::: Official PNM Government Affairs Ched :::

Re: ::: Official PNM Government Affairs Ched :::

Postby desifemlove » December 29th, 2015, 9:26 pm

potentially no rapid rail.

and building houses alone? why not any secondary and tertiary industry support?

more money for low earners.

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:27 pm

pugboy wrote:Look like he not devaluing

Central Bank will make that call soon.

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:30 pm

We must have plenty of f/x available for the future.

We cannot afford to spend what we do not have.

At times like these, good, old fashioned honest leadership is needed.

Postby Habit7 » December 29th, 2015, 9:31 pm

Honestly I just glad Kamla and the Cabal not at the helm.

They would have cancelled property tax, give preschoolers laptops, give squatters middle class homes, hoverboard for every child at Christmas and US$100 million to churches.

All while SIS will be subcontracted as the new Ministry of Works and box drain contracts for the entire North Coast Rd.

UNC needs to hang their head in shame while keeping PNM accountable. Their economic advice is not wanted any time soon.

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:31 pm

5% of ministers salary for next 2 years will be donated to a charity of the minister's choice.

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:34 pm

It seems to me that the PM is pleading with the business community to take a serious look at some of the rubbish they import that uses up valuable f/x.

If they do not take heed, then all hell will break loose with a devaluation.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 29th, 2015, 9:42 pm

Sounds to me like the Chinese going to start calling in their markers.

Importing "cheaper foreign goods"..? Sounds like he saying, 'Stop buying American citizens, start buying from our Chinese friends.'

Postby Morpheus » December 29th, 2015, 9:42 pm

*back from UNC FB page.....

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 29th, 2015, 9:43 pm

Well share the kix nah.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2015, 9:50 pm

That address not gonna change the spending habits of anybody

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:52 pm

I not good with snapping pages but from the UNC FB

Prakash Chris Rajkumar
9 mins

I just wasted a few minutes if my life listening to the PNM OJT PM talk a lot of crap. My fellow UNC friends and family the time is now to stand up against the incompetent OJT PM and his band of thieves. If we don't Haiti will be better than us. We have to take back T&T from the clowns in office. They are clueless and can't run the finances of the economy. We must DEVELOP a plan of action NOW

Postby 1UZFE » December 29th, 2015, 9:53 pm

bluefete wrote:5% of ministers salary for next 2 years will be donated to a charity of the minister's choice.

Dat was d PP..

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 29th, 2015, 9:55 pm

pugboy wrote:That address not gonna change the spending habits of anybody

I believe their plan is higher interests rates to slow consumption spending and if that doesn't work devaluation.

Postby Morpheus » December 29th, 2015, 9:55 pm

pugboy wrote:That address not gonna change the spending habits of anybody

^^Truth. UHD 3D 65" hadda buy. How else you go be in the convo in work??

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2015, 9:56 pm

1UZFE wrote:
bluefete wrote:5% of ministers salary for next 2 years will be donated to a charity of the minister's choice.

Dat was d PP..

Dem morney didn't go to the Children's Life Fund?

The Children's Life Fund that was raided by the same PP??????????????

TriP

Postby TriP » December 29th, 2015, 10:10 pm

PM Speech

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2015, 10:14 pm

thanks trip much appreciate seems like we royally screwed as I suspected.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2015, 10:22 pm

Man say he gonna keep pumping money into the unemployment programs
And try to weed out bobol yes
Well is now the bright sparks gonna run more racket there

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 29th, 2015, 10:34 pm

What I don't get is if we are so dependent on exporting oil and gas why don't we boost other sectors and try exporting something else?
How come over the years we never decided to use all this money from oil to help develop other sectors?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 29th, 2015, 10:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I don't get is if we are so dependent on exporting oil and gas why don't we boost other sectors and try exporting something else?
How come over the years we never decided to use all this money from oil to help develop other sectors?

You remind me off the small dog from "two stupid dogs " :|

Postby Habit7 » December 29th, 2015, 10:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I don't get is if we are so dependent on exporting oil and gas why don't we boost other sectors and try exporting something else?

Because manufacturing and services are propped up by cheap electricity and other subsidies derived from oil and gas. Tourism is primarily Carnival but add a dollar more to it or build a permanent Carnival Centre and some ppl will flip out. Agriculture is no longer for us as poorer larger countries will always beat us on prices.

