see vid here
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161017 ... ecker-rideA MAN who refused to leave his wrecked vehicle sat on the bonnet yesterday while the police wrecker towed it to the impound yard at Sea Lots.
The incident was captured on a cellphone camera yesterday morning by someone driving alongside the wrecker, near the lighthouse on Beetham Highway, with the man sitting casually on the wrecked vehicle, with his feet on the towing mechanism.
The man, arms folded, is seen gesticulating to the person who captured the video.
It appears that the wrecker was taking the man's vehicle to the Police Service Traffic Branch location at Sea Lots.
A police officer is usually with the wrecker driver during the ticketing and towing process.
However, a sergeant who works at the Traffic Branch said it was wrong for the wrecker to move off with the driver sitting on the wrecked vehicle. The officer said the driver should have been detained and charged with obstruction and he should have been taken to the nearest police station and not be allowed to remain on his vehicle unsecured.
Police Service public information officer ASP Michael Pierre said: “Having looked at the video, best practices were not adhered to and we will definitely be looking further into the matter.”
TV6's Kejan Haynes spoke with the man identified in the video, Jared Edwards, who said the incident began on South Quay, Port of Spain.
Edwards said his vehicle was parked along the roadway and he was outside the car talking to a friend when the police wrecker arrived.
He said a female police officer exited the wrecker and when he realised what was about to take place, he identified himself as the owner of the vehicle.
“I see them backing up to my vehicle...I say I'm the owner of the vehicle...I'm right here. I'm looking to move. The police jump out. It was a woman. She jumped out and say 'You's the owner?' I say yes. She say 'wreck him'. I say what? I'm right here!” Edwards said.
He said he then jumped in his car and attempted to reverse, but the wrecker moved in on him.
That's when Edwards said he exited the car and ran to the front of the wrecker to stop them.
Once again, they tried to drive off with his car.
“They drive off on me because I was in between the wrecker and my vehicle. When they try to drive off now they nearly bounce me down. I get trapped in between the two vehicles...meh foot nearly break so I end up jumping up on my vehicle to hold on and them continue driving, and I keep on bawling stop and they eh wanna hear me,” Edwards said.
He also accused the officers of taking his picture while driving.
They drove him straight to Traffic Branch in Sea Lots. He said he asked to talk to a senior officer but they told him he'd still have to pay $500 to release the vehicle.
Despite his protests, he claimed he was simply told to have a nice day and the officer drove off