Digicel Internet Thread

Pim

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby Pim » January 6th, 2016, 9:19 pm

I contacted Digicel Customer Care today about their trial period and their prices after the trial period. The customer care rep could not answer any of my questions. I was placed on hold so she could find out. She then conveyed to me after a while that the trial period ends January 31st. Now I am in the Maraval area, Digicel is not in my area so that means I will never benefit from these "trial prices" IF I was to take Digicel's fibre service. Now, the second question as to what the true cost of their packages after Jan 31st, she could not say. I have already pre-registered with Massy so I will receive an email with their packages and pricing as soon as it is available to the public. Plus you receive Massy points for paying your bill on time. I am not pushing Massy but it is just that I feel like Digicel is trying to give customers a 6 for a 9 when it comes to the true cost of their service and that PISSES me off. I will go with the provider that will give me the best value for my money.

BTW... I am a disgruntled FLOW customer.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 6th, 2016, 10:27 pm

Hey Digi guys on the forum , you reach Arima side yet?
A few clients of ours up there running LISA years now as it was the only business grade connection available in the area in question.

Thing is it slow slow, reminds me of when TSTT was killing people for a lil 128k frame relay.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 6th, 2016, 11:01 pm

Pim wrote:I contacted Digicel Customer Care today about their trial period and their prices after the trial period. The customer care rep could not answer any of my questions. I was placed on hold so she could find out. She then conveyed to me after a while that the trial period ends January 31st. Now I am in the Maraval area, Digicel is not in my area so that means I will never benefit from these "trial prices" IF I was to take Digicel's fibre service. Now, the second question as to what the true cost of their packages after Jan 31st, she could not say. I have already pre-registered with Massy so I will receive an email with their packages and pricing as soon as it is available to the public. Plus you receive Massy points for paying your bill on time. I am not pushing Massy but it is just that I feel like Digicel is trying to give customers a 6 for a 9 when it comes to the true cost of their service and that PISSES me off. I will go with the provider that will give me the best value for my money.

BTW... I am a disgruntled FLOW customer.

I emailed them on this issue a while back, the woman forwarded my email to the FTTH department. They never responded offcourse. But I let them know that they trying to hit people a 6 for 9.

TATT should look into this matter, how can you be selling a service, requesting a contract, but unable to tell the customer what the true cost is?

Swisha

Digicel Internet Thread

Postby Swisha » January 8th, 2016, 12:20 am

Well look thing. Like them was jus waiting for the competition to launch

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2016, 1:00 am

^ That fail hard though, $400 and most people won't have any access to it.

Pim

Postby Pim » January 8th, 2016, 1:09 am

Epic Fail!!!

Those packages don't make sense. Where are the starter packages? What if I just wanted internet? There has got to be more.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2016, 1:29 am

Pim wrote:Epic Fail!!!

Those packages don't make sense. Where are the starter packages? What if I just wanted internet? There has got to be more.

I just called TSTT to verify this, this is their GOPN, they have a 5MB internet only package for $172 a month. The guy said this is after vat but as always its never true and if I call back I am pretty sure someone else is going to confirm this is before vat since adding vat will make it exactly $200 which is what is listed on Blink site, $200 for 5MB GOPN.

So now that we have that we have dealt with that fail, the guy put me on hold for 45 minutes to verify if my area location, Piarco, "walking distance" from the Airport has availability of this GOPN. 45 Minutes hold then he come back to tell me Piarco does NOT have Fibre. I ask so you telling me our International Airport does not have access to this fibre? man say yes I am correct.

WOW then he call out the areas that has this fibre, he call out 20 places in POS, then he say grey stone park in Chaguanas, some part of St Augustine, Rio Claro and Maracas and a few places in Tobago.

SO folks, anyone of you all hoping to apply for this nonsense I am sorry to disappoint you but the vast majority of Trinidad does NOT have access to this Blink Fibre. DO NOT expect this to be anywhere remotely close to the availability of Digicel Fibre. This blink Fibre has less than 7% coverage of Trinidad.

What a MASSIVE FAIL in words I cannot describe. This was just another one of TSTT's stupid publicity stunt to troll Digicel as they have done many times in the past, Digicel a real company that is too busy overtaking Blink's DSL coverage to provide a REAL Fibre experience to the vast majority of this country. Maybe TSTT can learn a thing or 2 from Digicel on how to do business before making these ridiculous ads.

