Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby dnash1973 » June 7th, 2016, 10:48 am

Thanks for the info on the snake

York

Postby York » June 7th, 2016, 10:52 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Anybody does grow string beans? Wondering what type of pests or diseases I'll have to worry about ....what pesticide or herbicide I'll need. Anyone have any tips?

i planted some to try it out a few months back last year. It was fairly productive and only issue was maybe a fungal one. i didn't spray any fungicide as it was not too severe.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 8th, 2016, 11:51 am

thanks. I think I'll have to look out for batchac in the area.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 10th, 2016, 7:50 am

June 2016 Free Courses
1 (1).jpg

Postby X_Factor » June 10th, 2016, 8:27 pm

York wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Anybody does grow string beans? Wondering what type of pests or diseases I'll have to worry about ....what pesticide or herbicide I'll need. Anyone have any tips?

i planted some to try it out a few months back last year. It was fairly productive and only issue was maybe a fungal one. i didn't spray any fungicide as it was not too severe.

my issue was white flies with them

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 11th, 2016, 5:44 am

Any one of you guys have experience bringing in used farm equipment from the US
i am thinking about bringing in a small tractor with the accessories brush cutter , plough, bucket, post hole digger and drain digger.
i don't need it registered because i could leave it on the land or move it with a trailer
could i jut ship this in?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 11th, 2016, 7:31 am

I dont see the problem with that.
My father in law brought in a small tractor from china via ocean freight but he paid all the taxes as he wanted it registered and did have registered. It took a while as some of hos documents got "misplaced", but he got thru.

Afaik....once the vehicle is whole upon import you will still have to pay one of the "taxes" whether its going to be registered or not.

(I am subject to correction)

Postby Chimera » June 11th, 2016, 7:33 am

If you have a farmers license there are some exemptions on imported farm equipment

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » June 11th, 2016, 10:21 pm

Weather like that sa

gazaboyy

Postby gazaboyy » June 12th, 2016, 9:17 am

Looking for coconut plants call me I'm from south Golconda, 348-5813

android79

Postby android79 » June 12th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Looking for some french plantain suckers.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 13th, 2016, 3:24 pm

This is the kinda sheit that have the agriculture industry where it is now...smh

Consumers to pay more for local food
Trinidad Guardian - 13 June 2016
In the coming weeks, consumers would have to pay more for locally grown food as chemical importers are now forced to pay duties on herbicides. The move has come like a thief in the night, leaving importers in a quandary and furious.

At least two of the country’s largest chemical importers—Caribbean Chemicals and Massy Distribution Agri and Industrial Chemicals—have confirmed they have had to pay Customs and Excise Division 20 per cent duty on their overall bill.

This is in total contradiction to what was outlined in last October’s budget presentation, delivered by Finance Minister Colm Imbert, who stated the Government would exempt from all duties and taxes imports into the agricultural sector, including approved chemicals, pest control, approved vehicles, approved fishing vessels and equipment, which took effect on January 1.

Managing director of Caribbean Chemicals Joe Pires said in an interview that he was so upset by the duties charged that he wrote Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries Clarence Rambharat on June 7, calling for his immediate intervention into the matter.

Pires said he pleaded with Rambharat to release the duties on a freight container filled with herbicides, which is due to arrive in the country soon. The cost of the herbicide was estimated at $275,000 of which Pires had to pay $55,000 or 20 per cent duty last week. Some of the herbicides that are imported are Gramoxone/Paraquat, Round-Up, Velpar, Tordon and Arsenal.

“We had to pay the hefty duty to clear the shipment. Every week we have shipments coming in. This will no doubt affect our business,” Pires said.

In the 50 years Caribbean Chemicals has been importing, Pires said they have never paid duties.

“If we are to begin paying duties on these basic items that the farmers require, it will then force us to pass this cost onto them (farmers) in an already challenging environment. Obviously, the farmers will have no choice but to pass on this cost to the consumer. It will create a chain reaction and increase the cost of locally grown food. Consumers will have to pay more for produce. That is the bottom line,” said Pires.

Pires said for the Government to now charge duties will be counter productive.

“If we are on a mission to reduce the country’s $5 billion food import bill we are spinning top in mud with these duties. It would also dissuade farmers from cultivating crops,” Pires said.

Dave Seebaransingh, manager of Massy Distribution, said importers are asked to fill out a duty-free application by the Ministry of Agriculture at the beginning of the year, which outlines the products they would import and the quantities involved.

“They (ministry) grant you duty free concessions. We had our duty free concession letter...we had everything, but yet still we had to pay the 20 per cent duty on a shipment we brought in recently.”

Seebaransingh said the shipment that came in late last month was “unsellable for the price we had to pay the duty on. I am in a quandary. The duties charged came as a shock to me. This was the last thing we were expecting.” He said agricultural shops which are his main customers would not buy the product because of the cost that is now attached.

