What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2016, 8:07 am

Imbert has to account for the use of funds.
Maybe...they intend to do it soon.

The immaturity on both sides of the Parliamentary chambers takes precedent over the business of the people.
So he used a technical reason(the form of the original question) to frustrate Mark...

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 8th, 2016, 8:12 am

these 2 governments like to play d arse too much-Imsbutt needs to realise hes not spiting Wade, hes answering to the people, he needs to get down from that podium hes tried to put himself on and stop trying to talk down to people! Especially when your whole life you had to look UP to most .
Where is the money going? is it paying for someones BOAT or fuel for it for the next 5 years??? We want to know the breakdown and then see PROOF !

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Habit7 » June 8th, 2016, 9:22 am

Redman wrote:Imbert has to account for the use of funds.

The immaturity on both sides of the Parliamentary chambers takes precedent over the business of the people.
So he used a technical reason(the form of the original question) to frustrate Mark...

Yeah Imbert's arrogance is unacceptable. Responding to an Opposition question in the Senate is responding to all the ppl of TT. More than likely he will go into detail at Post Cabinet this Thursday or later this week, but we really don't need the antics.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2016, 9:26 am

Imbert isn't even liked by his own family. Had a discussion recently with Professor Clement Imbert at UWI. Mentioned Colm and the scorn that appeared on Prof's face was priceless. He referred to Colm as "The One that calls himself Imbutt"

Daran

Postby Daran » June 8th, 2016, 10:29 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Imbert isn't even liked by his own family. Had a discussion recently with Professor Clement Imbert at UWI. Mentioned Colm and the scorn that appeared on Prof's face was priceless. He referred to Colm as "The One that calls himself Imbutt"

His mother Mora is the same way as well.

When she lecturing back in the day, she prefaced many of lectures saying, the views of her son does not represent her views whatsoever.

Postby zoom rader » June 8th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Redman wrote:Imbert has to account for the use of funds.

Yeah Imbert's arrogance is unacceptable. Responding to an Opposition question in the Senate is responding to all the ppl of TT. More than likely he will go into detail at Post Cabinet this Thursday or later this week, but we really don't need the antics.

Funds will be used for PNM to fight local elections, that's where the money going

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Of course Kamla knows how the PNM financing their local elections....but remains clue less as to how the UNC financed theirs.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 8th, 2016, 12:25 pm

shaneelal wrote:^We need to be told how that widthdrawal will be spent, really hope it's not being used for backpay.

Govt withdraws $2.5b from ‘Heritage’ Fund*

Hash yah kant!!!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 8th, 2016, 12:35 pm

I hope that money NOT going to pay no Arcelor wukkers! that would just be BS!

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2016, 9:18 pm

From from what I've been told, arcelor workers got what they'd signed to. So they were square.

If not, only then can they get a lil reprieve.

Postby De Dragon » June 11th, 2016, 12:47 am

Redman wrote:Of course Kamla knows how the PNM financing their local elections....but remains clue less as to how the UNC financed theirs.

Sometimes you appear as if you've just arrived................

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 17th, 2016, 5:24 am

Any of the red and ready folks here can explain why are they going ahead with a 1+ billion dollar hospital when they can't staff/afford operate the new couva hospital?
This is all very dizzying and confusing to me since I am not a blind supporter of the red or yellow camps ....

BRZ

Postby BRZ » June 17th, 2016, 8:02 am

drchaos wrote:Any of the red and ready folks here can explain why are they going ahead with a 1+ billion dollar hospital when they can't staff/afford operate the new couva hospital?
This is all very dizzying and confusing to me since I am not a blind supporter of the red or yellow camps ....

TYpical he said/she said Bu11sh1t! - opposing party playing blame game still, Govt has too much false pride and arrogance to Use what the last govt built, WE the tax payers pay for it in the interim and will continue to do so UNTIL we take a stand as a people and say enough is enough!
The Facilities of this country was Built USING OUR tax paying dollars, it does NOT belong to any specific Government or PArty, it belong to the people and ALL venues should be used to benefit the people!

