Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Ted_v2 » October 24th, 2016, 9:35 am

Allied had 4 models. Saw them like 3 days ago

neexis

Postby neexis » October 25th, 2016, 10:15 pm

Anyone know where I can get a tool chest like this locally?

or

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » October 25th, 2016, 10:16 pm

^^ Khanico in gasparillo... They have some really nice ones.

mantis

Postby mantis » October 25th, 2016, 11:17 pm

Pricemart had some

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 25th, 2016, 11:19 pm

car wrote:
nareshseep wrote:So my search for a straight edge continues, i have used a 8 foot length of plywood and it gives ok results. But will rather a metal edge than can stand up to abuse and will come in handy when using the router. Are 2x2 square metal (not sure if thats the proper name)pipes straight enough. What other ideas have you all come up other than buying a clamp guide on amazon.

btw panel sled is very handy. Eventually i want to build a 8x4 sled. :)
Also what other jigs you all find that are helpful. Gonna make a jointing jig next
WP_20161016_003.jpg

What straight edge u looking for and to do what?
That wooden table top on the table saw- is that fixed to the table saw?

The wooden top is a sled that runs in the miter tracks. best for repetitive cuts. Candle wax gave good results for the runners.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YD1XWBa378

Looking for something like this, a 50" and a 100" should be good for most sheet goods.
https://www.amazon.com/Clamp-99-Inch-Ul ... emerson+99

pugboy wrote:2x2 for 8ft won't be straight
Maybe 4-5ft

Will flex plus probably won't be exactly straight since steel is usually sold in a big horizontal bundle moved by a forklift and flexes all how

hmm i could use that for a 4 feet straight edge.

X_Factor wrote:go lotec
you can get a solid piece of aluminum to whatever length you want
wont flex and light weight

Ok will check that out, So far that seems like my best option

pugboy wrote:Btw, doing woodwork indoors like that is not the best for your health.
I used to do a lot of that and could tolerate being covered head to toe with dust.
Last year or so I can no longer tolerate even small amounts of dust.

I use an Oneida dust deputy cyclone with a shopvac, works fantastic
You can build a dust cyclone out of a traffic cone for cheap.
Laughlin has a sale on now and there is a decent size shopvac for $600 I think.

Basically thats me, once I using the table saw or router the entire place gets sawdust including me head to toe. I saw the plans on youtube and I keep stalling on that project for the longest while. Will look into it.

A good idea I saw was an air cleaner for a workshop/room
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Hkdpx-59kk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31tkjKPydMA

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:imo ply\mdf factory edge is pretty str8

aluminum edge is very good too

for 4ft cross ripping i use a good quality level & 2 spring clamps , doubt u will get more str8 than dat ...

I hear yuh, I used a plywood edge already and it gives good results, but sometimes you need a reference baseline to compare your cut material to. Mdf/plywood is ok but sometimes depending on how they pack the sheets in the warehouse there will be nicks to the wood and this will affect your cuts. I went looking for some long levels and boi they not cheap at all ~ 800 for a 6ft i think.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2016, 11:20 pm

Um i checked out one pricemart recently, similar to what u posted but design a bit diff, two cupboards on the side and like 6 draws. It was like 2400$, not such a bad price. they have another that is similar to a workshop table. Same price.

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2016, 6:28 am

Actually a good straight edge is a piece of laminate flooring, about 4ft long
Make sure and seal the edge with glue as some don't take water.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 26th, 2016, 8:50 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Um i checked out one pricemart recently, similar to what u posted but design a bit diff, two cupboards on the side and like 6 draws. It was like 2400$, not such a bad price. they have another that is similar to a workshop table. Same price.

I think I saw something like that but there was a wooden work surface. Is that the same one?
I need all metal, with drawers only.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 26th, 2016, 8:51 am

greenlime100 wrote:^^ Khanico in gasparillo... They have some really nice ones.

