Kalisnakov

Re: Body of woman in costume found at Queen's Park Savannah

Postby Kalisnakov » February 12th, 2016, 4:42 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Kalisnakov wrote:
bluefete wrote:http://www.businessinsider.com/why-japans-murder-rate-is-so-low-2014-4

How Japan's Murder Rate Got To Be So Incredibly Low

Pamela Engel
Apr. 11, 2014, 5:14 PM 91,988 35

Japan's homicide rate has been steadily decreasing since the 1950s, and now the country has one of the lowest homicide rates in the world, according to a new United Nations report.

Fewer than one person is murdered for every 100,000 in the population, compared to 4.8 for the United States and 44.7 in Belize.

So how did Japan get its own murder rate to be so low?

From the report:

The country's homicide rate is associated with a stable and prosperous society with low inequality and high levels of development. Young Japanese males now commit only a tenth of the homicides committed by their predecessors in 1955, and the age and sex distribution of victims tend to be uniform across age groups.

This has been attributed by some researchers to, amongst other factors, extremely low levels of gun ownership (1 in 175 households), a greater chance of detection (according to police data, 98 per cent of homicide cases are solved), the rejection of violence after the Second World War, the growth of affluence without the accompanying concentrations of poverty common in many highly developed countries, and the stigma of arrest for any crime in Japanese society.

Unlike the U.S., Japan has strict gun laws. Most guns are illegal, and there are tight restrictions on purchasing the few firearms that are allowed in the country, according to The Atlantic. Japan also has a rigorous testing and background-check process for those who seek to purchase a gun.

To put it all into perspective, the U.S. saw more than 12,000 firearm-related homicides in 2008, while Japan had only 11.

Should look up on how much ppl they execute for the year,prob if trinidad did that,we wouldent have a crime situation like we do........but say what.....jump n wave n wine....that's what is most important to us........

Did you even read the article you posted? Why not let Trinidad "try" they things that the researchers found relevant to reducing crime rate. Hanging gets rid of past perpetrators it has not been proven to prevent future ones.

TL:DR - The following things help reduce crime rate
More affluence within population (less crimes committed out of need)
Less inequality (less crimes committed out of envy or feeling of entitlement)
Less guns (less gun related crimes)
High crime solve rate - 98% (Less crimes committed cuz you know you 98% likely to get caught

Ask yourself, how many murderers does the average murderer commit? If hanging a person prevents that person from committing future crimes (fyi there are also other ways to do this), what impact will hanging people really have

By comparison
Trinidad is in a recession that is set to get worse due to the falling oil prices
Inequality everywhere due to corruption (Becoming a politician is like winning the lotto)
Guns not hard to get for the ones that really want to use it
Crime solve rate??? Lol

So tell me, how will bringing back hanging stop someone from committing a murder if he is poor, envious, has access to a gun and knows he is most likely not going to get caught.

Wel d 1s who get caught,make an example of them n I'm sure d rest of them wil think twice......until then they know there is no consequence for their action so they do as they want

Postby nemisis » February 12th, 2016, 7:46 pm

Kalisnakov wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Kalisnakov wrote:
bluefete wrote:http://www.businessinsider.com/why-japans-murder-rate-is-so-low-2014-4

Pamela Engel

Japan's homicide rate has been steadily decreasing since the 1950s, and now the country has one of the lowest homicide rates in the world, according to a new United Nations report.

Fewer than one person is murdered for every 100,000 in the population, compared to 4.8 for the United States and 44.7 in Belize.

From the report:

The country's homicide rate is associated with a stable and prosperous society with low inequality and high levels of development. Young Japanese males now commit only a tenth of the homicides committed by their predecessors in 1955, and the age and sex distribution of victims tend to be uniform across age groups.

This has been attributed by some researchers to, amongst other factors, extremely low levels of gun ownership (1 in 175 households), a greater chance of detection (according to police data, 98 per cent of homicide cases are solved), the rejection of violence after the Second World War, the growth of affluence without the accompanying concentrations of poverty common in many highly developed countries, and the stigma of arrest for any crime in Japanese society.