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2016, 9:23 am

drchaos wrote:Any of the red and ready folks here can explain why are they going ahead with a 1+ billion dollar hospital when they can't staff/afford operate the new couva hospital?

http://www.looptt.com/content/colm-imbe ... -hospitals

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » June 17th, 2016, 11:48 am

I see Imbert take my advice and selling bonds. Even going international to sell it. I should really apply for this Govt minister wuk.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 17th, 2016, 3:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:

http://www.looptt.com/content/colm-imbe ... -hospitals

After reading the article you attached I realise that Mr Imbert is basically playing a game of "I don't give a F#%&" with ppl.
Quote:
"We have a hospital under construction in Point Fortin that is costing the country $1.5 billion, we have the Couva hospital that has already cost the country $1.5 billion and the Arima hospital is $1.8 billion."
He stated that via the introduction of the 7% online tax he will be able to fund ONE of the hospitals. This is all well and good but he is going ahead and build the 1.8 Billion Arima hospital when he can use the 7% and fund the Couva Hospital? So it makes sense to build another when there is one already completed that they said there is no funding for...

Quote:
“Online shopping cannot possibly help local businesses in the way that you are saying because people buy manufactured goods from abroad which is direct competition to what we manufacture here in Trinidad, it is a double edged sword, it is not as simple as you make it out to be. Every item bought online means that that item cannot be sold by a business in Trinidad and Tobago,” he said.
...So we apparently manufacture TVs, Cellphones, Fridges, ALL Car Parts, Computers, Logic Chips, etc but when the big retailers imports and sell it at a 300% markup is no online tax, but buss d man head who wanna save ah dollar and import for yourself.

And the icing on the cake is this line, Quote:
"We looked at the amount of revenue we wanted to generate in the first instance and we thought maybe around $300 million and that is how we came up with the seven percent tax," he explained.
Again, he told the country that an online tax was not being considered then BAM online tax being implemented. and to say this means that it was being considered all along and F@#$ what I said!

It is a frightening thing that is occurring where they say something not or maybe considered and after NO PUBLIC CONSULTATION it is being implemented regardless on the view of the population. This is why every 5 yrs it's a swap out of the government with each promising something different and continuously blaming the past while not giving AH F@#$ !

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2016, 3:36 pm

I would say not caring about ppl is rushing to have an opening ceremony for a hospital when you know it is not finish nor has the requisite approvals then locking the doors after the expensive ceremony is finished.

Why would they need revenue streams for the operation costs of 2 hospitals under construction? The online tax will fund one hospital which will soon come online and when the others ready they will get their own revenue generating venture.

The online tax has not been implemented. The idea was put forward for consultation now and will be finally implemented next budget.

There are some that wonder how Venezuela got to be where it is now. A govt that dependent so much on hydrocarbons that took no action in cutting spending and raising revenue because it was unpopular. Trinis want $100 per barrel lifestyle with $45 per barrel money and don't want to make the cuts every oil dependent nation had to make.

Whether it was UNC or PNM it had to be done or we end up like Venezuela.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 17th, 2016, 4:48 pm

Habbit it just don't make sense ...

In one breath he wants to decrease the online shopping and forex leakage by extra taxation.

Then he wants to use that money from the extra taxation to fund a hospital.

If you are reducing an economic activity then why would you want to depend on it as a revenue stream?
So as people shop online less where is the money going to come from to fund one of the many hospital?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 17th, 2016, 5:47 pm

drchaos wrote:Habbit it just don't make sense ...

In one breath he wants to decrease the online shopping and forex leakage by extra taxation.

If you are reducing an economic activity then why would you want to depend on it as a revenue stream?
So as people shop online less where is the money going to come from to fund one of the many hospital?

Not everything politicians say you should believe. Some explanations they put out are to appease. Not necessarily what they truly believe would happen but just an explanation .

He probably just expects trinis to not really reduce their spending or if they do it's already factored into the 300 million figure.

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2016, 8:27 pm

31% rise in fuel caused reduced driving? Only recently Amazon online sales to Florida started to charge 6% in sales taxes, Trinis bought more.

Whether we get $300m or $100m it is still more than the nothing pie and windchops we have now to run any new facility.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 17th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:31% rise in fuel caused reduced driving? Only recently Amazon online sales to Florida started to charge 6% in sales taxes, Trinis bought more.

Whether we get $300m or $100m it is still more than the nothing pie and windchops we have now to run any new facility.

