Postby Morpheus » October 19th, 2015, 2:07 pm

^^That. I read that and didn't bother to tell him twas sarcasm. LoL

Re: Wait..WHAT!!! Property Tax is back?

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:Image

http://www.caricom.org/jsp/community/co ... survey.pdf

Our current property tax compared to our neighbours.

Man bring some research that was done in 2004 and say that current.

Trin Citizens get very little in the return of our wealth. If we don't have property tax then its the one benefit that we all can enjoy.
Seems Caricom gets enjoys to our ATM more that trini citizens.

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Well if in 2004 we had the lowest of any property tax, we didnt pay any property tax for 5 years and when it starts back next year, it we be on the same rate as we did in 2004, unless another Caribbean country reduced or removed their property tax, I think it is safe to say we still have the lowest in the Caribbean.

We get subsidised (water, electricity, fuel, housing) free universal education, free chronic prescription medication, housing repair grants, welfare, free senior citizen & children public transport, pension and NIS and you think "get very little in the return of our wealth"?

Well leave.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 2:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well if in 2004 we had the lowest of any property tax, we didnt pay any property tax for 5 years and when it starts back next year, it we be on the same rate as we did in 2004, unless another Caribbean country reduced or removed their property tax, I think it is safe to say we still have the lowest in the Caribbean.

We get subsidised (water, electricity, fuel, housing) free universal education, free chronic prescription medication, housing repair grants, welfare, free senior citizen & children public transport, pension and NIS and you think "get very little in the return of our wealth"?

Well leave.

Not for long, PNM start to remove one by one.

Plus one half of the populace don't benefit from state housing, that's reserved for non jhandis planters.

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 10:15 pm

thennnnn comes in property tax. where they charge u per tile. there wasn't a defined method to calculate it in the manning era, and it wouldn't have one in the village ram era. when the estimator don't like ur head, is what ever figure they say.

dude2014

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby dude2014 » September 6th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Some body has to pay for the infrastructure, such as roads, electricity, schools, security, hospitals and it comes in the form of taxes. Property taxes, VAT, PAYE, Health surcharge, etc and the infamous NIS, scheme and more scheme.

Trust me when I tell you patos had it worked out and I have the book to prove it. Local Govt had a rate and taxes dept that had completed an exercise to implement same. After spending millions of dollars it was abondon for the Revenue Authority. That was true Local Government reform as they would have retained some of it for roads construction, maintenance, recreation grounds, garbage collection, etc. ....

Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 6th, 2016, 10:47 pm

I done vex I have to pay more nis come month end....what next? Property taxes and increases gas prices...

$7tt - $1usd? Or maybe more

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 10:49 pm

should be a land tax, not an all inclusive property tax. u done pay vat for ur tile and thin set. the purchase of materials was a one time payment, but every year u supposed to be taxed for wanting to enjoy the fruits of your labor.

it should be as simple and fair as pay according to the simple formula of the area of land you occupy and the purpose of the land, be it residential, agricultural, industrial.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2016, 11:02 pm

sMASH wrote:thennnnn comes in property tax. where they charge u per tile. there wasn't a defined method to calculate it in the manning era, and it wouldn't have one in the village ram era. when the estimator don't like ur head, is what ever figure they say.

Yes we must prepare we ass with that property tax. But hey you can do what you does do with all the adjusters for insurance companies, buy them ah bottle of old oak and cook up ah curry duck for them and they will go easy on yuh.

The Banana Republic way.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 7th, 2016, 4:36 am

the people need to say no to the property tax
that tax is unfair.
you are working for your money and pay taxes. You used that taxed money to purchase a house and then thy want to tax you on that. The bank owns most people houses let them pay the taxes.
Want to see then try to collect tax in Beetham.
Same like vehicles why dont they make the politicians pay taxes on the vehicles they purchase. they can raise the tax on these vehicles for the population. because to them it does not matter 50 % of 0 is still zero.

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » September 7th, 2016, 3:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I done vex I have to pay more nis come month end....what next? Property taxes and increases gas prices...

