Building a house in Trinidad

York

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby York » March 9th, 2016, 6:06 am

MD Marketers wrote:
rodni9450 wrote:What sizes of Beams should i use for a decking , concrete columns already exist 12' x 14' apart,
Complete Size 24' x 42'

Which one are you going?
I beam or rc beam?
For spans crossing 20' we use I beams since steel rods only come 19'6"s.
Another use of I beams is to eliminate center columns that take up space, especially in garages.

Since you already have rc columns and the span is at most 14' long you can go with an rc beam-.

Rods can be lapped 40-50 times the diameter so structurally it is joined. The size and quantity would determine how long you can go between columns. Better to keep beam 12 x 12 or 14 ". Actually it can be 12 x16 if the is designed to go up to the top of the floor slap.

I beams have to be sized appropriately. Not any can be used for 20 ft or more span. That's where structural engineers come in. I'm not an expert in steel beams but there would be rule of thumb for sizes of beams and span. Longer the span bigger and higher poundage of beams.

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » March 9th, 2016, 6:56 am

York wrote:
MD Marketers wrote:
rodni9450 wrote:What sizes of Beams should i use for a decking , concrete columns already exist 12' x 14' apart,
Complete Size 24' x 42'

Which one are you going?
I beam or rc beam?
For spans crossing 20' we use I beams since steel rods only come 19'6"s.
Another use of I beams is to eliminate center columns that take up space, especially in garages.

Since you already have rc columns and the span is at most 14' long you can go with an rc beam-.

Rods can be lapped 40-50 times the diameter so structurally it is joined. The size and quantity would determine how long you can go between columns. Better to keep beam 12 x 12 or 14 ". Actually it can be 12 x16 if the is designed to go up to the top of the floor slap.

I beams have to be sized appropriately. Not any can be used for 20 ft or more span. That's where structural engineers come in. I'm not an expert in steel beams but there would be rule of thumb for sizes of beams and span. Longer the span bigger and higher poundage of beams.

You're talking about splicing the beams.
Here are the overlap lengths for 3000 psi concrete (average):

D is the diameter of the bars to be spliced together.

Columns : 45 D
Beams :     60D
Slabs :       60 D

So if you want to lap 16mm dia beam bars (5/8) you need to provide an overlap of minimum 60x16 = 960 mm.

I never did like splicing an overhead beam but you are right York, the engineering books says they are a perfectly viable option.
Still prefer the I-Beams for spans crossing 20'.

Postby rspann » March 9th, 2016, 3:36 pm

urbandilema wrote:Well thanks for the info.the area I searched was two lots in gasparillo in two different locations.the first one I didn't really like as the location and the second one has a huge drop not exactly a flat piece.well I was depressing but I go continue the searching and process as I termed headache.if any tuners have land for sale in gasparillo or claxton bay pm.sorry if I asking too much..blessings

Urbandilema, I have 11000 sq ft in Prevatt st. Marabella. Just behind TECU, I looking for anything around $700g.

York

Postby York » March 9th, 2016, 4:40 pm

7004 sq ft in Freeport, approved T&C, 63 x 110 approximately. Asking $80 per sq ft ie $560,000.
Good paved road, houses next and opposite. Water, electricity, cable, phone, garbage , flat land.
Pm if interested. Negotiable slightly. 1.5 km from St Mary's is grocery, gas, pharmacies, KFC, bank machine, church, schools, play ground, Freeport health facility, BBQ, doubles, lol.

triplef_17

Postby triplef_17 » March 9th, 2016, 5:51 pm

Anyone ever cast a concrete beam with a 20ft span supported by only 2 columns & the beam taking the weight of a decking? Application of this beam - allowing a 20ft garage below decking.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » March 9th, 2016, 6:07 pm

triplef_17 wrote:Anyone ever cast a concrete beam with a 20ft span supported by only 2 columns & the beam taking the weight of a decking? Application of this beam - allowing a 20ft garage below decking.

Yes it can & has been done.
Specify if inside to inside is 20' or 18' please

low-profile

Postby low-profile » March 9th, 2016, 7:49 pm

building a split level (flat and 2 story)house, is auger piling necessary in the both parts of the house? location cunupia, flat land
if auger piling is needed, how deep?

York

Postby York » March 9th, 2016, 9:37 pm

MD Marketers wrote:
triplef_17 wrote:Anyone ever cast a concrete beam with a 20ft span supported by only 2 columns & the beam taking the weight of a decking? Application of this beam - allowing a 20ft garage below decking.

