T&T Police Service want speed limit increased

Re: T&T Police Service want speed limit increased

Postby redmanjp » October 14th, 2016, 7:33 pm

sMASH wrote:I beg to differ with that.... but then, the autobhan doesn't have continuous unlimited speed.

There are sections with various speed limits. And then there are led speed signs, where the speed limit can be increased or decreased according to what will be best at any time. For instance if road works are being done, bad weather, traffic ahead.

But, in reality, the highway as is, is very drivable at 120 in its current condition.
And if those poor sections deteriorate more, u can slow down. There is no reason to stay at 120.

A better idea would be to have led sign boards at regular intervals, to warn of the upcoming conditions, to regulate speed accordingly.

good idea - also i think the limit should be 100, but during very wet/whiteout conditions back to 80, and the signs would serve to notify when which limit is in effect

Postby sMASH » October 14th, 2016, 7:36 pm

sometimes 60 kmph is appropriate due to traction, visibility, stopping distance.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 14th, 2016, 8:05 pm

120kph is to fast...100kph is more reasonable... Most merging lanes on the highway are not long enough to facilitate most vehicles accelerating up to 120kph. Imagine trying to merge when traffic blitzing past
I do not own a supercar or even a fast car that is capable of accelerating in that short Lane

baigan

Postby baigan » October 14th, 2016, 8:18 pm

I think 120 is too fast too
Our highways are terrible...
the new highway is pretty good so 120 is okay there ( I remember taking a lil drive on it when it opened hehe was way way over 120, highway was empty)

4a70

Postby 4a70 » October 14th, 2016, 8:21 pm

Remember the limit will be 120km/hr dosent mean ud b at 120km all the time.... so that is reasonable... and wud give a greater gap between a reasonable 100 to the limit.....

baigan

Postby baigan » October 14th, 2016, 8:26 pm

4a70 wrote:Remember the limit will be 120km/hr dosent mean ud b at 120km all the time.... so that is reasonable... and wud give a greater gap between a reasonable 100 to the limit.....

Hmmm True

Postby Morpheus » October 15th, 2016, 3:07 am

Yeah if you can't merge unto a highway then something wrong. Either those cars coming at 120 with 2 or 4 car lengths between them or you're impatient.

So how have we all been doing it before the enforcement? So you're very well capable. Unless your idea of merging is coming out at 40kph or coming out and darting straight across to the rightmost lane.

Proper road manners is our problem. To tell you the truth I am willing to sit through the 80kph once the govt embarks on a re-education of the driving public.
Infomercials about road signs, road markings and general road safety rules, mandatory regulations refreshers(yes some may be seeing regs for the first time), etc. Some people concrete brain done set eh, so hopefully at least up and coming drivers get the message.

Leff is at 80kph and monitor the progress. IF things improve then raise it to 100kph. Run that another year and the MAYBE 120kph. Just thinking out loud here eh.....

Again folks, a limit of 120kph does not mean that every tanty and uncs will be at 120kph. Some people comfy at 80, some max at 100, some at 110. BUT, "Keep left except when overtaking" and "Slower traffic keep left" are just signs to read, not to follow/practice.

/ED

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 15th, 2016, 7:47 am

If everybody kept left except when overtaking.... Merging in some areas would be almost impossible. The idea behind the merging lanes is to match the speed of the traffic on the highway which allows you to merge easier. As it is now because people are aware that most cars that are merging unto the highway are not up to highway speeds... They move across to the right lane at those areas.
Merging lanes have speed limits of 30, 40kph and maybe 50kph... The Speed differential is already to great and this will just make it greater.
And for all those that keep comparing our roads to other countries, watch any vblog on YouTube where the person is on the freeway. Watch the difference in design used to accommodate faster moving traffic. There is also the aspect of driver attitude.

What speed do you get up to before it is time to merge. I only really reach about 60 in some places and if man decide that because 120 is the limit and I enter the highway doing my mundane speed cause I am still trying to get up to at least 100... Other drivers and the convoy at 120 have to reduce their speed significantly to accommodate my turtle acceleration

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2016, 9:59 am

I move to the right to allow merging to occur seamlessly.
Left laners would be the ones who think 120 is warp speed, so they go the 50 and 70... so merging is simple.

