Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

chit8238

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby chit8238 » May 9th, 2016, 8:53 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Is it me alone or aaron17 rel annoying?

Anyway, Allergic is right. Almost all cars' speedometers are slightly overestimated, stock. Well from my experience.

More recent vehicles yeah. Noticed in older ones that the speedo reads exact so people best needs to check theirs.

Note also guys that tire diameter also affects the speedometer reading. It changes the gearing. Larger tires will cause the speedometer to read less than actual speed and vice versa.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 9th, 2016, 8:55 am

chit8238 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Is it me alone or aaron17 rel annoying?

Anyway, Allergic is right. Almost all cars' speedometers are slightly overestimated, stock. Well from my experience.

More recent vehicles yeah. Noticed in older ones that the speedo reads exact so people best needs to check theirs.

Note also guys that tire diameter also affects the speedometer reading. It changes the gearing. Larger tires will cause the speedometer to read less than actual speed and vice versa.

Yup. Hence why I said stock. Stock setup with stock rims and tyres tend to be underestimated as well.

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2016, 9:01 am

By how much numbers are we talking about may I ask? ( sorry if this is an annoying question :o)
(p.s. I don't have waze in car)

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 9th, 2016, 9:04 am

Les Bain wrote:Having a previous upper limit of 90, I don't agree with the petition's upper limit of 120. While I am adjusting to 80 in a positive way (increased weekly gas mileage), I'd agree with an upper limit of 90.

Still witnessing a minority of reckless speeding and lane weaving but I must admit a substantial increase of ease being on the roadways. Dreading enforcement of the 50km/h routes though. 60 works better.

I fearing the same thing. I go 50-60 on most rural areas. On the 'tasker' road however it's a lil faster: most vehicles clocking around 80.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 9th, 2016, 9:04 am

aaron17 wrote:By how much numbers are we talking about may I ask? ( sorry if this is an annoying question :o)

https://tiresize.com/speedometer-calibration/

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2016, 9:10 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
aaron17 wrote:By how much numbers are we talking about may I ask? ( sorry if this is an annoying question :o)

https://tiresize.com/speedometer-calibration/

thx

Postby Redman » May 9th, 2016, 9:22 am

^^^^^^^^
We should make the step to fixed cameras/radar and mailed tickets.
Yes there are issues with License office-but that might also be away to weed out those issues.

The fly overs should be great locations for this when the infractions fall off to some acceptable level....implying that we complying with some rules...raise the speed limit.
And re assess.

Why isnt defensive driving courses MANDATORY for new drivers?

daas

Postby daas » May 9th, 2016, 9:47 am

Maintaining a steady 75 now on the right lane watchin all them fuggers form a line behind me. Bad mind but idc take speed limit iymc...and let d police come up ah slowin dong even more!!

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 10:01 am

Keep left unless when OVERTAKING

Postby j.o.e » May 9th, 2016, 10:05 am

sMASH wrote:Keep left unless when OVERTAKING

This

daas

Postby daas » May 9th, 2016, 10:09 am

HYMC!

Postby tr1ad » May 9th, 2016, 10:13 am

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:Keep left unless when OVERTAKING

This

Agreed but not enforced

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 9th, 2016, 10:26 am

Postby pete » May 9th, 2016, 10:31 am

If someone is in the left lane at 63 and I'm in the right at 65 it's still overtaking eh.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » May 9th, 2016, 11:10 am

Redman wrote:^^^^^^^^
We should make the step to fixed cameras/radar and mailed tickets.
Yes there are issues with License office-but that might also be away to weed out those issues.

The fly overs should be great locations for this when the infractions fall off to some acceptable level....implying that we complying with some rules...raise the speed limit.
And re assess.

Why isnt defensive driving courses MANDATORY for new drivers?

Defensive driving helps but It cannot prepare you for some of the madness that takes place on our roadways. Also like most tools the application can change... It can be used to help an aggressive driver drive more aggressive

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 11:12 am

Right... so then, as long as there is a contiguous line of left lane traffic doing 63 and u over taking at 65..
Daas the spot right thur!
How ever long it take to over take the Line traffic, u are in the right.

Postby pete » May 9th, 2016, 11:39 am

Honestly once there is more than a few carlengths between the car on the left and the next car I'd move to that lane and let everyone pass. I'll be a bit of an ahole but not a total ahole. :)

Postby maj. tom » May 9th, 2016, 11:50 am

Oh this is very interesting and educational. Traffic jams are mostly caused by human psychology. This guy shows how that can happen. Observe what's going on in the video if you want to learn something. Merging jams and rubbernecking jams.

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2016, 12:13 pm

Which new cars on the market offer cruise control?
Last edited by Habit7 on May 9th, 2016, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 12:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:Which new cars on the market offers cruise control?

Nissan Qashqai

Postby DVSTT » May 9th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Well yes
IMG_20160509_115729.jpg

Postby Morpheus » May 9th, 2016, 12:30 pm

LoL

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 9th, 2016, 12:52 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Nissan Qashqai

Honda HRV, Vw Jetta

Others can feel free to add to the list.

Postby pete » May 9th, 2016, 12:57 pm

If they continue with the speed cameras for long enough I'm sure more companies will start offering it on all their cars.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 9th, 2016, 1:22 pm

daas wrote:Maintaining a steady 75 now on the right lane watchin all them fuggers form a line behind me. Bad mind but idc take speed limit iymc...and let d police come up ah slowin dong even more!!

What about keep left except when overtaking do you not understand? Illiterate mentality..chances are you were doing this dumb stuff even the speed limit started to be heavily enforced. *sigh* question though..can you be charged for driving 'too slow' on the highway, thus creating another potential hazard??

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 9th, 2016, 1:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Nissan Qashqai

Honda HRV, Vw Jetta

Provided this list isn't specific to cars only, the new Frontier has Cruise Control as well.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 9th, 2016, 1:55 pm

Just now Imbutt go TAX vehicles with cruise control :fist:

Postby Les Bain » May 9th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Just now you might hear they impose a speed limit on racing games too.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 9th, 2016, 2:50 pm

DVSTT wrote:Well yes

Well if a Sportero is a "T" then he should have not crossed 65 kms!

whats the problem?

SLOW da fack down! and stay in yuh left lane!

urbandilema

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby urbandilema » May 9th, 2016, 2:59 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Nissan Qashqai

Honda HRV, Vw Jetta

Provided this list isn't specific to cars only, the new Frontier has Cruise Control as well.

New vigo has it also
1462820336019.jpg