Should they abolish SEA?

Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2014, 11:13 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:drama, dancing and physical education should NEVER be allowed to add to the overall mark given to students when determing their Secondary school placement.

First choice schools are choices that are chosen primarily on Education, and not on the extra Extracurricular Activities determining their future, so why allow their entry to be given to kids who are not as brilliant in the classroom but may have physical skill?

Bull chit.
Drama, arts, dancing, P.E ect teaches kids to interact and be social with each other. In this new age kids only know the net and have no social skills, some can't even say good morning and have no manners. Kids that do extracurricular activities are always well rounded and better equipped to handle life in later years. The extracurricular part of the SEA is only worth a small percentage of the final marks.
The top schools eg churches and private always have some form of extracurricular activities and these schools have been doing this for years cause they know the value of it. Their kids always make the top 200. Government schools fails in this area and this is why they introduced it in to SEA (lazy government teachers ) .

Postby teems1 » March 12th, 2014, 11:36 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,162070.html

“The results of CSEC in the Caribbean where 30 percent of students fail to get one pass are unacceptable,” he said.

If that statistic from 2012 for the region really is true, then you can't blame the parents for wanting the common entrance and prestige school system to remain.

It may be a harsh reality in that late bloomers may end up suffering by being in schools/classes with legitimate slow learners and slackers, but that 30% is too high to be risking their children's future.

Postby dougla_boy » March 12th, 2014, 12:24 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:drama, dancing and physical education should NEVER be allowed to add to the overall mark given to students when determing their Secondary school placement.

First choice schools are choices that are chosen primarily on Education, and not on the extra Extracurricular Activities determining their future, so why allow their entry to be given to kids who are not as brilliant in the classroom but may have physical skill?

Bull chit.
Drama, arts, dancing, P.E ect teaches kids to interact and be social with each other. In this new age kids only know the net and have no social skills, some can't even say good morning and have no manners. Kids that do extracurricular activities are always well rounded and better equipped to handle life in later years. The extracurricular part of the SEA is only worth a small percentage of the final marks.
The top schools eg churches and private always have some form of extracurricular activities and these schools have been doing this for years cause they know the value of it. Their kids always make the top 200. Government schools fails in this area and this is why they introduced it in to SEA (lazy government teachers ) .

fellas...is the end yes

cuz ah agree wit zr

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 12th, 2014, 1:16 pm

Bull chit.

So ultimately- when it comes down to the placement of kids, you would support giving a child who got 55% in the written exam but excels at physical education and extracurricular his first choice OVER, a child who may have gotten 70% in the written but who has no interest or natural physical interests?

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2014, 2:47 pm

^^^ did you not read read where I said it's worth a small percentage of the total marks. I think they are worth 10% of the final marks. Maths, grammar and creative writing are still the bulk of the marks.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 12th, 2014, 5:26 pm

rfari wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:you all realize that the NAtional test for a standard ONE student is 75 minutes long per subject.
That's really stupid stress on a Seven year old child.

what's the purpose of the test?
what's ur recommendations to replace?

National test is a waste tbh

Never got back my results...
NCSE...got back my results in Form 4...nobody cared about their results tbh...one of my teachers even told me at the time that it not even important...not even sure if I still have the certificate

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2014, 6:48 pm

^^^ National test at primary level is used as measuring stick to see if teacher's are doing their wuk. Also used to see at what level the child is at. Again government schools fall behind where these test are concerned.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2016, 9:34 am

If they abolish SEA then these people would no longer need to tote........
Capture 1.JPG
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (27.18 KiB) Viewed 2761 times

baigan

Postby baigan » July 7th, 2016, 10:14 am

All that beat up and bringing racism into SEA .-.?
Lol sea dont even matter much in life.
But a lot of those kids study pretty hard for their exams..of course there are the few in the 20% selection but those selected are usually pretty smart..

Postby De Dragon » July 7th, 2016, 10:37 am

baigan wrote:All that beat up and bringing racism into SEA .-.?
But a lot of those kids study pretty hard for their exams..of course there are the few in the 20% selection but those selected are usually pretty smart..