Who ever can't do that, not capable of handling a major highway and should stick to back road and main road.

Having slow moving traffic on a highway Defeats the purpose of s highway.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 15th, 2016, 10:42 am

Morpheus wrote:Proper road manners is our problem. To tell you the truth I am willing to sit through the 80kph once the govt embarks on a re-education of the driving public.
Infomercials about road signs, road markings and general road safety rules, mandatory regulations refreshers(yes some may be seeing regs for the first time), etc. Some people concrete brain done set eh, so hopefully at least up and coming drivers get the message.

Leff is at 80kph and monitor the progress. IF things improve then raise it to 100kph. Run that another year and the MAYBE 120kph. Just thinking out loud here eh.....

It's a lost cause..I remember hearing people say old(er) people (and women) should get cheaper insurance because they're safer drivers, when experience shows they are usually the ones carrying out the biggest pack of toots on the roads..I've seen many a senior..or woman..or senior woman..relaxing in the overtaking lane, at a comfortable 70..:roll: Re-education might not help much, because I don't think conditioning can be broken with education and old habits die hard..when we learn how to do something as simple as use..a..roundabout..then maybe we start discussing an increase in speed limit..

My $0.02.

Postby Morpheus » October 15th, 2016, 10:45 am

^^Then we arse dark

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2016, 4:51 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Proper road manners is our problem. To tell you the truth I am willing to sit through the 80kph once the govt embarks on a re-education of the driving public.

It's a lost cause..I remember hearing people say old(er) people (and women) should get cheaper insurance because they're safer drivers, when experience shows they are usually the ones carrying out the biggest pack of toots on the roads..I've seen many a senior..or woman..or senior woman..relaxing in the overtaking lane, at a comfortable 70..:roll: Re-education might not help much, because I don't think conditioning can be broken with education and old habits die hard..when we learn how to do something as simple as use..a..roundabout..then maybe we start discussing an increase in speed limit..

My $0.02.

well its based on risk of actually causing accidents, not mere annoyance. so if they driving slower but not crashing then they get a lower rate

Postby desifemlove » October 16th, 2016, 5:10 pm

get some foreign road engineers, and pay them to stay here to maintain all highways for a 20 year period. they can rotate obviously for people wanting to come for the wuk.

update the driving test to proper standards. inclusive of highway driving, roundabouts, how to join highways.

penalise all bad drives thus:

- traffic weavers get 10 years in jail, or $2000000 fine
- people who drink drive lose car for a year
- those with tint lose car for six months
- install cameras at every mile and those caught speeding lose car for six months

people like rspann and zoom and nervewrecker gonna say it harsh, no it's not. it's called society bros...and as men act like men and learn to accept it. harsh laws change behaviour, it's a long proven fact around the world for centuries.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 16th, 2016, 5:24 pm

Desi desi desi

*shakes head in dismay*

Could u please go in the kitchen and make us a sandwich?

:mrgreen:

Postby Morpheus » October 16th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Steups...

Postby pete » October 16th, 2016, 5:51 pm

Why should a car with tint make yuh lose it for 6 months?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 16th, 2016, 7:11 pm

The problem isn't really the cars. The problem isn't really the roads. The problem is the people.

The problem is, is that if the limit was increased to 120kph tomorrow, there would still be people who break the speed limit. There would be idiot drivers now going 140kph and complaining how 120kph too slow. I mean, how else you going to show off your "brand new" foreign used pickup truck other than speeding past other drivers. How else are you supposed to show that you are "important" other than rushing past everyone else on the road because you have to be somewhere more important than everyone else?

What the government should say is, "We are considering raising the speed limit. But only if there is a marked improvement in the driving habits of the road going users of Trinidad & Tobago. If there is a marked improvement between now and the end of the year, the speed limit will be increased to between 100-120kph in 2017.

And then add to that:

● A campaign in proper road use and etiquette.
● Enforcement
● And much tougher penalties for infractions.

It's a horrible thing to have to say but if you look up, "This is why we can't have nice things.", you'll see a satellite image of T&T.

Postby rspann » October 16th, 2016, 8:46 pm

Desi, you is a real toonts sometimes you know. Actually I agree with you on this, harsh penalties is what's needed to change attitudes. But sometimes ,like you does leave your keyboard unattended and the cat does just be walking all over it.10 years jail for weaving? Come on nah, I doubt you really so dotish.

