65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

nismaniac

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby nismaniac » May 10th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Any comments on how much revenue the govt losing from ppl burning less fuel. Over the past few days I have noticed that some P cars choose to also drive at 65.

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby Morpheus » May 10th, 2016, 5:40 pm

tr1ad wrote:Image

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 5:45 pm

Yeah we all know that driving at low speeds on long boring stretches of road is a cause of driver fatigue and can be dangerous.
But Arrive Alive and their cronies (sad bunch) must be appeased!

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:05 pm

Arrive Alive are a bunch of self Righteous obsessants. Some of their family died and that cements them to slow the whole country down.

Like the safety man did say, if u want to be completely safe then u would do nothing, but because u have to make Money, u will accept a certain amount of risk.

80 is safer than 120, but 30 is even more safe. Why choose 80 instead of 30, is because u need to allow a vehicles to moVe quickly for the country to operate. And because of advancements in vehicle safety u could very well accommodate 120.
I don't haVe to to drive 120, but u can reach up on the stretches where u can clearly see any obstructions, and modify ur driving to suit. Coming up to corner u will slow down, rain start to fall u slow down, u see a lot of vehicles ahead, u slow down. But when conditions are right u can make use of them.

Plenty of them corners on the highway, I made them comfortably at 120 with the lifted stiff suspension van. And after I passed, increased speed back to normal, once conditions allowed.

Far can tolerate a little more speed.

Postby meccalli » May 10th, 2016, 6:07 pm

If I didn't know any better, I'd think South, Grande and Pos were individual states. Hell, interstate limits are 112. Limit on 2 lane roads in the US is 89.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:48 pm

To hell with USA. Canada and Germany.

Postby DVSTT » May 10th, 2016, 6:48 pm

meccalli wrote:If I didn't know any better, I'd think South, Grande and Pos were individual states. Hell, interstate limits are 112. Limit on 2 lane roads in the US is 89.

It really does feel like you're driving cross country, I can't imagine what it's like at 65.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Don't mind south Dakota allows u to get ur license at 14

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 10th, 2016, 7:00 pm

:?: Ok I'm confused now cause I just saw on "beyond the tape" speed limit for pickups under 2540 without a trailer is 80 ...is this true?..."once u under 80 is urs"

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 7:06 pm

Yes.
A goods vehicle registered 't' that is above 2540 has a limit of 65,
a goods vehicle registered 't' that is below 2540 and has a trailer is 65,
a good vehicle registered 't' below 2540 and with NO trailer is 80.

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 10th, 2016, 7:10 pm

ive made sum errors in reading tho my bad but that's what I've been saying from the start...guess I'm not the only one who didn't read and understand

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 10th, 2016, 8:36 pm

Do most people realise that the speed rules were last amended in 1969. Back then they didn't have seatbelts, abs, airbags and all the other safety features that modern cars have. In fact some pickup's are coming with stability control now. The road conditions were worse then as well. My point is just as they amended the law to allow for someone with a class 3 permit to drive a T vehicle with a higher MGW it is time to review the entire road traffic act.

SRASC

65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby SRASC » May 10th, 2016, 8:54 pm

Side note, the current reference point for truck driver's speeds on Trinidad/Tobago roads:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Nah they need to fix the budget deficit first, at least a couple hundred mill needs to made before they will decide to review anything.

Postby zoom rader » May 10th, 2016, 9:02 pm

This government needs more money so expect more taxes and new fines to come

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 10th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Just tax de doubles man. They will make more money than speeding tickets.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 10th, 2016, 10:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Arrive Alive are a bunch of self Righteous obsessants. Some of their family died and that cements them to slow the whole country down.

Like the safety man did say, if u want to be completely safe then u would do nothing, but because u have to make Money, u will accept a certain amount of risk.

80 is safer than 120, but 30 is even more safe. Why choose 80 instead of 30, is because u need to allow a vehicles to moVe quickly for the country to operate. And because of advancements in vehicle safety u could very well accommodate 120.
I don't haVe to to drive 120, but u can reach up on the stretches where u can clearly see any obstructions, and modify ur driving to suit. Coming up to corner u will slow down, rain start to fall u slow down, u see a lot of vehicles ahead, u slow down. But when conditions are right u can make use of them.

Plenty of them corners on the highway, I made them comfortably at 120 with the lifted stiff suspension van. And after I passed, increased speed back to normal, once conditions allowed.

Or call elections now.

Postby S_2NR » May 10th, 2016, 10:27 pm

good news for pickup drivers who like to own the road :lol:

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 11th, 2016, 5:45 am

It's interesting how many people thinks the 50, 65 and 80 speed limits are good and shouldn't change. What was the speed you were driving before? Cause I can't remember seeing a lot of people driving at the speed limit before the speed guns. Just saying...

niso

Postby niso » May 11th, 2016, 11:24 am

prados , x5 , range rovers, q7 fall into this category?

