Should CARICOM be redrawn or disbanded??

Postby desifemlove » May 22nd, 2016, 4:37 pm

what's the point of it? what does it do?

i not sure, sicne:

- Do the other countries accept or veto not give a sheit about UWI appointments? UWI ent trinidad, it's CARICOM and the TT Government makes professor/senior management appts for St. Augustine campus.

- If Venezuela continues in de sheit, and there is refugees, is there a plan? dis gonna affect all of us, not just T&T because of proximity. Technically, Guyana is closest with a land border, and I doubt Guyana has the troops to man all that hundreds of miles of boundary in the forest/jungle between the two.

- If the CSME still on?

- If we are all partners/allies, then should we really rough up Jamaicans at Piarco? if they come and visit, then let them in, ent?

People gonna compare it ot the EU, how? the EU from the very start was firmly about integration. Bar the Euro crisis and Brexit, it still is. CARICOM is just a place where Rowley, Skerrit, Gonslaves, and Holness just go and lime and compare if Red Stripe is better than Carib.

Re: Should CARICOM be redrawn or disbanded??

Postby meccalli » May 22nd, 2016, 6:49 pm

csme can work effectively immediately, draft in venezuela and we instantly have free movement of goods, services and people.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 22nd, 2016, 8:22 pm

The EU is a dictatorship well put it this way, they have a president who nobody voted for. The European arrest warrant allows for a British citizen to be extradited and face charge in another EU country where democracy is not in favor. Therefore you can understand why British citizens are of the view that their country is being run by EU bureaucrats.

Caricom is quite different but its the same as the EU where others are taking jobs away from Trinis. Very few Trinis actually leave here to go anywhere else it is everyone else who come here and take jobs away from Trinis which could be why there is so much crime and youths in laventille have no choice but to kill eachother. When you are unemployed you are miserable and so you turn to a life of crime.

Nigel said it best really.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 23rd, 2016, 7:29 am

The EUrozone iz fracturing because there there iz more cost than benefit 4 some countries in the union.

Thiz iz the reason why Jca pulled out of political integration in 1962.

Now they want 2 come here just so?

Nah. Send them back.

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2016, 12:24 pm

Miktay wrote:The EUrozone iz fracturing because there there iz more cost than benefit 4 some countries in the union.

Nah. Send them back.

Ppl will always come to a country that is prosperous.

See why I say there is no recession

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 23rd, 2016, 2:41 pm

Miktay wrote:The EUrozone iz fracturing because there there iz more cost than benefit 4 some countries in the union.

Nah. Send them back.

Ppl will always come to a country that is prosperous.

See why I say there is no recession

Prosperity iz relative.

The textbook definition of recession iz less so.

link

Postby link » May 28th, 2016, 8:12 am

Jamaica only pulled out because of political selfishness (& probably US underhandedness )
but Caricom was always plagued by little black minds wanting to become kings in even 'littler' mudholes..........
u can see glaring examples worldwide even NOW....today...... it will never end.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 28th, 2016, 10:41 am

link wrote:Jamaica only pulled out because of political selfishness (& probably US underhandedness )
but Caricom was always plagued by little black minds wanting to become kings in even 'littler' mudholes..........

political Union thru CARaiCOM was a bad idea.

GixxerMan

Re: RE: Re: Should CARICOM be redrawn or disbanded??

Postby GixxerMan » May 28th, 2016, 1:01 pm

link wrote:Jamaica only pulled out because of political selfishness (& probably US underhandedness )

X2......You could have not said it any better!

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2016, 2:19 pm

Anybody ever hear Chalkie song, three blind mice?

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » May 28th, 2016, 8:39 pm

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2016, 9:27 pm

This is history repeating itself ,read" a scuffling of nations" especially chapter vi and you will understand what I mean. @ED, yes the jobs are taken by the outsiders, but nobody is taking it away from Trinis. Trinis don't want to work and when they do they take no pride in it and are very unproductive. This is why people have to resort to the outsiders. Seriously ,listen to Three blind mice and hear the history and see how it is happening again.

Postby zoom rader » May 28th, 2016, 11:55 pm

rspann wrote:This is history repeating itself ,read" a scuffling of nations" especially chapter vi and you will understand what I mean. @ED, yes the jobs are taken by the outsiders, but nobody is taking it away from Trinis. Trinis don't want to work and when they do they take no pride in it and are very unproductive. This is why people have to resort to the outsiders. Seriously ,listen to Three blind mice and hear the history and see how it is happening again.

Carnival is everyday in Trin, some on here say plenty revenue comes to trini from carnival.

But that revenue is what is causing an unproductive workforce.

The ills far outweigh the good from carnival

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2016, 8:51 am

In all arrangements like these, the well off countries have less to benefit than the poorer countries. The EU. Has a better chance at working because the economies are large and diverse. Different countries produce enough different things and have enough need for different commodities that they can work together.

The Caribbean countries are so small and economies are so similar, that inter-trading would not yield much more benefit in a free market arrangement as if they traded normally.

The benefit would come in trading with other regions, where all the resources are brandished and risks spread amongst all the Caribbean countries.

If overheads can be cut by involvement in the caricom, then they need to set up a single business front and use the lower cost to compete with places like Mexico in supplying the Americas and possibly even Europe.

But there is nothing the caricom can do that a single country can't do, that even a frugal business even can't do.

Besides oil an gas, the only real resources we have are agriculture/food and tourism.

But a good analogy of how caricom would function is wi cricket, and without caricom the football.
With individual countries, some individuals might make it big, but the country as a whole might not benefit.
With the unified group, u might get a lot more individual coming together and present the appearance of a big force. Only a few businesses would be able to join in and many local business would have to give place to those from the other countries,

There would be much pulling and tugging, so the governments would need to step back a lot, and let the business men develop the thing.

wavehunter

Postby wavehunter » May 30th, 2016, 7:35 am

I went to Guyana once and in immigration I went to the line that says caricom/Guyana residents. When I reached the officer and she saw the passport, she said I in the wrong line. I said I from caricom, and she said to go to the line with international residents which I did. When the 2nd officer looked at my passport she proceed it and I asked her if I am from caricom and she said yes. Then I said the first officer told me that I have to join this line even though I am caricom resident. How stupid.

Postby zoom rader » May 30th, 2016, 1:02 pm

wavehunter wrote:I went to Guyana once and in immigration I went to the line that says caricom/Guyana residents. When I reached the officer and she saw the passport, she said I in the wrong line. I said I from caricom, and she said to go to the line with international residents which I did. When the 2nd officer looked at my passport she proceed it and I asked her if I am from caricom and she said yes. Then I said the first officer told me that I have to join this line even though I am caricom resident. How stupid.

That's why we should have kept GCE instead of CXC. The Trin public service is also filled with these incompetent ppl that reek havoc with their own made up rules.