Yes it can & has been done.
Specify if inside to inside is 20' or 18' please
steel rods from the columns have to tie to(lap with) the steel rods in the beam. There should be at least 6 rods in the beam, 2 each top center and bottom, 5/8 inch, 20 in high concrete.

MD can advise about using steel I beams.

York

Postby York » March 9th, 2016, 9:50 pm

low-profile wrote:building a split level (flat and 2 story)house, is auger piling necessary in the both parts of the house? location cunupia, flat land

Nothing is necessary. Houses have been built for decades here without issues. However, if you talking about design....

Yes, do the piles as deep you can go, maybe 15 ft so they will come straight up to the foundation and floor of the house with one length of steel. It won't cost that much, maybe $15-20k. Good investment, upstairs house foundation, can't go wrong. Cunupia is generally a flat area, I would say recommended. When land is waterlogged, especially clay soil can move under the foundation.

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » March 9th, 2016, 10:38 pm

York wrote:
low-profile wrote:building a split level (flat and 2 story)house, is auger piling necessary in the both parts of the house? location cunupia, flat land

Nothing is necessary. Houses have been built for decades here without issues. However, if you talking about design....

Yes, do the piles as deep you can go, maybe 15 ft so they will come straight up to the foundation and floor of the house with one length of steel. It won't cost that much, maybe $15-20k. Good investment, upstairs house foundation, can't go wrong. Cunupia is generally a flat area, I would say recommended. When land is waterlogged, especially clay soil can move under the foundation.

Water logged soil can be a bit more tricky. I can show some ways to build in such areas. Not right now though. I'm behind schedule on my quotations these days, hopefully will have some free time to help you guys out soon.

ramorr

Postby ramorr » March 11th, 2016, 7:31 am

York wrote:

Do not ever come up with the same length of steel from the pile to the column. This is madness. This is what is done by some fly by night builders who have no clue what they are doing. Always have the pile separate from the column iron. Talk to a real builder with lots of experience and they will advise you better....

York

Postby York » March 11th, 2016, 4:16 pm

ramorr wrote:
York wrote:

Do not ever come up with the same length of steel from the pile to the column. This is madness. This is what is done by some fly by night builders who have no clue what they are doing. Always have the pile separate from the column iron. Talk to a real builder with lots of experience and they will advise you better....
you have said nothing. If everyone is doing it wrong, then is that the correct way? So what's the purpose of the pile? Not to tie into the foundation? There is steel in the foundation and column which is tied and similarly to the pile.

Anyhow, what i meant above is that the steel does not have to be cut and going deeper like 15ft instead of 10ft. And it's the compressive strength of the pile that's being used to support the structure. Or the pile may go up to the pad footing and pad footing to the column but all tied structurally!

elantra

Postby elantra » March 15th, 2016, 6:47 am

Good day presently doing a decking, need to buy some boxing board for the beams an possibly rent some ply. Any one knows any good sawmills etc. Located curepe side so anywhere closer is better. Thanks for the help

low-profile

Postby low-profile » March 19th, 2016, 7:56 am

hey guys. how far apart are stirrups placed?
using 5/8" rebar and 3/8" stirrups (8"x8")

MD Marketers

Postby MD Marketers » March 19th, 2016, 3:18 pm

low-profile wrote:hey guys. how far apart are stirrups placed?

8"s closer to the center of the beam/column and 4"s as you near the end.

It may vary dependent on span and supporting weight, but not by much.
There are reasons for everything. If you're not sure ask an architect or hire a consultant (wink) to inspect/direct every stage before you allow them to move on to the next stage.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 19th, 2016, 3:32 pm

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 19th, 2016, 3:51 pm

Nice man but how's d cost though

low-profile

Postby low-profile » March 20th, 2016, 6:12 am

MD Marketers wrote:

There are reasons for everything. If you're not sure ask an architect or hire a consultant (wink) to inspect/direct every stage before you allow them to move on to the next stage.

thanks man. great advice as usual

York

Postby York » March 20th, 2016, 10:07 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1680526622195484&id=1458713851043430

saw this

Anyone has a cost comparison with normal concrete/steel rebars and decking pan system?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 21st, 2016, 6:16 am

MD Marketers wrote:

MD Marketers, with all due respect please get a copy of the TTBS publication TTS 599: 2006 - Guide to the Design and Construction of Small Buildings before you give people advice. You seem to have some construction experience, and this guide will supplement your knowledge so that you can give people more informed advice.

