No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

zaria

Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby zaria » October 25th, 2016, 7:26 pm

What abt Having to use company cc to put gas in company vehicle?Now that is pressure.

cracker

Postby cracker » October 25th, 2016, 7:29 pm

A bandit paradise

Postby maj. tom » October 25th, 2016, 7:31 pm

yeah, banks will simply increase "service fees" somewhere else to get it back. Guess who taking the hit? Next, retailers will have add a $5 surcharge every card transaction by their customers to try to offset the loss of using a linx machine. Nothing will change unless banking laws in TT are revamped. And then banks could stop fcuking closing at 2pm everyday in this banana republic!!

Postby Dave » October 25th, 2016, 7:31 pm

This just says to bandits now that here we are, come rob us

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 25th, 2016, 7:35 pm

Now that people will have to have Cash at the gas station, look out for hold ups right there, especially those cars that must use premium and filling is around $280.00, what will govt and gas station owners says now when robberies become more frequent and rampant?

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 7:42 pm

Surcharges are prohibited in credit card agreements

Postby maj. tom » October 25th, 2016, 7:43 pm

increase the price of gas. plus more tax.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 25th, 2016, 7:45 pm

$120 in singles...

Postby pete » October 25th, 2016, 7:52 pm

Well I guess it was this or just shut down for a while in protest.

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Stations make some cents per liter or something ridiculous like that and it has not increased

They make more money from cng

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 25th, 2016, 8:04 pm

Does the petroleum dealers association cover both NP and Unipet

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 25th, 2016, 8:07 pm

next move: get rid of Linx machines, stop the monthly rental....CASH ONLY

Next move: no gas attendants, have gas pumps like vending machines slip in money, get access to gas (I PATENT THIS IDEA)

Next move: No gas pumps, save on electricity..... take bucket and dip in d tanks...

.....anybody ever see any struggling Gas station owners? cause the ones i know...FILTHY RICH

Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby *KRONIK* » October 25th, 2016, 8:13 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I endorse this move...mainly for CC customers tho...

I hate standing in line to pay and have to wait 2mins each for the 5 ppl in front me to pay with their CC and have to show ID and sign the receipt...tra la la.

I made it my duty to learn how much my tank takes at it variois markings on the fuel guage and pay for the exact amount....with cash.

Saves so much time.
most major gas stations take ccard at the pump. It is MUCH faster than waiting in a line on grumpy staff in the booth.

At least leave the electronic transactions on the pump and remove it from the booth.

I am aware of this.

But in my case: i fill up at "shops of trincity" as its the last easily accessible gas station on my way home.

Usually the customers there are so retarded...half cant pump their own gas so they spend a whole 5 mins looking for help.
The other half either cant use the pump pay system or the pump pay doesnt work, forcing a line at the pay booth, then the machine either have to "dial again" or the customer presented the "wrong card" and the whole transaction have to do over and a man does take a whole 2-3 mins to use his CC to pay for $60 gas.

If you fill at a station that has working CC pump pay...good for you.

ppl need to be more effecient.
Time is precious!

Well...thats my version of the truth at least!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 25th, 2016, 8:13 pm

pugboy wrote:Stations make some cents per liter or something ridiculous like that and it has not increased

so take it out on the customers?

Driven

Postby Driven » October 25th, 2016, 8:15 pm

Can consumer affairs be brought into this seeing as this is a nationwide move by a vendor's association that impacts on the capabilities of the consumer?

What happens if other self-interest seeking associations decide they no longer want to afford the consumer the option of credit cards?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 25th, 2016, 8:24 pm

The Petroleum Dealers Association is obviously making a statement. The Gov't paid them little heed when they started clamoring about shrinking profits after the budget, so now they have made a move which affects both consumers and the banks in order to provoke a reaction which they hope would be in their favour.

I myself have never seen a poor gas station owner, maybe they can't support their lifestyles on these slimmer profit margins. My concern, like others here is the increased risk of cash only purchases, knowing that there are so many unambitious fools with guns willing to eat ah food.

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2016, 8:25 pm

pugboy wrote:Stations make some cents per liter or something ridiculous like that and it has not increased

yes
yuh eh like it? Stop buy gas

Postby pete » October 25th, 2016, 8:26 pm

What would you suggest they do? Write letters to ministers? Pretty sure thy have tried many other things and this is just what they need to do now.

Postby tr1ad » October 25th, 2016, 8:30 pm

i like paying at the pump directly....
only problem is it doesn't work 90% of the time

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 8:42 pm

i don't know the cost operations of a gas station but it would appear gas station business similar to the "poor" doubles man

More analysis is needed lol
But in observation most of the filthy rich owners are from long time traditional gas stations

No new gas station could recoup the investment costs on gas alone, they all partnering with food alcohol

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 25th, 2016, 9:03 pm

"Cash n shift change"
EPIC CHAOS!!!

baigan

Postby baigan » October 25th, 2016, 9:07 pm

nos_specialist wrote:next move: get rid of Linx machines, stop the monthly rental....CASH ONLY

Next move: no gas attendants, have gas pumps like vending machines slip in money, get access to gas (I PATENT THIS IDEA)

Next move: No gas pumps, save on electricity..... take bucket and dip in d tanks...

.....anybody ever see any struggling Gas station owners? cause the ones i know...FILTHY RICH

But...but...
I'm too lazy to get out my car lol
(._.) I like the attendants that fill the tank and take the cash (._.)

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 9:09 pm

for sure lol

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 25th, 2016, 9:29 pm

PapaC wrote:$120 in singles...

I support this

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 25th, 2016, 9:31 pm

If that 1.3 - 3% is what is keeping them afloat then maybe they should close down.

And the banks can't/won't waive the fee for them because if they do then everyone will want it waived. I think the gas stations will have to back down.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 25th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Nope... They can just give up the link/credit card machines

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: No more credit card payment at gas stations.... Cash only!

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2016, 9:35 pm

Toyopet wrote:
PapaC wrote:$120 in singles...

I support this

N walk with de piggy bank too.. level mc 1c and 5c to count...

Postby ismithx » October 25th, 2016, 9:41 pm

what garbage is this, they basically WANT to make themselves more insecure and marketable to thieves in a day and time like this??? this is why we go be third world forever

why don't they charge for other things/offer other services/move to self service

e.g. in the UK you pay to put air in your tyres

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2016, 9:45 pm

The irony is that the big stations are probably putting the smaller ones out of business

Postby Redman » October 25th, 2016, 9:45 pm

Margins are 16 cents a liter on gas. And 12 cents on diesel.
I think these are accurate.
Most of your gross margin disappears with the BL ,GF and Ccard and Linx fees.

The issue with cash might be the turn around from CIT collection to it being posted to the account.

The PDA however is not known for its solidarity.

I bet the stations with the C stores to continue to accept cc and Linx...since they have the margins to accommodate the cost.