“It would be difficult to sell this to the farmers. In fact, I am stuck with the product on my hands. Soon, I would have to cut my losses and sell it at the cost price because there is an expiry date on the herbicide,” Seebaransingh said.

Only recently, it was brought to the importers’ attention that Customs and Excise Division now carry a new tariff which states that importers would have to pay a 20 per cent duty if their packages are under six kilogrammes.

“Customs and Excise is telling us that our imported packages must be over six kilogrammes upon presentation of sale if we are to be exempted from duties. This just does not make sense. We are accustomed buying in small packages or containers abroad to meet the demands of our farmers,” Pires explained.

Seebaransingh said T&T’s farming community by nature, purchase in small amounts because of the parcels of land they cultivate.

“Most of the farmers cultivate on one or two acre plots. Our products are sold in 250 ml, 500 ml or one litre sizes. A litre does not weigh anything close to six kilogrammes. It is far less,” Seebaransingh said.

If this problem is not resolved, Seebaransingh the consumer will have to pay a higher price for produce in the coming weeks. Seebaransingh said while they have had to pay the duty, there are unscrupulous importers who bring in poor quality herbicides/weedicides, but get away from paying duties. Minister Rambharat did not respond to a text message.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 16th, 2016, 3:51 pm

EOI:

Things are a bit hectic now and due to other priorities i am looking to sell out my chickens and quails.

The option to buy both for a discounted price is available.

For the quails you get:
2 level wooden coop built with coated wire.
Approximately 30 japanese quails (20 laying hens and 10 roosters).
2 Feeders
3 Waterers
Feed

Price is 2500 for everything

I will also put you onto the guy who buys all the eggs so you will be able generate an income from it.

Common fowl:
You will get
2 adult broody hens around 1 year old laying eggs everyday

14 half local/half local domonique chickens (6 rooster and 8 hens) all around 3 months old.

10 half black giant/half local chicks around 1.5 months old
(4 rooster and 6 hens)

10 half local domonique/local clean neck
(4 roosters and 3 hens)

1500 for all the birds
Feed
Feeders
Waterers

Pm if interested

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 16th, 2016, 5:52 pm

Kronik.
You serious bro?
Anyway the ducklings are doing great.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 16th, 2016, 6:06 pm

Yea boi...
Right now i under some pressure and the timing not working out too good. If push come to shove...i can keep them. It go just be a more work for me.

I just want them go to a good home and get good treatment.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2016, 4:47 pm

Fellaz....i need to kill some bamboo

Whats allyuh suggest?

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » July 2nd, 2016, 11:31 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz....i need to kill some bamboo

Whats allyuh suggest?

Try "lye"sold in most hardware stores,just pure it directly to root

TriP

Postby TriP » July 2nd, 2016, 1:45 pm

Farmers Free July 2016 Courses
1.jpg

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » July 28th, 2016, 7:26 pm

How much subsidiary you get back on new vehicles for registered farmers

Postby rspann » July 28th, 2016, 9:00 pm

Scatter some ochro seeds in the bamboo roots, they will drop out of their socket like teeth.

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2016, 6:27 am

rspann wrote:Scatter some ochro seeds in the bamboo roots, they will drop out of their socket like teeth.

Will try it

A garden shop fella tell me mix the amine-2,4D with diuron, but it didnt do any thing to the bamboo.

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2016, 6:31 am

24d only good for smaller broadleaf weeds, works well though
it also works real good on the birdvine which is rampant all over the place now
and resistant to roundup

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2016, 6:32 am

looking for a lime tree/seedlings

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2016, 7:59 am

pugboy wrote:looking for a lime tree/seedlings

How much so u need?

drop ho

Postby drop ho » July 29th, 2016, 8:53 am

Wow now seeing this thread... Didnt realise all these farmers here.

Massy Distribution Agri department has a great deal on greenhouses. There's 1 more large one (5000 sq ft) and a couple hobby green houses (smaller ones)
These green houses are ideal for persons wanting to keep separate and reduce use of chemicals on their products.
Check them out - recently reduced as well.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2016, 9:10 am

Free chicken manure
Bagged up already
Pay $2 for the bag only

Come with ur transport and help to load up

Located sangre grande

Pm for details

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » July 29th, 2016, 11:10 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
rspann wrote:Scatter some ochro seeds in the bamboo roots, they will drop out of their socket like teeth.

Will try it

A garden shop fella tell me mix the amine-2,4D with diuron, but it didnt do any thing to the bamboo.

Are they young bamboo shoots?

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2016, 12:10 pm

lipstick war wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Will try it

Are they young bamboo shoots?

Nope is some hardback grandpa bamboo...
Some of the stools big like a truck

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2016, 3:16 pm

Couple , grafted or some quick bearing variety

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:looking for a lime tree/seedlings

How much so u need?