For an 8" deep reinforced concrete beam, the stirrups should not exceed 5" spacing anywhere along the length of the beam. Not knowing the span of the beam, concrete strength, location in the structure, and purpose of the structure (domestic or commercial/industrial), it is even difficult to comment on whether an 8" deep beam or the proposed reinforcement is even sufficient for your needs. The shallowest recommended beam given in TTS 599: 2006 for domestic use is 300mm (12"), not 8" (200mm).

People, I am sure that if you look properly, you can find a copy of the recommended publication free on the internet. I strongly recommend that people into small building construction (2 storeys and less) and/or people looking to hire someone to design and build a small building for them get a copy of this publication. It is written for the layman to understand so that the end product will be able to stand up to the loads to which structures in our region are subjected.

stang

Postby stang » March 21st, 2016, 11:04 am

Good information in this thread for those needing guidance on constructing a home.

Thinking of building, but have no construction knowledge or experience and inquiring if an estimate can be provided on the following:

• A two story open floor plan with the dimension of 20x60 on flat stable land (can go longer if required and funds allow)—was informed of issues with TC
• A 12x12 porch in both downstairs and upstairs (might make it smaller)
• Three bedrooms upstairs with two baths and small study
• Living room, kitchen, dining room, washing room and toilet downstairs.

I really want to get an idea of construction for the foundation, walls, plumbing, electrical and roof as priority right now. Finishing off with tiles, suspended ceiling, doors/windows, kitchen, bath and fixtures will be done separate (estimate here is greatly appreciated also).

Thanks for any assistance.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 21st, 2016, 6:51 pm

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 21st, 2016, 6:59 pm

stang wrote:
Good information in this thread for those needing guidance on constructing a home.

Thinking of building, but have no construction knowledge or experience and inquiring if an estimate can be provided on the following:

• A two story open floor plan with the dimension of 20x60 on flat stable land (can go longer if required and funds allow)—was informed of issues with TC

I really want to get an idea of construction for the foundation, walls, plumbing, electrical and roof as priority right now. Finishing off with tiles, suspended ceiling, doors/windows, kitchen, bath and fixtures will be done separate (estimate here is greatly appreciated also).

why 20 feet wide?
60 feet will most likely give problems by T&C if its for a 50'x100' lot
maximum of 40%(i think) of total square footage allowed for residential lot

Postby brams112 » March 21st, 2016, 8:54 pm

GRIM wrote:look here
for a dwelling only
now pay me
http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/d7/pay%20me%20for%20this.jpg

Plenty men commenting can't read that piece of drawing :lol: :lol: .

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 21st, 2016, 9:14 pm

no shame in that, no one knows everything.
unless you in the construction industry and cant read drawings
then you have some serious problems and should not be let anywhere near a construction site let alone tell/give advice to anyone

skunk7

Postby skunk7 » March 21st, 2016, 9:23 pm

In for the info

GRIM

Postby GRIM » March 21st, 2016, 9:38 pm

oh and pay attention to the T16 (5/8'') steel and where the lengths end, if steel hadda cut and throw away do it. its like that for a reason.
if anyone tells you is 'OK' to have all the main reinforcement bars end at the same place on a load bearing rc beam (top and bottom) tell them fcuk off you have no idea what the as$ you talkin bout

and the 3/8" (T10) too they are placed 4'' & 6'' at the indicated places and need to be like that or very similar (depending on the design)

York

Postby York » March 21st, 2016, 10:08 pm

GRIM wrote:
stang wrote:

why 20 feet wide?
60 feet will most likely give problems by T&C if its for a 50'x100' lot
maximum of 40%(i think) of total square footage allowed for residential lot
it won't. 15ft front and 12ft back, max length can be 73ft. It's the width that's the problem in the upstairs floor plan, the rooms would have to be on one side and the baths and study on the other side with the corridor 3-4ft in the middle.

Another issue with it being so long, a second flight of stairs may be necessary.

Why only 20ft wide?

York

Postby York » March 21st, 2016, 10:18 pm

GRIM wrote:oh and pay attention to the T16 (5/8'') steel and where the lengths end, if steel hadda cut and throw away do it. its like that for a reason.
if anyone tells you is 'OK' to have all the main reinforcement bars end at the same place on a load bearing rc beam (top and bottom) tell them fcuk off you have no idea what the as$ you talkin bout

and the 3/8" (T10) too they are placed 4'' & 6'' at the indicated places and need to be like that or very similar (depending on the design)

Rebar/steel have to lap or bend and tie from one beam to the next or perpendicular one.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 22nd, 2016, 5:31 am

Raw materials rell cheap right now. Just go arcelor mittal compound and pickup what yuh could carry.