Postby tr1ad » May 11th, 2016, 11:30 am

mark2.0 wrote:Same set of vehicles
One T the other P.

it's all about how you get it licensed... upon request to the Transport Comissioner

Postby tr1ad » May 11th, 2016, 11:30 am

niso wrote:prados , x5 , range rovers, q7 fall into this category?

if it's licensed as T then yes

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 11th, 2016, 11:30 am

arakaras wrote:It's interesting how many people thinks the 50, 65 and 80 speed limits are good and shouldn't change. What was the speed you were driving before? Cause I can't remember seeing a lot of people driving at the speed limit before the speed guns. Just saying...

What one is accustomed to doing doesn't override the Existing LAWs that were never enforced to begin with.
What a pity you Pickup drivers don't quarrel and argue when you see people littering, I'm sure you usually turn a blind eye! but omg god forbid Police make you drive within the limit of 65!

Postby aaron17 » May 11th, 2016, 11:40 am

In relation to the speedometers I am seeing on this thread, I wonder how those Taxis and Maxis using them since some of them is reading 0 at all times.(broken) Intuition?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 11th, 2016, 12:43 pm

mark2.0 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Arrive Alive are a bunch of self Righteous obsessants. Some of their family died and that cements them to slow the whole country down.

Or call elections now.

Smash, yuh couldn't say it any clearer. I'll also like to add, that maintaining your vehicle properly, is also essential to the handling of your vehicle. Unlike some vehicle owners, that running snow tyres...

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » May 11th, 2016, 2:01 pm

My drive is south to north the amount of ppl from south working north it ent have enough lanes for everybody to keep left when overtaking and who is able to overtake will have to slow down an cause traffic an even cause accident on the right cause they wont get chance to change lane

aka

Postby aka » May 11th, 2016, 3:03 pm

imagine, this nonsense of ticketing people for going above the bs limit by 1 and 2 km/h causing people to have their eyes on their speedometer so much now that they not even watching the rasclat road!

wtf we really doing? 1 step fwd, 2 steps backward! life inna babylon!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2016, 3:25 pm

BRZ wrote:
arakaras wrote:It's interesting how many people thinks the 50, 65 and 80 speed limits are good and shouldn't change. What was the speed you were driving before? Cause I can't remember seeing a lot of people driving at the speed limit before the speed guns. Just saying...

What one is accustomed to doing doesn't override the Existing LAWs that were never enforced to begin with.
What a pity you Pickup drivers don't quarrel and argue when you see people littering, I'm sure you usually turn a blind eye! but omg god forbid Police make you drive within the limit of 65!

I am so glad they have to drive at 65 ...
For too long these vehicles have been a burden to T&T, they pay less taxes, their running costs are subsidized by we the tax payers.

Make them drive at 65kph and stick to the left lane, raise the price of diesel to its actual price and charge VAT on it, Make it so you have to have a registered business/farmers card to land them as T vehicles otherwise its landed as a P with P level taxes. Also make inspection necessary for every year after year 4.

Now that is progressive policies

aka

Postby aka » May 11th, 2016, 3:35 pm

Food for thought...

Will lowering the speed limit reduce crash frequency? Again, unlikely. Although lowering the speed limit is often seen as a solution to preventing crashes, this is not the case. Crashes are most often the result of driver inattention and driver
error. However, if a posted speed limit is unrealistically low, it creates a greater speed variance (i.e. some drivers follow the speed limit, while most drive at a higher speed that seems reasonable to them). This speed variance can lead to tailgating, unsafe passing, road rage, and ultimately to more crashes.

What Realistic Speed Limits Do: Realistic speed limits are of public importance for a variety of reasons:
1. They invite public compliance by conforming to the behavior of the majority.
2. They give a clear reminder of reasonable and prudent speeds to non-conforming violators.
3. They offer an effective enforcement tool to the police.
4. They tend to minimize the public antagonism toward police enforcement that results from obviously unreasonable regulations.
5. They encourage drivers to travel at the speed where the risk of accident involvement is the lowest.

What Unrealistic Speed Limits Do: Unrealistic speed limits are also of public importance for the following reasons:
1. They do not invite voluntary compliance, since they do not reflect the behavior of the majority.
2. They make the behavior of the majority unlawful.
3. They increase public antagonism toward the police, since the police are enforcing a “speed trap”.
4. They may create a bad image for a community in the eyes of tourists.
5. They may increase the potential for accidents along a roadway.

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » May 11th, 2016, 6:10 pm

That MGW of 2540kg is low. What is the MGW of pickups nowadays?
My Sportero is 2850 kgs. Is 65 for me
Last edited by 25 to LIFE on May 11th, 2016, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.