Take comfort we're not as bad as Trinidad

TriniAutoMart

Take comfort we're not as bad as Trinidad

Postby TriniAutoMart » March 2nd, 2016, 4:26 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/bar ... d-trinidad

BARBADOS: Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite has suggested that Barbadians can take comfort in the fact that the island’s crime situation is no where near as bad as that of neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago, which has recorded over 80 murders in just two months.

“There is an acceptance and or recognition in Barbados that crimes are solved,” Brathwaite said as he made reference to a video, allegedly of an incident in the twin island republic, which has been making the rounds on social media. During the brazen attack, which occurred in broad daylight, the victim was apparently shot multiple times by two men.

“You will not see that in Barbados, and part of the reason you will not see that in Barbados is, because we solve crimes. We lock up people for breaking the law, but if you live in a country that people believe that they can with impunity break the law and take life and that there will be no consequences that’s part of the reason why in some countries you see the kind of behaviour that you see.

“But in Barbados you know that we solve 90 to 95 per cent in particular of our homicides. So people don’t get away with the most egregious offences in this country and feel that they can commit them and disappear. That does not happen in our country,” Brathwaite insisted.

Last year, a total of 30 murders were reported on the island.

Insisting there was no “runaway crime”, Brathwaite told constituents at his first branch meeting for the year at his office in Belair, St Philip that there seemed to be a misperception of the situation in the country.

“What we are really seeing is a reversion to our 2013/ 2012 levels of crime in 2015,” said Brathwaite. He further argued that while crimes involving the use of firearms, as well as property offences were up, crime on the whole in Barbados was not out of control.

“The evidence will show we have not had a runaway situation with crime . . . we have what appears to be a situation where more of our young men are willing and or have been persuaded that they can use firearms randomly,” the Attorney General contended.

He also said he had been made aware of situations where “fellas at fetes don’t mind showing off their hardware etc.

“So it concerns us, and yes, we have an issue in that regard,” added Brathwaite.

SOURCE: http://www.barbadostoday.bb

fallen_angel

Re: Take comfort we're not as bad as Trinidad

Postby fallen_angel » March 2nd, 2016, 4:29 pm

but god is a trini...not a bajan

Postby shogun » March 2nd, 2016, 4:43 pm

I don't mind him throwing us under the bus for his own political expediency, if it forces our authorities to get their acts together. We need to do MUCH better.

Lance

Postby Lance » March 2nd, 2016, 4:45 pm

We used to make the same comparison with Jamaica.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 2nd, 2016, 5:43 pm

shogun wrote:I don't mind him throwing us under the bus for his own political expediency, if it forces our authorities to get their acts together. We need to do MUCH better.

Well said.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 2nd, 2016, 6:12 pm

He eh lie!

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 6:30 pm

Up till 99'-2000 our murder rate was actually lower than Bim's. After the upsurge and mid to late 2000's peak,it was actually on a steady decline,a couple years ago which saw our rate hovering around 27-28/100,000 down from constant mid to high 30's to low to mid 40's/100,000,at our current rate we are at mid 30's.I really hope by the end of the year we are back to late 20's/100,000.It's disheartening and more disheartening is that the vast majority of people being killed are drug/gang/crime related yet still the rate reflects on the whole country and makes it look like any random person is at risk,when in reality you are more likely to be killed randomly in the US by any number of sickos than in T&T,at cinema ,church, mall, restaurant, daycare ,school etc,similar with robbery killings and killing of police officers.

Think about it guys in the US a Judge,Professor,Honor Student,Doctor,Police Officer,Family man can be your murderer and yet still they have cities with significantly higher murder rates than T&T currently as we speak.

We need strong willed administrators who are willing to take the bull by the horns and institute and properly enforce new firearm,gang laws such as no bail and life in prison with possible parole after positively responding to positive mind bending programs in prison,you wanna get out,put in the work. New corruption laws also has to be drafted and enforced. All police officers must wear functioning body cameras,and any unexplained abnormality in the operation of such would result in immediate suspension.

Also mandatory youth guidance programs such as enrollment in good old cadets and other discipline orientated entities,a boot camp like facility can also be considered for young trouble-makers ,and parents have to be legally held accountable for misdeeds of their kids be it at school or anywhere else.

A psyche change is required and we all can contribute by simply being polite and a bit more sensitive and responsive/communicative to people in general, Trinis are generally very rude,impolite,cynical and corrupt people,probably some of the worst in the world,time to pull it back.

Postby zoom rader » March 2nd, 2016, 6:39 pm

The figures are there to show that crime always increases with this present regime.

