DirecTv PrePaid Trinidad

Re: DirecTv PrePaid Trinidad

Postby noshownogo » October 6th, 2016, 10:39 am

They going to include a couple bolt-on channel packages in the near future as well

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 9th, 2016, 8:48 pm

self installation of the dish is a beyotch. cant get a signal and i did everything right. Dish level, pointing west as the book says only thing is the red line on the screw pointing at 49 is confusing me as i not seeing a red line on the dish.

Mad Hatter

Postby Mad Hatter » October 10th, 2016, 1:09 am

Couldnt get a signal either... No obstructions.. Pointing West...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 10th, 2016, 6:10 pm

so i moved the dish to an even better spot an still 0% in signal strength. Not even partial signal. I think this thing is bogus to make people pay for the installation after.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 10th, 2016, 6:24 pm

Have some patience, we receive a very strong signal from their Sat here.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 10th, 2016, 7:30 pm

i got tru. the installation manual shows the coaxial connected to the LNB in the connector on the right side with the white paper attached. I youtube it and the people on youtube connect it to the one on the left if you looking at it on the arm. Once i connected the coaxial on the left the signal shot up to 94%. Now i have to get an Svideo toHDMI cable. You getting your video on AV source or TV source?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 10th, 2016, 7:38 pm

Good to hear you got through.

They will probably include STBs with HDMI when they launch Prepaid HD next month.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 10th, 2016, 9:19 pm

Screwbash. That 49 number thing have me stumped too....mines still in the box though....I couldn't pass up the 199 offer...I will try to install weekend if I cut off my existing service provider....which I will cause $293 mthly is too much to spend for tv that no one watches....I will check u if I need help with the install .....lol...Thanks....btw....how is it working so far?....did u get a couple days free before us have to top up?...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 11th, 2016, 4:41 am

i think you get 7 days free. I got tru with mine like after 6 or so yesterday and direct tv officewas closed. You have to call them between 8am and 5pm. I will call them today. The only issue is i gettin video on the tv source AV and the colour not all that great. IDK how to get the video on the tv source TV.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 5:05 am

after all dat i call them MOFO's at direct tv and some woman answer sounding like she wuking limo and after taking all the info tell me 24-48 hours they will call to activate the system. If i only had my bill i woulda take this back.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 5:31 pm

ok 48 hours passed/ 2 work days and this ting not activated yet. Poor instructions to setup, poor customer skills, poor poor poor. if i didnt pay only $200 for this ting i woulda go back to direct tv in chaguanas and make a Frisbee with they dish straight into the direct tv glass building and follow that with the decoder box. I wouldnt recommend direct tv to anyone. Once digicel or massey in my area i dropping this direct tv. I go put it up for sale on tuner for a $100.00
Last edited by screwbash on October 12th, 2016, 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2016, 5:36 pm

My dish is pointing exactly as it should according to the manual and d compass.....but 0 % signAl I would think thAt I would at least get something to work with to at least take it up to over 90....
Any ideas folks?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 6:43 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:My dish is pointing exactly as it should according to the manual and d compass.....but 0 % signAl I would think thAt I would at least get something to work with to at least take it up to over 90....
Any ideas folks?

Switch the coaxial on the LNB to the one one the left if the LNB is installed on the dish. That is why i wasnt getting any signal. Most likely you did like me and followed the manual and the manual have it installed on the right ( the number 2 outlet) Put it on # 1.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 12th, 2016, 9:04 pm

change your transponder to 26. It is currently at 25.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 13th, 2016, 1:29 pm

Ok I'll be working on it tomorrow....ill post an update ...Thanks man

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 13th, 2016, 10:03 pm

direct tv had to replace my new prepaid box. I am now "enjoying" directtv although the audio on my new tv sounds shitty. Dam flat screen.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 14th, 2016, 4:40 pm

Yup the dish was bad...they replaced it ....but I have another one to install....Will see how that goes....

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 17th, 2016, 3:42 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Yup the dish was bad...they replaced it ....but I have another one to install....Will see how that goes....

u get tru?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 17th, 2016, 4:00 pm

Didn't Install the 2nd one yet.....looking for a proper place to put the mast...
Thinking to put it on the roof but it's inclined....the book says to put it on a level surface but I think the incline isn't bad. ..

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 18th, 2016, 3:49 am

once the mass level. You can put the base and jus use the plastic level in the mass to center it and level it.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 18th, 2016, 6:49 am

As Screwbash said, the transponder needs to be set to 26. It comes set to transponder 25.

Its a huge hustle with those Directv technicians, went down to head office when I was setting up and the floor manager walked me through step by step how to set it up, she was very helpful. The receptionist and help line seem only able to slip you a technician's number who could 'fix you up' :roll:
Setup is extremely easy.

Why does EVERYTHING in Trinidad have to come to this........?

eitech

Postby eitech » October 18th, 2016, 7:01 am

So would you say direct tv prepaid is worth it?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 18th, 2016, 1:01 pm

i doh take the prepaid worth it as i think you cant upgrade and add more channels. Is best you go with the full system cause in the prepaid some of the channels is totally in spanish but the quality good.

Re: RE: Re: DirecTv PrePaid Trinidad

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2016, 10:50 pm

Freak wrote:DTV Prepaid is Svideo out of the box to RCA to your tv.

Thanks for the info. I'm going have to pass on trying to get Direct TV to work with the HDMI set that I wanted to hook it up to.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 21st, 2016, 7:31 pm

Guys I installed but no signal...transponder on 26.. ..but ..Didn't call in to activate as it was after hours.....
Should I activate and try again to get a signal?....May need help with this .....

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 21st, 2016, 7:49 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Guys I installed but no signal...transponder on 26.. ..but ..Didn't call in to activate as it was after hours.....
Should I activate and try again to get a signal?....May need help with this .....

Switch where you connected the coaxial on the LNB. I wasnt getting signal until i switch the cable to the 2nd outlet and just manually adjust the dish till u get the 93% or so signal. The installation manual doesnt tell you put the transponder on 26 or use the other coaxial outlet on the LBN.
Last edited by screwbash on October 21st, 2016, 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 21st, 2016, 7:55 pm

when you call to activate they will tell you to put it on signal strength and they will hear the fast beeping to know it was setup correctly. They sound surprised when i told dem I installed it and i getting 93% signal. You need to get the signal before you call to activate, they they will tell you it takes 48 hours after you call , so if you get the signal tom and call tomorrow by tuesday you will be watching the 7 days free of Direct tv.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 22nd, 2016, 12:40 am

K man I'll try again in the morning for the signal....I did everything right so far....even if it a bit off I expect to still get some sort of signal...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 22nd, 2016, 4:58 am

once you get the general idea of the western direction and the 49* elevation just move slowly up and down and left to right and you will get signal.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 22nd, 2016, 7:45 pm

Ok ....I got thru....my direction was a bit off but I switched the coaxial and got my direction correct. Got a 96 % signAl....could work with that.....
Called it and the woman was very helpful....I got it activated within 20 Minutes.....she actually called me back to tell me it was activated and did a lil check to make sure everything was in order....so very good customer sevice.

Oh yeah and she was again very surprised when I told her 96% and she kept on asking who did the install....told her I did it..and she was like really?... :?

It turned out to be very easy to Install.....could be completed in less than an hour....the drilling to Install the mast is prob the most difficult but once u have the tools it would be easy.....

The instructions in the kit is very good and well laid out for self installation.

These technicians make easy money on these installs.

Gonna evaluate it for the 6 days and see if it is really worth it but$200 for the kit isn't bad.....

Wonder though what the prices of the new hd ones gonna be ...