Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby hong kong phooey » September 15th, 2016, 10:54 am

It was shipped by Fed Ex

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 16th, 2016, 11:28 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:I coulda get you a 50lb box ah stone for ah lil $200 dan.

i',m interested
sent

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 17th, 2016, 8:21 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:tropical express FTW been with them for the last 10 years no complaints, used their seabox to bring in a fridge, cost about $4000 to ship clear and collect....a bit high i think butt, the convenience is what you pay for instead of you havin to go to customs, to bribe customs officer and wait from 4am to go thru all dat headache...

Well that's the thing I have always been hesitant to use sea shipping because of having to interact with customs. Now it just straight forward like with my skybox . Order on Amazon and its just to collect . No set of nonesense headache to clear stuff

from what I understand with tropical seabox, it is similar to the skybox. They do all the clearing you just have one bill to pay and collect.
but there is a minimum shipment weight of 25 pounds.

I shipped my first item, according to amazon it got there Tuesday evening. i was hoping to see a letter stating that they received it
but nothing as yet
Latest update from Amazon:
Tuesday, Sep 13
1:17 PM Your package was delivered. The delivery was signed by: PSANDOVAL
Miami, FL, US
Hopefully if it did not make this weeks sailing it will be on the following week shipment.

Yea they good but ran into problems when i wanted to import a glass separating machine which was apparently too heavy. so had alot of running around to do.

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » September 18th, 2016, 10:48 am

Anyone else find its getting ridiculously expensive to import everything ........ I use Aeropost and the prices are rocket high

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » September 18th, 2016, 10:49 am

Any cheaper reccomendations ?

Jade_Inc.

Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 18th, 2016, 11:16 am

boosted_wrx wrote:Any cheaper reccomendations ?

I'm gonna try bluesky with something heavy and expensive for the first time, will report back when its delivered

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » September 18th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:
boosted_wrx wrote:Any cheaper reccomendations ?

I'm gonna try bluesky with something heavy and expensive for the first time, will report back when its delivered

Nice well keep us posted

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » September 18th, 2016, 9:05 pm

renegade_wolf wrote:I looking for a alternative to websource what aulluh recommend.

I need a service where i could leave cash with meh family to collect if the courier show up when i not home.

I brought in two identical items (monitors) with Websource and blue sky. Blue sky was about $100-$200 less than Websource. Can't remember the exact figure but Websource delivered about 5-7 days before blue sky. Reason for this is because they don't have a high clientele like Websource so they ship less frequently.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 18th, 2016, 11:27 pm

1 Complain about expensive skybox
2 Sign up with budget no name new/existing poorly reviewed service
3 Receive item in 2+ weeks after delivery, no tracking, shiddy customer service
4 Come to tuner to complain and ask for better reliable skybox provider

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 18th, 2016, 11:36 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:tropical express FTW been with them for the last 10 years no complaints, used their seabox to bring in a fridge, cost about $4000 to ship clear and collect....a bit high i think butt, the convenience is what you pay for instead of you havin to go to customs, to bribe customs officer and wait from 4am to go thru all dat headache...

Well that's the thing I have always been hesitant to use sea shipping because of having to interact with customs. Now it just straight forward like with my skybox . Order on Amazon and its just to collect . No set of nonesense headache to clear stuff

from what I understand with tropical seabox, it is similar to the skybox. They do all the clearing you just have one bill to pay and collect.
but there is a minimum shipment weight of 25 pounds.

I shipped my first item, according to amazon it got there Tuesday evening. i was hoping to see a letter stating that they received it
but nothing as yet
Latest update from Amazon:
Tuesday, Sep 13
1:17 PM Your package was delivered. The delivery was signed by: PSANDOVAL
Miami, FL, US
Hopefully if it did not make this weeks sailing it will be on the following week shipment.

just an update
A pre alert mail was sent on the 16 , it was in my junk folder

We would like to notify you that your package(s) is(are) in transit from Miami to Trinidad and will subsequently be cleared by customs upon arrival.
You will be receiving another notification soon when it has (they have) been cleared through Trinidad Customs and is (are) ready for pick up.
Please visit http://track.shiptropical.com and enter your SkyBox number (digits only) to view.

NO MORE VOLUMETRIC weight charges, pay only for ACTUAL weight when you use our new address:
6531 NW 87th Ave.
Suite T-**** (your existing number)
Miami, FLA, 33178. U.S.A.

once i receive the item i will weigh it and update the cost resp.

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » September 19th, 2016, 12:16 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:1 Complain about expensive skybox
2 Sign up with budget no name new/existing poorly reviewed service
3 Receive item in 2+ weeks after delivery, no tracking, shiddy customer service
4 Come to tuner to complain and ask for better reliable skybox provider

Well since you good at pointing out flaws, you have any suggestions ? Aeropost is reputable but very expensive, any dollar saved is a dollar earned

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 19th, 2016, 12:35 pm

I love aeropost tho, if I order today, I getting it Saturday for sure

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 19th, 2016, 7:44 pm

WS is now probably the middle ground in skyboxes. They have fixed a lot of their issues except for black friday and christmas. Almost as if they never prepared for the rush.

Aeropost and Ezone are expensive for some but to me worth every penny for dependable clockwork service.

As for the startups and the other doh give a ferk skyboxes, you get what you pay for.

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » September 19th, 2016, 7:47 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:WS is now probably the middle ground in skyboxes. They have fixed a lot of their issues except for black friday and christmas. Almost as if they never prepared for the rush.