Postby desifemlove » October 20th, 2016, 2:54 am

rspann wrote:Desi, you is a real toonts sometimes you know. Actually I agree with you on this, harsh penalties is what's needed to change attitudes. But sometimes ,like you does leave your keyboard unattended and the cat does just be walking all over it.10 years jail for weaving? Come on nah, I doubt you really so dotish.
cos you're 40 and cannot handle adult behaviour....this is why you does post about ting being harsh..no it not, suck it up. iz people like you who does need ah pass in life (are you special or have special needs?) who does firetruck dis country up.

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2016, 6:49 am

Desi for Prime Minister, he will pass legislation for hanging for breaking traffic lights.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 20th, 2016, 8:12 am

pete wrote:Why should a car with tint make yuh lose it for 6 months?

Tint is actually good for keeping your vehicle cooler and helps to reduce the breakdown of the plastics in your car due to UV rays,
There are some who TINT way to dark amd those who tint their entire front windscreen and yes they should be charged BUT on that same note , it should NEVER be left up to an officers vision as to what is legal and what is not, LEGAL tint looks quite different based on the interior cars color and the current lighting conditions outside, if the Authorities were to get the proper Machinery to measure light properly then I would agree to spot checking, same goes for Loud Exhaust systems and music levels, get the right equipment and learn how to use it properly then you can start to charge people for the various offences.

Postby maj. tom » October 20th, 2016, 8:27 am

rspann wrote:Desi for Prime Minister, he will pass legislation for hanging for breaking traffic lights.

but desifemlove is a girl.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 10:40 am

desifemlove wrote:get some foreign road engineers, and pay them to stay here to maintain all highways for a 20 year period. they can rotate obviously for people wanting to come for the wuk.

update the driving test to proper standards. inclusive of highway driving, roundabouts, how to join highways.

- install cameras at every mile and those caught speeding lose car for six months

people like rspann and zoom and nervewrecker gonna say it harsh, no it's not. it's called society bros...and as men act like men and learn to accept it. harsh laws change behaviour, it's a long proven fact around the world for centuries.
Why not impose sharia traffic law. Caught speeding and you lose a hand. Caught speeding again and you lose two hands and so on...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 20th, 2016, 10:44 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:get some foreign road engineers, and pay them to stay here to maintain all highways for a 20 year period. they can rotate obviously for people wanting to come for the wuk.

Why not impose sharia traffic law. Caught speeding and you lose a hand. Caught speeding again and you lose two hands and so on...

it would have to be Feet being amputated, man could still mash pedal and use his teeth to steer knowing trinis, cut off the foot and well no more mash down! LOL

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 10:57 am

For real, brakes not that important anyway. That's why the debate only regards the speed limit. We don't need stopping limits. That's what bumpers are for.

Postby desifemlove » October 20th, 2016, 2:01 pm

rspann wrote:Desi for Prime Minister, he will pass legislation for hanging for breaking traffic lights.

hahahaha...jus admit yuh cyah handle normal pressures....from what you cite/post, you demand your right to wear bareback and sheit.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 2:10 pm

desifemlove wrote:

hahahaha...jus admit yuh cyah handle normal pressures....from what you cite/post, you demand your right to wear bareback and sheit.

How the hell does someone "wear bareback". I know you have to put on your face every morning but this just confuses me. I'm curious desi, how many languages do you speak and what are they? Surely you must be smarter in another language.

Postby desifemlove » October 20th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

harsh penalties lead to behavioural change. and why yuh want to weave? what do you gain from this?

Postby desifemlove » October 20th, 2016, 2:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

How the hell does someone "wear bareback". I know you have to put on your face every morning but this just confuses me. I'm curious desi, how many languages do you speak and what are they? Surely you must be smarter in another language.

cos he posts and moans about not being free and easy, hence why he follows me around to tell me about this "harshness". the joke is on him, 50 year old men shouldn't give a damn either way.

Postby pete » October 20th, 2016, 2:16 pm

Jail time is not the answer. If you drive recklessly on the road you lose your license for a certain amount of time.

Jail just puts further strain on the state to feed and house you and strain on your family to continue to live without you there to support them.