3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » April 14th, 2016, 4:23 pm

I use sputniks as well, mankees has them 4-8 oz. Not the classic british ones with the slide locks but the bead and groove system. Holds well.

Postby SMc » April 14th, 2016, 4:34 pm

meccalli wrote:Guabine are euryhaline and can tolerate fluctuating salinity levels in the case of rivers that flood with the tide.

I used to catch them (and then release them) in the dry season when the water level was low in the river by me and they would get trapped in the ponds that built up on the low level banks. Them had big are teeth, smelled a bit weird and was definitely not something I want in my pot..next time let them fellas go if you can as that is a biggy.

Postby meccalli » April 14th, 2016, 4:57 pm

They're popular eating for guys who grew up with river fish. My grandfather loves the things along with cuscarub and river tarpon, can't say i share the same sentiments lol.

mojoe

Postby mojoe » April 15th, 2016, 7:28 am

Anybody ever caught a stingray an it kept jumping out d water while it was hooked? Happened to me yest caught a small 1,it planted itself den ran an kept jumpin out d water to get free.

Postby dougla_boy » April 15th, 2016, 7:33 am

was supposed to go out in the swamp today, but i couldnt duck work..smalls....hitting one real soon again

HSA

Postby HSA » April 15th, 2016, 9:08 am

mojoe wrote:Anybody ever caught a stingray an it kept jumping out d water while it was hooked? Happened to me yest caught a small 1,it planted itself den ran an kept jumpin out d water to get free.

sure it wasnt a manta???
sting rays usually go at the bottom and relax when hooked...

Postby dougla_boy » April 15th, 2016, 9:15 am

yup. wings does siddong....hardly they will float up.....probably a manta in truth

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 15th, 2016, 9:59 am

Anyone went north coast recently? how are the waters near cyril bay / shodo island? Planning trip for Monday.

Postby meccalli » April 15th, 2016, 10:42 am

Eagle rays jump playfully as well but i've never hooked one to see how it fights.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 15th, 2016, 6:17 pm

meccalli wrote:I use sputniks as well, mankees has them 4-8 oz. Not the classic british ones with the slide locks but the bead and groove system. Holds well.

Much tanks Meccalli

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 15th, 2016, 8:44 pm

The cow nosed ray does get on real wild on top d surface and kinda jump around too

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 16th, 2016, 8:24 pm

Nobody fish today or wat....

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby brams112 » April 16th, 2016, 9:20 pm

HSA wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:
HSA wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
HSA wrote:Caught some chairfoot and small salmon...a few cro cro, catfish and a couple of shark....twas a nice day

ohhh.....nice!

wah boatman u went with?

Got my lil pirogue bro.......boatmen killing ppl with price these days... 300+ ah head...

HSA could you give us a little run down on the cost to operate/purchase / dimensions of the boat.(approx cost )
where u launch / problems you have
I was thinking to invest in one but the initial cost appears to be high

First you have to decide on what built of boat u want. There are several including shantal,boston waler, deep v etc.
Get a reputable builder. I bought mines from a guy in mayaro who does this for a living and was recommended by alot of friends. These days boats are fully fibreglassed but some older ones are made of wood. Both are strong but wood will rot if exposed to water.

Make sure the back board where the engine is going is at an angle. The top should be more out then the bottom. Between 15 to 30 degrees. This is to enable the boat to run straight or plane. If the back board is straight, the boat will plough the water resulting in less performance and higher gas consumption.

Cost for a pirogue is approx 1000 per foot. So a 23 foot boat would cost approx 23000. But you have to cater extra for accessories including rope, anchor, cleats, lights, tackle etc.