Thanks.. will check them

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 26th, 2016, 9:01 am

I perused Bhag's yesterday and I feel I should really open a power tool depot.
The markups on their power tools are crazy.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2016, 9:10 am

Yep. Wooden work service.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 26th, 2016, 10:00 am

Looking for Torx Driver Security Bit Set T-10 to T-40. My MAF has these screws...
Thanks!
Torx.jpg
Torx.jpg (20.57 KiB) Viewed 3679 times

Postby Ted_v2 » October 28th, 2016, 8:51 pm

1477702302731.jpg

Postby supercharged turbo » November 2nd, 2016, 9:53 pm

Where can I get a set of hex and torx socket sets at a reasonable price locally?Must be 1/2" drive.Also where sells individual sockets cheaper...Allied or SWS?Price over brand right now

Postby Ted_v2 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:33 pm

def not allied.
i saw a couple at L&G. Plenty 10mm like for headbolts ect, pretty reasonable.

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby supercharged turbo » November 3rd, 2016, 9:05 am

Ted_v2 wrote:def not allied.
i saw a couple at L&G. Plenty 10mm like for headbolts ect, pretty reasonable.

So not allied for individual sockets or anything relating to sockets?

Postby Chimera » November 3rd, 2016, 9:49 am

greenlime100 wrote:^^ Khanico in gasparillo... They have some really nice ones.

what kinda prices?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 3rd, 2016, 10:29 am

Correct. Ssl is the place for individuals. L&G for automotive socket sets and Duncan village for harbour freight stuff. Impacts and hex ect

Postby supercharged turbo » November 4th, 2016, 10:25 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Correct. Ssl is the place for individuals. L&G for automotive socket sets and Duncan village for harbour freight stuff. Impacts and hex ect

Thanks for the info

Postby Ted_v2 » November 5th, 2016, 9:08 am

Im looking for a vacuum cleaner. Saw pricemart has some Stanley canister types, allied has some rigid and dansteel has some Shop-vacs. I always see shop-vacs accessories all over.
I dont want something with a bag unless they are cheap, but i dont mind something that i could shake out and change once in a while.

what you guys have good reviews with?

its for my house/car. My home is 90 percent carpet. So anyone would be fine, i dont necessarily need a upright. I have a upright but still uses the hose most of the time.
No need for Wet purposes.

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2016, 9:54 am

shopvac is the way to go
get one at least 6 gallon, the bigger ones all use the same canister pleated paper filter
it can be washed very carefully and later on you can buy the cleanstream version which is teflon coated and fully washable

somebody advertising in the papers today for $500 I think

Postby Rovin » November 5th, 2016, 10:44 am

i bought 1 of d stanley metal can about 2yrs ago works decent to clean car carpet but i doubt its 5hp as they claim , hose kinda narrow & cud be longer too

better u really look into shopvac ......

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 5th, 2016, 12:56 pm

Have a Shopvac bout 6 years now and its quite good. Can use filter or bag.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 6th, 2016, 5:43 pm

Go with the shop vac.I bought the vacuum bags last week in bhags

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2016, 10:12 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Im looking for a vacuum cleaner. .

what you guys have good reviews with?

its for my house/car. My home is 90 percent carpet. So anyone would be fine, i dont necessarily need a upright. I have a upright but still uses the hose most of the time.
No need for Wet purposes.

I have 2½ gallon shopvac from Sears that I have owned for years. It works great for cleaning out the car. I also have a big ol' 16 gallon Rigid that handles everything else.

I say buy a name that you recognize and shop by price.

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2016, 7:21 am

for carpet home use nothing beats a dyson, I have two, one at home and at work, lol.
the suction on them thing real good and bagless so just empty the canister.

Hardly use it at home anymore though since we got a roomba robot, a bit pricey but definitely worth the money.

Postby Chimera » November 7th, 2016, 11:29 am

shopvac real bess

terique

Postby terique » November 7th, 2016, 10:58 pm

Who can help me. Seeing the Chicago electric impact wrench selling by pro tools for $700. Anybody can give any reviews on it.

Postby X_Factor » November 8th, 2016, 7:12 am

terique wrote:Who can help me. Seeing the Chicago electric impact wrench selling by pro tools for $700. Anybody can give any reviews on it.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=685721
easily spins out wheel nuts tightened pneumatically about 8mths ago

chicago electric is harbor freight...for electrical stuff might wanna stay far