Min of Nat Sec initiates the use of Pepper Spray for all!

Re: Legislation for pepper spray in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2016, 9:50 am

^ "those so qualified" turns into "anyone who will pay the bribe" which destroys the intent of that rule.

Postby BrotherHood » August 11th, 2016, 9:59 am

Ent.
Jus leave things as is, i.e illegal.
Just be vigilant, aware, and don't 'put yourself in place'.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » August 11th, 2016, 11:28 am

Ironic thing is Pepper Spray is available off the shelf At Superpharm,

The govt needs to make TAZERS , and other personal protective items LEGAL.

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "those so qualified" turns into "anyone who will pay the bribe" which destroys the intent of that rule.

By this 'logic' we should just curl up in a ball and do nothing.

whats the point of ANY changes.

makes sense.

but point in fact-what you described is what applies now.
and that is not working.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 11th, 2016, 7:12 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Ent.

So when a bandit break into someone's home and starts assaulting their wife or daughter we go sit down and sing kumbaya and tell your wife or daughter to be vigilant and aware? wanna know what happened the last time a bandit broke into a texas home with a mother and her child home alone?

The 12 gauge sent him back out the same speed he came in.

As Trump rightfully said, if there were bullets flying in the opposite direction in France when it had the shooting it would have been a totally different outcome.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 11th, 2016, 8:10 pm

wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 11th, 2016, 10:31 pm

tourniquet wrote:wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Who got upset? maybe uneducated people. Should we go by who is upset or should we do the right thing?

Studies have shown that prayers, hopes and dreams are not effective in preventing a criminal from raping or killing you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 11th, 2016, 10:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
tourniquet wrote:wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Who got upset? maybe uneducated people. Should we go by who is upset or should we do the right thing?

Studies have shown that prayers, hopes and dreams are not effective in preventing a criminal from raping or killing you.

Uneducated people? You talking about 70% of T&T's population.
That's how a democracy works boy... The majority rules even if the majority of people IQ below 70.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 11th, 2016, 10:54 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Ent.

for what? not to get rob?

Are you aware that bandits invade your homes too? you can get rob in your home too!

so how the firetruck you can make a statement like that?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » August 12th, 2016, 7:49 am

From the moment someone violates your home or/and your property, take whatever measures necessary to protect yourself, and make sure that bandit can not talk again, deal with him or get rid of them quietly and live with it.

Bandits deserve Absolutely NO MERCY! - home made pepper spray, Speargun,shoot them straight in the face at point blank range with a fire extinguisher, light them on fire with bug spray and Lighter all these are viable options that you don't need permits for.

Postby BrotherHood » August 12th, 2016, 10:22 am

Secure yuh home

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 12th, 2016, 11:28 am

any weapon or device can be used for self protection or attacking others with it , simple thing as a kitchen knife or ice pick can be bought all over for $10 which after u done use it home u take it & go hold up\stab up somebody with it

just like a cutlass sold on a store shelf in a hardware , buy it for gardening or chop ppl or do robberies with it

so how d police\govt gonna be sooo sure pepper spray , taser , baton or anything far more a gun they claim is for self defense but u dunno if somebody buying it with intention of hurting others with it ...

Postby pete » August 12th, 2016, 1:07 pm

BRZ wrote:Ironic thing is Pepper Spray is available off the shelf At Superpharm,

It's a Mace brand sonic alarm/deterrent not pepper spray.

Postby rollingstock » August 12th, 2016, 1:45 pm

Knowing BRZ it was probably Mabel or Matouks he saw

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 12th, 2016, 2:01 pm

Lol... good thing, was gonna check superfarm this weekend

Re: RE: Re: Legislation for pepper spray in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 12th, 2016, 2:34 pm

B. Hinds spoke about reviewing the speed limit (which he also spoke about being constantly under review), and arrive alive got upset.

Why empower your citizenry, when they are defenseless cash cows as they are?

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2016, 7:50 pm

Befuddles me how people apply an old personal choice to a policy suggestion as a solution to a new dynamic problem.

In a home invasion every person here would prefer to have fire arm in hand.
If it's their home being invaded.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 12th, 2016, 7:57 pm

Redman wrote:Befuddles me how people apply an old personal choice to a policy suggestion as a solution to a new dynamic problem.

In a home invasion every person here would prefer to have fire arm in hand.
If it's their home being invaded.

The left wing says you don't need a firearm. You need prayers, hopes and dreams. However studies have shown that prayers, hopes and dreams do NOT work against a burglar in your home and a firearm is much more effective.

But hey guns are scary and guns kill people so lets ban them.