$7tt - $1usd? Or maybe more

more like 7.5-8.5(suggested) or 10-1(a certain group of ppl who think they are white)...just brace yourselves

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 11th, 2016, 11:39 pm

make sure allyuh backside ready for that property tax incoming how much days left?

Tighten allyuh jockey shorts this one is going to be the ride of a lifetime.

Why didn't kamla fix this property tax before she left? why leave it hanging knowing how the PNM going and ramp it up we bamcee? But then again thats part of the political game, hope Rowley ram we that umbrella tax and then pretend to be Ma Kamla the savior vote meh 2020.
But she have something else coming if she think she winning any 2020 election.

Postby De Dragon » September 12th, 2016, 12:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:make sure allyuh backside ready for that property tax incoming how much days left?

Tighten allyuh jockey shorts this one is going to be the ride of a lifetime.

Why didn't kamla fix this property tax before she left? why leave it hanging knowing how the PNM going and ramp it up we bamcee? But then again thats part of the political game, hope Rowley ram we that umbrella tax and then pretend to be Ma Kamla the savior vote meh 2020.
But she have something else coming if she think she winning any 2020 election.

How was she supposed to "fix it"? Didn't the last Government not implement it as the present one is allegedly seeking to? Do you really feel a Government can ban or outlaw a tax from being implemented by a successive Government? :roll:

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 3rd, 2016, 8:13 am

Will my property tax be used to maintain my community? .. If so then no problem.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 3rd, 2016, 8:26 am

cherrypopper wrote:Will my property tax be used to maintain my community? .. If so then no problem.

nah dat money is govahment money so don't expect it to be used on you.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » October 3rd, 2016, 9:03 am

That's the problem there. .property tax is for the property.

If I am paying high property taxes ... firetruck the asphalt road and put pavers...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 3rd, 2016, 9:22 am

cherrypopper wrote:That's the problem there. .property tax is for the property.

If I am paying high property taxes ... firetruck the asphalt road and put pavers...

I agree, something people fail to understand.

Tax this, tax that, but if yuh want to taxing the living daylights, then services and conditions should be up to mark and not remain the shitty way it is now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2016, 9:31 am

cherrypopper wrote:Will my property tax be used to maintain my community? .. If so then no problem.

There's a downside to that where high priced property areas will end up with lots more community maintenance than rural areas where property prices are low thereby perpetuating the social gap.

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 3rd, 2016, 2:01 pm

I asking again...squatters paying any ah this property tax????

Daran

Postby Daran » October 3rd, 2016, 2:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I asking again...squatters paying any ah this property tax????

And do squatters own any property?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 3rd, 2016, 2:42 pm

Daran wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I asking again...squatters paying any ah this property tax????

And do squatters own any property?

Depends on who's askin...

niso

Postby niso » October 3rd, 2016, 3:58 pm

HDC owners paying property taxes ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 3rd, 2016, 4:26 pm

It have real squatters paying light and water bill(although utilities does not give ownership rights)...so I just curious as to how them people would b treated

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2016, 5:04 pm

niso wrote:HDC owners paying property taxes ?

No, their properties are only transferred to them when the mortgage is paid off. Until then HDC legally owns the property.

car

Postby car » October 3rd, 2016, 5:17 pm

I thought HDC was a free house. You still have to pay a mortgage on it?

Postby SR » October 3rd, 2016, 6:00 pm

Who is doing the property value assessments??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2016, 6:00 pm

niso wrote:HDC owners paying property taxes ?

No, their properties are only transferred to them when the mortgage is paid off. Until then HDC legally owns the property.
so what about the tens of thousands of houses being mortgaged by the banks?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2016, 6:02 pm

This was published in the Deloitte Budget Presentation document

b3c6f97d-a708-48a7-b21d-d8e51a20a59a.jpg

I am not sure what is the return that homeowners have to submit.

Postby SR » October 3rd, 2016, 7:05 pm

And this is where the racket or victimisation will start