Re: Getting rid of rats/mice

Postby The Paleontologist » May 4th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Couple rainbow boa

Re: RE: Re: Getting rid of rats/mice

Postby Trini Hookah » May 5th, 2016, 3:28 am

supercharged turbo wrote:You born outtatiming so?

Know yuh place.

Postby DVSTT » May 5th, 2016, 3:48 am

OP why not try the black pepper? It's cheap. Also I saw online people used chili pepper as well. I guess it'd have something to do with their sense of smell?

Postby RBphoto » May 5th, 2016, 8:53 am

Agree with not touching the bait. Use latex gloves. Peanut butter is the best bait I have ever used with glue traps. The trick is to use about a pinhead amount. Don't know why.. if it is something in their psychology, Put a big dollop of peanut butter, they don't touch it, put a tiny spec, they will go for it every time. Also, modify your spring traps. Buy a bunch of cheap traps, sand down the mechanism and lube with a little coconut oil. Do not reuse traps as they will run away from the scent.

Take out your garbage every night, whether it is full or not. If any of your kids in diapers, carry the diapers out to the side of the road for collection immediately. Don't keep the bags in/around the house.

Been rat/ mouse free since last rainy season. Bracing for this one.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 5th, 2016, 2:05 pm

Will try the pepper and peanut butter methods later.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2016, 3:36 pm

Peanut butter never worked for me, I tried making the spinning traps over a bucket of water
Our rats too smart for that
YouTube and you will see that bucket traps

Postby supercharged turbo » May 5th, 2016, 3:52 pm

Them rat smarter than half de traps they have now

Postby maj. tom » May 5th, 2016, 5:50 pm

Postby supercharged turbo » May 5th, 2016, 6:33 pm

Will check it out

Postby Gem_in_i » May 5th, 2016, 6:41 pm

I used two types of bait. I dont know which worked. One was coloured corn and rice grains and next one was pink pellets.
After abt 2 wks the few mice were seen running around and dying.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2016, 8:49 pm

all of the poisons are basically the same,
wayfarin blood thinner based
causes them to bleed internally and dry out which is why you see them running around slowly looking for water

baigan

Postby baigan » May 6th, 2016, 12:37 am

Had a rat problem a few months ago but my puppy killed them all and buried them ... .-.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 6th, 2016, 8:43 am

[FEARFUL FACE]

Postby supercharged turbo » May 6th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Now find one dead..not sure if he ate the stormbait but good news regardless

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 6th, 2016, 5:58 pm

How you baiting the traps? The last time I dealt with one of those fellers, he kept stealing the bait. I tied the bread and peanut butter to the bait hook on the trap. Needless to say that was the end of him. Traps kinda messy though. Blood splattered everywhere.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 7th, 2016, 6:46 am

K74T wrote:I can definitely say no to that fabric.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 8:10 am

Every so often people let go stray cats in the area, and some tend to be rat hunters. When them in the area rate does be scarce. Until people throw rat poison and kill out the cats, and then I have to wait for a next set of stray cats.

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2016, 9:14 am

what is the latest with the sardines ??
they eating it ?

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2016, 9:16 am

you should also try one of them box trap with spring door to catch one alive,
i've used those for kix many times with a piece of sausage

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 8th, 2016, 6:42 pm

sounding like a stink household to me

Re: RE: Re: Getting rid of rats/mice

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2016, 9:55 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:sounding like a stink household to me

Hadda be yours

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Getting rid of rats/mice

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 9th, 2016, 1:25 am

supercharged turbo wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:sounding like a stink household to me

Hadda be yours

cover up that latrine in your backyard

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2016, 5:53 am

woodbrook and st james loaded with rats
thanks to the many food places

they eating the sardines ?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 9th, 2016, 6:35 am

Didn't put de sardine.End up putting some more storm bait

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » May 10th, 2016, 10:46 pm

Wax block rat poison n paste some peanut butter on it

Postby supercharged turbo » May 11th, 2016, 5:17 pm

Throw some storm bait yesterday and some sardine with lanate the night before.I see they eat out most of the sardines and storm bait.Not seeing them running as much these days.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2016, 5:18 pm

Nice, hold up on the bait until Weekend

Postby supercharged turbo » May 11th, 2016, 5:31 pm

Would do

carmelo

Postby carmelo » May 13th, 2016, 8:32 am

i tried this and have been using it since.... a small plate or plastic lid with cornmeal and cement mixed when they eat it and drink any liquid the cement will bind in their stomach and kill them. many years ago there were rats running in the yard and that is what we used and in a few days none were seen.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2016, 9:01 am

Had a Guyanese mason doing some work for me last year. The man say in Guyana they catch one mouse, paint him a bright colour (yellow, blue etc) and then release him. He goes to the den and the other mice having never seen such a colour mouse before all run away.

Maybe Triad could confirm.