Official New Born Baby Thread

White CZ4A

Re: Offical New Born Baby Thread

Postby White CZ4A » December 17th, 2015, 9:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:Didn't get oval anywhere here. All the pharmacies said that the distributor has been out of stock for a long time.
I got a friend in Canada to send me some.

did it help?

now hit the 6mth mark with the little princess

Yeah it definitely did help. Tried other products but not much relief.
When we give him the oval, he starts passing gas within 5-10mins.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2015, 9:29 am

Wife in 37th week of pregnancy.........will be visiting this thread very often soon!!(Looked at it before and it was helpful in buying stuff upfront)

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 18th, 2015, 9:38 am

^Exciting times ahead bro. All the best!

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2015, 9:40 am

searchingone wrote:^Exciting times ahead bro. All the best!

Thanks.......only downside, not seeing the time to go see Star Wars.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 18th, 2015, 9:47 am

Lol I'm in that boat. Already made up my mind to watch it at home whenever. Small ting.

Forgot to mention this. Once birth is natural, doc would recommend frequent sitz baths with saltwater to speed up the healing process. Superpharm has them selling for under $100. Get that one time.

Postby tr1ad » December 18th, 2015, 9:48 am

searchingone wrote:^Exciting times ahead bro. All the best!

Thanks.......only downside, not seeing the time to go see Star Wars.

when you holding pikney for the first time...

all them thing eh go matter

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2015, 9:55 am

searchingone wrote:Lol I'm in that boat. Already made up my mind to watch it at home whenever. Small ting.

Forgot to mention this. Once birth is natural, doc would recommend frequent sitz baths with saltwater to speed up the healing process. Superpharm has them selling for under $100. Get that one time.

Yea my brother had a kid in October as well so we learning from his wife too. She mentioned that.
Our only concern so far is that the doc we have been going by is going on vacation from next week and would be back out on the week of the official due date. His replacement when we googled her is basically non existent on social media, news articles, medical directories. That has my wife concerned.

We visited Dr Prakashban Persad as a secondary doctor for some second opinions during the pregnancy but when we called him he too is going off on leave. He gave us some suggestions as well and they all on leave or going on leave too.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 18th, 2015, 10:54 am

If your regular doctor put things in place during her absence, maybe you need not worry, if you trust your doc.

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » December 18th, 2015, 11:50 am

Steamroller I know your plight and it would continue for a few months, as their digestive system adapts, I had used the Oval drops with my first born and it was a relief, presently I had to resort to the Little Remedies it works not as effective as the Oval though. Try to keep the baby upright after feeding, chest sleeping skin to skin contact. Gripe water is not really recommended for new borns at that age.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 19th, 2015, 9:20 am

Guys what's ur opinion on dha? I only been hearing how its necessary over the last couple years. Tbh i tink it's jus a stunt to sell certain milk. And plus the pediatrist said any whole milk.

Postby X_Factor » December 21st, 2015, 12:09 pm

yeah, marketing hype
if u check the ingredients all the milk brands have it anyways

Amit

Postby Amit » December 30th, 2015, 8:08 pm

where can i get colic calm gripe water to buy

baby is 8 days old. we used a gripe water from superpharm but no relief

Postby Dizzy28 » January 2nd, 2016, 9:05 am

Well guys the baby decide to bless us with his presence on New Years Day......a boy all of 8 lbs 8ozs!!!

Postby X_Factor » January 2nd, 2016, 9:32 am

niceee!!!
congrats

toscati

Postby toscati » January 2nd, 2016, 8:38 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Well guys the baby decide to bless us with his presence on New Years Day......a boy all of 8 lbs 8ozs!!!

What a blessing! Congrats on your little boy. Hold him tight to you! :D

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » January 6th, 2016, 9:56 pm

I got my Boy on December 19th. :D :D :D Will be a regular in this thread.... I have a few questions...

1: How often dose one feed a baby?.. His doctor said 2oz every 2-3 hrs but he seems to be hungry every 1 1/2 - 2 hr. We feed him every 2hrs.

2: He sleeps almost all day and wake half the night... During the day we have to wake him to feed. When we feed him around 10:30 - 11:00pm he will stay awake from then until 2:00 - 3:00 sometimes until 4:00am :( Crying in and out.

3: Once awake he doesn't like to be laying on his back to much... If we turn him a little to his side or hold him upwards he gtg.

toscati

Postby toscati » January 7th, 2016, 12:37 am

Congrats on your son!
How often does one feed a newborn baby? As often as they want. If he seems hungry before 2 hours have elapsed, then feed him by all means.
If he is sleeping during the day, say thank god and try to catch up on some sleep or necessary stuff. When my baby was a newborn, I used to wake him to feed. Now, my cardinal rule is "never wake a sleeping baby!" Of course, if a baby is pre-term or underweight, etc, then they need to be awakened, but if not, enjoy his sleeping hours!
Babies have their days and nights flip flopped, and wont sort them out for a few months yet. For some, it might be around the 3 or 4 month mark, for mine, it was closer to the 8 or 9 month mark that he started sleeping around 5 or 6 hours at night.
As for not liking lying on his back, it could be reflux, or it could be that he wants to be held. Most babies prefer to be warm and cuddled rather than to be lying down alone.
By the way, what does gtg mean?
Congrats again on your little boy!

