STUPID DRIVER VIDEO - PDH 6297

Re: STUPID DRIVER VIDEO - PDH 6297

Postby Les Bain » July 4th, 2016, 10:28 am

Rather be annoyed and inconvenienced than have right of way and get into a situation.

Can sympathize, OP, but when your family in the car you should just grit your teeth and let the idiot drivers get away with this sheit while they can.

Postby rollingstock » July 4th, 2016, 10:48 am

pete wrote:I actually do think the OP was wrong.

Check here for clarification: https://www.qld.gov.au/transport/safety ... oad/lanes/

OP was behind and should have given way to the car in front.

How did you get to that conclusion.

Postby pete » July 4th, 2016, 10:58 am

Applying developed world practices (there was no dashed line for the merging section of the road so the car behind should give way).

I know this is Trinidad so that may not apply but *I* think that he was wrong.

The person really at fault is whoever designed/built the road without adequate room for someone to safely merge there. But hey, that's why the speed limit is 65 for pickups right?

Postby rollingstock » July 4th, 2016, 11:03 am

Even applying developed world practices there is no way that a vehicle proceeding along a highway would have to give way to a vehicle trying to merge onto same.

Agreed the op could have handled it better but the driver of the other vehicle is clearly at fault.

Postby pete » July 4th, 2016, 11:13 am

Did you open the link and watch the video?

Postby rollingstock » July 4th, 2016, 11:58 am

pete wrote:Did you open the link and watch the video?

Did you read what I typed?

This is not the law in t&t, reacquaint yourself with the mv&rt regulations.

You also missed an important point in the video, in both scenario the vehicles where already proceeding along the same roadway in differing lanes, in the scenario in which the op posted the other vehicle was entering the highway.

BTW there are road markings in that area, faded and not very discernable from the vid.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » July 4th, 2016, 12:47 pm

I would notice it was a Nissan and been more cautious but a lot of drivers are oblivious to the dangers of driving around a Nissan. The Nissan should have used more of the accelerating lane to match the speed of OP instead of just cutting straight across.

ADONI

Re: RE: Re: STUPID DRIVER VIDEO - PDH 6297

Postby ADONI » July 4th, 2016, 12:53 pm

pete wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:Any good driver will know to occupy the middle lane "in the video it was free" one look in the mirror ,pass the merging/filter lane area then back onto the slow lane ,always think ahead.Yes you have the right away but it's lawless Trinidad .

I agree and do this as well. Any time I approach those on ramps I move over once I can. Less frustration for myself and less chance of someone just cutting me off like that. Bigger problem is the aholes who cut onto the highway at that speed and move all the way over to the right lane at same speed without giving any forks. Saw that once coming onto the highway at piarco.

Endorsed! Stay away from merging lanes, cause clearly you see how some of them does merge! Better safe, than sorry.

Postby Chimera » July 4th, 2016, 4:08 pm

Yea mamoo yuh cud be right but yuh cud also be dead. Better to drive safe and accept that people will randomly swing out on yuh. All h vehicles and tiidas even more so

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 4th, 2016, 7:14 pm

OP turn it into a game for you and your family "guess what this fool is going to do." More often than not you can anticipate that someone is going to try to do something daring/ foolish. This is where the game comes in, when you sense it, have everyone take a guess. It's decent fun, and everyone comes out unscathed

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 4th, 2016, 9:13 pm

It doesn't matter who think who right or wrong...

The best practice is to move to the middle lane when approaching on coming traffic from a merging lane.
Sometimes the person merging may not see the one vehicle coming down the highway by the time they straighten up since you could be in their blind spot.

Even if the highway has only two lanes, I would move to the fast lane (once safe) to give way to the merging vehicles.

IMO the op operated ignorant and selfish seeing the vehicle coming down the ramp and still maintained his speed and still held his lane with the "I in my lane" mentality.
I would have been shame to post that video worst yet to make a whole thread.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: STUPID DRIVER VIDEO - PDH 6297

Postby Morpheus » July 4th, 2016, 9:39 pm

pete wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:Any good driver will know to occupy the middle lane "in the video it was free" one look in the mirror ,pass the merging/filter lane area then back onto the slow lane ,always think ahead.Yes you have the right away but it's lawless Trinidad .

