Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2016, 6:05 pm

Dam ..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 1st, 2016, 6:11 pm

want2liqur wrote:I have a 15mb plan but as of lately around 7ish I tend to get some crappy ass speeds and all these ppl telling me to do is call customer service just for them to tell the the same bs all the time

I read where during peak time when demand is high everyone's speeds reduce. A feature of cable internet versus dsl.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 1st, 2016, 6:12 pm

during peek hours is to pee and go in bed lol
at least you getting something man like effective mubbe getting shutdown completly during them hours

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 7:08 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:during peek hours is to pee and go in bed lol
at least you getting something man like effective mubbe getting shutdown completly during them hours

That is exactly what does happen to me.

major disconnect, the net lasts 8 seconds then disconnects for 50 seconds.

It comes back on this time might last 5 seconds at 2mbps then after the 5 seconds it drops back to my standard 128k package for 30 seconds or so then finally hits the other package they subscribed my account to.

Yes the 0.1KB/S package, where that lasts for a few hours. Then if I am lucky I am put back on the 56k package.

So once Massy Fibre is reliable, it eh matter how low their packages are, everybody knows by now that anything flow say is not meant to be taken seriously. At the end of the day Flow can increase our speeds at 400% for free, this still does not change the fact that 400% of 0KB/S is still 0KB/S

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 7:19 pm

want2liqur wrote:I have a 15mb plan but as of lately around 7ish I tend to get some crappy ass speeds and all these ppl telling me to do is call customer service just for them to tell the the same bs all the time

Look how you complaining about nothing hoss.

You should be on your bending knees thanking the good lord in the sky, for those speeds you getting. Do you realize that even though I am paying for a 15MB plan, Flow has me on a 128K package? that often drops to 56k and 0K?

Once weekend hit, is level 0KB/S in my rootuun kutooon!! I does be dreaming of the day when I could experience things like 4Mb etc.

Postby maj. tom » February 1st, 2016, 7:23 pm

You probably harass Flow so much with your girly whining that they probably have a note for all reps on your account that you're a pain in the ass and to just ignore you and throttle you for the sheit u does call them for. A manager probably even sign off on it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 7:27 pm

maj. tom wrote:You probably harass Flow so much with your girly whining that they probably have a note for all reps on your account that you're a pain in the ass and to just ignore you and throttle you for the sheit u does call them for. A manager probably even sign off on it.

I heard that Santa Claus is probably real as well.

Ow wait maybe just maybe, I contacted flow 2 times in my life because I don't have $100 in phone cards to wait hours on standby like everyone else in this country.

Or MAYBE just MAYBE all those countless posts from angry customers that flow has to delete on facebook daily is actually REAL?

But hey "probably" could be something.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 1st, 2016, 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2016, 7:29 pm

You all realise that ED is affiliated to one of flows competitors right?

Postby Spitfir3 » February 1st, 2016, 7:49 pm

ED call flow and let them upgrade your package to the 30Mb for the extra $20 as i tell you it seemed to have fixed my problem and i was getting the same problem as you

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 1st, 2016, 7:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:You probably harass Flow so much with your girly whining that they probably have a note for all reps on your account that you're a pain in the ass and to just ignore you and throttle you for the sheit u does call them for. A manager probably even sign off on it.

Well Flow is not actually throttling him, Flow problem is due to over subscription on flow CMTS systems. Also all ISPs in Trinidad do planned works at late hours in the night as peak traffic is usually at its lowest so its either he is suffering from those utilization issues or some engineer in flow is doing planned works at that hour.

What he is saying actually happens a lot to a few of flow customers at peak hours in the night, hence why the FTTH solution from Digi and Massy are actually better than the Docsis 3.0 sheit Flow provides since utilization can be easier managed on a FTTH solution.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 8:11 pm

Fadakartel wrote:

Well Flow is not actually throttling him, Flow problem is due to over subscription on flow CMTS systems. Also all ISPs in Trinidad do planned works at late hours in the night as peak traffic is usually at its lowest so its either he is suffering from those utilization issues or some engineer in flow is doing planned works at that hour.

