Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

randolphinshan

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby randolphinshan » May 18th, 2016, 8:21 pm

racedriverpro wrote:All this is a waste of time....and btw I thought stock was on we side.

RollingStock was a Kant from long time.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 18th, 2016, 8:40 pm

drchaos wrote:This is ridiculously unjust.

You should be able to contest a ticket without fear. This is nothing but oppressive and discourages the citizens of this country from holding the system and those in authority in check.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 18th, 2016, 8:41 pm

You should be able to contest a ticket without fear. This is nothing but oppressive and discourages the citizens of this country from holding the system and those in authority in check.

Same thoughts here...

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2016, 9:13 pm

It is the same with all offences, fines as a result of sentencing are usually more than a fixed penalty. All offences have a maximum fine which is higher.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 18th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Makes sense imo. Come good or don't come at all. If it was the same as the ticket everyone would contest and waste court time. Based on some of the "logic" in this ched men would challenge on every little thing they could think of.

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2016, 9:29 pm

Contest away ..... But realistically the only grounds for protest can really be if the officer applied the wrong speed limit. Meaning he either applied a Heavy-T limit wrongfully or he charged you for doing 80km/h when you were in a area designated for that speed. Anything else is pure hearsay.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 18th, 2016, 9:54 pm

What should be done is when an individual contests a ticket in court and wins his case the Full charge should be sentenced upon the presiding officer that issued the ticket for wasting time or wrongfully charging someone. That would minimize the amount of unfair ticketing if there's a chance an officer of the law can be held accountable directly.

scoob

Postby scoob » May 19th, 2016, 7:04 am

urbandilema wrote:Quick questions for this wonderful thing our free spoken and free enterprise government we have running out beloved country. ..
1 Are the speed guns have specific range as speaking can it be switched to different vehicles. I think a private vechicle has a higher speed rate vs the t eg a pick up..so do they basically pick a day to catch or speed trap t vehicles and then another day try for private vehicles

2 Are the guns being used can pick or track the vechicles at night as speaking I'm not sure of the technology

3 what's the margin of error in reference how much is it off.by.or a margin of error

4 what does the traffic regulations permit your margin of error with your speedometer....you never know if your vechicle mite read a different km per meters than another vechicle

Thanks yall

Hey they point a laser at the front grill of your vehicle (or headlight), does not matter what type of vehicle! And your speed shows up more or less immediately (0.33 seconds) with a photo of your number plate which is stored as photo and video evidence. Lasers can track at night too but the number plate may be harder to see. TnT cops use LTI 20/20 TrueCam which has an accuracy of +/- 2km/hr. It does not matter what YOUR speedo is saying! The only thing that matters in court is what the police printout says! I have compared my car's speedo with GPS speed and found it was 5% less, but again that does not matter in Court.. If you see the cops, its already too late and you're screwed! The best bet would be Wazers to report location so we all know where they are.. and if you are caught PAY YOUR FINE

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 19th, 2016, 7:30 am

scoob wrote:
urbandilema wrote:Quick questions for this wonderful thing our free spoken and free enterprise government we have running out beloved country. ..
1 Are the speed guns have specific range as speaking can it be switched to different vehicles. I think a private vechicle has a higher speed rate vs the t eg a pick up..so do they basically pick a day to catch or speed trap t vehicles and then another day try for private vehicles

2 Are the guns being used can pick or track the vechicles at night as speaking I'm not sure of the technology

3 what's the margin of error in reference how much is it off.by.or a margin of error

4 what does the traffic regulations permit your margin of error with your speedometer....you never know if your vechicle mite read a different km per meters than another vechicle

Thanks yall

Hey they point a laser at the front grill of your vehicle (or headlight), does not matter what type of vehicle! And your speed shows up more or less immediately (0.33 seconds) with a photo of your number plate which is stored as photo and video evidence. Lasers can track at night too but the number plate may be harder to see. TnT cops use LTI 20/20 TrueCam which has an accuracy of +/- 2km/hr. It does not matter what YOUR speedo is saying! The only thing that matters in court is what the police printout says! I have compared my car's speedo with GPS speed and found it was 5% less, but again that does not matter in Court.. If you see the cops, its already too late and you're screwed! The best bet would be Wazers to report location so we all know where they are.. and if you are caught PAY YOUR FINE

Strong post

kiran8977

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kiran8977 » May 19th, 2016, 8:01 am

EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

You see less traffic jams yet ?

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » May 19th, 2016, 8:06 am

maj. tom wrote:Yes, Governments usually buy equipment from ebay. Ebay also calibrates and services these machines, with a certificate, and give warranty and free shipping. Then the Ebay seller comes down using his own money on plane tickets and educates the police on how to use and maintain the equipment properly.

For 14 million I could buy and sell dbu I fixing it and educating the force to

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 19th, 2016, 9:20 am

kiran8977 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

You see less traffic jams yet ?

it use to take me a hour to reach POS. Now i reaching there in 40 mins So traffic moving faster yes.

Postby RASC » May 19th, 2016, 10:43 am

Driving has also become a lot less stressful... With the day to day grind

Postby DFC » May 19th, 2016, 10:46 am

Just obey the law and chill yuhself.

Postby BrotherHood » May 19th, 2016, 12:02 pm

5th gear for sale. No use for it.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 19th, 2016, 12:21 pm

Real fellas in this thread driving Agera Rs (this is supposed to be plural of Agera R and is not a new "Rs" model that I made up) since they can't use the highest gear at the speed limit. How come I eh see these Agera Rs in the spotters thread?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 19th, 2016, 1:18 pm

BrotherHood wrote:5th gear for sale. No use for it.

