Electrical extension cord repairs

Emmar01

Electrical extension cord repairs

Postby Emmar01 » June 8th, 2016, 9:35 am

Anybody know anyone in the Central area who can patch a severed 100' outdoor electrical cord? I would normally do it myself but this one is heavy duty so I wouldn't take the chance.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Electrical extension cord repairs

Postby bluesclues » June 8th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Emmar01 wrote:Anybody know anyone in the Central area who can patch a severed 100' outdoor electrical cord? I would normally do it myself but this one is heavy duty so I wouldn't take the chance.

Yeah I know a guy. His name is 'buy a new faking cord u cheap bastard'

racedriverpro

Re: Electrical extension cord repairs

Postby racedriverpro » June 8th, 2016, 2:55 pm

Is a 100' give him a chance nah...IMHO the best thing is to shorten it ie join either a male or female three prong to the longer piece accordingly.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » June 8th, 2016, 3:26 pm

Buy matching male and female plugs, the outdoor/waterproof type. Fixed.

medalist

Postby medalist » June 8th, 2016, 3:27 pm

what is a heavy duty extension? Just cut the cable where it damage ,

1) Join with screw connectors and tape OR

2) Use a 4X2 Can and make the connection inside it OR

3) Use Split Bolts and tape OR

4) Donate the Cable to me and buy another one.

Your Choice.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2016, 4:28 pm

make the join very secure and insulated and seal it in a lump of 3m marine sealant

Postby gastly369 » June 8th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Splice kit...

Re: RE: Re: RE: Electrical extension cord repairs

Postby A172 » June 8th, 2016, 7:00 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Emmar01 wrote:Anybody know anyone in the Central area who can patch a severed 100' outdoor electrical cord? I would normally do it myself but this one is heavy duty so I wouldn't take the chance.

the irony of this germ tlking abt who cheap

Postby stev » June 8th, 2016, 7:03 pm

should be simple enough...can u post a pic of the damage?

is it wrapped or metal shielded?

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Electrical extension cord repairs

Postby bluesclues » June 8th, 2016, 9:16 pm

A172 wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

the irony of this germ tlking abt who cheap

I am not really cheap. I am economically efficient.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 13th, 2016, 9:23 pm

Frugal is the word u looking for free.

Postby RBphoto » June 14th, 2016, 11:23 am

Get a 3M poured/ moulded splice kit. The waterproof epoxy will outlast the cable. Dab some solder on the connections twisted together to get solid electrical contact.

Postby RBphoto » June 14th, 2016, 11:25 am

RBphoto wrote:Get a 3M poured/ moulded splice kit. The waterproof epoxy will outlast the cable. Dab some solder on the connections twisted together to get solid electrical contact.

PS: Crimping is a good option but I think you might be too cheap to buy crimps and some guys charge up to $30.00 for a single use of their crimp tool.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 14th, 2016, 12:56 pm

do you have a picture of the cable

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 14th, 2016, 3:00 pm

Keep the cable and anytime somebody ask yuh for a cable borrow, lend them it...