Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

kyhamil

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby kyhamil » December 18th, 2015, 4:09 pm

Again not really into the reef thing yet...but id get more stores in nyc next week when i go... these 2 were close to the house... anything you think i should get as im here?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2015, 5:54 am

kyhamil wrote:Again not really into the reef thing yet...but id get more stores in nyc next week when i go... these 2 were close to the house... anything you think i should get as im here?

There are a few good saltwater stores in NY but NY is big...........It might not be close to you.
If was MIA or ATL, there are a good bit you can find with ease.
Yeah but why buy lights twice. Spend the extra money on some decent reef lights now instead of buying lights for FOWLR and have to upgrade later. Buy all yuh lil gadgets and yuh powerheads

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 19th, 2015, 8:56 am

Im thinking that same thing... thats why i want a bigger protein skimmer... id buy in parts cuz im always traveling...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2015, 2:47 pm

buy all yuh stuff like chemiclean, digital thermometers, glass cleaners, bacteria, books and NORI and other food and all that kinda small stuff.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » December 19th, 2015, 5:02 pm

HondaB20B wrote:will give you a check early next week

You in Trinidad ? I'm heading out for the Christmas, but if you need it you can still pass home for it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 27th, 2015, 6:07 pm

Any1 could tell me the price for snails/ clean up crew/ hermit crabs etc in trini?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 27th, 2015, 6:08 pm

A turbo snail is like $5 here i feel i vld brig it in my pocket

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 28th, 2015, 9:14 am

^ lol
it not worth getting charged for

i think raj does sell hermits and snails for $20. for one.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 28th, 2015, 3:54 pm

raj either sells for $25 or 30......................... so it really don't make sense.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 28th, 2015, 4:06 pm

Ok kool... i was just wondering... fish here are.realy cheap... 25 for a dwarf lion fish, 15 for clowns and they have a wide variety... i still haven't gotten my protein skimmer but i dont have space so i might just order 1

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 28th, 2015, 5:54 pm

fish are usually cheap, its just that people don't realize the cost for shipping, license, shipping duties, customs paperwork, and then when it reaches here, costs go up on each individual fish with the amount of fish losses you incur along with the money for the antibiotics and stuff to treat the fish

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 28th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Yeah for real... i still want to look into import license but i never have free time to just go

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 28th, 2015, 7:27 pm

kyhamil wrote:Yeah for real... i still want to look into import license but i never have free time to just go

you gotta have lots of tanks separated off to keep the different species away from each other. Along with having it set up and prepared a couple mths to take the livestock. That's a lot of water changes daily for the fish that may be sick. How you dealing with maintaing all the new fish when you already say you never have time

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 28th, 2015, 9:48 pm

Id set it up for when im on vacation for 2 month

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 28th, 2015, 9:51 pm

LOL.................... make sense

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 29th, 2015, 10:46 pm

Anyone know if raj or anyone brings these?
1451443544230.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 30th, 2015, 4:43 pm

Yup................. many times. He had a big one (12") up to early this year.
They grow to 20-24". They need to be in a predator tank. You cant have any small fish in there.

The clown or harlequin sweetlips, Plectorhinchus chaetodonoides. This species belongs to the family Haemulidae, which includes other sweetlips and grunts(so named for their ability to produce a grunting noise by grinding their pharyngeal teeth, which is amplified by the swimbladder).

There are nine species in the genus Plectorhinchus, several of which are commonly seen in aquarium stores. The most common is the clown sweetlips. It ranges from islands in the Indian Ocean, east to Samoa, north to southern Japan and south to Australia, and is typically found in waters 3 to 100 feet in depth (Myers 1989). Juveniles, under about 3 inches, are brown overall with black-bordered white spots and white-and-black fins. As they grow they develop brown spots on a white background, which become more numerous as they age. Not only is there a dramatic color change, but there is also a radical transformation in size! Most aquarists do not realize that this species gets big, attaining a maximum length of 24 inches. Therefore, it is important that you have a sizable aquarium (135 gallons or larger) if you hope to raise this fish to adulthood.

Besides appearance, another endearing quality of this fish is its swimming behavior, which is similar to that of a clownfish. Juveniles undulate their bodies and scull with their enlarged pectoral fins when they swim or when they hang in the water column. These exaggerated swimming movements, as well as the juvenile coloration, apparently function to deter would-be predators.

It has been suggested that they look like a noxious, or distasteful, flatworm and are avoided by predators as a result. This type of mimicry — when a nontoxic species resembles a toxic one — is called Batesian mimicry.

