Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Official Unemployment thread due to recession

Postby mero » March 25th, 2016, 10:14 am

S_2NR wrote:
This is absolutely true. 95% of people I know are doctors, lawyers, engineers.

So being known by you automatically guarantees a 95% chance of being or becoming a doctor, lawyer or engineer?

That elite circle life>>

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 25th, 2016, 10:30 am

Well dats wen u have training programmes...Where I work I came in as trainee n I didn't know nothing but I learned and still learn up to day...to add I don't have big time degree

Postby S_2NR » March 25th, 2016, 1:06 pm

mero wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
This is absolutely true. 95% of people I know are doctors, lawyers, engineers.

So being known by you automatically guarantees a 95% chance of being or becoming a doctor, lawyer or engineer?

That elite circle life>>

It doesn't feel elite when everyone has it. Prestige school problems lol.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 18th, 2016, 7:11 pm

Repsol just issued vsep packages to all permanent employees

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 18th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Repsol just issued vsep packages to all permanent employees

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 18th, 2016, 7:25 pm

And ngc lease their platform to repsol jus what day

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 18th, 2016, 7:48 pm

Sorry to hear tha news about repsol

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 18th, 2016, 9:42 pm

Wow :razz: some years ago I didn't get through for a position .... thanks for not accepting me repsol....

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: Official Unemployment thread due to recession

Postby racedriverpro » April 18th, 2016, 9:55 pm

eurogirl wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Well after someone spends 3-6 years either full time or part time studying and 'toiling' to get not just a degree, but educational and technical prowess in a particular field coupled with psychological and social advancement, then to come and work for a salary that the average person whom may not have any qualifications works for or even lower, is a form of exploitation in my opinion. What is the purpose of educational advancement in the first place? What is the motivation behind it? The belief is that one makes himself better equipped at acquiring high paying jobs and making him/herself more marketable.
An argument can be raised that they have little to no experience. In that case, what about the people that work during the day and go to university part time on evenings?

I can understand why some 'fresh out of university' folks want better.

Two solutions really, go straight for the high paying job, or keep yuh kant quiet and do what is expected of you in the lower paying one that you did manage to land. Keep in mind that these persons less qualified than you academically may have years of experience and can teach you a few things. The sense of entitlement irritates the fack out of people and those snobs quickly realize that their degree don't mean fack all.

EXACTLY !!!! just humble yuhself

I work n go to school( MSC ) I did my deg part time ..part of it was when i wasn't working it was very sad .. then I got a job .. and I proved my worth , I tell my CEO yesterday after he quarrel with me for something that was beyond my control de only reason I ain't leave yuh a$$ and go work for your competition who keep asking me to come work for him is coz I get to go to school .. not money not anything else .... I got a stink eye and was allowed to leave work early ... << thas my story I earned the right to be rude to my boss after he insult the hell outta me and I does still get in trouble with my company for " my tone of voice towards my fellow employees " I dunno na like ppl need to get over themselves .. As mg man does tell me ppl don't have real problems ...

I find some of these kids need to go work in penny wise n pack soap for a couple months or in a grocery and humble they mommy daddy taking care of me forever self ...

or work in a factory .. sometimes I wish I was still working in de factory my overtime use to mine me for the month and my base salary use to go into my savings !!!

Nah how the boss go treat u so? U deserve alot better.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » April 20th, 2016, 6:20 am

US Energy contractor Fluor is also following the latest trend, spoke to a few guys there recently, many have been retrenched in the last few months and more to come , seems after July they would no longer be in Trinidad. With their acquisition of Stork, that will be their only presence here in Trinidad.

abbow

Postby abbow » April 20th, 2016, 7:07 am

accept this happening as the norm for the next couple of years.....

some downstream companies that rely on the oil and gas industry will feel it as well....

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » April 20th, 2016, 7:35 am

Look on the bright side, BP is investing billions in its operations here In tt

Postby joker » April 20th, 2016, 7:46 am

Nu Iron and IPSl lining up ....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 20th, 2016, 8:02 am

Ipsl again?

Postby dougla_boy » April 20th, 2016, 12:22 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:US Energy contractor Fluor is also following the latest trend, spoke to a few guys there recently, many have been retrenched in the last few months and more to come , seems after July they would no longer be in Trinidad. With their acquisition of Stork, that will be their only presence here in Trinidad.

truth in this...laying off since last year.....had an auction sale last week for office furniture...after next month, das it for them....they would only hire people on a contract basis IF a job at Stork calls for it....

Postby nervewrecker » April 20th, 2016, 1:27 pm

Stork itself iffy. Know a kid that got called out and he back home.
Maybe as he green though.

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 20th, 2016, 5:18 pm

Curtms wrote:Wow :razz: some years ago I didn't get through for a position .... thanks for not accepting me repsol....
ditto

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2016, 10:24 pm

joker wrote:Nu Iron and IPSl lining up ....

Lining up for what? Job losses?

Postby joker » April 21st, 2016, 11:44 pm

Retrenchment of workers

Postby De Dragon » April 22nd, 2016, 1:42 am

joker wrote:Retrenchment of workers

Heard so about IPSL, Nu-Iron one is new.

Postby joker » April 22nd, 2016, 6:36 am

Well after mittal scene was a benchmark... Chump and follow suit for the companies ...count blessings if a vsep or retrenchment package offered cus centrin workers are yet to receive payment.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 22nd, 2016, 8:32 am

Pressure for workers yes...

Postby Chimera » April 22nd, 2016, 8:39 am

Pressure for families. Car payments,mortgage, bills, children bills......

Postby joker » April 22nd, 2016, 8:59 am

This just in ...a worker from centrin committed suicide.

kstt

Unemployment Count Thread

Postby kstt » February 23rd, 2017, 12:22 am

We know the figures given are inaccurate.

Let's get a better idea of how many people unemployed and on the breadline at this time.

Nothing to be ashamed about. Just to open the eyes of some people living in denial.

I will start.

#1 kstt-unemployed
#2 ?

screwbash

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby screwbash » February 23rd, 2017, 7:02 am

digicel sending home 25% of staff

Postby sMASH » February 23rd, 2017, 7:14 am

#1 kstt-unemployed
#2 sMASH

Postby sMASH » February 23rd, 2017, 7:15 am

the fact that the company is officially a contractor, makes the ~70 persons sent home, not in the figures the reporters count...

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » February 23rd, 2017, 8:45 am

#4 -Ex Mittal employee

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2017, 9:00 am

wasn't there one of these threads created last year when Mittal then GGI closed down?