Didn't know you had real world gasoline consumption numbers before and after the price hike in addition to amazon sales to T&T since they initiated a sales tax. Please share!

Red and Ready economics ... We may be able to afford to run 1 new hospital so lets spend a cool billion that we don't have and build another.

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2016, 9:50 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:31% rise in fuel caused reduced driving? Only recently Amazon online sales to Florida started to charge 6% in sales taxes, Trinis bought more.

Didn't know you had real world gasoline consumption numbers before and after the price hike in addition to amazon sales to T&T since they initiated a sales tax. Please share!

Red and Ready economics ... We may be able to afford to run 1 new hospital so lets spend a cool billion that we don't have and build another.

I don't have fuel stats, I asked a question. T&T online purchases went up in 2014 http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Shi ... 31051.html so Amazon being the largest online retailer, they obviously received that.

They reduced the beds from 150 to 110 bring cost down from $1.8b to $1.2b. UNC supporters rail against it. But you think there should be no hospital at all. Cant please everyone.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » June 17th, 2016, 9:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:I would say not caring about ppl is rushing to have an opening ceremony for a hospital when you know it is not finish nor has the requisite approvals then locking the doors after the expensive ceremony is finished.

Why would they need revenue streams for the operation costs of 2 hospitals under construction? The online tax will fund one hospital which will soon come online and when the others ready they will get their own revenue generating venture.

The online tax has not been implemented. The idea was put forward for consultation now and will be finally implemented next budget.

There are some that wonder how Venezuela got to be where it is now. A govt that dependent so much on hydrocarbons that took no action in cutting spending and raising revenue because it was unpopular. Trinis want $100 per barrel lifestyle with $45 per barrel money and don't want to make the cuts every oil dependent nation had to make.

Boy thanks for the reply that uplifts my spirit and eases my soul!
So build another when we have to implement new taxes to even run it...
Mentioning the mistakes of the past to cover the bull$hitt of the present. Apparently since Patos do it meant that Kamla could do it which means iz ah green light for Rowley ..
Side step the great financial wizardry that is the online tax for items that compete with local manufacturers even though we do not manufacture a lot of things...
Then making this statement:
"Trinis want $100 per barrel lifestyle with $45 per barrel money and don't want to make the cuts every oil dependent nation had to make."
Apparently Mauby money is 1.8 billion! Prudent fiscal measures! I have no problem with cuts. I have a problem when money is being wasted.

The bottom line is that we have to generate ADDITIONAL TAXES TO RUN A HOSPITAL THAT IS NOT EVEN BUILT AS YET! Boy I thought ZR was extreme with the Rising Sun like Bas Son or something, but you are essentially Rowley's ballsack. Taking bull$hitt and making a statue. I salute u sir!

Postby eliteauto » June 17th, 2016, 10:29 pm

let me get this straight, a hospital promised for decades to an area desperate for one with a large catchment area, that was initiated by one Gov't and intended to be completed by another is dumb? Difficult economic times does not mean standstill economic activity, it means the Gov't of the day has to chose which projects to do and where to use it's reduced finances as best as possible. Let's be real the Gov't has stated it will open the children's hospital so not sure what the grouse is there, then lets looks at the location of the CH and it's intent vs the Arima hospital. in terms of service which becomes a priority? Sangre Grande covers the entire east coast and does yeoman service, Mt Hope does the same for Arima to POS/Central, there has been need for this hospital for a long time in an area that has a steadily increasing population. So to the dissenters what do you suggest?

Postby Habit7 » June 17th, 2016, 10:38 pm

Pirate wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I would say not caring about ppl is rushing to have an opening ceremony for a hospital when you know it is not finish nor has the requisite approvals then locking the doors after the expensive ceremony is finished.

Boy thanks for the reply that uplifts my spirit and eases my soul!
So build another when we have to implement new taxes to even run it...
Mentioning the mistakes of the past to cover the bull$hitt of the present. Apparently since Patos do it meant that Kamla could do it which means iz ah green light for Rowley ..
Side step the great financial wizardry that is the online tax for items that compete with local manufacturers even though we do not manufacture a lot of things...
Then making this statement:
"Trinis want $100 per barrel lifestyle with $45 per barrel money and don't want to make the cuts every oil dependent nation had to make."
Apparently Mauby money is 1.8 billion! Prudent fiscal measures! I have no problem with cuts. I have a problem when money is being wasted.