It's like everything on a standstill and a don't care attitude, but they must collect pay.

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 6:53 pm

So you saying with 400+ murders all's well and with a projected 480 it's not?

It's hit or miss padna..

Postby Habit7 » March 2nd, 2016, 7:18 pm

He is right but it kinda hard to hide in Barbados. It is the size of Tobago and almost as flat as Caroni. Plus Trinidad, Grenada and St. Vincent all serves as buffers from Venezuelan drugs and guns.

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 7:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:He is right but it kinda hard to hide in Barbados. It is the size of Tobago and almost as flat as Caroni. Plus Trinidad, Grenada and St. Vincent all serves as buffers from Venezuelan drugs and guns.

Correct...and for a little visitor Paradise Bim has some serious gunmen and bandits..Bim much hotter than Tobago,Tobago by itself is actually one of the safest islands in the Caribbean with a murder rate comparable to many advanced societies,you can almost feel the difference just by talking to a random Tobagonian,they on a different beat.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 2nd, 2016, 7:44 pm

word on the street is they referring to him as acting commissioner pull stones. all he does do is bun down weed fields and cah ketch a single murderer not even with cctv footage. right now yuh could kill who yuh want and get away just tie a jersey on yuh head. men drivin round in tief car for months. not sellin.. even tiefing rims to put on it and don it up. livin the free life. road block excercise tellin them wey not to pass with the tief car and what time. big guns in the ghetto, rocket launcher and antiaircraft, when yuh hear it ring out like a machine whistle is the bushmaster from predator a man pull for the prestige. inspector celebrity hold more man for maintenance than apprehend murderers in his jurisdiction. let them run free we feel sorry for the sufferin little youth dont want to put them in jail. let them murder and lie to yuh face they not in nuttn. prison too nice, they going in deliberately to get new links and contacts for bigger and better things. comin out when they want and drink beers by smokey and bunty. hop on the boat is ryeday to ryeday. plenty cocaine on the yachts, uzi and fancy gun too with gold handle. is only a matter of time before th emass shootings start takin place.. and they go escape after they set the place on fire too.

wah allyuh doin.. wah allyuh really doin. allyuh feel when allyuh dead allyuh chirren go survive in this environment you creatin and leavin for them? suffer the little children, eat mih food now and who hungry after thats they rass, shouldve been born sooner. we gone choo we gone choo

#ProphetofDoom

antlind

Postby antlind » March 2nd, 2016, 7:50 pm

Did Barbados ever pay back Trinidad that loan they got from PNM back in the Eric Willilams era?
Time to tally the interest and call in that loan. Mudder Arse Bajans and dem.
But the man does have a point though......

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2016, 8:09 pm

what's the PER CAPITA murder rate of barbados & trinidad? that would be a better comparison

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2016, 9:09 pm

Lance wrote:We used to make the same comparison with Jamaica.
we still do

Jamaica recorded 1,192 murders in 2015 compared to 410 in T&T.

The population of Jamaica is 2.715 million vs 1.341 million for Trinidad & Tobago.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2016, 9:14 pm

redmanjp wrote:what's the PER CAPITA murder rate of barbados & trinidad? that would be a better comparison
Barbados had 28 murders in 2015 and a population of 285,000 people

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2016, 9:27 pm

this comparison is a joke.
they have a smaller land mass, lower population, & a higher rate of bullers vs straight men than T&T, so a lower homicide rate is to be expected.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:what's the PER CAPITA murder rate of barbados & trinidad? that would be a better comparison

but that wasnt his point. his point was leaning more on the fact that they catch the murderers and bring them to justice. we have 4x the population of barbados but experience 16x the murders.. also instead 90-95% of murder cases dont get closed. allyuh doh forget the family that get home invaded and daughter raped in bathroom during SOE. even that was a catastrophic failure. as far as i know they neva ketch them fellas.

Postby S_2NR » March 2nd, 2016, 10:27 pm

Lots of trinis gonna be butthurt over this lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 2nd, 2016, 10:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:He is right but it kinda hard to hide in Barbados. It is the size of Tobago and almost as flat as Caroni. Plus Trinidad, Grenada and St. Vincent all serves as buffers from Venezuelan drugs and guns.

Barbados is 430 square KM

In stark contrast Trinidad is over 4000 Square KM

Barbados population is also way smaller than ours. I am not sure how anyone can compare Barbados to Trinidad especially since Barbados is currently a first world country to top it off. And the only country in the world with 100% FTTH Broadband access making it more developed than the USA.