And these dotish kants prolly drilling dat tripe into de chirren and dem heads. No wonder racism is alive and well.

civicman

Re: RE: Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby civicman » July 7th, 2016, 11:17 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:

Bull chit.

So ultimately- when it comes down to the placement of kids, you would support giving a child who got 55% in the written exam but excels at physical education and extracurricular his first choice OVER, a child who may have gotten 70% in the written but who has no interest or natural physical interests?

Which one would they prefer to be their doctor or lawyer?
They lawyer who can run real fast?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2016, 11:49 am

Boy, primary school on a whole very stressful for children these days.

You should see the kinda projects they have to do at home, highschool level chit.

We need to break it down and start from scratch.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 7th, 2016, 12:13 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Boy, primary school on a whole very stressful for children these days.

You should see the kinda projects they have to do at home, highschool level chit.

We need to break it down and start from scratch.

Thats the way it supposed to be. Ur children supposed to be smarter than you and thus future curriculums will be even harder. As they should be. Cant be having children and generation after generation just as dotish as their parents.

Was pleased to know that they teaching programming in secondary school now because in my day that was a college level item.

In time, your primary school children will have projects to do like.. build a lcd tv from scratch. If they cant cope then theyr useless breathers. The borough can only employ so much mediocre and below level staff.

At the end of the day, every school a child get sent to is the right school for them in more than 95% of the cases. Dont be too prideful if ur child is a dunce or doesnt see the importance of having a strong high school education. If your child is an ol'***** u cant expect ppl to put him/her with prestige students. The ol ***** attitude may also stem from you because the child getting on and reacting to situations in school the way he see u deal with them home. Blame noone. If ur child gonna be a doctor or lawyer he can do it from the junior sec. End of the day, is what the child wants, his/her aspirations and self decision to focus towards it for themselves. Nothing u can do to change that.

The education system knows how and why it does its placements. Have men went junior sec driving bmw and owning business today. Wherever ur child gone, that is where he belongs. Because the system already know where they going. Remember is 100s of thousands of children the system have profiled. They already know u going to become a police officer, drug dealer, bandit, or businessman since standard 3. Only in rare instances are they wrong and if they are they will both recommend and assist you in getting a transfer if the principal realize they dont fit in.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 7th, 2016, 12:19 pm

U might find my post a bit insultive but is just plain talk.

Let me just ask a simple question... how many children u find got wrongfully assigned junior sec speak proper English?

U ever hear how a bishops girl does speak?

Compare it to a mt. hope child.

U wah yuh child go st Marys, or qrc, the child good at all at any sports? I mean top of his class good. U want your child to go certain school u get the child into the things that school wants. Track and field, football, cricket. And they have to do good in schoolwork too because that is the standard. If they just good in sports junior sec for them with they wajang tongue.

Yuh unnastand now?

Doh get tie up with me I does just talk so on the forum but I master the English language and always spoke proper English and played sports. Thus I went to a prestige school plus I was always gifted in math.

Trust me.. nothing is wrong with the placement system. Its just some ppl children speak and behave differently, and if ur child did so as well he would get placed in that school with them.
Last edited by bluesclues on July 7th, 2016, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » July 7th, 2016, 12:22 pm

Like Blues jumping out he/she self these days.

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » July 7th, 2016, 12:25 pm

davymaraj wrote:hi, anyone agree that the Ministry should abolish SEA .

Well yes, but not without a proper alternative. Something that splits the assessment throughout standards 4 and 5 (or maybe just 5), instead of one mega exam at the end of standard 5. There's nothing positive about subjecting children to that kind of pressure at that age.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 7th, 2016, 12:45 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Like Blues jumping out he/she self these days.

Just providing the critical analysis this thread needs before it makes another step in haste.

Bottom line, truth be told, the school selection process is not just about grades. Some schools who's focus is grades will want children who maintain good grades so that they can keep up the reports of successful students to pass thru their institution statistics.

But bottom line how u carry about urself and interact with other children is extremely important.

Ur child gets into a lot of fights? U can't expect them to get sent to a school that prides itself on a peaceful environment with little to no violence.
Etc etc

Before the word race can be used here, the more important word... is... 'class'.