Although mimicking a noxious flatworm may help prevent the sweetlips from becoming predator chow, it does not give it immunity from aggressive species in the aquarium. The big wagging tail and waving paired fins of this species are perfect targets for combative tankmates, such as damselfishes, hawkfishes, certain angelfishes, tiggerfishes, pufferfishes and porcupinefishes. Therefore, another prerequisite for maintaining a small clown sweetlips is to house it with passive species.

During the day these fish hide in crevices, under ledges, among branching corals and between or under coral boulders. At night they come out to feed — the adult's diet consisting of mollusks, crustaceans and small fish (Myers 1989). Although no data exists on juvenile food habits, they probably feed on worms and small crustaceans.

Unfortunately, one of the biggest drawbacks to keeping this fish in captivity is getting it to feed. I have had the most success with live ghost or glass shrimp, often sold to freshwater aquarists. These shrimp are euryhaline (able to live in waters of a wide range of salinity) and will survive in full-strength seawater. In order to induce the fish to feed it is best that your clown sweetlips is not kept with aggressive feeders that will also eat these shrimp, such as squirrelfishes, soldierfishes, groupers, snappers, goatfishes, and large wrasses.

Once you induce feeding, food competitors can then be added. You can place the shrimp directly into the aquarium, but if it is packed with decor you may not be able to see if the fish locates and eats them. Try adding the shrimp in a shallow wide-mouthed jar, the opening of which should be big enough to allow the fish easy entry. Set the jar on the bottom of the aquarium with the mouth up. The shrimp will be unable to escape, but the fish will be able to swim in and eat them! Fortunately, as clown sweetlips mature they become less finicky about accepting aquarium fare.

Sometimes these fish will eat for weeks or months and then suddenly cease and die for no apparent reason. This may indicate the fish was captured with drugs (cyanide), the effects of which may not manifest themselves immediately. Death may also be the result of some key nutritional ingredient missing from their diets.

If you have to use glass or brine shrimp to get your sweetlips to feed, it is a good idea to wean them off live food and try and feed them a more varied diet. Soaking frozen or fresh foods in Selcon (a vitamin and fatty acid supplement from American Marine Inc.) before it is fed will also help ensure long-term health.

As mentioned above juveniles are also somewhat reclusive during the day. Therefore, it is important to provide them with good hiding places to reduce stress levels.

In conclusion,This is a sensitive fish that is not easy to maintain. Thus, I would recommend that you avoid this fish unless you are willing to meet the specific needs prescribed above.
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 31st, 2015, 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 30th, 2015, 5:32 pm

See that why i like the forum... gd info... i got some stuff on the list you sent at a reasonable price... more or less the same as amazon

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » January 3rd, 2016, 12:18 pm

I put up the thermometers on my 2 tanks... the temps are 82F (20 gallon inside) and 84F (75gal in the garage), can a cleaner shrimp, star fish or other invertibrates survive with these Temps without a chiller and im thinking of getting the snails next week...

I got the kent purple up, fluval cycle bio booster, test strips, a intank stick on that test the water parameters and is supposed to last a year, chemi pure elite and a special blend ( the one raj sells)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 3rd, 2016, 12:54 pm

You just saying 82F, but what is your fluctuation. Is the 82F the high side or low side. You should be able to get away with it. The 84 also. Then again.......... GOPAUL LUCK AINT SEEPAUL LUCK

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » January 3rd, 2016, 1:28 pm

It was this morning id check again ltr but its between 82-83 i didnt check the outside tank

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 3rd, 2016, 4:48 pm

check it. It should work but the problem is the fluctuations that may affect them.
and remember lights and pumps also raise temps

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » January 3rd, 2016, 6:10 pm

Since i dont have reefs my lights only come on when guest are over... other than that its the regular house lights and the temp in the house is usually stable, its the outside i most likely would have probs with

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 5th, 2016, 11:11 am

Anyone know where I can get these specific items in Trinidad?
Plant growth aquarium gravel
Activated coal for aquariums
Absorbing zeolite for aquariums

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 5th, 2016, 2:52 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:Anyone know where I can get these specific items in Trinidad?
Plant growth aquarium gravel
Activated coal for aquariums
Absorbing zeolite for aquariums

You may have to try places like Chais, Pantins (POS) and I don't know if funky fishes around. If not you may have to bring it in yourself

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » January 5th, 2016, 3:28 pm

where is chais?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 6:55 pm

How much money in feed so does it cost per month to feed 100 Tilapia?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 6:56 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:where is chais?

Its Mausica after the airport authority training grounds.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 9th, 2016, 11:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much money in feed so does it cost per month to feed 100 Tilapia?

Wrong forum............ try the one below

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=225893&start=7860

Anthony_S

Postby Anthony_S » January 12th, 2016, 6:45 pm

does anyone have chaeto to share some?