The bottom line is that we have to generate ADDITIONAL TAXES TO RUN A HOSPITAL THAT IS NOT EVEN BUILT AS YET! Boy I thought ZR was extreme with the Rising Sun like Bas Son or something, but you are essentially Rowley's ballsack. Taking bull$hitt and making a statue. I salute u sir!

Is it that some tuners cannot have a logical discussion based on fact and not emotion? Or is it that comprehension is that bad.

Based on the article the online tax is to help run one hospital. In 2+ years when the other hospitals might be finished, other measures would be taken. The hospitals were started prior to Sept 7 2015, to stop them would be a huge error and I cant believe I have to explain why an investment into a hospital is a good thing which I am crediting the PP for.

When NAR got into office during a depression they had an unfinished hospital too. They finished it while making huge unpopular cuts in other areas. That hospital ended up being the best teaching hospital and children's hospital before anybody could have a political spectacle of it.

First tuners saying don't finish the stadia, now it is don't finish the hospitals. If you don't want any govt to improve health infrastructure in this country, you better go live in the ampersand between Trinidad and Tobago.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2016, 12:56 am

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

I don't have fuel stats, I asked a question. T&T online purchases went up in 2014 http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Shi ... 31051.html so Amazon being the largest online retailer, they obviously received that.

They reduced the beds from 150 to 110 bring cost down from $1.8b to $1.2b. UNC supporters rail against it. But you think there should be no hospital at all. Cant please everyone.

You asked a leading question ... It now appears you now don't know what that means. :lol:
You are making guesses about amazon, still no facts.

Dem Yellow and Mellow supporters can rail against what they like cause they are as mindless as your Red and Ready club ... But my point is sort out and staff the Couva hospital (which should have been done within 4 months of taking the office) before handing out more mega contracts for hospitals they claim they can't staff or afford to run. The A&E, Out patient clinic's and radiology services are ready. The plan was to move the Couva DHF A&E/ radiology services as they are overwhelmed where they are atm.

Postby 16 cycles » June 18th, 2016, 5:03 am

Arima needs that hospital....should have been built along time ago in better economic times...

Some resolve should be made to have children's hospital up and running...even if not to full capacity.

The arima one could be brought on in parts based on priority needs of the locale it serves...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 18th, 2016, 7:20 am

The couva one will be opened. Nurses are currently being trained in preparation for going to that facility.

Postby Habit7 » June 18th, 2016, 9:38 am

drchaos wrote:You asked a leading question ... It now appears you now don't know what that means. :lol:
You are making guesses about amazon, still no facts.

Dem Yellow and Mellow supporters can rail against what they like cause they are as mindless as your Red and Ready club ... But my point is sort out and staff the Couva hospital (which should have been done within 4 months of taking the office) before handing out more mega contracts for hospitals they claim they can't staff or afford to run. The A&E, Out patient clinic's and radiology services are ready. The plan was to move the Couva DHF A&E/ radiology services as they are overwhelmed where they are atm.

It is a leading question, and not a positive affirmation as you though before. Deductive reasoning makes it obvious that increased online sales benefitted the the largest online retailer. I find for somebody who didn't have the initial facts, you very beligerant.

Well first the contractor has to finish the project, UDECOTT has to get the approvals, then hand it over to MoH. Moving Couva DHF to Couva Hospital would make it harder for Couva residents to access because it would only accessible via the highway. The Scarborough hospital was 80% complete when PP took over and it took them 2.5yrs to finish, even with there being an existing hospital just needing to transfer staff. Opening a new hospital with new staff is more than just cutting ribbons, it will take time and it needs the requisite funding which wasn't allocated for this year.

BTW PNM has not handed out any contracts for hospitals, those hospitals contracts were handed out before the election. They are continuing what the PP graciously started.

I find for somebody who claiming both PNM and UNC mindless, you need to have correct info to base your claim on. #justsaying

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » June 18th, 2016, 9:45 am

drchaos wrote:Habbit it just don't make sense ...

Query. Where the man say he want to reduce online shopping ?