What he is saying actually happens a lot to a few of flow customers at peak hours in the night, hence why the FTTH solution from Digi and Massy are actually better than the Docsis 3.0 sheit Flow provides since utilization can be easier managed on a FTTH solution.

^ Good thing we have real Engineers on this forum who actually work in this field, and know what the hell they are saying, this is why I doh bother with the members the E-Gangster crew.

Tough guys who feel keyboard and bayrum does make them ah real E-Gangster.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 8:24 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:ED call flow and let them upgrade your package to the 30Mb for the extra $20 as i tell you it seemed to have fixed my problem and i was getting the same problem as you

The main reason I don't bother to make reports to flow about the issue is well you have to pay to call, I once spent $100 in phone card trying to get through with Flow to have this issue looked at.

BUT I will make a call and have it switched to 30Mbps and see what happens. If same issue I will switch to 3mb and see what happens. If same issue I will switch to Digicel.

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » February 1st, 2016, 8:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Look how you complaining about nothing hoss.

You should be on your bending knees thanking the good lord in the sky, for those speeds you getting. Do you realize that even though I am paying for a 15MB plan, Flow has me on a 128K package? that often drops to 56k and 0K?

Once weekend hit, is level 0KB/S in my rootuun kutooon!! I does be dreaming of the day when I could experience things like 4Mb etc.

Lol lucky you but during the day I'm barely home so when I come home on evenings and I gotta deal with this its frustrating

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » February 1st, 2016, 8:43 pm

Flow's auto attendant mentioned a Toll Free number. 877-FLOW
Last edited by 2WNBoost on February 1st, 2016, 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 8:45 pm

^yeah my guess is their network is overloaded, with Digicel taking away lots of customers from flow maybe this will ease up.

Thats my primary issue aswell, rubbish speed in peak hours to total disconnect. And if you feel I have it bad, my padner from freeport has it even worse. How does it get worse than 0KB well I eh know. lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 8:52 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Flow's auto attendant mentioned a Toll Free number. 877-FLOW

no

that is only for tstt land line and flow land line. The 2 things that make no sense paying for which is kinda the whole point of being a Flow customer. Who the hell even pay $40 for a useless land line phone monthly anyways?

That toll free thing is a gimmick by flow to fool people.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 1st, 2016, 9:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

no

that is only for tstt land line and flow land line. The 2 things that make no sense paying for which is kinda the whole point of being a Flow customer. Who the hell even pay $40 for a useless land line phone monthly anyways?

Nope, flow probly didnt wanna pay the fees that digi or bmobile asked for

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2016, 9:20 pm

^ And that there is their problem. You rather mamaguy people with your big and bold "toll free" campaign that is of no use to anyone than pay the fees required to deliver a quality customer service.

There has been little to no use for the need of a land line phone since the boom of the cellular phone. I tried suggesting to TSTT to offer a DRY DSL package years ago but never got anywhere with that, only in first world countries do they have dry DSL because TSTT knows thats a nice $40 they can milk from you.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 1st, 2016, 9:36 pm

shaq090 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

no

Nope, flow probly didnt wanna pay the fees that digi or bmobile asked for

All the time FLOW was selling cable to ppl without paying for the channels. Offer a proper toll free number!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 1st, 2016, 11:29 pm

Lol..and FTTH over GPON isn't a shared service?
Effectic, I'll ask the tech team to look into your issue again and to call you.

Daran

Postby Daran » February 1st, 2016, 11:47 pm

nismodriver wrote:

I feel I should interject here, Flow is shared at the last mile, meaning you'll have a group of persons sharing some predetermined bandwidth from that node back to the core. FTTH solutions are superior as they are fiber all the way to the core. This means the only limit to your GPON is on the core or a physical limit of the fiber infrastructure (which is probably 1gigabit all the way to the core).

