Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 10:21 am

Anybody feel lara record in danger because that is a genuine fear of mine

Postby meccalli » July 22nd, 2016, 10:25 am

Well, records are there to be broken right?

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 22nd, 2016, 10:51 am

meccalli wrote:Well, records are there to be broken right?

I guess, West Indies don't deserve to have it anymore

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » July 22nd, 2016, 12:06 pm

West Indies up against it this morning. Kohli gets his double century

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 22nd, 2016, 12:17 pm

That khali pooja wukin bai...i meant kohli, kohli pooja....

trent

Postby trent » July 22nd, 2016, 1:34 pm

Kohli goes for 200...no record for him...at least not today

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2016, 3:24 pm

Just as predicted... India make 500+ ...windies gona get bowled out by the mrng of the 4th day(give dem d bligh)...bat again and loss 2-1

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 23rd, 2016, 7:59 pm

Ah try to give windies the bligh u noe...they come and get bowl out today...looks like they could foil up tomorrow

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 23rd, 2016, 8:56 pm

^^ tell we something that might be surprising.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2016, 5:17 am

racedriverpro wrote:^^ tell we something that might be surprising.

If dowrich continues to make runs daz it for ramdin :lol:

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 24th, 2016, 6:47 am

Orrr so u trying to say nothing is surprising with wi test team?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2016, 7:20 am

racedriverpro wrote:Orrr so u trying to say nothing is surprising with wi test team?

Share some stories nuh :drinking:

Postby Dizzy28 » July 24th, 2016, 9:36 am

WI better hope the two tier test system doesn't come to fruition. They'll be stuck in the second tier for a long time.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 24th, 2016, 12:02 pm

^^ 3rd - 5th in tier 2 better than 8th in tier 1 imo. West Indians do best when pushed in a corner or in a barrel. Its all abt getting out. And no easy points for tier 1 teams.

Postby meccalli » July 24th, 2016, 3:21 pm

Bishoo spreading out rahul with that sweep was :lol:

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 24th, 2016, 4:02 pm

The best part was bishoo looked like he didn't give a flying fcuk. Lol

Postby Dizzy28 » July 25th, 2016, 4:38 pm

racedriverpro wrote:^^ 3rd - 5th in tier 2 better than 8th in tier 1 imo. West Indians do best when pushed in a corner or in a barrel. Its all abt getting out. And no easy points for tier 1 teams.

There will be no money making series involving India, Australia and England when you in the 2nd tier though (unless they get relegated). If crowds this sparse for India Vs WI imagine if Afghanistan comes to play tests here.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 25th, 2016, 6:21 pm

Oh shux i forget its all abt the money.

Re: RE: Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby Dizzy28 » July 25th, 2016, 6:49 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Oh shux i forget its all abt the money.

Didn't Bravo Simmons Gayle make it clear that's what they play cricket for??

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 25th, 2016, 7:19 pm

i understand what u saying. Money is what all sports is abt.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 25th, 2016, 9:14 pm

So Afghanistan set to tour West Indies next year June

Re: RE: Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby De Dragon » July 25th, 2016, 11:49 pm

Yes but you cyah go in any grocery that I know of and pay for things with pride. I understand the bygone eras and the playing for pride, but when the WICB is inept and arrogant, and you're making millions playing T20 and bulling dong de place as a 20-something year old, what do you expect? To drop that and come for constant licks in Test cricket, and for small money to boot?

Postby meccalli » July 26th, 2016, 8:49 am

Simmons made it clear he's not playing test cricket until he's well compensated. Both Bravo and Gayle made themselves available for test selection and weren't.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2016, 9:06 am

meccalli wrote:Simmons made it clear he's not playing test cricket until he's well compensated. Both Bravo and Gayle made themselves available for test selection and weren't.

TBH Simmons did the right thing. He doesn't have a stellar first class career (Batting Avg of 32) and in his eight tests he was shown to be less than adept at handling high class bowling.
Play what you can excel in and fortunately its the most lucrative of the forms of cricket.

Bravo and Gayle a bit subjective though. They offer themselves up when it is convenient to them.

