Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Cantmis

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Cantmis » January 2nd, 2016, 9:22 am

drchaos wrote:Ey have a question! For a reef tank in our climate do we need a chiller? Room has no a/c but good airflow (breeze).

Search for the saltwater thread.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 2nd, 2016, 10:58 am

Curtms wrote:
drchaos wrote:Ey have a question! For a reef tank in our climate do we need a chiller? Room has no a/c but good airflow (breeze).

Search for the saltwater thread.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=488680

saintdrm

Postby saintdrm » January 3rd, 2016, 5:26 am

hey guys , I have some marine/reef aquarium equipment for sale in the miscellaneous section. Check it out, pass the word , thx.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 10th, 2016, 12:51 am

How much money in feed does 100 Tilapia take for the month?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 10th, 2016, 1:02 am

Have some hillaries..prob about 50..hi-fin and regular. Anybody interested in taking them?

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 10th, 2016, 9:16 am

I have a pair of Flowerhorns.. Male and female ready to breed... $300 for the pair if anyone wanna give them a new home... The male is huge and the female a bit smaller... Didnt measure them but they bigger than the palm of my hand...

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 10th, 2016, 9:26 am

shotta 20 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Just bred the hilaries, black mollies soon, still young though, will link yuh if they make it.
Trying my hand at the zebras but those fry are so frigging small.

No scn, will appreciate that very much.

If you still interested have some hilaries and green and black zebras. Only have 4 mollies, might keep them, gave away the breeders.

You want some more hillaries?

link

Postby link » January 10th, 2016, 9:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much money in feed does 100 Tilapia take for the month?

what size/weight re the fish ??

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2016, 12:04 am

shotta 20 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Just bred the hilaries, black mollies soon, still young though, will link yuh if they make it.

If you still interested have some hilaries and green and black zebras. Only have 4 mollies, might keep them, gave away the breeders.

Thanks but I have my hands full.
Looking to breed my black moors and Oscars.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 11th, 2016, 12:16 am

link wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much money in feed does 100 Tilapia take for the month?

I don't have any yet, am in the process of getting the tank for them now starting off. But was curious as to the cost to feed them inorder to supply myself with a steady supply of fish for 4 or 5 days a week.

Trying to measure the cost of feeding these versus say buying goat or lamb in the meat shop every now and then. Goat and Lamb in St Helena is $19 a pound, one of the cheapest prices I have seen.

link

Postby link » January 11th, 2016, 7:05 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
link wrote:

I don't have any yet, am in the process of getting the tank for them now starting off. But was curious as to the cost to feed them inorder to supply myself with a steady supply of fish for 4 or 5 days a week.

Trying to measure the cost of feeding these versus say buying goat or lamb in the meat shop every now and then. Goat and Lamb in St Helena is $19 a pound, one of the cheapest prices I have seen.

to get the approx 300 fish u need for above to eating weight (1-1 1/4 lb), will finally cost u abt $5 per fish after 6-7 months growing from fingerlings around 2 months old. After that weight, remember u hve to feed maintenance rations (the fish have to live healthily until its their turn to 'dutty' the pot). That interim feeding will be a continual cost (minimal, though) but the benefit is that the remaining fish will continue to grow until u eat all. That growth rate slows dramatically after 8-9 months & ,unless u hve all-male stock, u will encounter the problem of breeding which also negatively affects growth rate/fish quality.
BTW. that '300' figure assumes one person/fish/meal five days/week...and what about the 'second' growout tank u need so that your fish supply remains seamless when one tank is depleted ?
startup costs -aquatank,pump, filter tank,reserve water tank,piping for recirculating system not factored in above...but u can do that & chk final cost/fish to FIRST harvest. Second harvest obviously has only stock/feed/labour costs
good luck...it's a good project to do
Rgds

Postby DVSTT » January 11th, 2016, 7:51 am

180beast wrote:hello by chance any one has a arapaima for sale or fishes within this bracket? i am looking for this a while, and another thing i have a alligator gar for sale 450 and about 6 inches.

When I fix my pond later in the year I might take the car off your hands.

link

Postby link » January 11th, 2016, 1:07 pm

DVSTT wrote:
180beast wrote:hello by chance any one has a arapaima for sale or fishes within this bracket? i am looking for this a while, and another thing i have a alligator gar for sale 450 and about 6 inches.

done take dat gar, boi
will post an update after 3 months from 01Jan16
rgds

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 11th, 2016, 2:05 pm

shotta 20 wrote:

Thanks but I have my hands full.
Looking to breed my black moors and Oscars.

Where you getting good Black moor breeders?

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2016, 3:51 pm

I have a pair that I imported very small, still developing them, they're about the size of my hands.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » January 13th, 2016, 7:44 am

Free pacu inbox me
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1452685491.983217.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1452685491.983217.jpg (22.66 KiB) Viewed 6509 times

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » January 13th, 2016, 10:18 am

Anybody in here does the complete set up for an aquarium ? or could recommend someone to do it, please

link

Postby link » January 13th, 2016, 5:42 pm

innovative audio wrote:Free pacu inbox me

I'll take him...how big is he ??
tks

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 13th, 2016, 8:45 pm

innovative audio wrote:Free pacu inbox me

Trade for a pair of flowerhorns?

Postby DVSTT » January 13th, 2016, 10:33 pm

link wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

done take dat gar, boi
will post an update after 3 months from 01Jan16
rgds

Oh gorm.
Well I'll wait on pics then.

Postby DVSTT » January 14th, 2016, 6:53 pm

Any help for algae on aquarium plants? Having that issue.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 14th, 2016, 8:52 pm

Algae eaters

Postby DVSTT » January 14th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Curtms wrote:Algae eaters

Any ones in particular?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 14th, 2016, 11:22 pm

Siamese or Chinese algae eaters or plecos . I have a black shark minnow( don't recommend it)

Postby DVSTT » January 15th, 2016, 7:53 am

Curtms wrote:Siamese or Chinese algae eaters or plecos . I have a black shark minnow( don't recommend it)

Cool. Thanks. I'll take a spin by my pet shop and see what they have.

Postby rollingstock » January 16th, 2016, 2:11 pm

Tetra pond koi vibrance, where can I get this to buy in bulk, preferably in central.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 16th, 2016, 2:16 pm

Most of the big agri shops carry the 5lb bags

Its about 350 a bag

Postby rollingstock » January 16th, 2016, 2:35 pm

Cool thanks, will look around

Postby *KRONIK* » January 16th, 2016, 2:53 pm

If u dont get thru....motee and sons in sangre grande has in stock.

Plant and reap on tumpuna rd arima had in stock a while back too

Postby DVSTT » January 16th, 2016, 9:34 pm

I saw someone on fb has the 5lbs for $285.