Unlike the U.S., Japan has strict gun laws. Most guns are illegal, and there are tight restrictions on purchasing the few firearms that are allowed in the country, according to The Atlantic. Japan also has a rigorous testing and background-check process for those who seek to purchase a gun.

To put it all into perspective, the U.S. saw more than 12,000 firearm-related homicides in 2008, while Japan had only 11.

Should look up on how much ppl they execute for the year,prob if trinidad did that,we wouldent have a crime situation like we do........but say what.....jump n wave n wine....that's what is most important to us........

Did you even read the article you posted? Why not let Trinidad "try" they things that the researchers found relevant to reducing crime rate. Hanging gets rid of past perpetrators it has not been proven to prevent future ones.

High crime solve rate - 98% (Less crimes committed cuz you know you 98% likely to get caught

Ask yourself, how many murderers does the average murderer commit? If hanging a person prevents that person from committing future crimes (fyi there are also other ways to do this), what impact will hanging people really have

By comparison
Trinidad is in a recession that is set to get worse due to the falling oil prices
Inequality everywhere due to corruption (Becoming a politician is like winning the lotto)
Crime solve rate??? Lol

So tell me, how will bringing back hanging stop someone from committing a murder if he is poor, envious, has access to a gun and knows he is most likely not going to get caught.

Wel d 1s who get caught,make an example of them n I'm sure d rest of them wil think twice......until then they know there is no consequence for their action so they do as they want
you can make all the example in the world if you can't consistently catch and prosecute then it makes no difference

Postby rollingstock » February 12th, 2016, 8:19 pm

Idiots everywhere.

FB_IMG_1455322258430.jpg

Postby Habit7 » February 12th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Postby S_2NR » February 12th, 2016, 9:33 pm

How pnm leaders so chupid though? They don't know when to shut up or they need to hire kamala pr team

Postby desifemlove » February 12th, 2016, 10:30 pm

japan has a high suicide rate though...yuh want that here? Japan has this since it's different in many ways....

trinis ent prepared for the cultural changes to mek homicide rates the same as in Japan. Kamla, Dr. R, all ah dem, does realise dat.

Postby desifemlove » February 12th, 2016, 10:36 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Kalisnakov wrote:

Pamela Engel

From the report:

By comparison
Crime solve rate??? Lol

Japan's economy has been poor for some time, but then due to their values going back centuries they're not lawless like trinis. Japanese like Chinese are disciplined...yuh expect Trinis to follow suit? lolol..

Postby Trini Hookah » February 13th, 2016, 3:17 am

desifemlove wrote:japan has a high suicide rate though...yuh want that here? Japan has this since it's different in many ways....

trinis ent prepared for the cultural changes to mek homicide rates the same as in Japan. Kamla, Dr. R, all ah dem, does realise dat.

???????

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 4:17 am

Hope people will now understand why we need to ban Carnival

Postby sMASH » February 13th, 2016, 6:59 am

The views and opinions expressed by this mayor does not represent my own.
But apparently it is backed by pnm

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 8:41 am

zoom rader wrote:Hope people will now understand why we need to ban Carnival

I agree. We also need to ban cars becuase how many people get killed in car accidents. You with me ZR ?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 8:46 am

desifemlove wrote:things don't add up.
she been here before.
so was she in a hotel?
limin with the fellow bandmembers?
wasshe kidnapped?
was she out late and in wrong place and wrong time?
was she tracked?
hmmm....the bandleaders got have tings to explain, not jus tto the TTPS, but the Japanese govt. and the deceased family.

She was not in a hotel. She and the other Japenese were staying in an Apt on Picton Street near the Savannah. Its close to where her body was found.

Her fellow Japanese lost track of her Tuesday afternoon on Tragerete Road. However she was seen at Silver Stars Panyard on Tuesday evening. The panyard is on Woodford Street which is one street from Picton.

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 8:53 am

EmilioA wrote:

I agree. We also need to ban cars becuase how many people get killed in car accidents. You with me ZR ?

Agrees, that's why I use my motorcycle

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 8:54 am

sMASH wrote:The views and opinions expressed by this mayor does not represent my own.
But apparently it is backed by pnm

And Habit7

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 13th, 2016, 9:19 am

1455369549624.jpg

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 9:32 am

EmilioA wrote:

Nah boy we have to ban that too.

