Those who have exp. in OJT what was it like?

L_AnaM

Those who have exp. in OJT what was it like?

Postby L_AnaM » August 26th, 2016, 11:17 am

I finished UWI and I'm working at a good restaurant now as a server until OJT calls me back and I just had two questions about what it was like:
How long did they take to call you back after the interview and was it hard to get another job after the contract ended?
I'm worried that I wouldn't get placed and even though I have a job now I would really like a job that could lead up to my field (finance).
Please share any other experience you had with OJT that you think might help a new recruit. Thanks.

hong kong phooey

Re: Those who have exp. in OJT what was it like?

Postby hong kong phooey » August 26th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Good for you . At least you not sitting at home, scratching and feeling sorry for yourself.
The thing with OJT is you will never know, it depends on the company and if they need employees at the point in time.
You can get called right away or months after or never.
Just keep sending out your resumes.
Apply to banks and other financial institutions once you get a start you can move up the chain. It is so much easier to get another job once you are working.

allstarzz

Postby allstarzz » August 26th, 2016, 1:24 pm

Ok so its all based on the field of work you are in,an the position u applied for,because in certain fields its hard to get a job as an ojt,whereas if u apply for something like admin which is very common u will get tru alot faster,i applied for accounts clerk an got tru in less than 2 weeks,i was also lucky to be placed in a private organisation,because when your contract is up in the public sector u have to seek employment elsewhere,whereas in private u may hav the option of being hired permanently or for an extended period as i have been

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2016, 1:36 pm

If government place...

Make copies
Type a letter or two
Take minutes of one or two meetings
A little filing in between
Skin yuh gizzard half day...

Postby desifemlove » August 26th, 2016, 1:39 pm

depends on the place you go to. most ojts where i worked did the same as us "normal" employees, and same expectations and responsibilities. but then what degree did you do? no offence to you, but then part of our higher education issue is peope doing degrees and then not thinking about where they going afterwards.

L_AnaM

Postby L_AnaM » August 26th, 2016, 11:50 pm

desifemlove wrote:depends on the place you go to. most ojts where i worked did the same as us "normal" employees, and same expectations and responsibilities. but then what degree did you do? no offence to you, but then part of our higher education issue is peope doing degrees and then not thinking about where they going afterwards.

None taken lol
I always wanted to work in finance so I did my degree in management and minored in finance and now I'm currently pursuing cfa. I've been told that Cfa is really geared towards people already working in the field so that's why I really want to try and get in it.