Postby maj. tom » August 12th, 2016, 8:25 pm

from all your posts on this topic, one would swear that you living in the USA and personally fondling Donald Trump's ballsack.

battosai

Postby battosai » August 12th, 2016, 8:47 pm

BRZ wrote:Ironic thing is Pepper Spray is available off the shelf At Superpharm,

tazers and pepper spray would make it much easier for criminals in a robbery,rape etc.Use of pepper spray for thieves means 'yh eh go see who robbing yh' use of TAZERS means now they taking your cloths shoe wallet weave everything

Postby pete » August 13th, 2016, 8:47 am

If I'm going to be robbed is much prefer they use a non lethal weapon. They can get knives anywhere so if I had a choice between getting pepper sprayed and stabbed I'll take sprayed.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 15th, 2016, 8:48 am

I find they should legalised Tazers. Grant it the same responsibilities to the user as having a gun, just more accessible to get.

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » August 15th, 2016, 4:17 pm

what is the actual law that states Pepper spray or mace is illegal?

I find it hard to believe that a company like superpharm would sell an illegal item of their shelves like any regular consumer product...

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2016, 4:41 pm

TRD12 wrote:what is the actual law that states Pepper spray or mace is illegal?

I find it hard to believe that a company like superpharm would sell an illegal item of their shelves like any regular consumer product...

Reading and Understanding is not your forte??

pete wrote:

It's a Mace brand sonic alarm/deterrent not pepper spray.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » August 15th, 2016, 9:08 pm

Can't believe people against non letal personal protection.especially now how the level of crime is. Smh

If i cant get pepper spray I have a can of bop in meh car. Im sure that wont be pleasant in the eyes and mouth either....

Re: Min of Nat Sec initiates the use of Pepper Spray for all!

Postby Ben_spanna » July 17th, 2019, 12:02 pm

WHEN will we get the use of TAZERS legalized please?????

Postby aaron17 » July 17th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Lysol is it now?

Postby Rovin » July 17th, 2019, 1:21 pm

walk around with a bottle of pepper sauce normal & use it when needed\danger , nobody cyar do u nutten 4dat ....

Postby 88sins » July 17th, 2019, 3:16 pm

Rovin wrote:walk around with a bottle of pepper sauce normal & use it when needed\danger , nobody cyar do u nutten 4dat ....

I see somebody forgot about the robberies where bandits used pepper sauce on multiple victims some years ago :lol:

we may not be allowed pepper spray due to dangerous nature

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2021, 8:54 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/02/10/rambha ... han-a-gun/

newsday wrote:Rambharat: Pepper spray deadlier than a gun
Sean Douglas 4 Hrs Ago

WHILE saying the National Security Council (NSC) will consider a report done on the use of pepper spray, Agriculture Minister Clarence Rambharat warned that this protective measure can be deadlier than a firearm.

He spoke on Tuesday in the Senate in reply to a motion on the adjournment by Independent Senator Paul Richards calling for the legalisation of non-lethal weapons to arm women, following the recent murders of Andrea Bharatt and Ashanti Riley.

Saying TT has seen decades of heinous actions against women and girls, Richards said the country is past tipping point and is now at “tripping point” where citizens want to seek their own justice.

He begged the government that women be given pepper spray to have a fighting chance against assailants, and to give women hope.

“If it saves one life, it is worth it,” Richards said.

On concerns about criminals using pepper spray on victims, he said criminals already have guns and knives. Richards said 743 women were murdered in TT from 2000 to 2019, while thousands have suffered rape.

“There are predators and rapists roaming the streets, and women have a right to defend themselves but they just don’t have the tools to do so at this time,” Richards said.

Replying on behalf of National Security Minister Stuart Young, Rambharat said that past governments gave commitments for non-lethal weapons for the police, namely Tasers and pepper spray, both of which they only recently received.

He recalled growing up in the countryside where everyone kept some sort of weapon.

“You were always warned to be on the receiving end of the weapon you carried. Pepper spray could be more lethal than a firearm in the wrong hands,” Rambharat said.

While saying TT already has significant control over the availability of firearms, Rambharat said many issues arise if making pepper spray available.

He said the Office of Law Enforcement Policy (OLEP) in the Ministry of National Security had done a study and compiled a report.

The NSC, he said, is due to deliberate the report and then make recommendations to Cabinet.

Rambharat said some individuals reported the ill-effects of the Moruga Scorpion Pepper as being “like a heart attack.”

Saying the strength of pepper spray is typically three times higher than that, he claimed, “It is more lethal than a firearm.”

well thats it there. if its deadlier than a fire arm, it might be in the classification of assault weapons, so only farris chirren could get to permission to use it