7th gear working bess @ 80kph.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 19th, 2016, 1:21 pm

RASC wrote:Driving has also become a lot less stressful... With the day to day grind

Just get ah good mixtape

Postby pete » May 19th, 2016, 2:09 pm

He said it's less stressful already

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 19th, 2016, 4:42 pm

pete wrote:He said it's less stressful already

@de grind (traffic I guessing). Pass the @ time na

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » May 20th, 2016, 10:20 am

takes me an extra 20 mins to get to work and an extra 20 to get home. so 40 mins per day of my life lost to additional traffic.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 20th, 2016, 11:09 am

Altec55 wrote:takes me an extra 20 mins to get to work and an extra 20 to get home. so 40 mins per day of my life lost to additional traffic.

Mixtape... :lol:

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 20th, 2016, 11:52 am

Traffic LESS stressful

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 20th, 2016, 1:10 pm

Yuh unnastann

Postby Les Bain » May 20th, 2016, 1:35 pm

eurotuner wrote:Traffic LESS stressful

Indeed it is.
Took a highway drive last Sunday for the first time since they put the restriction in place. It was so relaxing, Too relaxing. Regretted leaving home with all that calming rain and warm bed.

Postby Habit7 » May 20th, 2016, 1:57 pm

Enforce all the road traffic laws
Published on May 13, 2016, 7:10 pm AST

On behalf of the Transportation Sub-Committee of the Association of Professional Engineers (APETT), I wish to comment on the controversy surrounding the improved enforcement of speed limits.

The road system comprises three elements viz: (i) the roadway (ii) the vehicles and (iii) the users (drivers, pedestrians).
These elements interact with each other and the external environment. In determining what would be the safe operating speeds for road and highway systems it is important to understand the nature of this interaction, the expected operating arrangements and the likelihood and severity of risks associated with deviation.

On April 9, the Motor Vehicles Act was amended to permit police officers to utilise speed guns for spot speed enforcement.
Almost immediately after this announcement, a petition initiated by members of the public began circulating, requesting that the legal speed limit be revised upward from 80 km/h to 120 km/h on the nation’s highways.
In responding to this call the following should be noted.

(1) The current speed limits were established over 40 years ago and need to be reviewed in the light of changes in the land use and highway system as well as in vehicle technology.

(2) Most of the highways built over the last 20 years have been engineered to specific design speeds.
The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed that can be maintained over a specified section of highway when conditions are favourable, such that the design features of the highway govern.
Design features include: pavement surface quality, lane width, presence and width of hard shoulders, horizontal and vertical curves, traffic signage, existence of medians and buffer zones, frequency, design and location of accesses and intersections.
Therefore, notwithstanding the design speed, the safe operating speed on the highway will be compromised if the actual operating conditions in any one of the above areas is lowered or compromised.
Unfortunately, most of our highways suffer from poor pavement surface quality, narrow lane widths, poor super-elevation at curves, medians that are cluttered with advertising hoardings, poor signage and lane demarcation and significant illegal accesses.

(3) Speed differentials e.g. at merge, diverge and intersection points are an important risk factor. A higher operating speed would lead to a higher speed differential between vehicles in the traffic stream.
This higher speed differential, combined with drivers who do not adhere to the regulation of driving on the left lane except when overtaking, would lead to more high speed weaving manoeuvres and decreased safety.

(4) Any proposed increase in the speed limit on any particular road must be preceded by a traffic engineering study that examines the existing roadway conditions, safety features, driver behaviour, accident history, 85th percentile operating speeds, activity/land use and terrain in the surrounding area.

In this regard, we support the position as articulated by the Ministry of Works, Infrastructure and Transport.
Unfortunately, the Traffic Management Branch of the ministry has not been given the human and financial resources over the years to carry out what should be a routine programme of traffic data collection, safety analysis and accident blackspot detection and remediation.
It is imperative that the institutional strengthening of this organisation be placed on the top of the Government’s transportation agenda.

Additionally, the relevant agencies are encouraged to enforce all of the traffic laws including illegal accesses, improper lane use, breach of traffic signals, and illegal use of shoulders and turning lanes.
These breaches contribute significantly to both unsafe traffic conditions and indiscipline on the roadways.
Finally, it should be noted that enforcement of the current speed limit cannot lead to significantly increased travel times and traffic congestion.

For example, a motorist who in very light traffic would have normally driven from Arima to PoS at a speed of 120 km/h would take an additional seven minutes at 80km/h.
Similarly the time from San Fernando to PoS would take an additional 12.5 minutes.
Of course, the likelihood of maintaining such a high speed over the entire trip is quite small, thus in reality, the time difference would be even less.
Indeed, when coupled with enforcement of other rules such as keeping left except when overtaking, speed limit enforcement can lead to better platooning of vehicles and a calmer driving experience.

Trevor Townsend
APETT Transportation Committee

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160513 ... affic-laws

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 20th, 2016, 2:13 pm

:| Buh I did say all that already here.

Postby De Dragon » May 20th, 2016, 2:51 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| Buh I did say all that already here.

Yuh enno whoze dem sleepy jivers orr?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 20th, 2016, 8:41 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Bunny, you physically capable of driving that slow?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 21st, 2016, 1:24 am

drchaos wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Bunny, you physically capable of driving that slow?

I also drive at 65 in a ford ranger. If I feel to chance it in d Jetta I do but if I meet traffic I have zero issues cruise controlling at 80 kph and listening to music.