Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 8:48 pm

neexis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
neexis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Nice. I seeing an auxiliary handle there so I guessing some good torque!

Ended up going with a Bosch

Lol
Yeah...
Pugboy said his is a real beast.

I now get bawl up...
I drill a random in the wall to test it!
Wife was not pleased...

I know them feels... Only thing I could find to drill was a desk with a cup saw for some cable management.
Itching to try it on some wall but I eh get no masonry bits yet.

Hoping mines get here by Wednesday or tomorrow. Need to find something drill yes, something soon. :drinking:

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Lol

Yea...bess allyuh buy some 2x4 to drill up...doh drill up the house.

The next buy a dcf887 3 speed impact

I miss my dewalt 18v impact so much!

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Drilling hole in people house is what I buy it for :lol:

Postby supercharged turbo » September 6th, 2016, 6:22 pm

Looking for a half face respirator.Checked out the Dräger line in CSP and looking at another brand to consider possibly 3M.Which out of the 2 would you recommend and why?

Postby X_Factor » September 6th, 2016, 8:23 pm

.have msa and 3m and they make the covered portion of your face sweat like crazy
gonna get this...
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013S ... BRA5ZTBCX8

comes with dust filters which is ideal for me since its mainly for sawdust, concrete etc

check their website if you plan to use it for gas or hazardous stuff

sinnaz25

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby sinnaz25 » September 6th, 2016, 9:02 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
neexis wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Image

Finally!

Nice. I seeing an auxiliary handle there so I guessing some good torque!

Ended up going with a Bosch

Lol
Yeah...
Pugboy said his is a real beast.

I now get bawl up...
I drill a random in the wall to test it!
Wife was not pleased...

Woi nice cord less were u buy an how much

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 9th, 2016, 11:36 am

Bosch PS41 2A 12v impact driver. $1100 landed. Sells for 1500+ at Allied.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 9th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Those bits are the truth. I bought one with my impact driver, Best buy behind the impact driver.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2016, 1:15 pm

Sink about 200 screws yesterday into a wooden ceiling. May never use regular screwdrivers again.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 10th, 2016, 1:39 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Bosch PS41 2A 12v impact driver. $1100 landed. Sells for 1500+ at Allied.

Two things you should get for your impact

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-1-4-i ... /202248363
this actually slides over the small screwheads and holds it

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-Right ... /203867866

gets in tight spaces

there are other brands but these are the ones i purchased

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2016, 3:29 pm

Already have the first one, Milwaukee. Real finger saver.

Don't need the right angled driver just yet.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 10th, 2016, 5:17 pm

I got these before i sold my older 18v impact driver.
It had really great reviews.
So far i still on my my 1st #2 phillip bit.
The bit holder has a magnetic head and holds the screw in place.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2016, 6:10 pm

The Dewalt impact bit not as long lasting as i would like. 2 slips on tough screws and that was it, continuous slipping after that. Did maybe 100 screws. Shouldn't be that fragile IMO. Will try a different brand next time.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 10th, 2016, 6:34 pm

Try the makita bits

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2016, 7:20 pm

IMG_20160910_192804.jpg

Can't wait to drill someone wall

Postby X_Factor » September 10th, 2016, 7:56 pm

be carefull you dont burn the drill
its gonna take a lot of power just to turn that

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2016, 8:07 pm

Did a quick thing on a concrete floor, 5 seconds and it done dig in a few mm
I wanna see how it cuts a brick and mortar wall with a cordless.
Will buy a bigger drill of needed.

Postby X_Factor » September 10th, 2016, 8:18 pm

i think those can work with the angle grinder as well, you can explore that option as well

https://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWD525K-2 ... ndle+drill

i have that fella, power like that....mid handle gives nice balance

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2016, 8:35 pm

Screenshot_2016-09-10-20-44-04.png

I have this one

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2016, 8:57 pm

You need a drill with plenty torque, use low rpm

Postby nervewrecker » September 10th, 2016, 8:59 pm

I'll give this one a try tomorrow to see how it does.
Don't mind getting a bigger one in the future. Needed a cordless around the house any how you take it. Right now it have a Kawasaki that not so hot. The most it does is drill holes in mdf.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2016, 10:27 am

X_Factor wrote:be carefull you dont burn the drill
its gonna take a lot of power just to turn that

Most of the better cordless drills would turn that bit with no damage to the motor. What you may get is damage to the battery that will just shorten the battery life.

There are new cordless tools coming out that are boosting the voltage so that the discharge current is not so high. Dewalt has a new Flexvolt system that has up to 120 volts from the battery. That should get rid of the high discharge problem.

http://flexvolt.dewalt.com/en-us

Supposedly, you'll also be able to put on a cord pack that allows you to use the tool plugged into a wall.

I'm trying to find an excuse to replace a whole shelf full of cordless tools when Flexvolt is available. ;)
Last edited by adnj on September 11th, 2016, 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 11th, 2016, 1:29 pm

X_Factor wrote:i think those can work with the angle grinder as well, you can explore that option as well

be careful look at the max RPM of that bit before trying to use it with a angle grinder .
angle grinder is normally high rpm where drill bit are normally lower rpm

do you wet that bit when using it ?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 11th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Where can I get rivets or pins to repair some kitchen knife handles? And what kind of handle material would you all recommend?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 11th, 2016, 3:11 pm

Good question...

Where pugboy?

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2016, 7:19 pm

No idea, but check knife forums,
If is one set of folks who are seriously obsessed are the knife folks followed closely by the torchlighers

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2016, 8:48 pm

Hyperion wrote:Where can I get rivets or pins to repair some kitchen knife handles? And what kind of handle material would you all recommend?

Knife handles are normally held in place with rods and a slow set epoxy like G-Flex. I use micarta or G-10 on fixed blades. You can use a hardwood but it should be stabilised by impregnating it with resin so that it is water resistant. I've seen Corian and Lexan used too. For the pins, use stainless steel or brass rod that fit tightly into the holes of you knife handle.

Cut the slabs so that they are a bit bigger than the handle, mark and drill holes for the rods and do a test fit. Mark the slabs and trim away most (not all) of the excess handle material.

Setup the handle by glueing on the handles one side at a time and clamp them together. When they're dry, sand the slabs to the fit and finish that you like.

If you want to do it faster you can forget the glue, drill out the grip holes and use stainless steel tubing and flare both sides of the tube. I prefer Corby bolts but they're normally a special order item.

Another option is to wrap the handle in paracord and soak the handle in epoxy.

You can get most supplies from knifekits.com if you plan on ordering.

Postby nervewrecker » September 11th, 2016, 9:12 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
X_Factor wrote:i think those can work with the angle grinder as well, you can explore that option as well

be careful look at the max RPM of that bit before trying to use it with a angle grinder .
angle grinder is normally high rpm where drill bit are normally lower rpm

do you wet that bit when using it ?

Haven't used it yet.
I find it real heavy to put on a cordless though. Have a suspicion it might damage the drill..
Drill still in the case and bit just chilling. Work have me busy.

It says wet or dry.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2016, 9:35 pm

This...

images (1).jpeg
images (1).jpeg (17.39 KiB) Viewed 2645 times

images.jpeg
images.jpeg (14.43 KiB) Viewed 2645 times

FLEXVOLT RANGE.png

And you can use a cord.