8000 KM of Fibre and about 7% Coverage?

surferdude

Postby surferdude » January 8th, 2016, 8:39 am

EPIC failure.

Pim

Postby Pim » January 8th, 2016, 3:29 pm

$200.00 for 5MB is ridiculous. Why would I downgrade? I am currently at $199.99 for 15MB. I don't care if it is fibre they are offering.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2016, 3:37 pm

Pim wrote:$200.00 for 5MB is ridiculous. Why would I downgrade? I am currently at $199.99 for 15MB. I don't care if it is fibre they are offering.

Well a lot of trinis believe that 5MB fibre can download faster than 15MB hybrid fibre. So TSTT is counting on this lack of knowledge to help them sell 5MB for $200. Besides Flow only has "last mile" coax copper. Which in practical terms means 0 difference compared to pure fibre. And DOCSIS can be upgraded to 3.1 where the same copper can do Gigabit speeds. I not falling for fibre marketing, it makes 0 difference in real world. Last Mile copper means nothing honestly. The vast majority of your flow internet is running on Fibre, like over 90% fibre. Exactly like Comcast.

These days with my 15MB Flow, I still find that SOME big applications take long to download, I mean games today are all kinda 60GB just look at GTA 5 on Steam. I can't see myself using 5MB and wait days for such a game to download.

Again this is just another one of TSTT's stupid publicity stunts, one of the numerous over the years where they spend unnecessary money to troll and harass Digicel with full page ads advertising something they do not even have. Classic TSTT advertising something they don't even have.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 8th, 2016, 5:19 pm

5mb fuh $200 and soon to b double speed @ same fixed price with airlink. No complaints

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 8th, 2016, 7:24 pm

Digicel Play launches and Machel jumps ship from bmobile to Digicel all in the same day lol

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2016, 8:27 pm

I'll take anything blink says at this time about their packages with a grain of salt. Hell. a pound of it.

I'm really excited for Digicel to reach my area though. Everyone will switch to it and Flow will once again work properly :lol:

jk... ulyuh see dem pings men getting with Digicel :shock:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2016, 10:03 pm

Here is what I think going on with Digicel Fibre. The internet only package will be $200 after this promotion.

I think the promotion pricing of $200 for 25MB simply means they are giving the channels free for the $200. But when the promotion done the price won't exactly go up, just means you will only get internet for the $200 a month.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » January 8th, 2016, 11:48 pm

I talked to someone today
The after trial thing is an error and the website hasn't been updated
It was when they were giving trials to certain customers and it was free then
Whatever price you pay now will last
Besides your on contract and that cannot change that price

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 9th, 2016, 12:00 am

How long is the contract?

And if u sign a contract for a certain package that means u can't make any variations to the package until the contract is up? That would be kinda lame.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 12:18 am

As I suspected I called back TSTT and another CSR say its $200 with vat. WOW these people clueless yes boy. In any event its good to know Digicel's price is $200 for 25MB regardless of promotional pricing or whatever.

Not sure how TSTT plans to compete with this. Their $200 for 5MB really fail hard.

Is there any particular reason TSTT refuses to adjust their DSL packages? Why are they hell bent on $200 for 1MB?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 9th, 2016, 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » January 9th, 2016, 12:20 am

sexyicon wrote:I talked to someone today
The after trial thing is an error and the website hasn't been updated
It was when they were giving trials to certain customers and it was free then
Whatever price you pay now will last
Besides your on contract and that cannot change that price

This is correct, the prices are fixed at this rate. The trial period was different and prices were even lower or free to early test customers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 12:27 am

^
So if this is the case, how come then TSTT wants $400 for the same thing? Why would a consumer pay $400 to TSTT when they can simply get it for $200 from Digicel? seeing that Trinis are known for being cheap to begin with?

Is it costing TSTT more to provide the same service or something? Don't they have their own submarine fibre? their packages don't seem to be in line with reality.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 9th, 2016, 1:40 am

Dem TSTT CSRs real stink... my dad had a decent 5gb data package for the longest while, they called him and asked if he wanted to "upgrade" to the "Everything" plan, saying it was cheaper and he would get more of EVERYTHING

He took the bait, now he has a 2gb data package that running out halfway through the month and have to call some number for more data

No one seems to pull up on them for their shady business practices...

