RARE VIDEO: My Crayfish Changing It's Shell

-Roach-

RARE VIDEO: My Crayfish Changing It's Shell

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 7:27 am

May 23rd around 9pm I saw my crayfish laying on its side so I thought he almost kicked the bucket... I have him going in 2 years... But what he was doing was totally different!... Managed to get it on video... He changed shell a good few times but it always use to be late in the night.... Take a look!

Kronik

Re: RARE VIDEO: My Crayfish Changing It's Shell

Postby Kronik » May 25th, 2016, 7:42 am

That real bad. How much bigger it does get

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2016, 7:46 am

u could have given the animal some privacy

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 25th, 2016, 7:49 am

why the loud music....are we in 2006

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 7:51 am

You coulda left the shell for him to snack on.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 7:55 am

I took it out cuz the last one I had she ate half and died... Didn't wanna take a chance with this guy... Lol.. They get as big as the tail half of a full grown lobster... This one is pretty close to it...

Postby maj. tom » May 25th, 2016, 8:00 am

mmm looks so delicious.
Just a little butter and green shallots.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 8:16 am

maj. tom wrote:mmm looks so delicious.
Just a little butter and green shallots.

:puppydogeyes:

Postby meccalli » May 25th, 2016, 8:32 am

They moult fairly often, you're supposed to allow them to eat the exoskeleton, helps them with the post shedding stage of hardening up.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 25th, 2016, 11:21 am

cool-oh

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2016, 11:33 am

Ting tuh curry

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 25th, 2016, 12:01 pm

I have to do this just now, it looks easy but it real hard yes.

Postby meccalli » May 25th, 2016, 12:09 pm

Yeah blues, everybody knows you're a soucouyant.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RARE VIDEO: My Crayfish Changing It's Shell

Postby bluesclues » May 25th, 2016, 12:44 pm

meccalli wrote:Yeah blues, everybody knows you're a soucouyant.

The modern day term is illuminati bruh. Graduation to the 0th degree

Postby toyolink » May 25th, 2016, 1:19 pm

This is truly fascinating.
Thank you.

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 1:36 pm

original audio would be better ...give a lil back ground info on the animal...where how it was found...how to take care of it....etc...instead of the linkin park....jus sayin....

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 2:08 pm

skylinechild wrote:original audio would be better ...give a lil back ground info on the animal...where how it was found...how to take care of it....etc...instead of the linkin park....jus sayin....

I understand... But I was just staring at him speechless lol... But feel free to ask any info you need to know about these guys and I'll be happy to answer them in detail...

Bought it from my buddy Abdul Ali's Fish Shop in Sumaria Trace Charlieville when he was about 2 1/2" in length.... Had him in a 2ft tank then I transfered him to my 4ft tank together with my oscars for a few months... I think the oscars are currently mating and they lay eggs so I didn't wanna keep him there to feast on it so I transferred him back to the 2ft... I feed him high protein sinking pellets... Shrimp... Pieces of fish... Vegetables etc... He is close to 2 years old and has grown to 6 1/4" from head to tail and when I extend his claws he is a little over 8" from the tip of his claw to his tail...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 2:36 pm

He ever escape?

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 2:43 pm

Nope... Lol..

Postby Redman » May 25th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Years ago mine escaped twice...
Thankfully we found him before the Rotts did.

The Rotts like wild meat.

Recently I havent been able to keep a CF alive for more than 2 or 3 months...

Postby Dizzy28 » May 25th, 2016, 4:45 pm

Redman wrote:Years ago mine escaped twice...
Thankfully we found him before the Rotts did.

The Rotts like wild meat.

Recently I havent been able to keep a CF alive for more than 2 or 3 months...

Had 4 local crayfish in a tank a few years ago. One ate the other three then went missing. Never found him to this day.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2016, 4:53 pm

Like he ate himself too!

Ent the crustaceans eat their exoskeleton to recapture some of the nutrients to put towards their new shell?

This was captivating, and for sometime I thought he had sacrificed his gundie, cause I couldn't figure out what I was seeing.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 25th, 2016, 4:54 pm

How long do they survive out of water?

Postby maj. tom » May 25th, 2016, 5:11 pm

Postby *KRONIK* » May 25th, 2016, 5:16 pm

It was awesome that you got there in time to record the whole thing

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 25th, 2016, 5:56 pm

Thanks guys... here is a pic of him I took a while ago... his blue color enhanced a bit and he is doing fine...

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 25th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Discovery Trinidad... Nice.

Postby skylinechild » May 25th, 2016, 6:50 pm

-Roach- wrote:Thanks guys... here is a pic of him I took a while ago... his blue color enhanced a bit and he is doing fine...

does the Cf have a name??
have you ever tried to get him to mate with a female crayfish.???
whats the lifespan of the Cf...??

is he friendly?? ever tried to have him live with other types of crustaceans...ie crabs.??

Postby DVSTT » May 25th, 2016, 7:26 pm

skylinechild wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Thanks guys... here is a pic of him I took a while ago... his blue color enhanced a bit and he is doing fine...

does the Cf have a name??
have you ever tried to get him to mate with a female crayfish.???
whats the lifespan of the Cf...??

is he friendly?? ever tried to have him live with other types of crustaceans...ie crabs.??

I had a pair for about 3 years. Not sure if they were male and female or what but they got along. Ate all my goldfish though, climbed the plants in the tanks and just plucked them, ate out their entire tails and they just died.
After they died I never bothered to keep them again. The novelty wore off.

trump2016

Postby trump2016 » May 26th, 2016, 8:47 am

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.