At 430 Square KM you can do wonders.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 2nd, 2016, 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » March 2nd, 2016, 10:34 pm

ED yuh chupid?

read what Duane said

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 10:41 pm

Lance wrote:We used to make the same comparison with Jamaica.
we still do

Jamaica recorded 1,192 murders in 2015 compared to 410 in T&T.

The population of Jamaica is 2.715 million vs 1.341 million for Trinidad & Tobago.

They were still way ahead as of last year that would put them at about 44.20/100,000,T&T last year with that 410 would came in at approx 30.40,that's 14 more per 100,000,great progress from the times when our rate was almost on par with theirs. Basically they have twice our population and three times our murders,and they have also been fluctuating positively and negatively over the last few years.

Barbados's current rate is 10.74 and they are 10 times the UK's rate,great detection rate but Bim ain't no UK and UK citizens are very wary of the dangers, our rate was actually lower than theirs around '99-2000. It can turn up fast but Bim is really small at 166 sq miles,catching criminals is almost a guarantee.In the past I would go there and not once watch my back while wearing personal jewelry etc,but you can't do that again,you would get robbed and the assault/murder to robbery ratio is quite high.

Check out the Bajan comments below the article,lol.

Postby Habit7 » March 2nd, 2016, 10:42 pm

ED I have a bridge for sale rel cheap. PM me for more info.

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 10:51 pm

bluesclues wrote:

but that wasnt his point. his point was leaning more on the fact that they catch the murderers and bring them to justice. we have 4x the population of barbados but experience 16x the murders.. also instead 90-95% of murder cases dont get closed. allyuh doh forget the family that get home invaded and daughter raped in bathroom during SOE. even that was a catastrophic failure. as far as i know they neva ketch them fellas.

Be careful our rate last year was just under 3 times Bim's. In other words if they had our rate last year of 30.4 they would have had around 86 murders and not x 16 times. and if we had theirs we would have had 144 which was unthinkable less than 20 years ago right here in T&T,Bim's murder rate is just over 10 times the UK's rate btw.

In a small place like Bim that rate can tun up in a couple weeks. Great detection rate if true though,but then again the place is 166 square miles lol,and our population is actually 4.8 times theirs,not that it matters in typical per-capita calculations,but we have many different crime and social dynamics at play that just simply cannot be explained by mere numbers,plenty 'good bad guys' killing bad bad guys for robbing and terrorizing people too,plenty work to be done in plenty places..
Last edited by VII on March 2nd, 2016, 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

antlind

Postby antlind » March 2nd, 2016, 11:00 pm

All this back and forth. The bottom line is that our murder rate is scary and the corresponding conviction rate is a joke. Trinidad is no longer the paradise it once was. Given the choice I'm willing to bet 9/10 Trinis would prefer to live in Barbados.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » March 2nd, 2016, 11:01 pm

I love how people acting like Trinidad SO BIG with plenty places to hide . As if Trinis does go an hide in the Bush.

I guess nobody does ever get ketch in them big countries ever.

VII

Postby VII » March 2nd, 2016, 11:15 pm

EmilioA wrote:I love how people acting like Trinidad SO BIG with plenty places to hide . As if Trinis does go an hide in the Bush.

I guess nobody does ever get ketch in them big countries ever.

No those countries the people have totally different attitudes and a totally different psyche,my comparison was solely between Bim and T&T who share similar social ills in a smaller environment,and pal Bim's rate could sky rocket just as ours,some serious guns in Bim too and the yards are churning out lil yutes all the time,Bim also has work to do and they have to do it now,and I don't only mean police work,a murder rate of 10.7 isn't an acceptable 'developed' country or small island rate anyway,and of course ours is WAAY too damn high,and most Caribbean islands have high rates,some even higher than T&T's,plenty work to be done to end this scourge and it has to go from top to bottom.

I would like to again repeat that as late as 2000 our rate was lower than Bim's rate which was also lower than their current rate,everybody have to watch their a$$ and try to learn from others,even Bim.

Postby RASC » March 3rd, 2016, 12:08 am

I want to know what would be our murder rate if we subtract all the "good boys" who got killed.

What would be the net total from Jan 1- Mar 1 if we do some rough guesstimation by subtracting the "good boy" clan.

Postby S_2NR » March 3rd, 2016, 12:14 am

RASC wrote:I want to know what would be our murder rate if we subtract all the "good boys" who got killed.

impossible, they will simply be replenished with a new batch.
good boys is a symptom, not the problem.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » March 3rd, 2016, 1:02 am

As bad as the situation is i dont appreciate some small island,'first world' tourist ass licker speaking like that..
He can go shove a flying fish up his aids invested bajan ass..