Yes but you cyah go in any grocery that I know of and pay for things with pride. I understand the bygone eras and the playing for pride, but when the WICB is inept and arrogant, and you're making millions playing T20 and bulling dong de place as a 20-something year old, what do you expect? To drop that and come for constant licks in Test cricket, and for small money to boot?

I not fighting players down with their money part as everyone wants to make as much as they can whilst they can however from your statement above I get the feeling you believe they are receiving TT$15 an hour to play Test cricket.

With their central contract and then match fees from test tours a non T20 playing WI cricketer still making much more than your and my sorry a$$es.

Ask Darren Ganga who actually bought a Range Rover before even Brian Lara and started up a few businesses from Test match/ODI cricket alone.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » July 26th, 2016, 9:28 am

meccalli wrote:Simmons made it clear he's not playing test cricket until he's well compensated. Both Bravo and Gayle made themselves available for test selection and weren't.

TBH Simmons did the right thing. He doesn't have a stellar first class career (Batting Avg of 32) and in his eight tests he was shown to be less than adept at handling high class bowling.
Play what you can excel in and fortunately its the most lucrative of the forms of cricket.

Bravo and Gayle a bit subjective though. They offer themselves up when it is convenient to them.

I not fighting players down with their money part as everyone wants to make as much as they can whilst they can however from your statement above I get the feeling you believe they are receiving TT$15 an hour to play Test cricket.

With their central contract and then match fees from test tours a non T20 playing WI cricketer still making much more than your and my sorry a$$es.

Ask Darren Ganga who actually bought a Range Rover before even Brian Lara and started up a few businesses from Test match/ODI cricket alone.

What tripe you talkin dizzy. Simmons cant play high class bowling. He has an odi century against Pakistan with yasir shah and irfan in bowler friendly conditions in NZ last year, I remember when Simmons scored 282 against broad, anderson, harmison et al in st kitts. Instead of picking him, they stuck with ryan hinds for three of the four tests and finally gave him a chance in TT where the ball was seeming. Then the two series where he was given a run were series where nobody scored runs. England in 2009 where 4 weeks after winning the wisden trophy, they were required to tour the country in a hastily arranged series which thewicb, headed by hunte and hillaire organized behind the players backs. This is the same series where gayle said he would not mourn if test cricket died. The next series was also a hastily arranged affair vs SA in the Caribbean. You can't judge a man after 8 tests, especially in the circumstances they were played in. Clive lloyd wanted simmons to play tests last year and simmons' retort was that when he was scoring runs, interested in a test place, he was not picked. I agree with simmons going to the ipl, but not because his talent cannot withstand the rigors of test cricket

Postby meccalli » July 26th, 2016, 11:06 am

Simmons has a lot of natural talent as far as his hand eye coordination is concerned as evidenced by his shots, all it takes is some time in white clothes to get the discipline down but every man has to know where he stands. It's just unfortunate that other nations who are serious about their world cricket reputation invests and makes it possible to secure the best support and playing team possible to ensure success while WI lags behind and gone back to calypso cricket (talented players , disjointed performances and few coherent victories).

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 26th, 2016, 11:49 am

#westindiesproblems

We have some of the most talented cricketers around but the sad thing is although we have the best poor cricket management, its tough to want what our cricketers don't want for themselves.

CPL is there for the players to make some money. If the cricket world doesn't realize that India is ahead in ensuring that they do everything possible to be on top of world cricket. IPL was the start. I may be wrong but its my belief that Kohli used the IPL as a launching pad to be where he is today.
Its my opinion that only wi players make money an issue bcuz most don't a meaningful career outside of cricket.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2016, 11:54 am

meccalli wrote:Simmons has a lot of natural talent as far as his hand eye coordination is concerned as evidenced by his shots, all it takes is some time in white clothes to get the discipline down but every man has to know where he stands. It's just unfortunate that other nations who are serious about their world cricket reputation invests and makes it possible to secure the best support and playing team possible to ensure success while WI lags behind and gone back to calypso cricket (talented players , disjointed performances and few coherent victories).

Test cricket is much more than hand eye coordination - its patience, durability, mental fortitude. The lack of those attributes made Carl Hooper an average test player instead of a good to great one given his range of shots and the ease with which he appeared to play them. You all have to admit Hooper in full flow made Lara look inferior.