Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Denny's comes to T&T

Postby SR » January 12th, 2016, 5:29 pm

I have yet to find a bbq place with good bbq...... non of the above names mentioned are any good. All are fast cooked or steamed/boiled with somthing resembling a bbq sauce slapped on

Postby tr1ad » January 12th, 2016, 5:44 pm

SR wrote:I have yet to find a bbq place with good bbq...... non of the above names mentioned are any good. All are fast cooked or steamed/boiled with somthing resembling a bbq sauce slapped on

So yuh had bumpy' already?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 12th, 2016, 5:59 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Freling fuh ah marios new yorker now yes

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 7:23 pm

tr1ad wrote:
SR wrote:I have yet to find a bbq place with good bbq...... non of the above names mentioned are any good. All are fast cooked or steamed/boiled with somthing resembling a bbq sauce slapped on

So yuh had bumpy' already?

was in south today passed by bumpy but the place didnt had any1 ... will try back on sat ... i always passing ther to beat gulf traffic only today i saw d place yes ...

Postby A172 » January 12th, 2016, 7:40 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
acesinghit wrote:Mr. Chow's, Royal Castle, Mario's, Pizza Boys, Joe's and Eat It etc need to be all over this country. Support local people. We can each play a role in jump-starting the local food/restaurant industry!

I support all those establishments except for Mr chows, can't understand how ppl eating that food, acquired taste i guess.

men rating up peche ITT so clearly taste subjective

agreed on burger joint, dey bess

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 7:52 pm

nick639 wrote:Besides bbq, i would love to get some proper jerk meat yes

irie bites ariapita avenue .... best jerk ... try the red bean rice also ... it besss

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 7:54 pm

irie bites ariapita avenue .... best jerk ... try the red bean rice also ... it besss

Postby tr1ad » January 12th, 2016, 7:55 pm

10-01 wrote:

close but that's it

difficult to find authentic jerk

Re: Denny's here! - And other food joints - Food in General

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2016, 8:15 pm

It passable
1452644137418.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2016, 8:53 pm

as SR say, 100% of them bbq place does boil the chicken in sauce of some sort to precook
then just burn on the grill for a quick finish.

irie bites is hit/miss, they actually use a big name commercial smoker but really only use it more
like a rotisserie, often the meat is packed very close for maximum space usage and ends up sappy.

there is a yardie fella on smr curepe opposite kinshasa who has a nice jerk
looks like he makes the seasoning himself, you can taste the allspice etc

the one at lady young lookout not bad either
only problem is they use the imported cheap quality leg/thighs

I make a pretty decent jerk in my smoker :)

Postby cinco » January 12th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Heard big red food truck in d Savannah jerk is d bomb. Max bbq ftw

Postby tr1ad » January 12th, 2016, 8:59 pm

the seasoning in curepe is really good, but lyr is a hit and miss imho

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 12th, 2016, 10:05 pm

Aye aye....thread title change... It dont have a local food/rests ched already tho?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 12th, 2016, 10:09 pm

cinco wrote:Heard big red food truck in d Savannah jerk is d bomb. Max bbq ftw

in st helena the chicken does be bun ... mac salad ok ... but 4 / 10 ..

Postby Monk BANzai » January 13th, 2016, 12:50 am

went with some colleagues yesterday (Tuesday)...Crowd? what crowd?..... i been ketchin kix of the chessbun in here over the usual "now open/never see/come see" attitude.... issa new place... must be ram at first!!!

We went around 10:30am and the service was good .. place clean and bathroom very classy (more than in the US versions lol) the white lady who is the trainer was a little loud in the back and they ran out of chicken for something I bought but took it off the bill no charge.

Basically Oil and Carbs... will lose its Notoriety like anything else that came and opened and then ppl got accustomed to it.

Good breakfast option tho. esp as we were on a road trip and stopping for anything wasnt an option.

Postby RASC » January 13th, 2016, 2:34 am

Is it 24/7 yet guys?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 13th, 2016, 3:16 am

Yea jus like burger king. The risk vs reward having such a business in a crime ridden banana republic of a 3rd world country is as real as a unicorn.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 13th, 2016, 12:50 pm

Just a thought, it appears we still have a USD shortage in this country therefore the more we shop online and patronize these foreign fast food restaurants (amongst other things) we are actually denying local businesses the opportunity to grow and pay their suppliers on time. If T&T simply had Royal Castle and Marios as the two main FF restaurants then perhaps things would be a little brighter no? We were talking at the office and one person mentioned, it would be a great day when the foreign energy companies pack up and leave our shores so that Petrotrin can finally be the hugely profitable company it ought to be. Interesting twist but carrying on folks..

You want bess jerk besides irie bites?

try El Pecos (all locations) and Com Bak Jerk - QPS at nights

fadil

Postby fadil » January 13th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Tried bumpys recently, imo it's the same as original Bbq hut, don't like it

Postby pete » January 13th, 2016, 3:36 pm

Free coffee refills?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 13th, 2016, 3:51 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Image

went with some colleagues yesterday (Tuesday)...Crowd? what crowd?..... i been ketchin kix of the chessbun in here over the usual "now open/never see/come see" attitude.... issa new place... must be ram at first!!!

We went around 10:30am and the service was good .. place clean and bathroom very classy (more than in the US versions lol) the white lady who is the trainer was a little loud in the back and they ran out of chicken for something I bought but took it off the bill no charge.

Basically Oil and Carbs... will lose its Notoriety like anything else that came and opened and then ppl got accustomed to it.

Good breakfast option tho. esp as we were on a road trip and stopping for anything wasnt an option.

u call that classy .... u need to get out a bit more often bro

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 13th, 2016, 4:05 pm

Ofc everything woud start out as spick n span since is only a couple days they're open...duhhh. is if that same level of cleanliness cud b upheld come.next yr or if so much, 6 mths down the road

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 13th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Can vouch for Khallid's. Their box said is two locations now, cocoyea and Araipita avenue, anyone can confirm?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 13th, 2016, 5:25 pm

Craving a trini cheese steak from Burger Joint after reading this thread. I shall visit them shortly.

scabs

Postby scabs » January 14th, 2016, 8:20 am

Com bak jerk at qps is the sheit. Many a night, ive left south and driven up north for their jerk chicken! Khalids on the other hand is total failure. As others said before, it tastes like boiled chicken with bbq sauce. I like bumpys. Their sauce win.

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2016, 10:57 am

:( i eh know where to go

one man say bumpys good....i went and buy it...i give it a 6/10
plus other men say it tasteless

a next man say khalids real good...everyone else say it tasteless

it have any bbq place that everyone could agree on that tastes good?

bootmee

Postby bootmee » January 14th, 2016, 11:47 am

AYSN wrote::( i eh know where to go

MaxGrill

Postby tr1ad » January 14th, 2016, 12:42 pm

AYSN wrote::( i eh know where to go

you'll never get that,everyone has different tastes

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2016, 1:01 pm

nick639 wrote:Heard max grill on the tyson brand import chicken too... Hate that sheit

how come? Tried Claxton and hated it, it tasted funny, bought a case of Tyson and smoked it it tasted quite good

Postby Habit7 » January 14th, 2016, 1:04 pm

nick639 wrote:Pulled pork sammich by island bar, 1 woodbrook place... Their own does cut, 50 sum dollahs for sammich and a side.. Tasted well proper

You rel downplay that sandwich boy...it rel good!

If I didnt already name my first-born I would have given you the honour. That sandwich mash up my diet this week but it was worth it.