Then you need an outboard engine. Depending on your preference there are alot of brands including yamaha, mercury, suzuki, honda, evinrude etc. These brands come both manual and electric. Manual meaning manual pull cord start and handle with throttle. Electric meaning electric start, steering, hydraulic lift etc. You would find that 100 hp and under is mostly manual while over is mostly electric. Its harder to physically handle a bigger size engine than a small one. An electric system will be more expensive but less physical labour when going out to sea. The cost for a brand new outboard is depending on the make and amount of horse power needed. A 75hp yamaha cost around 30000 new. A used one could go for 20000. A 48hp used yamaha is approx 13000. Also the hp of the engine should not exceed the lenght of the boat. For eg You dont want to put a v8 in a go cart. So a 23 foot pirogue could handle around a 75hp max. A formula bowen 32 feet could handle 2 x 300 hp easy.

Then you need to build a trailer if you decide to launch yourself. If you get or have a place with those racks and forklift like power boats then a trailer is not needed. The stronger the trailer the better. Aluminium trailers are way more expensive than diy metal ones but dont rust.

There are several places to launch. Central has alot including caroni bird sanctuary(blue river) and felicity. West coast has alot but mostly privately owned. East has beaches so guys launch from the beach....... up north i donno...

Once u have everything in order then all your cost is gas, bait and food. I launch from felicity and go from there. If i decide to go in the grand my cost is usually abt 400. 200 in gas, 100 in bait and 100 for food. Some days u catch your rass but thats how fishing is...gotta love it for the relaxation...

If u need any additional info feel free to call me 2983606. Hope this helps.

Nice details and to the point.

SPARTAN

Postby SPARTAN » April 17th, 2016, 2:51 pm

Hey bro I would like to kno where in mayaro u got ur boat a name an number would be nice ..thanks

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 17th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Manzan today, stingray, catfish bout ten tawat, melwish power...
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939838.667399.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939838.667399.jpg (16.52 KiB) Viewed 5587 times
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939830.235666.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939830.235666.jpg (20.64 KiB) Viewed 5587 times
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939823.553188.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939823.553188.jpg (15.69 KiB) Viewed 5587 times
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939812.290334.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460939812.290334.jpg (23.94 KiB) Viewed 5587 times

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 17th, 2016, 8:41 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460940079.687005.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460940089.327055.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460940100.933140.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460940109.188712.jpg

Postby joker » April 17th, 2016, 11:02 pm

Sargassum coming in owa?

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 18th, 2016, 6:33 am

It hv minimal amounts since march but it not bothersome, dats some old weed dat come up during d week gone.

Postby joker » April 18th, 2016, 9:09 am

OK cool

HSA

Re: RE: Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HSA » April 18th, 2016, 6:41 pm

SPARTAN wrote:Hey bro I would like to kno where in mayaro u got ur boat a name an number would be nice ..thanks

Hollis 7438852

trinichubz

Postby trinichubz » April 19th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Looking for a good boat to charter for a small trip... Preferrably a smaller cheaper boat. Thanks in advance guys

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 20th, 2016, 10:52 am

trinichubz wrote:Looking for a good boat to charter for a small trip... Preferrably a smaller cheaper boat. Thanks in advance guys

^^ what this guy said.

preferably 28ft -30ft for trolling north for kings

bumpie

Postby bumpie » April 22nd, 2016, 10:21 pm

[quote][/quote]Goin five island for the night tomorrow any advice on which island to go on and how fish does bite there anyone?
Last edited by bumpie on April 23rd, 2016, 7:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 22nd, 2016, 10:26 pm

First fish i hold in ah month

bumpie

Postby bumpie » April 23rd, 2016, 7:34 am

Goin five island tonight any advice anyone on what to expect and which island to fish from.

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » April 23rd, 2016, 9:18 am

is that a blue fin tuna?

Postby joker » April 23rd, 2016, 3:27 pm

[img]
FB_IMG_1461437818074.jpg
[/img]
1461439610060.jpg

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2016, 3:40 pm

when the bake and shark sharing?

Postby joker » April 23rd, 2016, 3:46 pm

Is a clip of 12 men I only geh bout 10lb...shark

Postby meccalli » April 23rd, 2016, 4:21 pm

Eat them before they eat yall, that's a damned bull shark. I hope allyuh doh wade at night with them things around. South coast?