nd, 2016, 11:30 pm

vi1012 wrote:Hey all .. Just looking for a some opinions .. I got picked up coming off a filter lane. I was heading east on the CRH ... And took the left exit going mount hope side, I got picked up on the last bit of the filter lane as I was speeding up to filter across. The ticket shows me doing 87k, speed limit as 60k. Maybe I am grasping here .. But isn't it obvious ppl will be speeding up to filter? Daz a real low move I think I not going to argue it cause they will say I still 7 over the 80 .. And well court fee high .. Just wondering what ppl take on this is ..

What's your angst? You were doing 87 in a 60 area. It's the fact that you were in a filter lane confusing you?

You lacking common sense?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 22nd, 2016, 11:35 pm

pugboy wrote:How come our mentality does suddenly change to obey the laws when we step off a plane and start driving a car in yankeeland ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

[quote="Rory Phoulorie"

[/quote]

But lots of us have broken the speed limit in the States ... I was doing 60 mph on a 55 mph zone a few weeks ago ... the popo's didn't seem to care .... Passed at least 2 police cars on the highway. A few people around me was driving even faster max seemed like 70 on some vehicles.

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » November 22nd, 2016, 11:53 pm

vi1012 wrote:Hey all .. Just looking for a some opinions .. I got picked up coming off a filter lane. I was heading east on the CRH ... And took the left exit going mount hope side, I got picked up on the last bit of the filter lane as I was speeding up to filter across. The ticket shows me doing 87k, speed limit as 60k. Maybe I am grasping here .. But isn't it obvious ppl will be speeding up to filter? Daz a real low move I think I not going to argue it cause they will say I still 7 over the 80 .. And well court fee high .. Just wondering what ppl take on this is ..

What's your angst? You were doing 87 in a 60 area. It's the fact that you were in a filter lane confusing you?

Clearly you do not know how to use a filter lane..

Postby eliteauto » November 23rd, 2016, 12:00 am

filter lane is for fyaz, especially curved filter lanes, hadda filter first otherwise yuh iz dregz

Postby rollingstock » November 23rd, 2016, 12:23 am

vi1012 wrote:

Clearly your brains need a filter for all that sheit clogging it.

For the unaware amongst us, please tell us how to use a filter lane.

vi1012

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby vi1012 » November 23rd, 2016, 12:27 am

vi1012 wrote:

Way boi .. some of you really not easy ... all that attitude because of what I posted .. before you reply again, calm your hormones, Google it and educate yourself .. or you can give another display of your ignorance ... your choice .. laterz!

Postby rollingstock » November 23rd, 2016, 12:34 am

vi1012 wrote:

Way boi .. some of you really not easy ... all that attitude because of what I posted .. before you reply again, calm your hormones, Google it and educate yourself .. or you can give another display of your ignorance ... your choice .. laterz!

It's idiots like you that cause accidents.
Complete asshat

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 23rd, 2016, 12:43 am

pugboy wrote:How come our mentality does suddenly change to obey the laws when we step off a plane and start driving a car in yankeeland ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

[quote="Rory Phoulorie"

[/quote]

pug boy . I Agree I know my driving habits change when I am in the US it terms of coming to a complete stop at a stop sign.
not going through a light on yellow. stopping if i see a pedestrian waiting to cross. Slowing down at a school zone or work zone. Following the speed limits on minor roads , but on the highway Every one seems to be going over the speed limit(even in the slowest) and the police are not pulling across people unless u driving and cutting in and out of lanes, or realy doing some numbers.There is always a high level of police presence along the highways and even roads but they do not have about 20 officers and 10 vehicles doing this it is only one officer hiding behind some sign and he runs down the person.
Yes if it a company rental vehicle I try to remain within the speed limit, but I'm always causing a backlog if I rent it I always go over and stay with the flow of traffic.

Postby sMASH » November 23rd, 2016, 1:27 am

In my book u did the common sense thing.

But from poliCe straight to judge dotish in this blasted country.

In south, when u leave licence office, and want to go on the bypass heading west, the filter lane isn't really long, compared to the speed of the bypass.
U have to speed up quite a bit on the turn on, so that u match the speed by the time u are on the filter lane.

Many times vehicles are backed up there, because someone didn't speed up enough to filter in... and unless u boosting, u can not achieve that amount of acceleration in such a short stretch.

Postby rollingstock » November 23rd, 2016, 1:31 am

Look an next tuntun head.
If grasping the concept of merging proves this difficult for you all.......... hmmmmm

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » November 23rd, 2016, 2:00 am

sMASH wrote:

In my book u did the common sense thing.

But from poliCe straight to judge dotish in this blasted country.

In south, when u leave licence office, and want to go on the bypass heading west, the filter lane isn't really long, compared to the speed of the bypass.
U have to speed up quite a bit on the turn on, so that u match the speed by the time u are on the filter lane.

Many times vehicles are backed up there, because someone didn't speed up enough to filter in... and unless u boosting, u can not achieve that amount of acceleration in such a short stretch.

Well that is my point! I don't remember being told this wayyyyy back when I learnt to drive, this is not in the test prep or study guides... I checked .. if I missed it I apologise and would appreciate if it is pointed out.. but US law and procedures that everybody like to quote.. says you speed up on the filter lane ... so to charge somebody for speeding up on the filter lane .. which is what you supposed to do is dotish!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 23rd, 2016, 8:06 am

Allu brave to post up ting like that this time of the month when rollingstock PMSing.

Is normally round month end for future reference.