Jehovas witness want to go catholic prestige school but when they reach they speaking ill about catholics or their doctrine etc. So imagine, u went a catholic primary school, u make all kinda fuss for the catholic prayers so our child could get pull out of having to participate etc, but u want him to get a catholic prestige secondary school.

It doh wukk sooooo

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2016, 1:04 pm

bluesclues

Technology is advancing rapidly, but humans cannot adapt so quickly.

The children will not be able to cope. Many will be stressed and drop out, and those who can cope, will have no personalities.
All they will know is book, and when dey making money, they won't be able to enjoy it.

They will forget what it's like to be a human, popping pills for every little problem that could have been solved by just slowing down.

Is this the future you want?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 7th, 2016, 1:42 pm

blues talking good talk tho.

Black people NEVER EVER take responsibility for their own actions/failures. Instead of blaming themselves for failing...no is always Indian people fighting dem down all the time...if you know how vex that does get me.

Instead of actually putting in the work to achieve success they busy liming,thieifing and fighting down d place and then when they brown up SEA/CSEC/CAPE they parents quick to bawl Indian keeping them down and only Indian passing for prestige school...look at their results and you'd see why they pass for them schools and hush ollyur ****.

If your child hitting 90s in SEA and still get place in a junior sec then yeah ollyur have a case to fight...but when dey scoring low 70s etc ollyur really expect ollyur chirren to pass for Hillview/Naps/Cross :P ... etc o goar man

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 7th, 2016, 1:43 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:bluesclues

Technology is advancing rapidly, but humans cannot adapt so quickly.

The children will not be able to cope. Many will be stressed and drop out, and those who can cope, will have no personalities.
All they will know is book, and when dey making money, they won't be able to enjoy it.

They will forget what it's like to be a human, popping pills for every little problem that could have been solved by just slowing down.

Is this the future you want?

Nah I think u overreacting. It was the same for our parents.. u was learning ting in school and they couldn't even help u with it Cuz they never learn it. The children will adapt. In my personal opinion tho, one big exam end of std 5 better than spreading out exams yes. At least yuh could cram a week before, but if u spread it out that mean mandatory studying constantly with no time to play and just enjoy being children.

In life there's always a balance, when they learn so much in primary and secondary school, college level becomes easier Cuz they already in a sense cover half the college curriculum and introduced and very familiar with college level study.

What I think is important is inspiring our children to believe in their intelligence and the value of doing as well as possible during these early years of their life. They will still have fun... but I feel parents add unnecessary stress to children. Emotional bonds and all, if the parent doesn't react well under stressful situations the child probably won't either.

There is no doubt, children are maturing faster at this stage in the evolution. So u need to explain the consequences of choices in life to your child and teach them about peer pressure and how friend does lead yuh but don't bring yuh back etc. The promise of a job after they finish school isn't motivating at all either in this time and generation. Ud do better to reach them with the promise of them owning their own business and being able to work on their own time and not have to answer to anyone etc. So ud have to be setting up and guiding them along that track.

They looking at the parents working dead end jobs, with stressed out attitudes and behaviours and saying in their mind 'I don't want to become like that'. They want to find 'another way'. Can't blame them they are very right for resisting the slave mentality. But they have a choice, either they slave now while in school, or slave the rest of their life in a dead end job or worse, follow bad company and get in trouble or dead.

End of the day, world only care bout money making. Could be dunce as fk and u have millions ppl respect u out here. Have no passes but making 50k a week straightenin and painting car etc. Everything's all screwed up regarding the education to employability scheme in this timing. U don't even have that guarantee of a good job after u get ur degree anymore. U have to push for masters and PhD. And then still!

Have men working garbage truck making more money than ppl working in the bank. The economic playground is chaotic. U really have to carve ur own way out here now. Get in touch with the way your kids see the world and help them achieve what they want to achieve and not what u want to achieve for them and ull see them perform the way u wish they would. Listen.

Postby Country_Bookie » July 7th, 2016, 3:55 pm

On a related note here, did Form 1 students get laptops last year? I know the Min of Ed said they would be buying them eventually but don't recall seeing if they actually did.

Postby teems1 » July 7th, 2016, 5:15 pm

Quite the opposite I'm afraid.