Flow is notoriously inconsistent but always potentially 'capable' of high speeds. It's that up and down speed and latency that makes them inferior. You'll see the difference when you start using FTTH.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 2nd, 2016, 12:11 am

nismodriver wrote:

Boy I now get a Miss call from flow, lol was brushing teeth didn't expect a call at 12 AM. :lol:

Anyways Saw the modem lights blinking looks like they probably update the firmware or something from there end.

Well whatever they did, internet working boss now. lol better than ever.

Postby S_2NR » February 2nd, 2016, 4:09 am

got my upgrade. download all the things!

gencon

Postby gencon » February 2nd, 2016, 8:32 am

did a speed test yesterday, still at 15mb, looks I will have to call to get the upgrade.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 2nd, 2016, 8:59 am

Effectic, PM me a number to reach you.
They trying to call to confirm all is well.
I feel I should interject here, Flow is shared at the last mile, meaning you'll have a group of persons sharing some predetermined bandwidth from that node back to the core. FTTH solutions are superior as they are fiber all the way to the core. This means the only limit to your GPON is on the core or a physical limit of the fiber infrastructure (which is probably 1gigabit all the way to the core).

Sure, but can I interject with a bit of information for you? I've worked on both DOCSIS and GPON.
FTTH and Docsis are both split at the last mile. (GPON uses a splitter at the last mile).
Docisis is Fiber to the curb as well. Your coax isn't hundreds of KMs back to the main POP.
They both can go up to 1G back to their originating access router (and in some cases even higher). In the case of GPON, the access router is an OLT, case of Docsis, a CMTS.
Core network as you call it, is access network. If we talking core, we talking 10G/100G in the Core.
If someone in this day and age running 1G in the core...well..
I'm not out to argue folks, I'm just here to provide info.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » February 2nd, 2016, 9:47 am

Got through with the toll free number first time this morning, got the upgrade to 30 mbps.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » February 2nd, 2016, 9:56 am

I want to make the switch to flow bad, but with the amount of allyuh just here alone complaining of inconsistent service, have me holding my hand. :(

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 2nd, 2016, 10:04 am

instantfrugality wrote:did a speed test yesterday, still at 15mb, looks I will have to call to get the upgrade.

Yes you have to call and request it (15mb to 30mb upgrade). When I eventually got thru it took about 30 mins over the phone - 20 mins to actually get thru to a rep, and after I explained what I wanted 6 mins for them to upgrade while they had me on hold again. This was after trying 3 or 4 other times yesterday, each call on hold waiting for a rep for 15mins+, and some of those calls even cutting off and disconnecting after waiting so long. So prepare to be frustrated.

But the upgrade was immediate when they confirmed - I didn't even have to reset my modem.

Cordless phone battery was dying coming to the end while on hold waiting for them to confirm the upgrade. I was like :skurry:

Postby Spitfir3 » February 2nd, 2016, 10:43 am

originalbling wrote:I want to make the switch to flow bad, but with the amount of allyuh just here alone complaining of inconsistent service, have me holding my hand. :(

its either a hit or a miss i would say the service works well for MOST
if you are coming from tstt or greensh!t then i say go for it anything over them is an upgrade

and yea dredman i know that feel had to call 2 nights in row really the longest part is waiting for a csr to come on it took like 20 minutes a piece but once i got through the guy sort me out in a one

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2016, 10:51 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
originalbling wrote:I want to make the switch to flow bad, but with the amount of allyuh just here alone complaining of inconsistent service, have me holding my hand. :(

its either a hit or a miss i would say the service works well for MOST
if you are coming from tstt or greensh!t then i say go for it anything over them is an upgrade

and yea dredman i know that feel had to call 2 nights in row really the longest part is waiting for a csr to come on it took like 20 minutes a piece but once i got through the guy sort me out in a one

tell them someone in the house (or you) have online exams and its very important that its fixed
they guh feel sorry for yuh and send a csr faster