Anyhow, how do you sign up for this fiber option from digcel :P

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 2:30 am

^ there you go, you pull up on them for their shady business practices by switching to Digicel. lol

Postby pete » January 9th, 2016, 5:38 am

The whole way that bmobile operates really rubs me the wrong way. If they really had this 8000km of fiber and wanted to bring it to the public then why not do it first, set the price at a point that it would be competitive with other companies BEFORE they launch their services?

You know how much Flow is, aim at being cheaper than them for the same services so when someone else comes around its harder for them to get in or you can at least maintain market share. Right now it seems they're just relying on their old infrastructure to maintain customers who the competition haven't gotten to yet and honestly that is a terrible business strategy unless your goal is to lose all your customers. :\

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » January 9th, 2016, 6:30 am

Don't assume Digicel will be some utopian Internet service provider.
Up to this day you still cannot get proper 3/4G service in UWI and dead zones along the SHH.
If they can't deliver proper service to an area like UWI then my expectations are very low.
Coupled with the fact that they are launching in areas like Dibe St James using armed escorts reinforces the view that Digicel is the CEPEP and Whackerman network.
Ask the FTTB customers about the quality of support.
Lipstick on a pig.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 9th, 2016, 9:10 am

yea digicel customer service is down right crap, anyone who says different working for dem or paid to say so.
People whole business does be down and they can't even get a rep to talk to, heck even me affected by this crap with our corporate phones, 3 months we begging for a corporate rep to handle our issues and they don't even return the calls.

justinisaacs

Postby justinisaacs » January 9th, 2016, 10:01 am

2WNBoost wrote:Don't assume Digicel will be some utopian Internet service provider.
Up to this day you still cannot get proper 3/4G service in UWI and dead zones along the SHH.
If they can't deliver proper service to an area like UWI then my expectations are very low.
Coupled with the fact that they are launching in areas like Dibe St James using armed escorts reinforces the view that Digicel is the CEPEP and Whackerman network.
Lipstick on a pig.

I hope you do understand that total 100% coverage of an area cant be attained that easily + digicel is working hard to provide the best service throughout Trinidad, tobago and at extension the caribbean.

And please note armed excorts are only used in high risk areas these being identified by law enforcement and currently we are only live in the diego martin area.

On the customer service note i do admit that some of the reps need more training in customer service + the new technology

justinisaacs

Postby justinisaacs » January 9th, 2016, 10:03 am

And guys please note that digicel tt mobile , fttb, ftth are different entities managed and staffed differently

Daran

Postby Daran » January 9th, 2016, 10:04 am

I've had good and bad customer service experiences with all teleco operators, but usually Digicel js always been the best, with flow being the worst.

Also the issue with Internet in UWI isn't Digicel's fault, not sure if you're aware of this history but Prof Stephen Gift has a retarded crusade against RF emissions and has blocked Digicel from upgrading their cellsite on campus.

After years of slowness on blink and the varying speeds and unreliability of Flow, I can't wait to get Digicel's FTTH service.

Daran

Postby Daran » January 9th, 2016, 10:07 am

justinisaacs wrote:And guys please note that digicel tt mobile , fttb, ftth are different entities managed and staffed differently

Who runs Manages FTTH? Is it an entirely different company managed by different people? different style of business etc, but using he Digicel brand for awareness and reputation?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 9th, 2016, 10:18 am

2WNBoost wrote:Don't assume Digicel will be some utopian Internet service provider.
Lipstick on a pig.

Even if you r argument had a relevant point, fatuous statements like this doesn't help in giving credence to anything you are saying.

Daran

Postby Daran » January 9th, 2016, 10:37 am

PapaC wrote:
Lipstick on a pig.

Even if you r argument had a relevant point, fatuous statements like this doesn't help in giving credence to anything you are saying.

His logic is baffling. Does he think Digicel's amazing business plan is to sell FTTH in the ghetto, thereby risking non-payment of bills and requiring significantly high-security costs to even deploy?

Someone with an ounce of intelligence would realize, hey Digicel really putting this Fiber everyway, even in poor difficult to access areas. This would mean their plan really is to cover the entire country with Fiber by end of 2016. Amazing, finally a company that doesn't stick up in the West (looking at you Bmobile/Blink).

For that matter, I remember hearing from a friend at TATT that TSTT has spent 7 times more money on Last Mile Access in North West Trinidad and any other area of T&T. Thank you TSTT, maybe one day you can reach us ghetto plebs in Tunapuna and Arima.