Police using CCTV to charge ppl now??

red bwoy

Re: RE: Re: Police using CCTV to charge ppl now??

Postby red bwoy » July 20th, 2016, 9:19 am

pugboy wrote:unless laws have changed, lets not be ignorant of simple procedures

the law of a summons is it is a piece of paper stating the charge and the person serving it must make sure it physically touches the person whom it should be served on
they don't have to hand it to them just be in front of them, touch them with it and mumble something
can drop it on the ground after, but once contact made it is considered served.

there are no laws saying once you got contacted by phone you are hereby served with the summons to answer a charge in court.
How does the court/law/police know that who answered the phone is the correct person ?
So lets not be stupid.

Who did they charge by checking the camera footage ?
The only person they could officially trace would be the owner of the car based on the plate,

Unless there is a database of pictures of all drivers and they have a computer program to do face identification
like facebook/google, but surely there are no laws on this or using some third party computer to do this reliably and standup in court to say Mr X was driving the car based on our national ID picture database, lol
Afaik no such program exists which would standup in court.

Can the owner of a car be charged if someone else driving the car broke a traffic law with the said car ?
Suppose it is a company owned car ?
These are basic questions to ask first before saying cctv could charge people.

If any laws to enforce by cctv were changed there would have been massive media coverage similar to the laser gun introduction

Agreed and fully endorsed let's stop rumour mongering and dealing in what if's let's deal with the facts

Jesu

Re: Police using CCTV to charge ppl now??

Postby Jesu » July 20th, 2016, 9:20 am

I thought that CCTV footage is inadmissible in court? Have they approved the changes so that they can use it? If it hasn't been made law, then you can argue this in court. Still you must either respond to the court date/ pay the fine attached.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » July 20th, 2016, 9:53 am

In any case you can't tell someone they got ticketed over the phone.. you at least need to send something physical via mail

Jesu

Postby Jesu » July 20th, 2016, 10:14 am

And until you receive that physical document, you are not obligated to respond?

the_doctor

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Police using CCTV to charge ppl now??

Postby the_doctor » July 20th, 2016, 10:15 am

Morpheus wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Yeah. But shouldn't they let the public know this is going to implemented and when?

But why though? Shouldn't we be obeying the law all along?

We get upset when police broadcast too many details on their intended next move. "They alerting the bandits so they could hide their weapons/narcotics!"

I guess it is a norm to announce those strategies for "minor infractions" though......

Well said Mr Morpheus...

Sent from my SM-G925I using TriniTuner mobile app

red bwoy

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Police using CCTV to charge ppl now??

Postby red bwoy » July 20th, 2016, 12:01 pm

the_doctor wrote:
Morpheus wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Yeah. But shouldn't they let the public know this is going to implemented and when?

But why though? Shouldn't we be obeying the law all along?

We get upset when police broadcast too many details on their intended next move. "They alerting the bandits so they could hide their weapons/narcotics!"

I guess it is a norm to announce those strategies for "minor infractions" though......

Well said Mr Morpheus...

Sent from my SM-G925I using TriniTuner mobile app

I beg to disagree slightly in a case like this where people's hard earned money is involved and we know all to well of unscrupulous TTPS officers looking to augment the "meager" salary the public must be informed either by gazette or by media of any changes to the laws of trinidad and if this was not done it would be good grounds for dismissal

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 20th, 2016, 12:28 pm

CCTV in a ticket matter....lol. Someone just playing. Tell her forget a trip to court, for the staff shall surely laff.