Aeropost and Ezone are expensive for some but to me worth every penny for dependable clockwork service.

As for the startups and the other doh give a ferk skyboxes, you get what you pay for.

I use the Aeroshop feature from Aeropost, when i quote something for around 100usd, the complete landed price will cost around 150% of the original price and they give a run around for refunds

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 19th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Remember that is a feature for them to make money, not to save you anything. I have never used it because it is not economical.

My comments were regarding just their shipping. Yuh on yuh own with Aeroshop.

silverfire

Postby silverfire » September 22nd, 2016, 10:01 am

here is my first time experience with tropical express seabox these last few days...

I sent two items to their seabox address, both of which arrived at their miami address last friday. one weighed 25lbs and the other 29lbs. their minimum for ocean freight is 25lbs. On monday i get an email to say that one package is on its way. i checked out the situation and realised that they decided to send the 29lb package via air even though i sent it to the seabox address, not the skybox address. Of course I was mad as ever and spent monday to wednesday on the phone and everg day i was told they have to speak to the boss to see if he will charge me seabox rates. the invoice came wednesday and they charged me skybox rates which led me to call and complain again. they said they cant get through to the boss but they would keep trying. This morning i checked the invoice online and i saw they reduced the charges.

so take what u want from that....needless to say i wont be using their seabox after my 2nd package ships...as for the skybox, the shipment came quickly but the customs charges were higher than should have been...i had considered switching to tropical skybox for my smaller items but the whole experience has me thinking about sticking to websource- they may be pricier sometimes but they dont charge more than their estimate and their customer service, response and delivery time is good.

Postby supercharged turbo » September 24th, 2016, 9:02 pm

If you order an item and it gets confiscated,what happens next?Do you have to go and account for the item if it is illegal/declare it on your own?

Postby Kenjo » September 24th, 2016, 9:27 pm

Charges start to rack up for storage at customs and you can decide if to get it destroyed versus if it's something like a Walkie talkie which needs clearance from telecommunications authority

Postby supercharged turbo » September 25th, 2016, 5:55 pm

But would you get charged if the item is deemed illegal?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 25th, 2016, 6:07 pm

What u went and order hoss?

neexis

Postby neexis » September 25th, 2016, 8:15 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:What u went and order hoss?

More questions than answers

Postby *KRONIK* » September 25th, 2016, 8:17 pm

neexis wrote:

More questions than answers

Not really....if i know what the item in question is, i can give an answer...
I have had items seized by custums already and gotten them released

Postby desifemlove » September 26th, 2016, 11:24 am

have i got this worong?

I bought a desk from US, and got it through EHL.

i paid $400 TTD for it, but then EHL charged my $600 TTD for shipping handling. so$1000 TTD in total. is this how it usually does work? i thought the whole point was that there are less fees, but then if i got it myself and arranged the courier it would be less overall.

neexis

Postby neexis » September 26th, 2016, 2:43 pm

Well most couriers charge by weight... although even though EHL claims lower rates, their estimates always end up working up to more than some of the others. Not sure what extra fees they add in

Postby pete » September 26th, 2016, 4:34 pm

Size of box and weight not provided. How you expect anyone to say whether it's justified or not?

Postby supercharged turbo » September 27th, 2016, 3:56 pm

Taser flashlight

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby *KRONIK* » September 27th, 2016, 4:05 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:

Taser flashlight

Right...so here how this gonna play off..
If they saw it and thought it was just a flashlight....then it woulda pass thru and you would have it in ur hand. The fact that they held it, means they know what it is and thats why its been seized.

You can pursue it and talk to a customs officer at swissport where they are holding it currently. The next holding spot is the airport in piarco. They have a special area at the end by the taxi area where they may have the item. If not, they will send it POS. At all 3 locations, you will be at the discretion of a customs officer to have the item released.

You will need to carry the ticket that the issued you when they seized the item. Let us know if u get thru.
But tazers are classed as offensive weapons and i highly doubt they will release it to you.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby supercharged turbo » September 27th, 2016, 4:08 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Taser flashlight

If they saw it and thought it was just a flashlight....then it woulda pass thru and you would have it in ur hand. The fact that they held it, means they know what it is and thats why its been seized.

You can pursue it and talk to a customs officer at swissport where they are holding it currently. The next holding spot is the airport in piarco. They have a special area at the end by the taxi area where they may have the item. If not, they will send it POS. At all 3 locations, you will be at the discretion of a customs officer to have the item released.

You will need to carry the ticket that the issued you when they seized the item. Let us know if u get thru.
But tazers are classed as offensive weapons and i highly doubt they will release it to you.

I see alot of people selling them locally so I wonder if it could slide through customs

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby *KRONIK* » September 27th, 2016, 4:15 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Taser flashlight

I see alot of people selling them locally so I wonder if it could slide through customs

Yea...i see them too and wonder how they get them here...
I guess some ppl have the "link"...others dont.

I had gotten a can of pellets seized by customs.
I went to swissport...spoke to a customs officer and took my air rifle permit with me and showed him the ticket. I spoke to him on a straight up level: " will it be released or not?"
He say they will release it. He write something on the paper and tell me it in POS. I went there and got it in about 5 mins. I had to pay the customs and duties charges there and they gave me it....

Postby supercharged turbo » September 27th, 2016, 4:19 pm

You still have a permit.I didn't order it.Still weighing my options