I agree and do this as well. Any time I approach those on ramps I move over once I can. Less frustration for myself and less chance of someone just cutting me off like that. Bigger problem is the aholes who cut onto the highway at that speed and move all the way over to the right lane at same speed without giving any forks. Saw that once coming onto the highway at piarco.

^^^Agreed on all points there Pete. Just that I see that last point waaaaay more that that. People can be idiots...

OP as mentioned before it is good practise to think ahead and move over if you could. Less anxiety for some of them and less stress for you...

For me now it's as natural a drive as pulling a lil wide(to the left) when an uncoming car has to pass around a parked car or some other obstacle on their side.

Be safe.....

Postby Morpheus » July 4th, 2016, 9:42 pm

BTW this is why I get pissed off when idiots decide that that is a good point to overtake on the left or even use the merge lane as an overtaking lane...

I always say people would hate me if I were a traffic cop.

Postby Morpheus » July 4th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Just watched the vid again. That really was a jackarse drive by the AD lol. Dem eh care bout life.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » July 5th, 2016, 2:38 pm

Just to show to drive for other people, yea op could have been in the center lane BUT da man/oman merge out like a kant. I always merge out by speeding up or slowing down accordingly not just pulling out and praying for the best.

Postby rollingstock » July 5th, 2016, 3:39 pm

Got that same drive this morning from a van. Middle lane was occupied and truck was behind me so was epic mashing of brakes and gearing down with the tiptronic.

Ok ah lie, was only doing 65 so a mere tap of the brakes and I let him get in front.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » July 6th, 2016, 1:21 pm

Hey rollingstock, I have an unrelated question. Is it my imagination or does the police chose to stop older looking vehicles rather than new big time vehicles. I saw it a few times where the people in old cars get random checks at road blocks and the new ones go pass? Why is that?

Thanks.

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2016, 1:32 pm

Why don't you stop and ask the police you see doing that their reasoning?

Postby rspann » July 6th, 2016, 3:06 pm

I know for sure they don't stop Indian with side part.

JF.K

Re: RE: Re: STUPID DRIVER VIDEO - PDH 6297

Postby JF.K » July 6th, 2016, 5:30 pm

rollingstock wrote:Got that same drive this morning from a van. Middle lane was occupied and truck was behind me so was epic mashing of brakes and gearing down with the tiptronic.

Ok ah lie, was only doing 65 so a mere tap of the brakes and I let him get in front.

All that to say yuh vehicle have tiptronic?
LOL

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2016, 6:14 pm

Nope brakes, I consider that a great achievement.

I see you didn't catch the similarity to a popular older 2nr post.

Postby rspann » July 6th, 2016, 6:17 pm

You have to give OP credit for getting half the thread title correct though..

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2016, 7:18 pm

rollingstock wrote:Nope brakes, I consider that a great achievement.

I see you didn't catch the similarity to a popular older 2nr post.

Le JK

Postby K74T » July 6th, 2016, 7:26 pm

#tapperlife #neutral #younotboutthatceffyson

Mta

Postby Mta » July 6th, 2016, 9:47 pm

Toyopet wrote:I would notice it was a Nissan and been more cautious but a lot of drivers are oblivious to the dangers of driving around a Nissan. The Nissan should have used more of the accelerating lane to match the speed of OP instead of just cutting straight across.

Excatly ...

Average

Postby Average » July 7th, 2016, 11:03 am

Exactly. Remember, you not only have to drive for yourself but for other jackasses on these here roadways.

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » July 7th, 2016, 12:31 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 8th, 2016, 4:03 pm

The Raven wrote:Hey rollingstock, I have an unrelated question. Is it my imagination or does the police chose to stop older looking vehicles rather than new big time vehicles. I saw it a few times where the people in old cars get random checks at road blocks and the new ones go pass? Why is that?

Thanks.

I drive an old vehicle. They hardly even bother me.

ALIS

Postby ALIS » July 9th, 2016, 12:17 am

pete wrote:I actually do think the OP was wrong.

Check here for clarification: https://www.qld.gov.au/transport/safety ... oad/lanes/

OP was behind and should have given way to the car in front.

Whatever happened to those signs that use to be up advising to give way to merging traffic? Yes the driver coming off the off ramp did come onto the lane without due care and attention to look out for upcoming traffic from behind, but still OP had enough time to react/slow down or change lane...

Reid2009

Postby Reid2009 » July 9th, 2016, 7:00 pm

OP is a drama queen