mantis

Importing a ATV from USA

Postby mantis » January 30th, 2016, 8:28 pm

Any one brought one in recently or who has knowledge on documents and
Costs involved of who to buy from.
Also is there a limit on size? and what will it cost to clear customs in Trinidad. Also Is there one who sells new ATV in Trinidad..

Re: Importing a ATV from USA

Postby DVSTT » January 31st, 2016, 6:42 am

I saw Anand low price supermarket has atvs for sale. The biggest one was 225cc 4fwd 1 reverse, $14,000.00.
Didn't see a brand on it though.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 31st, 2016, 7:05 am

In for info

mantis

Postby mantis » January 31st, 2016, 7:14 pm

Cool any more info..........

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2016, 8:26 pm

DVSTT wrote:I saw Anand high price supermarket has atvs for sale. The biggest one was 225cc 4fwd 1 reverse, $14,000.00.

*fixed

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2016, 9:26 pm

How u go register a left hand drive atv?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 31st, 2016, 9:48 pm

cinco wrote:How u go register a left hand drive atv?

1454291295148.jpg

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 31st, 2016, 11:05 pm

I brought one.

Direct from Miami.

Normal taxes you pay.
Import duties
Vat....etc
You will need the VN number along with all the other documents. For the atv.

I had to pay a motor vehicle tax on mine. Idk y because license office stopped licensing atv a while now.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1454295699.636342.jpg

mantis

Postby mantis » February 1st, 2016, 8:57 pm

Any more info

nickxytom

Re: RE: Re: Importing a ATV from USA

Postby nickxytom » April 23rd, 2016, 1:20 pm

gastly369 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:I saw Anand high price supermarket has atvs for sale. The biggest one was 225cc 4fwd 1 reverse, $14,000.00.

*fixed

You have a number for them?

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » April 24th, 2016, 7:05 pm

I went by green's on Friday...they have a brand new one there is a yamaha.......don't buy dem no brand name shitt fro m ALC...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 1st, 2016, 6:01 pm

GixxerMan wrote:I went by green's on Friday...they have a brand new one there is a yamaha.......don't buy dem no brand name shitt fro m ALC...

Went today to get some prices...

Things expensive as a used car...

This 90cc toy was 24k

They said they only bringing 2017 models and only 700cc engines.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 1st, 2016, 11:51 pm

those prices not bad
if you go on the manufacture website you can compare price, and then add shipping +vat +custom duties +headache

Postby supercharged turbo » September 2nd, 2016, 12:25 am

For that price,you could buy an offroad Jimny and still save thousands

Postby *KRONIK* » September 2nd, 2016, 6:22 am

hong kong phooey wrote:those prices not bad
if you go on the manufacture website you can compare price, and then add shipping +vat +custom duties +headache

How does the cost actually breakdown though?

New units are priced at US11k and less depending on the specs and model.

Curious to know as i wont mind importing a used 1....
A new unit definitely not on the budget

I forgot to mention.

The new units at Greens come with 1 year warranty and 2 free services and the option to continue servicing at their facility.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 3rd, 2016, 7:26 pm

There is a used car dealer on the highway before Monroe road heading south. He sells them new

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 16th, 2018, 5:35 pm

Anyone imported any recently?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » May 6th, 2018, 11:10 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:I brought one.

Direct from Miami.

Normal taxes you pay.
Import duties
Vat....etc
You will need the VN number along with all the other documents. For the atv.

I had to pay a motor vehicle tax on mine. Idk y because license office stopped licensing atv a while now.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1454295699.636342.jpg

How much it costed you in total?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 6th, 2018, 11:24 am

supercharged turbo wrote:For that price,you could buy an offroad Jimny and still save thousands

At 90k, you could get 3 jimny.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 6th, 2018, 11:39 am

Classic power sports in san fernando has honda/suzuki/polaris starting from 75k to 175k (for side by side) if allyuh still looking.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 6th, 2018, 12:26 pm

So what are the limitations of use for these....esp on side country roads...? Saw some on 12th for 10 gran..4x2...

Postby *KRONIK* » May 6th, 2018, 12:39 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:So what are the limitations of use for these....esp on side country roads...? Saw some on 12th for 10 gran..4x2...
Firstly, them thing for small money is crap. They made in china and parts hard to get.
The only chinese one with available parts is the kazuma and those are around 50k.

Usage is for private use only. Not for use on the government road.
There are a few pre-2008 "P" registered units which can be used on the road. But most can only be registered as "X" providing all the taxes etc were paid when it was imported.
X-plates comes with restictions for use.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 6th, 2018, 1:46 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:So what are the limitations of use for these....esp on side country roads...? Saw some on 12th for 10 gran..4x2...
Firstly, them thing for small money is crap. They made in china and parts hard to get.
The only chinese one with available parts is the kazuma and those are around 50k.

There are a few pre-2008 "P" registered units which can be used on the road. But most can only be registered as "X" providing all the taxes etc were paid when it was imported.

what other restrictions, besides forbidden from public roads?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 6th, 2018, 1:49 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

what other restrictions, besides forbidden from public roads?
Tbh...not sure exactly.
I was told i that "x" plates require police escort to be used on the road.
But what the law states...i cant say.

But from what i have seen "x" usually is for motor roller/forklifts and other construction equipment.

Maybe someone who has better info can chip in.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » May 7th, 2018, 9:28 am

X plates are used for vehicles that don't fall in to the other categories so it can range from heavy tractors, cranes and even ATV's because they dont classify as a usual vehicle. Would make sense if they were classified along with motor bikes but i guess the laws are pretty old so they wouldnt be included
F
(ii) (a) “Motor Vehicle/Light”—includes any motor vehicle (e.g., motor car,
station wagon, pick-up van, etc.) whose tare weight does not exceed 2 270
kilogrammes or whose m.g.w. does not exceed 2 950 kilogrammes.

(b) “Motor Vehicle/Heavy”—includes any motor vehicle whose m.g.w.
exceeds 2 950 kilogrammes but does not exceed 15 240 kilogrammes.

(c) “Motor Vehicle/Extra Heavy”—includes any motor vehicle whose
m.g.w. exceeds 15 240 kilogrammes.

(d) “Other”—includes application for a permit for a vehicle not listed at
1(ii) e.g., road roller, cranes, etc.

(iii) (a) “Private use”— includes use of a rented vehicle or use of any other
vehicle for non-commercial purposes.

(b) “Commercial use”— means use of a vehicle primarily for industrial or trade purposes

Postby *KRONIK* » May 7th, 2018, 9:36 am

Those that are registered as "P" are class 1. Same as motorbike.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 12th, 2019, 6:46 am

Is it illegal to bring an ATV down in parts and reassemble for offroad use?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 12th, 2019, 6:55 am

No
Just dont try to get it registered
TrinbagoMan wrote:Is it illegal to bring an ATV down in parts and reassemble for offroad use?

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 12th, 2019, 7:49 am

Thanks. I am thinking what it is the best way to bring down one.

If i order one through amazon to my ocean shipping company, will there be any special things i will have to do to clear it when it reaches.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 12th, 2019, 7:58 am

Not sure,
I never did it personally, but if you ordering a starting/driving one, then you will have to pay mvrt etc when it arrives.
I guess same procedure as importing a motorbike
TrinbagoMan wrote:Thanks. I am thinking what it is the best way to bring down one.

If i order one through amazon to my ocean shipping company, will there be any special things i will have to do to clear it when it reaches.