Went to the 20 year reunion of my primary school standard 5 class, and of those who attended there was a vast divide when comparing those who passed for a supposed prestige school and those who did not.

gundeleroy2k

Postby gundeleroy2k » July 7th, 2016, 5:18 pm

teems1 wrote:

Went to the 20 year reunion of my primary school standard 5 class, and of those who attended there was a vast divide when comparing those who passed for a supposed prestige school and those who did not.

How?

Postby teems1 » July 7th, 2016, 10:06 pm

gundeleroy2k wrote:
teems1 wrote:

How?

The socio economic status of those who passed for a prestige school was much higher than those who did not.

If you want me to spell it out for you, the persons who excelled at SEA were more gainfully employed and partake in a better quality of life than those who did not.

gundeleroy2k

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Should they abolish SEA?

Postby gundeleroy2k » July 8th, 2016, 12:15 am

teems1 wrote:
gundeleroy2k wrote:
teems1 wrote:

How?

The socio economic status of those who passed for a prestige school was much higher than those who did not.

If you want me to spell it out for you, the persons who excelled at SEA were more gainfully employed and partake in a better quality of life than those who did not.

Understood

Postby desifemlove » July 8th, 2016, 7:23 pm

no. too much scope for abuse. peole choosing friend or minister family to get top school. and pressure on lil chirren...haha..firetruck off. pressure exists in life, deal with it. pressure a school chile can understand is chatting up the babes in class yuh does like, or doing homework, or yuh parents cuss yuh for not cleangin yuh room.

Postby desifemlove » July 8th, 2016, 7:32 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:blues talking good talk tho.

Black people NEVER EVER take responsibility for their own actions/failures. Instead of blaming themselves for failing...no is always Indian people fighting dem down all the time...if you know how vex that does get me.

Instead of actually putting in the work to achieve success they busy liming,thieifing and fighting down d place and then when they brown up SEA/CSEC/CAPE they parents quick to bawl Indian keeping them down and only Indian passing for prestige school...look at their results and you'd see why they pass for them schools and hush ollyur ****.

If your child hitting 90s in SEA and still get place in a junior sec then yeah ollyur have a case to fight...but when dey scoring low 70s etc ollyur really expect ollyur chirren to pass for Hillview/Naps/Cross :P ... etc o goar man

hmmmm.....

in socio-economic terms, there are plnety poor Indos, and poor afros. and please stats saying afros commit more crime, or there are less indos in poverty?

Postby supercharged turbo » July 8th, 2016, 8:11 pm

Nothing eh wrong with the exam be it common entrance or SEA.Almost everybody here pass through that phase in our lives and we either passed for a good school or we didn't.It have nothing to do with ethnic group.I can't remember those papers having your name,just your number so how can the examiners be biased by reading a number?Most of the time those kids are over-pressured is because of their over-achieving parents who drill it into the kids head that they better pass for a good school like(your brother/sister/cousin/neighbour child).Some kids crack under the pressure and all though they know the material,it just isn't present come exam time.It would be more helpful to tell your child to do their best and help them along the way.Some of these parents out here feel Miss Nancy is the answer.Once they go their for lessons,they guaranteed to pass.I know alot of kids who went their and still fail.Their parents was ah lil too confident and come results day,not even Andrews could help.But I think if you are an active part in your child's life,you suppose to know before they write the exam if they capable or not.Not everybody could be doctors and some children just doh have it.That being said,I think that is the problem that no parents wants to admit to.Everybody wants their child to be a engineer/doctor/lawyer etc.Mechanic,mason,joiner is not reputable careers.Last time I check none of these people were out of a job or had a lack of work.Masons making $400+ per day,mechanics charging $100+ just to scan a car and to do a good kitchen for a house is close to or more than$100 000.Last time I checked,there are a good few engineers working in a job below their pay grade.Is either they want the work or you could be unemployed.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 8th, 2016, 9:16 pm

damn bluesclues

That response was eye opening

Postby rspann » July 9th, 2016, 7:57 am

Dizzy28 wrote:If they abolish SEA then these people would no longer need to tote........
. Maybe they not getting the prestige schools because they can't even spell past papers or ninety like Ann Arrindel.See her Facebook post above.