Diversifying an economy takes decades and not one or two administrations. And we can try to diversify all we want but we are still waiting for oil and gas goose to lay that golden egg so that we can spend wildly.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 29th, 2015, 10:48 pm

Curtms wrote:

You remind me off the small dog from "two stupid dogs " :|

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 29th, 2015, 10:51 pm

What other sectors ? The cocaine import export sector ?

Postby DVSTT » December 29th, 2015, 10:55 pm

EmilioA wrote:

What other sectors ? The cocaine import export sector ?

Would be interesting to see how the underground economy advances in light of all of this.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 5:42 am

So all this for Rowley to steal HSF?

Did I not tell you all they will looking to steal the fund.

His financiers getting want they want and once again citizens at a loss.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » December 30th, 2015, 6:17 am

What he is proposing regarding boosting construction could go either way though. Encouraging people to borrow to build homes in a time when their jobs/wages aren't that secure is a risky move.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2015, 6:23 am

White CZ4A wrote:What he is proposing regarding boosting construction could go either way though. Encouraging people to borrow to build homes in a time when their jobs/wages aren't that secure is a risky move.

The UNC did that years ago and was very successful. Behind Ducan village is a huge settlement built up from that program. The very same PNM criticised that program. PNM came in and stopped that program to build HDC homes, which we now know is a failure.

Postby 1UZFE » December 30th, 2015, 6:46 am

White CZ4A wrote:What he is proposing regarding boosting construction could go either way though. Encouraging people to borrow to build homes in a time when their jobs/wages aren't that secure is a risky move.

Hoss. I loled when this was said. I honestly think someone wrote that speech and he didnt read it before.
Mortgages are the biggest investments most people make in thier lifetime. This is being perpetuated when their is job loss in mid-upper tier of salaries.
I dunno nah......
#welikeitso
#iswetimenow

Postby Habit7 » December 30th, 2015, 7:08 am

1UZFE wrote:

Hoss. I loled when this was said. I honestly think someone wrote that speech and he didnt read it before.
Mortgages are the biggest investments most people make in thier lifetime. This is being perpetuated when their is job loss in mid-upper tier of salaries.
I dunno nah......
#welikeitso
#iswetimenow

Economics Expert Claims Trinidad Should Export Social Media Economists To End

POSTED BY: LATE O'CLOCK NEWS DECEMBER 9, 2015
With the nation unsure of its future due to the recently announced recession, economic expert Dr. Adam Smith has suggested that in order to diversify the economy and increase the country’s net earnings, we should export our economists.

Speaking to The Late O’clock News via phone, Dr. Smith said “This country has struggled for decades with diversification of its economy, however, this latest recession has brought to my attention through social media that there is a local glut of economists. In fact, it seems that almost everyone in the country is an economic expert and knows how we can fix the economy. With so many brilliant economic minds at hand, I propose that we export a fraction of these people to assist other countries with their economic challenges, while keeping the top minds for ourselves.”

Dr. Smith was also very critical of the fact that with all these spare economists on hand, the government decided to appoint an engineer as our minster of finance, stating “It seems like one can literally go on social media and pick out someone more qualified than the current Minister of Finance. If that is the case, then it is poor on the government’s part to appoint someone with little to no experience in the field to manage the country’s finances. If being loud and smarmy were the only two requirements for the job then why wasn’t Sprangalang considered? I am sure the country would pay closer attention if he went on television and claimed we were not in a recession.”

Calls to the Central Bank went unanswered, as we were informed that Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran would be unavailable for the foreseeable future, due to him being currently engaged in an intense game of FIFA 16 with DOMA president Gregory Aboud in a bid to see who was right over the dissemination of information regarding the use of foreign exchange by local businesses. At the time of writing, Mr. Aboud, who is playing with Chelsea Football Club, was losing 1-0.

http://lateoclocknews.com/economics-exp ... recession/

Postby Redman » December 30th, 2015, 7:16 am

The drive is towards more cost-effective housing...also the breadth of the industry probably makes it attractive for stimulating economic activity through employment.
With high local.content.

And spreading work away from the chosen contract ers under the UNC