See the motorcycle fatalities here.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150711 ... n-accident

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,215204.html

http://www.looptt.com/content/32-year-o ... -slams-car
Last edited by EmilioA on February 13th, 2016, 9:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 9:34 am

rollingstock wrote:Idiots everywhere.

FB_IMG_1455322258430.jpg

Wait the man really say that ?

What truth he think going to come out ? She was hitwoman for the cartel or something ?

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2016, 10:29 am

lol and these idiots hold positions of power eh

Postby desifemlove » February 13th, 2016, 10:34 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
desifemlove wrote:japan has a high suicide rate though...yuh want that here? Japan has this since it's different in many ways....

???????

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

what i meant was Japan has a differnent culture, where discipline and respect for the law are norms.

For us to get the same, we have to change. People ent prepared for that, but nothing ventured nothing gained. i suspect this is why PNM/UNC ent done nothing bout crime, cos dey does have ting easy and ent want get ketch and not forsake eat ah food cultures.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » February 13th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Smh...Trinidad really get savage yes....its a real shame. De poor girl just dey to enjoy we culture and somebody just had to kill her. Really really sad!! Actually getting teary eyed typing this here...RIP Asami!!

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2016, 12:41 pm

Reminds me of Dana Seetahal actually. A true patriot who tried to develop the country and in the end just murdered and forgotten about. Motive still unclear. That is why it is best to buss out and find a better life from young when you could because one day it could be you.

I have family in Trinidad from the UK currently leaving tomorrow and they are feeling uncomfortable. Things trinis just accepted and grown accustomed is quite eye opening to a resident of a developed country.

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 12:46 pm

EmilioA wrote:

All caused by cagers

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 12:48 pm

S_2NR wrote:Reminds me of Dana Seetahal actually. A true patriot who tried to develop the country and in the end just murdered and forgotten about. Motive still unclear. That is why it is best to buss out and find a better life from young when you could because one day it could be you.

I have family in Trinidad from the UK currently leaving tomorrow and they are feeling uncomfortable. Things trinis just accepted and grown accustomed is quite eye opening to a resident of a developed country.

People will take long to understand that carnival is the downfall of trin society and culture

Dimitri111

Postby Dimitri111 » February 13th, 2016, 1:21 pm

S_2NR wrote:Reminds me of Dana Seetahal actually. A true patriot who tried to develop the country and in the end just murdered and forgotten about. Motive still unclear. That is why it is best to buss out and find a better life from young when you could because one day it could be you.

People will take long to understand that carnival is the downfall of trin society and culture

Yet still they will not ban it. Even though we are in hard times.

Daran

Postby Daran » February 13th, 2016, 1:37 pm

Dimitri111 wrote:

Yet still they will not ban it. Even though we are in hard times.

In my opinion Carnival is one of our few redeeming qualities. Why ban something that provides much enjoyment, creates tones of jobs and celebrates our sexy women.

Stop being prudes and develop carnival further. There is much potential in it, the biggest keep back is incompetent trinis.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 2:02 pm

EmilioA wrote:

All caused by cagers

Exactly. So motorcycles need to be banned. I glad you agree.

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 2:15 pm

EmilioA wrote:

All caused by cagers

You and others are the types of clowns that show no respect for Road cyclist and other road users.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2016, 2:42 pm

there is a lot correct about this statement,
right now carnival is pure private profiteering
all the stands and facilities the govt put up were barely used apart from the toilets.

The only govt event that gets a crowd is pan and 99% of the people not going for pan anyways.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » February 13th, 2016, 3:10 pm

EmilioA wrote:

All caused by cagers

You and others are the types of clowns that show no respect for Road cyclist and other road users.

What you vex for ? :D Ent I say ban cars too. No special treatment for anybody. :lol:

Postby desifemlove » February 13th, 2016, 4:13 pm

why? so once carnival goes, it all good? what about corrupt hypocritial politicians (on both sides)? what about uneducated people who does follow everyting Kamla or Rowley says? carnival gone ent gonna affect dat.