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » January 7th, 2016, 5:06 pm

Thanks for the info. .. and GTG is short for "good to go" ... 8-)

Joey_nm

Postby Joey_nm » January 8th, 2016, 1:49 am

This is such an informative thread! My baby girl turns 18 months in January. Any suggestions in south for schools that could assist with potty training etc and would take really good care of her while at work?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » January 8th, 2016, 6:34 am

Joey_nm wrote:This is such an informative thread! My baby girl turns 18 months in January. Any suggestions in south for schools that could assist with potty training etc and would take really good care of her while at work?

Potty training is something you and your child have to learn on their own.Buys books and youtube have nice cartoons on potty training.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 9th, 2016, 6:59 am

*OUTSIDER* wrote:I got my Boy on December 19th. :D :D :D Will be a regular in this thread.... I have a few questions...

1: How often dose one feed a baby?.. His doctor said 2oz every 2-3 hrs but he seems to be hungry every 1 1/2 - 2 hr. We feed him every 2hrs.

2: He sleeps almost all day and wake half the night... During the day we have to wake him to feed. When we feed him around 10:30 - 11:00pm he will stay awake from then until 2:00 - 3:00 sometimes until 4:00am :( Crying in and out.

3: Once awake he doesn't like to be laying on his back to much... If we turn him a little to his side or hold him upwards he gtg.

Congrats man. Welcome to fatherhood!

1) feed on demand...especially if breastfed. Once you're getting the right amount of wet/poopy diapers, you'd know that he's getting enough food. http://www.newkidscenter.com/How-Often- ... -Poop.html
My wife and I bought a copy book and kept it next to his changing table. Kept a track of all poops and pees. Very important as your ped would need this info to determine whether he is getting enough food. And of course his weight..

2) he probably won't sort out his internal clock for a few more months. My son had it mixed up as well for the first couple months. So no worries there. He needs his sleep. More importantly keep a track of how long he sleeps per day. As long as he is getting 16-18hrs a day he should be fine. Sleep is very important for a baby.

3) IMO no worries with putting him on his Side once you're monitoring him. Our son was the same. Preferred his side. So we used to prop him on his side with a rolled blanket behind his back. But we would watch him all the time when this was done.

Postby X_Factor » January 11th, 2016, 10:27 pm

what method of discipline u guys use for ur toddler
under 2yrs

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2016, 10:49 pm

Limit toys, stern look( which i just perfected), time outs, and consistent message of good behaviour versus bad behaviour.
And of course good old spanking, small lash on hand or legs. nothing big.

khandman

Postby khandman » January 13th, 2016, 6:53 am

So baby girl had her first tumble last night. She's 8 months now and really moving. She was playing on the bed with her mom and needless to say, she dived a lot more than she usually does.

Hit her left side of her forehead on the wall. I was in the shower at the time. Hear the sound faintly and the immediate cry after and ran straight out of the shower. I slipped and fell flat on the ground. Lol. I think our immediate reaction was a little extreme cuz baby seems to be fine. She got a little bump but all her behavior is completely normal. No signs of concussion etc. But my wife and I still aren't talking after that incident.
Just thought I'd share. Hopefully im not alone and not the terrible parents that we are feeling like for letting her hit herself.

Postby X_Factor » January 13th, 2016, 7:24 am

hoss it happens...happened to us around that age where we contained him with pillows and left the room then we hear boop, and bawl...i guess luckily the pillow fell first and it kinda softened the impact

the forehead is the hardest part of the head at that age so probably no worries
once the "soft spot" on the head isnt raised and the child is moving normal u good

but after that incident we bought carpet and lined the floor thats around the bed to at least soften any impact that may happen instead of falling on the hard tile

khandman

Postby khandman » January 13th, 2016, 7:30 am

Nah she didn't fall off the bed. She just dove forward into the head of the bed. As i don't have a head board it was the wall. We put pillows in case but she jumped higher than expected, like over the pillow height. I guess it's cause all she wants to do now is stand and try to move forward.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 13th, 2016, 10:33 am

Those falls are good because it helps them learn what to do from what not to do.
Jah does protect them though cuz I saw my daughter do a flip off the couch I nearly shat meh self and after a lil cry she was ok.

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » January 13th, 2016, 12:11 pm

They're pretty resilient, I believe as parents we can over-react to some situations with kids, to my mind that's how they learn the boundaries for what is good or bad for them.

Postby RBphoto » January 13th, 2016, 2:00 pm

Congrats to the December babies.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 13th, 2016, 2:31 pm

Had our first pediatric visit yesterday with Dr Warris at SAPH. ideally would have liked to go with Dr Lackheeram as he was the one who checked the baby after birth but he booked solid into February. So far baby going good, his u cord fell off today.